$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

3 stars
Carretera Costera Sur km 2.2, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
13 reviews
Perfect Week at Blue Angel

We intended this to be a low key week after spending 11 days at "nicer" hotels in Playa del Carmen... See full review

  • Army24
  • Jul 5, 2014
Awesome. Clean. Friendly. Full Ocean View. On the Beach. Great Value

Just got back from the best trip ever to Cozumel. I have visited Cozumel on 3 other occasions via... See full review

  • DarityDude
  • Feb 18, 2014
The Blue Angel Resort is a unique, fun destination for you next Cozumel vacation. The Blue Angel Resort itself consists of Hotel, Restaurant and of course, the famous Blue Angel Dive Shop that provides the best Cozumel diving around. The hotel is one of the few hotels on the island that is situated directly on the water and not across the street or further. Do you want an ocean view from your private balcony? Good, because all the rooms are ocean view rooms and all of the rooms have private balconies! Blue Angel Resort is all about de-stressing from your usual busy routine.
Do you long for a holiday where you could just slow down and breathe and you didn't have to feel guilty about it? Come see the hotel, they want you to visit them! Take advantage of their many dive packages and enjoy the convenience of a fast dive boat that is just a stone's throw away from your room. Do you like to dine alfresco right over the water and not have to take out a second mortgage to do that? Do you think you would enjoy a massage by the water that leaves you weak in the knees because you are so incredibly relaxed? Then come see them for all this things. The hotel wants you to visit them.

Would you like to enjoy the warmth of the sun on your face without a noisy crowd invading the last bit of your personal space? If yes, then Blue Angel Resort wants you! If you are the type of person who enjoys the simple things in life, things like enjoying turquoise water, looking forward to your next, great 2 tank dive or witnessing the miracle that is the Caribbean sunset and laughing at the resident pelicans catching their dinner 20 feet from you, then yes, you are Blue Angels type of person.
If you are comfortable with owners, staff and other guests greeting you with a smile in the morning and calling you by your first name, then please, come see the hotel Wants you to stay with them!! The coolest thing about Blue Angel Cozumel is the people that come to visit. Basically...in the fewest words... they get it. Blue Angel is a smaller Cozumel vacation resort. Why is this important? The hotel is like a family. This means that if you are on the hotel dive boat trips as part of one or their dive packages; the same hilarious guys that you dove with this morning might be having a drink in the lobby later on. The friendly people that you spoke to in the restaurant last night may be lounging by the pool today...if you visit them, take a chance and say hello...maybe even start a conversation.

You might gain some new friends. high quality people and many of the guests return over and over again to connect again with their Blue Angel family. The people that visit Blue Angel mostly seem to be the type of people that can sit back and just let things happen around them, enjoying every minute of it. Cozumel diving is fantastic and diversified. There are so many different reefs and you don't have to be at a professional, technical diver to enjoy many of them. But if you have been part of the diving community for a while, they challenge you. There is an abundance of marine life in the water park and surrounding areas and protect the love of the "other world". To see the excitement and joy on people's faces when they come back from their dive trips is inspirational. The hotel also provides Dry cleaning, Library, Lobby and Reception services.

Hotel Map

20.4938 -86.9646
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cozumel International Airport (CZM).
Area description
On the waterfront, Villablanca reef.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop Rooms

Standard room
Standard room offers two double as bedding option with amenities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone. Standard Room also have balcony or terrace.
OceanView Room with Balcony
The Ocean View Room includes amenities like Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone. Standard Room also have balcony or terrace.
7 Night Dive Package
7 Nights in ocean view room with five days of diving (5 2 -tank boat dive per person). Daily breakfast. Free unlimited shore dives, Free Wifi, Free unlimited phone calls to USA and Canada from the front desk telephone, free use of kayas and snorkeling equipment, kids 0-10 years old stay free.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Blue Angel Restaurant
Blue Angel Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Open from 7 am to 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Army24
Portland, OR
Jul 5, 2014

Perfect Week at Blue Angel

We intended this to be a low key week after spending 11 days at "nicer" hotels in Playa del Carmen but came away very pleasantly surprised. I suppose if you are a real tourist and only want the phony all inclusives this would not meet your standards but for us it was wonderful to wake up every morning and find the sea right out our balcony. Most of the folks staying here are SCUBA divers and there were dive boats going out 3-5 times a day. We were more interested in exploring the island and snorkeling and those things we did in spades - only taking a introductory SCUBA class on the next to last day. But the water right off the hotel was just fine for both snorkeling and SCUBA for us. Centrally located this hotel was a quick cab ride ($4) to town and we did not have to endure the hoards of cruise ship tourists. The rooms are very simple and clean. Room pricing was very reasonable and, like I said earlier, all rooms face the ocean. The restaurant was excellent with a simple menu and the staff at the hotel, dive shop and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. We certainly plan on coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eagle Rider Harley Davidson rentals. Get on one and ask Adrian to take you on an island tour. Terrific value and an unforgettable experience!

Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DarityDude
Dallas, Texas
Feb 18, 2014

Awesome. Clean. Friendly. Full Ocean View. On the Beach. Great Value

Just got back from the best trip ever to Cozumel. I have visited Cozumel on 3 other occasions via Cruise Ship. This year I decided to fly in directly to Cozumel and needed a hotel. I did not want a Overpriced "All Inclusive" MEGA Hotel. Blue Angel Resort with only 200 rooms ALL Facing the Ocean and located directly on the Ocean (not across the street). No carpeted floors with marble bathrooms. This is a place for the ultimate tropical experience. Straw Covered Beach Huts, Large Pool, Walk into the ocean just out back of the very comfortable and inviting hotel lobby. The Food at the hotel restaurant was great and reasonably priced. Full Breakfast every morning was included with my stay. I mean Full Breakfast. Anything you wanted on the breakfast restaurant menu. Complimentary Welcome Drink (Your Choice). The Pina Colada was Awesome. Downtown was under 2 Miles walking distance and was far enough away for peace and quite but close enough to walk 20 minutes or $5 in a taxi to be driven to downtown. The rooms were very comfortable with remote controlled Air Conditioning that worked very well. Open the full sliding glass doors and a wake to fresh ocean breeze coming in from your private balcony facing the ocean. Hot Showers with plenty for everyone in the hotel all day long. The Dive Shop has everything you need for a quick dive in the ocean only a few feet away to full Dive Tours all around the island. Ask for Nora or Caesar at the Front Desk. Tell them Steve the Tall Texan sent you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to Cozumel
Phx, AZ
Dec 15, 2013

We will stay here again

Everyone is very friendly and seems to enjoy their jobs. The food at the restaurant is fantastic! We ventured a couple other places, and the value was not as good. We LOVED having an ocean view! There are less than 25 rooms, so it's quiet, and we met interesting people from all over the world. The only improvement would be better wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'd rather be in Cozumel
Texas
Oct 26, 2013

Made the best of a bad situation

We arrived at the Blue Angel only to find out that the electricity had been off for several days and was still off. The staff was so nice in spite of the problems. We were sent to the restaurant for a free welcome drink, where one of the waiters remembered us from last year. They made us some great mojitos. We were offered a room at either El CID or Villa Blanca. We chose VB and were given a superior room there. We could also choose the free breakfast at Blue Angel or VB, and although the BA food is really good, we chose to eat where we were staying. We have stayed at VB before and know the restaurant manager there and that food is also very good. We were also told we could use the pool and beach area at BA anytime, which we did several days. They even offered us a room to put our stuff in if we wanted. We rented a car so we didn't really need to leave stuff there, but a big group of divers got rooms for their dive gear so they didn't have to bring that back and forth. The hotel was very, very nice about the whole ordeal. The electricity never came back on while we were there. We enjoyed our stay at Villa Blanca very much, and the use of the outdoor area at Blue Angel. We won't let this stop us from booking at the Blue Angel again in the future. They went above and beyond to make things right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Diver Cozumel 2013
Chesterton Indiana
Oct 19, 2013

Blue Angel ... Blackout... But still fun!

Blue Angel is a small, convenient, comfortable but no frills hotel located right on the water. Each room has a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. It's perfect for divers as it has a dive shop on the property. Snorkeling in front of the hotel was very convenient. Small but sufficient pool. Limited space for shade is our only complaint. It's a short walk to town or a short taxi ride. The food at the restaurant is good. Nothing like overlooking the water at every meal! Sergio is the best waiter! Friendly and kind! Nora at the front desk is helpful and always a smile! It's kept very clean with a staff that care about their workplace. Mid stay we had a power outage at the hotel that could not be immediately fixed. The staff made every effort to make this unfortunate situation transparent to us. They put us up at another hotel, provided transportation as needed back and forth from the new location because of dive schedules. They were quick and prompt to accommodate any reasonable request to ensure we enjoyed our stay on the island. We will definitely stay at Blue Angel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the time while in Cozumel to visit the east side of the island. Participate in the conservation program to learn first hand about the turtle nests and how you can help rescue turtles. It was fun and rewarding! The dedicated staff is like no other you will ever experience! Kind, thoughtful, genuine are only a few words that describe their passion for the turtles! It was a great experience!

Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elhombre
Severna Park, Md
May 25, 2013

A great stay!

My 19 yo son &I came for a scuba trip during his break between school and summer work. This was our first trip to Cozumel and the Blue Angel. The decision was a coin toss but based on positive reviews the Blue Angel came out on top. Located on the water and a main city street seemed a little counter to an away from it all R&R father/son getaway, however..Stepping off the street and into a little sanctuary created by the Blue angel and staff, we where greeted like old friends by all with an enthusiastic attitude of service. Our room was on the fourth floor, in the middle, which we thought was the best room for us considering the view and privacy. Truth be told, there is not a bad room in the place, they all face the water- The diving was awesome. Towering coral, deep canyons, challenging swim thru's, and lots of critters, ie. turtles (3-5 per dive), rays, sharks, barracuda, lobster, etc.. After our first two tank dive, we decided to upgrade our certs to advanced open water. We found Matthew Atkins(instructor) to be the consummate dive professional while identifying our strong points and working through weaker areas. The net result, we both learned a great deal and feel like better divers. I might add that the scuba school is highly focused on training from intro, through dive master/ instructor certification, with a strong emphasis on environmental impact awareness and ecological health of the reef system. The rooms were clean and comfortable, air conditioned, with balconies. Happy hour 4-6:30, very good local entertainment nightly. For our last day, having accomplished our upgrade goal, we gave diving a rest. The front desk helped us rent a car (delivered to the hotel), In which we drove the perimeter of the island(another story!). This was a great vacation for my son and I and we where constantly aware of our good fortune in choosing the Blue Angel. I shall return and highly recommend it, especially for divers. Thank You, Blue Angel and staff! Michael Gallagher Severna Park, Md

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South fla diver
Delray Beach, FL
May 18, 2013

Great place

Great place, great staff, great dive operation. Better pillows is my only suggestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I'd rather be in Cozumel
Texas
Jan 27, 2013

Our kind of place

We loved this hotel! It is small and laid back, right on the water, and a wonderful restaurant with happy our drinks and snacks. We had a ground floor room, which we loved. You cold walk right out to the pool or just sit on the patio and relax. There is a nice little area with chairs and umbrellas right by the ocean. Great place to watch the sunset. The staff was very nice and very helpful. They gave us a welcome drink during check-in and held our luggage while we went to the restaurant for lunch. They also offered the use of a free long distance phone anytime, which came in very handy since I had a work emergency while there. I also met the owner Eva and she was so nice! One day some friends came in on a cruise ship and we took them by our hotel to change clothes. They loved the place also. The room was comfortable, nothing fancy but spacious and clean and the beds were comfy unlike some in Mexico. We go to Cozumel a lot and plan to go back to this place whenever we can get a room there. We do a lot of last minute trips and they book up early most of the time. This was inOctober which is the lowest season so we were able to get in this time. Again, we really loved the Blue Angel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We love Casa Denis, Costa Brava, and el Piqué in town, but the restaurant at the hotel is really good also.

Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Diva
Nashville, Tn
Dec 11, 2012

Loved our stay!

This was our first visit to Cozumel and really enjoyed our stay at Blue Angel!! The purpose of our trip was to dive and found this resort met all of our needs. Check in was a breeze and the staff helpful. On our first night we did a shore dive. There are tanks available for unlimited shore diving. The dive out front of the hotel was minimal but we saw lots of creatures including octopus, puffer fish, eels, rays and lots of fish life. There are lockers available to store your gear rather than lug it down for every dive. Rinse tanks were a huge plus for us as well. All of the dive,masters were great. We dove with Jorge and Matteo.Both were very good pointing out things to see along the way. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which was from the full menu! Yummy! The DM's ask where you want to go and ask what you want to see etc. All of the dive spots were amazing! You get fruit and a muffin during surface intervals. After returning what i love is that the room and a hot shower are only steps away!! We loved our stay and plan to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Angel Resort and Dive Shop

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
speedo joe
north myrtle beach, south carolina
Aug 24, 2012

Staff Makes the Hotel

Front desk greeted us and was very friendly, carried our bags to our room, gave us a complimentary welcome drink. Waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and entertaining. Dive shop was very helpful and accomodating. You could not ask for a better view from anywhere on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Your vacation will not be complete without visiting the other side of the island around 5:30pm to see the baby sea turtles emerge and head for the ocean. Look for the truck with pictures of turtles on the side. It will be the most memorable experience from the vacation.

Back to menu Return to top