$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
202 reviews
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Allegro a great place for couples

This was our second trip to Cozumel and Allegro. I could not be more pleased with the place or the... See full review

  • Hubizzle
  • May 19, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3823 -87.021
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
CZM - Cozumel
Area description
On magnificent San Francisco Beach, an excellent beachfront location on the southwest part of the island, just 5 minutes from Palancar Reef.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 202
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ssfant
Whitney, Texas
Aug 15, 2012

Family vacation 2012

Don't waste your money at this hotel!! The beds are SUPER hard, even with the added cushion on the top. The walls are so thin, you can hear your neighbor sneeze. The food is HORRIBLE! We couldn't wait to get back home for some Hamburger Helper. The beach was beautiful, but not so good for snorkeling. The hotel looks nice, but not worth the money. We spent a lot in cab fares for activities and dinner. The resort is too far from everything. The beach bar closed at 7pm and the pool bar closed at 5pm. We paid extra to be closer to the beach. Not a good idea, because everything closed too early. We were there for 9 days. By day 5, we were on the phone with the airlines trying to get back home early. Even my 13 year old daughter was ready to come home. It was just one issue after another. I will pay extra to stay somewhere else. Please read all the reviews carefully, before you decide to book your trip. If you do not plan outside activities and are okay with hard beds and bad food, you might like this resort. We will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tim and Lucy and family
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 15, 2010

Very average accommodations

The food was horrible. They also "ran out" of certain foods and even after asking multiple employees to get from the kitchen, it took forever.They also conveniently ran out of bananas, strawberries and mint for the various drinks at the bars. This happened every single day we were there. They had no change at the front desk. The staff at the front desk had an "oh well" attitude about most things. Also, watch out for "pushy" timeshare staff as you enter the resort after check-in. It is a real "turn-off."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't come with high expectations.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meerke
Texas
Feb 23, 2011

Not really good

The food was really terrible. You don´t get anything for Vegetarians. You have to wait everywhere for drinks and food. The rooms are not very clean and you can hear your neighbour breathing. It was so crowded everywhere: in the restaurant, at the beach. I don´t like it there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 1, 2010

horrible ....

The staff was horrible .... They would constantly lie ... The roof of the room was letting water through. Apparantly this was not just in one room, there was over 20 rooms that were effected. What was very disappointing was that they would lie and say they would come and fix it but the never would. The food was also horrible. We were sick for a few days and realized that most people didn't eat at the hotel, they would go to the town and eat at other places. The neighboring hotel was also owned by the same company and they were horrible too! On the first day we found 5 bugs in our food. I have never seen anything like this. I wouldn't even give this hotel a one start rating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

eat in the city don't eat at the hotel. You will get sick

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gotta dive
Fairfax, VA
Jan 2, 2011

Very Disappointing

Here is the good: The hotel layout I liked. The beach area is very nice. The diving is right there and Pro Dive did a great job. There aren't many places you can come back to the hotel in between a 2 tank dive. The breakfast was okey. The New Years Eve dinner was okay. The housekeeping was good. The entertainment shows were good. Now the bad: The hotel was understaffed. It took a long time to check in (we waited over 30 minutes) and get drinks from the bar the nine days we were there. And a lot of time they were out of what you wanted. There were several times we had to go back to the front desk because our room key would not open our doors. The first day we arrived and went to lunch, the buffet was almost completely depleted and never really was restocked. The lunches and dinners were unedible. At times there was only 1 bar open for the entire hotel and only one bartender making drinks. For the most part there was only a handfull of staff that actually seemed like they wanted to serve you. I was lied to about several different things, such as rooms being out of service and facilities being closed or fixed. We requested switching rooms and were told that the vacant room next to us was out of service yet it became occupied the following day. The rooms themselves really need to be renovated as they show years of use. The toilets didn't flush half the time. Our friends toilet didn't work and they were given a bucket to use. The obstacle course hasn't been open for years but they'll tell you it will be open next week. The bottom line is they can't staff it. Overall: The rooms were clean but had functional problems. THE FOOD WAS NOT GOOD. The service was marginal at best. I will not go back there except to scuba dive with Pro Dive. This is my 5th time in Cozumel and easily the Allegro hotel's food was the worst of anywhere I stayed and they were the only hotel that did not have a snack bar open during the day with snack food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine Out: Guido's - Italian, Prima - Italian, La Mission - Mexican, Pepe's - American, Lobster House -Lobster. These are all the restaurants we ate at for dinner because the food was so bad at The Allegro Hotel. All of them we very good and I would go back to them again.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 30, 2008

Just Okay

A friend of mine who lives in Cozumel told me the food and rooms at the Allegro were just okay but we would love the beach! My friend was right on. The pros of the resort are: Very attractive grounds, the best beach on the island, and activities that are well coordinated. The cons are: average food, if you are not a 1st club member you are likely to be placed in a room nearer to the lobby (and further from the ocean). The problem with that is the nightly entertainment at the theater is very loud. So forget going to sleep early. Our room air conditioning did not work but the resort staff at the front counter said it did so... too bad. Maybe the 85 degree December weather felt cool to them but it was downright uncomfortable in the room trying to get ready for dinner. Sub tropical humidity doesn't help either. The only other problem I had with the resort was that it was focused pretty heavily on children which is great if you bring kids. We did not and a more adult oriented resort would have been better for us. They have a whistle that sounds like a steam train that goes off every few minutes at the kids pool. You can't get away from it. To conclude, we were not entirely disappointed with our stay at the Allegro. We just concluded that the local staff really does not care about the guests needs. Tipping helps a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

Don't stay here

The snorkeling right off the beach is good and the staff are friendly. But the food is AWFUL and the beds are really hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 15, 2010

Families with little ones ONLY!

I called and wrote the hotel in advance and asked very nicely for a room away from the noise that other travelers warned about. So why was I placed right in front of the continuing fog horn/water splashing/screaming that was the kiddie park? I asked - nicely again - to please be moved and was offered a room directly across the way on the other side of the kiddie park! Later a staff member told me that my "bracelet" was a different color than other guests because that indicated I'd booked through an agency and because of that I wasn't going to get the same level of service. Nice, huh? I was also within perfect earshot of all the loud nightly entertainment so my sleep schedule was essentially dictated to me. Furthermore, the walls truly are paper thin and I heard every single conversation from the adjoining room including a lengthy intimate incident and a midnight search for some personal items I'd rather not have heard about. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway or to honeymooners who are not exhibitionists!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 5, 2011

OK, but not great would not return

when we arrive there was no electricity, it was back on by 6:30 but when it is near 100 degrees it is a little bit of a problem. Buffet was not very good most food was not really edible. the Asian restaurant was good but the air conditioning was not working and the room was stuffy at near 95 degrees. We could not get a reservation at the Mexican restaurant. there were never any reservations available. It appeared they did not book the restaurants to capacity. the beach was nice and the diving great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

don't do the buffet and stay away from the pancakes for breakfast you could not even cut them with a knife. if you can do it book all of your dinners at the ala carte restaurants.

Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wall
Aug 12, 2008

Very Crowded

The check in was a disaster. We did not get the room we thought. The front desk clerks were rude. I didn't get to check in until 5:00 PM, and was told I would have to change rooms the next day. The resturants were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search