$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Casa Del Mar Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Carretera A Chankanaab Km 4 Costera, Sur No P.O.Box 7600, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ringwood, NJ
Jan 23, 2011

Good value for the money

This is our 5th stay at Casa Del Mar. We choose this hotel because we enjoy diving with Del Mar Aquatics accross the street. The staff at Casa Del Mar is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and adequate. The food at the restaurant isn't bad and is priced fairly. Since the taxi prices have risen to 80 pesos each way we have eaten more meals in the Palapa. My biggest complaint was the weather, certainly no fault of the hotel. My dive buddy and I have decided this is the last time we will plan a dive trip to Cozumel in January. We'll wait until March or April. Summer and fall are also excellent times to visit Cozumel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 23, 2011

Good value

The hotel is just fine. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. The restaurant is good but their menu is small. Breakfast buffet (at unbeatable price) includes fresh fruit, cereals, eggs and omelets, all great except the almost undrinkable coffee. A car is almost a must as the hotel is a 10 minute drive away from downtown and 20 minutes far from the beach club. Car rentals are available everywhere in the island. The beach club is where we spent most of our time as they have a really enjoyable white sand beach with turquoise blue water, as opposed to the tiny beach in front of the hotel's main building. Some downsides are: -We couldn't stay at the hut tub for more than 1 minute due to a strong smell (chemical) coming from the water. The smell stayed on us for hours. We never came back in. -The internet didn't work for 3 days (so we couldn't read reviews of other places!). -One day we drove the 12km (9 miles) to the beach club only to find that a 'private' event was going on and that we wouldn't have access. The fact that we weren't told until we got there was rude, and the whole situation plain wrong. Overall the hotel is fine, but the service could be more attentive. I guess we got spoiled by other outstanding hotels in the Mayan Riviera, albeit not at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diver49
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2011

Second Time Stay

I have been to Cozumel 8 times and have stayed at several of the hotels/resorts. Casa Del Mar is a SCUBA resort targeting budget conscious divers. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are old, which is okay, but the linens are old as well. The bed sheets are in no way soft/comfortable and the bath towels are worn. I would probably not stay again. Hotel Cozumel is of comparable cost but they typically throw in breakfast with your stay and I remember the rooms being more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't be afraid to explore Cozumel. The island is very safe and the people extremely friendly. The square in san miguel is much like Playa Del Carmen. You won't be able to walk 30 feet without being approached by merchants urging you to purchase. But venture a few short blocks and you will find the real Cozumel. Stop at Parrilla or Casa Mission and you will eat/drink 5* at an almost hard to believe price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deep South Diver
Business
Mableton, GA
Jun 1, 2010

Good hotel for price!

Friendly staff and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dan & sue
Business
Plymouth, Michigan
Feb 28, 2010

my home in cozumel

Very relaxing time; [...] (couple next to us on plane from DTW got airfare and hotel for $1200 ($300 less than we paid). Hotel also did not honour your statement that free rental car was included on third day of stay; had we booked straight thru their website, they would have had rental car for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Mission in San Miguel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville WI
Apr 30, 2010

RELAXING VACATION

We enjoyed our stay. It was over all very quiet and relaxing. Not alot of spring breakers and very few children. The one thing I wish the hotel had was a little fridge. We had to run and get a foam cooler at the store for water/soda/beer. The staff was great & helpful, food was good at resturant, rooms were very clean, and we always had good water pressure. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown was a very short walk - I would say if you can walk-- enjoy the scenic route and walk down to the market- stop along the way for some beers at all the cute tiki out door bars. approx. 2 miles- it saves you $8 cab ride there and $8 cab ride back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SCUBAgal
Business
Manhattan, KS
Jul 21, 2014

Scuba Heaven! Great Meal Plan!

As a disclaimer - we chose this hotel because SCUBA was the main focus of our trip! The guys at Cozumel Marine World (right across the street from Casa Del Mar) are AMAZING! They showed us a great time and made sure we were taking care of at all times. Casa Del Mar is not an air conditioned hotel -- only your personal room is air conditioned (unless you reserved the cabana rooms -- then the whole house is AC). The hotel does offer a meal plan for $39/person/day. That was a GREAT deal for us. The restaurant is open from 7a-11:00p and you can eat whenever and however much you want! AND alcohol is included in that price! The hotel also has a pool that bellies up to the bar (plus!). The only downside to this hotel is that it is not close to a beach. You have to take a 25 minute taxi ride to a beach and most of the beaches in Cozumel close at 4:00p.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SCUBA!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Niecey Nicey Nocey
Business
Arlington, Texas
Oct 22, 2014

Dive Trip

The staff (from start to finish) was extra friendly and very helpful. Location was great for our needs to get out diving, shopping and eating. Ooops! Had a water line break on our last day. We were kept vary well informed about the situation while they worked on resolving the problem. I would stay at Casa Del Mar again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be shy about asking the staff for recommendations. We found a restaurant that served Lion Fish. It was excellent. Checked that one off of our bucket list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation Dad of the yea
Business
Arkansas
Nov 28, 2014

Convient Family Dive Vacation

We stayed in the two story cabanas, rooms were very clean and staff was pleasant. very close and convent to the dive shop. Restaurant was also close, food was good and staff was very nice. Vacation package included 2 day car rental. We made the reservations 2 days in advance; however, the night before we were notified that the time selected was not available. This was very disappointing as it was the only time on the trip we could tour the island. Dive shop was accommodating and worked well with new divers. Overall I would i would recommend Casa Del Mar. Save the car cancellation it was a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants close by with many others a short cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US Contractor
Business
Texas
Jan 8, 2014

Nice Hotel and Great Value

We spent two weeks here in December. The rooms are nice; the a/c works well. It is a great location for diving. I recommend getting a room with a balcony as this gives you extra space to hang your wet stuff. I had the interior room which was still nice but the balcony would have helped. You have to go to the lobby for free internet or pay a little extra for room internet. The only quibble was there was no refrigerator in the room. We bought a Styrofoam cooler and got ice from the nearby zippy mart. The hotel staff was great. The restaurant was nothing exotic but sufficient. However, for a diving hotel, the location, price, and value are hard to beat. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top