$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Casa Del Mar Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Carretera A Chankanaab Km 4 Costera, Sur No P.O.Box 7600, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
102 reviews
great divers hotel

i have stayed at casa del mar many times and have always had a great stay. the swim up bar is... See full review

  • iceman1
  • Apr 21, 2015
Fun filled vacation

Since the arrival at the hotel we were treated very friendly. I have no words to describe our... See full review

  • The Sanchez Family
  • Mar 9, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Del Mar Cozumel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Casa Del Mar Cozumel Rooms

Basic Standard Guest Room
These Rooms are facing the parking area and tennis court . Located in main building on floors 1-3. Cable TV with remote control, Direct-dial phone (surcharge), Air conditioning. One king bed or two double beds. Hanger for wetsuit inside the shower area, in the bathroom. Complementary Safety deposit boxes at front desk. Hairdryer available at front desk (Subject to availability). Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 11 or 3 adults paying extra pax.Wireless internet service (extra charge)
Superior with Private Balcony or Terrace
Superior with Private Balcony or Terrace The bedding option for the room is one king bed or 2 double beds. Superior rooms have pool view or garden view. Theses rooms are located in main building. The room features all the necessary amenities that you will need for a comfortable stay. Balcony or terrace, Air conditioning, Cable TV, Telephone ($),Alarm Clock, Irion/Ironing board, Hair dryer, Cribs available, safe deposit boxes, shower only, Racks for diving equipment are the amenities provided in all rooms. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 11 or 3 adults paying extra pax. Wireless internet service (extra charge)
Deluxe Cabana with Terrace
The bedding option for the room is one king bed or 2 double beds. Deluxe Cabanas are located in beautiful garden area. A spacious split level Cabana that is decorated with a modern style keeping the Mexican atmosphere. The upstairs is a living and dining area which you can enjoy relaxing with your family or loved ones. The downstairs is a separate sleeping area, with your privacy in mind. Private Terrace with natural umbrellas, Living area, Kitchenette, Microwave, Toaster, Coffee maker, Mini refrigerator, Air conditioning, Cable 39'' Led TV, Telephone($), Alarm Clock, CD Player, DVD, Iron, Ironing board, Hair dryer, safe deposit boxes, Room service ($), Cribs available, Wireless internet (surcharge) and Two Bathrooms (one with bathtub and shower) & makeup/shaving mirror are the amenities of the room. Capacity 2 adults and two kids under 11 or 3 adults paying extra pax.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CORAL REEF
The Coral Reef restaurant offers guest a variety of traditional and international dishes, located next to swimming pool, and with a pool-bar where you will also be able to enjoy domestic and international drinks. Restaurant is open from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM: Open for breakfast buffet and a la carte from 7:00 to 11:00 a.m. Open for Snacks, Lunch & a la carte from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Open for dinner with Mexican & International cuisine a la carte from 6:00 to11:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKLAHOMA
Jun 27, 2011

COZUMEL JUNE 2011

THIS HOTEL WILL NICKLE AND DIME YOU TO DEATH. NO BEACH TOWELS UNLESS YOU WERE LUCKY. NO FREE BREAKFAST AS STATED. NO HOT OR WARM WATER FOR THREE DAYS. POOL WAS CLOSED FOR DAYS 3 THRU 5. BETTER OFF WITH AN ALL INCLUSIVE ELSEWHERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
don5933
Business
Connecticut
May 13, 2014

Sewage leak from room above

The room looked good and was comfortable. Then BIG PROBLEM, the sewage water from the room above was leaking down into our bathroom, looking up you could see buckets in the ceiling to catch to water. it still was leaking onto the bathroom floor and on us, When I realized what was leaking I asked for another room and they changed us to a room, within minutes of being in the new room it was making us sick with the heavy mold smell. We then had a choice of sewage leaking on us or being made sick from the strong mold smell of the other room. We chose this hotel for the diving. The Diving staff and people were fantastic and helped with everything. I will go back to the dive center but not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy2014
Business
Midwest
Jan 31, 2014

Needs up grade

Was disappointed room not kept clean.one reason stayed was offered buffet breakfast, but they did not have.SAid not enought.."people there?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the old location of the old Prima's resturante upstairs down town

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Timman66
Business
Houston Texas.
Mar 16, 2014

