$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Casa Del Mar Cozumel

3 stars
View map of Carretera A Chankanaab Km 4 Costera, Sur No P.O.Box 7600, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drift Diver
Couples
Couzemel
Aug 27, 2012

Diving

Very Good!!! Diving accross street, attarctions just 2 miles from Hotel and Hotel has a privet beach to relax at Hotel and another beach just 3 miles south of Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Taxi

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Timman66
Couples
Houston Texas.
Mar 16, 2014

Winter Escape March 2014

The hotel and staff is geared towards diving and divers. There is a nice pool and very well groomed grounds for the non divers in your group. The location of the hotel is well suited for diving but not much more, being located basically across the street from the cruise ship terminal. A walk into the downtown area is about 4K and a taxie ride will run you about 10usd. All in all it's a great value for what it is. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy the American Plan the day you arrive. It's 39.99 a person per day and includes all meals plus snacks and includes all drinks. It's worth it just for your beer and cocktails.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2scubabums
Couples
Rochester, NY
Feb 13, 2014

Group scuba trip

Hotel rooms are very dated, but staff is accommodating, basic amenities are provided, and it is a good value in its price range

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tatii
Single
Cozumel, qroo
Feb 13, 2014

Great first time experience!

I live in cozumel a few months a year with friends and decided to try out a hotel. So glad I chose this one. It's was beautiful inside the room and outside. Organic bath products are given as well which is a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right beside shark rider rental downtown, there is a bodega open with some amazing food for less than 3 dollars a meal. Open until 5 or so

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davesmitty
Single
Boulder, Colorado
Feb 6, 2014

Diver's best spot

I'm a 20 year veteran diver and I've stayed at Casa del Mar 3 times, twice within the past month. This is not the Ritz, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff here is top notch. Jose' at the front desk is cordial and the best concierge around. Always accommodating and friendly, all the staff, including the cleaning staff are kind and genuine. The restaurant serves quality food and the bartenders at the pool/restaurant bar are fun, friendly and just plain great. The bar could use more high-end liquors, especially more options for tequilas. The pool with swim up bar is always clean and refreshing. There's no real beach, but a nice sandy area with palapas and a nice place to snorkel. There are 2 main dive operators right there on site, across a short bridge with boat docks, rentals, etc. You literally get up in the morning, have breakfast, walk across the bridge to the dock and you're diving within minutes. I dove with Marine World and they are really great. They break up divers by experience and make sure everyone is safe and has an enjoyable time. I will always go back here. It's walkable to town, but will take about 45 minutes to do so. Quick cab ride though and you're there. 10 minute cab ride from the airport, and being a little more, but not too far south, gets you closer to the majority of dive sites on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good food, drinks, and service with more options than the Casa del Mar restaurant, walk about 10 minutes towards town and go to La Hatch restaurant right on the water. More options for drinks and food with a nice view and right on the ocean.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy2014
Friends
Midwest
Jan 31, 2014

Needs up grade

Was disappointed room not kept clean.one reason stayed was offered buffet breakfast, but they did not have.SAid not enought.."people there?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the old location of the old Prima's resturante upstairs down town

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceprophet
Couples
Minneapolis
Jan 21, 2014

Back again - always great

We've stayed several times at Casa Del Mar and, although it's not a 5-star hotel, we've always had a 5-star experience! Staff is absolutely amazing... friendly and helpful. Some of them have worked there more than 25 years! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Restaurant is great (have the Seafood Platter for two is enough for three people). Free entry and food discount applied to Nachi Cacom too. If you get a package with sub tickets - not something we would have purchased, but it was neat ($200 value). We hope to be back again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to have shrimp fajitas at Ernesto's Fajita Factory just across the street... an island favorite.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US Contractor
Family
Texas
Jan 8, 2014

Nice Hotel and Great Value

We spent two weeks here in December. The rooms are nice; the a/c works well. It is a great location for diving. I recommend getting a room with a balcony as this gives you extra space to hang your wet stuff. I had the interior room which was still nice but the balcony would have helped. You have to go to the lobby for free internet or pay a little extra for room internet. The only quibble was there was no refrigerator in the room. We bought a Styrofoam cooler and got ice from the nearby zippy mart. The hotel staff was great. The restaurant was nothing exotic but sufficient. However, for a diving hotel, the location, price, and value are hard to beat. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RKIT
Single
PORT CHARLOTTE, FL.
Dec 29, 2013

Best for longtime Cozumel diver

Have stayed at this hotel many times in the 20 yrs. since coming to Cozumel. Casa del mar is like coming home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are not diving there is plenty of other things to do.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddiver
Couples
Tucson,AZ
Jun 10, 2013

Improving!

My wife and I have been staying at CDM for several years, two or three times a year. It was very apparent this trip that they hotel is making efforts to improve their overall operations, particularly customer service. All staff that we encountered were friendly and eager to help. We had a king bed that was better than we have had in mexico before and the room was cleaner. Will return soon.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant od good, but do lunch at Ernestos across the street.

Review of Casa Del Mar Cozumel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luv2Dive.NC
Mansfield, TX
Jun 5, 2013

Great Dive Hotel

We have been coming here for years. (has been 3 years since the last visit) The staff has always been excellent ( I can not stress that enough), but the mattresses need updating they are very hard. Breakfast has always been included but not now.. so make sure you book EP plan or you will pay for everything. Bar, hot tub and swim up bar are awesome. Always clean and well managed. If the mattresses are not updated I will have to look for another place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rolandi's

Back to menu Return to top