$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
205 reviews
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Allegro a great place for couples

This was our second trip to Cozumel and Allegro. I could not be more pleased with the place or the... See full review

  • Hubizzle
  • May 19, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nelson1337
Business
St Cloud, MN, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Just ok.

There are a lot of good qualities about this hotel,but overall we were disappointed in our stay. Ivan is part of the staff and he is great. The disco bar was fun and the beach is great. Everything thing else about this hotel is not good at all. Food was the worst iv had. Beds are as hard as a brick. The front desk was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NO TIMESHARE WANTED
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Nice Getaway

Check in was a breeze, The staff was very freindly. The beach had no rocks to walk over when you enter the water. Check out was also very easy. The negative side to Allegro is the time share people outside the lobby. You have to go past them to enter the lobby or go to the resturant. They constantly try to make you feel that you are supposed to stop to talk with them. They don't advertise as a time share deal, but as the activity desk. Very, very, very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make your own plans and don't use the activity desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Starr777
Business
PA
Apr 20, 2014

Getaway

Food was not so great. The bed was hard. Beach was amazing. Be careful of concierge desk they try to over charge on excursion for booking for you. Scuba diving is so worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DiveChic
Business
Indiana
May 8, 2014

Go for the Drinks and Diving!

The diving was amazing and the onsite pro shop was one of the best that I have dealt with. The diving was definitely a bargain here and made up for the resorts shortcomings. The good about the resort was the beach and the staff. They definitely don't short you on drinks and the staff goes out of their way to make your day better. The only good about the rooms were the hammocks on each patio area. They were my favorite part to coming back to the room! The bad... the rooms were full of bugs. From my understanding, there is a bug issue if you have the 2nd floor due to the ceiling. Every day brought a new hissing bug. Should have moved to the first floor! Beds were hard but they do provide egg crate pads. The first day we were there, our toilet wouldn't flush and the water was not working (whole resort). Speaking of toilets, I was not aware that you couldn't flush toilet paper there.. not sure if that was an island thing. Pools were ok, not the cleanest. All in all, once we got past the issues, we had a good time. I would recommend to a friend but purely as a dive vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Arthur TX
Oct 28, 2010

Dissappointed

Very dissapointed this year. 2 of the 3 restaurants were closed, and the one that was open served the same dull food every day. They ran out of tonic water the second day and never got any more for the 6 days we were there. Also ran out of blody marys. The only red wine was sickeningly sweet an undrinkable The beach was still beautiful but I doubt we go back to Allegro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel-Panda
Business
San Antonio TX
Jan 14, 2010

not what it used to be

I have stayed that this particular resort in the past and was looking forward to a return trip this year. The Allegro, however is not as I remembered it. Now-a-days things are not in the best of shape. Our room was without water for a night and without any hot water for over 24 hours. Each time we called, we were told it would be fixed within the hour. It wasn't. When the water was "fixed" it was brown and muddy at best. The resort's hot tub is no longer a hot tub. It has water and bubbles, but no heat which would have been nice for this January trip. I asked about it and was told it is not broken, just no longer heated. The entertainment used to be a lot of fun. Now, there are hardly any activities at all and the "shows" have been reduced to karaoke. I am sad to say that we will not be returning to what used to be one of my favorite places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2007

Pack some snacls

Allegro Cozumel has beds hard as rocks and don't serve food all the time. Make sure you pack some snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Feb 20, 2010

great location but understaffed

My husband and I stayed at Allegro for 7 days. We came with the understanding that our accommodations might not be top notch, since the price was one of the lower ones that we found in all of our searching. That said, we were pleasantly surprised by a number of things. The rooms and grounds were quite clean. The pools are large, and access to the beach was perfect. The beach itself was nice, not the sprawling beach that we prefer, and the sand was courser than expected, but it was still beautiful and we had fun on the beach. Our disappointments had more to do with the amount of time we spent waiting for drinks and food. The staff was clearly overworked and not prepared for the number of people that were staying at the resort. I felt bad for them. Many of the guests were angry and actually yelling at them, and the issues weren't THEIR fault, but the fault of the management. Bartenders ran out of liquor, glasses, etc. The cooks were running low on supplies. The food was hit or miss too. Some days it was delicious, some days it was terrible. They made everything from scratch but in such small quantities that people would flock to it, horde it and then none would be left for anyone else. We also realized once we were there that (we were there in February) that the weather wasn't ideal for the kind of vacation we wanted. It was cloudy more than half the time and rainy. We suspect that the resort wasn't accustomed to having so many people that time of year. They just had the BEST price at the time. The snorkeling more than made up for it though- highly recommended! If you go in February, bring lots of layers to put on after you are done or you will be cold!! I would only stay here again if we decided to go on another inexpensive vacation. Like I mentioned, the staff was trying their best and I felt that they couldn't have done better unless management increased their numbers. They needed to double the number of bartenders and wait staff in the buffet areas. If you come here, be patient, and realize that you get what you pay for. The other Occindental hotel down the beach is quite a bit newer and worth looking in to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wandering Boomer
Business
San Francisco
Jan 30, 2011

A potential gem if not for the rough

From the moment of check-in to the final good-bye I was continually impressed and appreciative of the staff.The purpose of our trip was scuba diving and this resort adjacent to Palancar Reef. Our dive operator was able to pick us up each morning at the resorts dock. The rooms were clean, with plenty of hot water but the mattress was painfully hard and uncomfortable. This was a common experience for our group. The food (breakfast,lunch & dinner; buffet style) was served above the lobby and near one of the 4 swimming pools with 2 specialty restaurants (Mexican and Asian)available for dinner but with reservations (make them upon arrival). Most of the meals were unfailingly disappointing throughout our stay, lacking seasoning and consistently over cooked. First time at this resort and could only recommend if you were willing to rough it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ate at Casa Denis. A great little restaurant near the square in downtown Cozumel. Easy find as most locals know it. I liked the fried chicken with mole sauce. (http://www.casadenis.com)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2010

Less than expected

Long lines at meals; short on bacon and any popular foods; numerous insect bites - bed bugs? (front desk said to buy an "After Bite" stick at the gift shop); no lock for room safe for first two days; insect repellant cost $9.00 at the gift shop; layout for food lacked logic (e.g. nacho chips hot off the grill were great, but were across the room from the guacamole and salsa containers, which were usually empty); front desk always had a line so not easy to get questions answered; beds were single thin mattress on a concrete slab.....very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car for the week. Taxi ride is $20 each way into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top