$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

3 stars
View map of KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dert Steensma
Business
Intercourse, PA
Dec 5, 2012

If you get a good rate - go for it.

Beach is very nice and well kept. Lunch was good. Dinner is a bit meh - but hey, if you can book it for cheap enough, you won't mind having meals at Palancar beach or some of the other places nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marine turtle
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Apr 14, 2013

Scuba Divers paradise

Allegro has an extraordinary location for Scuba Diver's: quite near to most beautiful coral reefs in Cozumel. The beach is great, surrounded by greenery to both sides. It would add up, if the hotel would provide with more shaded palapas both at the beach, as well as the swimming pools. The concept of bungalows is really nice, as well as having your own hamac at the room. The gardens are well kept. You are always listening to birds. Breakfast is quite good, but lunch menu needs to be improved, as well as dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Alberto's, a local sea food place, has exquisite food and entertaining. You have dinner right by the sea!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seacritter
Business
TexasGulfCoast
Sep 1, 2013

Economical

First I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation to Cozumel; we've been many times so we know what to expect in terms of comfort. We normally don't do all-inclusives because we don't want to feel tied down and food isn't always great but the Allegro's price was too good to pass up. So if you're looking for a good deal (we paid $750 ppdo including airfare from Houston for 7 nights) with a great beach and you're not expecting luxury this could indeed be your place. The Allegro's rooms need some upgrades but the room we had wasn't bad. Yes, I would recommend this hotel however, it would be based on economical reasons and I would give full disclosure of the whys and why-nots. We found out that the resort is closing for a couple of months beginning September because business is slow so some of the amenities weren't available. There was some work going on but it did not impact our stay at all. I wasn't happy to find out that we had to pack extra clothing (dress, slacks and shoes for my husband) so that we could use the two dinner restaurants (and you only get to use them for two meals). Then upon arrival found out those 2 restaurants weren't open; we packed extra clothing for nothing. However the buffet food was decent; sometimes very good but towards the end of our stay felt like we were eating a lot of leftovers. They offered fish for many meals which was very good. The grilled chicken was always tasty. I stayed away from the burgers that were offered during every lunch; they did not look appetizing. They had fresh fruits/salads which were wonderful. Breakfasts omelets, French toast and pancakes were also good. The buffet is served in an open-air venue with a palapa roof which was poorly designed so leaked during rains. We took mosquito repellant for our ankles and legs because the biting bugs were bad at times especially during dinner. WIFI is very costly and not available at all in rooms (lobby and some pool areas only). You also must pay for use of their computer set up in the lobby (internet) and you must pay for any calls made using the room's phone. Beds are extraordinarily hard even by CZM standards. Pillows are lumpy but we took our own (we've been to CZM many times; stayed in many places; pillows (and beds) are horrible everywhere so we try to take our own pillows). The beach area is wonderful; the snorkeling isn't great in this area because it's mostly a sandy bottom. They have a very nice dock; we didn't use the dive op on site but the op we used was able to pick us up here which was great. The staff was mostly friendly but most do not go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The front desk staff aren't very genial but that seems to be the norm everywhere nowadays. We go to Cozumel for the crystal clear water and fabulous diving. We've come to enjoy some of the food; it has gotten better over the years. We usually stay at bargain places; so perhaps the more costlier resorts have comfy beds and pillows but we're under the assumption that all mattresses and pillows are brick-like. With that said I can't wait to go back to Cozumel (perhaps at Allegro) but I don't know if non-divers would appreciate it like we do. **The dive op staff on site "rescued" several baby loggerhead turtles from a nest just south of the boat dock and let us participate in their release which was awesome. However while it was amazing I have no idea if they followed proper protocol (I don't know what the regulations are); I was a little leery; I hope they know what they are doing and are trained. I was told later that only trained people are allowed to hold and release them but many of the guests did this very thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive as far south as possible and then up the east side of the island. Beautiful. During the summer months you'll see hundreds of marked turtle nests. There is a class given on the rescue and relief of baby turtles that will allow you to participate in the effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cavell
Business
Texas
May 21, 2014

Mixed review

I have vacationed in Cozumel over 10 times and have stayed at several different hotels. The allegro is a beautiful hotel with an amazing beach and great price. However you will have to sacrifice on the food and service. The food is well... just awful, including the reservation only restaurants. . The all-inclusive drinks...you have to stand in line to order (no waitress around the pool area or anywhere else). The beds are hard. I did manage to sleep good but now have bruises on both hips. I did read lots of reviews before booking this hotel and thought most were disgruntled/spoiled travelers. I guess I may be spoiled to better food and service at Cozumel palace and Secrets Grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alberto's on the beach..$$$ but was the best meal of the week

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LJW mom
Business
Charles City Iowa
Jun 1, 2014

Poor food and theft!