Winter Escape March 2014

The hotel and staff is geared towards diving and divers. There is a nice pool and very well groomed grounds for the non divers in your group. The location of the hotel is well suited for diving but not much more, being located basically across the street from the cruise ship terminal. A walk into the downtown area is about 4K and a taxie ride will run you about 10usd. All in all it's a great value for what it is. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy the American Plan the day you arrive. It's 39.99 a person per day and includes all meals plus snacks and includes all drinks. It's worth it just for your beer and cocktails.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New to diving
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Kinda sad hotel, great diving

The hotel needs renovation and appears old, smelly, and dirty. The bed and towels were clean, but old. It was noisy, but convenient for our needs. The dive shop was great, but needs lockers, and an easier way to get to it besides lots of stairs, or crossing a busy street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Head for the Money Bar for great food, drinks, and nice view of the sunset. Food is great, and reasonably priced. Just a short drive to the South.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pijnacker
Business
Denmark
Aug 2, 2012

Basic hotel but probably super for divers.

This hotel is 90% used by divers, which means that there are plenty of free sunbeds for the non divers. Garden and pool area was well kept but it would have been nice with some parasols for shade by the sun beds. Reasonable prices in the restaurant but limited menu. Breakfast is rather bland. Shower was not hot. On our arrival we were greeted by a moldy smell in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dive with Roberta's Eco-Dive just across the road to the left of Atlantis. They were a lot more friendly than the dive shop of the hotel.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Feb 21, 2010

A Decent Option...

The hotel is a ways out of town. That's OK, the walk isn't bad, but it's not an ideal location. It's a long way from the beach club associated with the hotel and the small ocean-front area across the street from the hotel isn't that great because the main road is 20 feet behind you and you've got boats coming and going in front of you. Most of the "ocean view" rooms have limited views (you can see it through the trees and buildings and across the street from you). The "hot" tub was cold, the "free" rental car is not free since you have to buy their insurance and pay the taxes which run up to about what you would pay if you just went and rented a car. The submarine tour was fun and very nearly free. The restaurant is decent and we found the staff to be hit and miss. Some were very nice and helpful and a few were rude with most just doing their jobs. A couple of the lights in our room didn't work, the maid forgot to give us soap and toilet paper one day, and the shower was luke warm most of the time. Most notably, the place is really noisy. The tile floors and concrete walls just seem to carry every little sound--people talking, using the restroom, etc. You hear it all. We did a variety of things on this trip--diving, shopping, beach-bumming, etc. I think if all you did was dive and you just needed a place to sleep, this would be an OK place. I would not recommend it if you planned to lounge in your room or on the hotel property. I've taken many trips to Mexico and Central America and this place is just mediocre. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kylie L.
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Will stay somewhere else next time

Hotel staff is very friendly, but it would have made our stay easier if we booked a hotel in the Downtown Cozumel area. The rooms were smaller than we had anticipated. We switched rooms from the first one we were taken to because they were doing some construction on the side of the building and it was very noisy. Though we switched to another room for the same rate and amenities (Superior Room), the second room was twice as large! Too bad this second room had an unexplained insect (ants) problem in the bathroom...disgusting. All in all, the stay was decent, but I will book with a different hotel next time in the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dive Mom
Business
Eagan, MN
Jul 9, 2009

Good divers' hotel

This was a dive trip for my teenage son so we chose a hotel across from his dive shop. This was good planning however the shop is quite a walk from the downtown/ferry landing so we ended up paying for taxi rides once or twice a day to town for anything other than diving. Room was okay for us but musty every day and shower wasn't in the greatest shape. Toilet could've used some repair also but was functioning with some patient attention. Found out some other travelers we met there were paying the same pp/pn price as we were, but they got theirs AI. SO JUST ASK. They called and got the AI (food is actually pretty good here) because the hotel doesn't really advertise that...The people had been there before several times and knew AI was available.The hotel is not fancy but reasonable for a budget vacation on a tropical island and we managed just fine. Staff was extremely helpful and always pleasant. Another heads up; I had trouble checking out because the guy at the desk at 5 am wasn't their BEST, so he couldn't figure out how to charge me for the meals/drinks I had charged to my room without charging me for EVERYTHING on the acct, which includes the room charge that I had paid in advance. I finally had to leave without a receipt (I had a plane to catch), telling him to charge my card for the correct amt and send me a receipt. This makes me very nervous about what will end up being charged to my cc. I am calling to straighten this out today...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab; its farther than you think

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alabama
Apr 22, 2010

casa del mar cozumel

I spent a week diving in cozumel. the standard room was adequate and affordable for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top