The food was really poor quality and several of our party of 9 became ill during our stay. The reservations for the restaurants were also booked already yet no one was actually there eating when you would walk by! My niece had $160 stolen out of her room and the hotel staff did take a report but clearly weren't very serious about it. The great thing was the hot tub on the beach and the wonderful bartenders and activity staff!! They were awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 14, 2010

Allegro Cozumel

great location and the best beach on Cozumel. However the rooms are outdated and very loud. You can hear people snoring in the rooms next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelgirl72
Business
Minnesota
Mar 15, 2011

Good place for a group

We stayed at this hotel from February 27 through March 6, 2011, with a group of 14 adults. We have done a lot of traveling around Mexico and have never had a problem. Check-in was very quick and easy, everyone was very helpful. We were able to book the specialty restaurants, Mexican and Asian, but in the end did not make it to the Asian restaurant. If you want to get in, be sure to find out what time you can make reservations as it is very hard to get in, especially with a big group. We ate at the buffet quite a bit, but it all tasted pretty bland unless you added jalepenos to your entree! I'm not picky but I have had better at many buffets-however, the snack bar was great! All over Mexico people complain about the hard beds and we've never had a problem - until this time. The mattress was about 4 inches thick laid on a raised cement slab. Very uncomfortable. The room was cleaned every day and very well. The grounds were immaculate and people were working on them all the time. The pools were actually quite filthy. It was okay to swim in, but a friend did the scuba training and couldn't believe how bad it was under water. The beach is big and beautiful. Even with our big group we didn't have trouble finding enough beach chairs for everyone. The bartenders were extremely slow, but friendly. Almost always a waiting line. We did some diving with an independent company, but did speak with people at the dive shop at the Allegro. They were very friendly, but they charge for EVERYTHING extra you may need - even the dive light and blinkers if you do a night dive. That seemed a little over the top to me. Free enriched air tanks (nitrox) if you use that. No problem getting taxi's right outside the front door. We even rented a van with driver for all 14 of us to take our friends to some of our favorite stops - Tequila factory, Mescalito's, Coconuts, Playa Bonito, El Gato Negro, Viva Mexico, Tiki Tok. It was only $35 US each and our driver picked us up at 11 a.m. and brought us home about 8:30 p.m. Even provided a cooker of beer and water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yooper Time
Business
Portland Metro Area, OR
Apr 22, 2010

Had a Good Trip!

We stayed near the Adult Pool/Bar or were on the beach and near the beach bar. The beach and water were amazing. Try the free snorkeling and kayaking. I know it is All-Inclusive, but bring some tip money. The staff works their butts off and a dollar or two goes a long way at the bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the free snorkeling and kayaking. I also suggest going on the snorkel tour through the dive shop. If you want to go parasailing, walk down the beach to the Grand...it saved us $15 US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas Tx
Sep 10, 2010

Get what you pay for.

The guys at Pro Dive Shop were great. The people at the front desk will try to sell you a time share package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel All Inclusive Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 29, 2010

Great location, Not great food

We went there for a friend's wedding and the staff did a nice job on the ceremony and reception. The resort's small size worked well for the families to stick together and the location was great for access to diving and water sports. Other than that, the resort experience was very disappointing. The food was not good at all, or varied and had poor presentation. Lunch was served at the snack bar only and was horrible with the exact same very limited selection every day. Many of our group got sick including the groom who could not eat or drink anything at his wedding. The snack bar didn't open until noon (or later) and the breakfast service closed at 10 am so if you were hungry in between there was no place to get anything to eat or even water or soda. Every all inclusive resort that we have ever stayed in had someplace to eat all the time. There was only one buffet location and one limited seating "with reservation" location for dinner. The food was so disappointing that our entire group ate many of the meals out and even ordered pizza in! Not fun when you have paid for all inclusive. Most of the staff were friendly, but they seemed very stressed and under staffed and there were long waits for drinks or service. Tips jars were displayed everywhere so we felt compelled to tip even though that is not usual for all inclusive. We paid more for this trip than any other that we have taken in Mexico and the room was by far the most disappointing. According to the [...] reservation, we were to be upgraded to a premier room, but no. As a couple, we had asked for a king bed, but got two queen beds instead. The rooms were charming "hut style" but ours was very, very small with cobwebs and cockroaches and a tiny bathroom. No refrigerator and the bed was a hard mattress set on a concrete block and several of our party had to ask for foam pads to be able to sleep. The grounds, pools and beach area were quite dirty, not the pristine care taking that we are used to at other resorts. It seems that if the occupancy was so low at that Occidental resort, they should have upgraded the few guests that were at the Allegro next door to the Grand and given everyone a much better experience instead of trying to keep it running at half staff and poor quality of service. Overall, the wedding and our friends made it a great trip, but the extra money we had to spend for decent meals and the very disappointing accommodations ensured that none of the 22 people we had in our group will ever return to the Allegro or perhaps even to the Occidental chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top