Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
205 reviews
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Allegro a great place for couples

This was our second trip to Cozumel and Allegro. I could not be more pleased with the place or the... See full review

  • Hubizzle
  • May 19, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3823 -87.021
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
CZM - Cozumel
Area description
On magnificent San Francisco Beach, an excellent beachfront location on the southwest part of the island, just 5 minutes from Palancar Reef.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leeeeeeeeee
Business
brooklyn
Mar 17, 2014

major shortcomings

right from the beginning the staff are closed minded, i came in to check in and they insisted on putting a band on my arm, i was about to go to a wedding, why do i want to dance around with a band, when i refused, they had to call a manager! what the...? the tap water as well tasted and smelled horrible, i ended up staying elsewhere! have no paience to go on...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Redrzr
Business
Idaho
Mar 20, 2014

Couple get away

The food was not very good, the staff was not friendly. Very dissatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shelcataline
Business
Eaton Rapids, MI
May 7, 2009

Allegro :-(

Our experience at the Allegro was not good. The service was poor and we found the hotel employees to be quite rude...with the exception of the food service staff and snorkel/dive staff, they were wonderful!! The food in the main restaurant was horrible nearly everyday. I thought I paid for a room upgrade only to find that there is no such thing once we arrived. The hotel was nearly empty and we were placed in a room just outside the kiddy pool area. (??) We asked to be moved and were accommodated, but then found our room to be somewhat dirty and had a problem with ants that were in and on our bed. If the hotel personnel and rooms weren't bad enough, upon our return, I found that the hotel had charged our credit card an additional $1083.48 plus 2% internation transaction fee for my PREPAID TRIP. I've now made 3 international calls to the resort and keep getting put on hold -- conveniently until after 5:00 p.m. their time when the accounting dept. closes. I'm now working w/Cheaptickets to get this amount credited. Pay phone in lobby is not user friendly and asking for help is like pulling teeth. The resort charges $150 to your credit card so you can make calls from your room at $6.00/min., the "tries" to reconcile the charges upon check-out. Internet is ridiculous and not even close to high speed. I took my laptop & after paying $80 to have a pass code to be able to use their "high speed internet" was only able to access the internet while sitting near the snack bar or main lobby. There was NO access from any room. If you are going here, don't pay for internet -- it's a waste of $80. The saving grace of our vacation were the wonderful people we met from all over the U.S.!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and strongly urge anyone thinking about this resort to look at others first before booking your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling/dive personnel were absolutely wonderful!! The best part of the entire week was our 2 snorkel trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HeatherC
Business
Clearwater, FL
Dec 24, 2011

Skip it

I was in Cozumel to compete in the Ironman (this was one of the host hotels). I regret not researching this resort before I booked my package. The food was ok at best, but the noise and smoking were insane. I could not get a good night sleep because I could hear all the yelling, crying, and TVs in neighbors' rooms. I thought about sleeping on my balcony to escape the noise, but my downstairs neighbor would sit outside and smoke all night. I couldn't enjoy the pool or beach area because too many people were smoking there as well. Nothing says paradise like relaxing in the sun and chain-smoking. Please don't stay here unless you enjoy being bothered by obnoxious, noisy families. My friend stayed at the Sabor, which I visited and found to be relaxing, quiet, and more suited for people with atleast a drop of class. I will stay there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaryO17
Business
Chicago
Apr 18, 2012

Overall disappointment

Very disappointed to arrive on Sunday to be told that we could not make reservations in one of the specialty dinning spots until FRIDAY (when we were leaving). We were even more disappointed when we arrived in the main dining room. Had to BEG to be served our beverages. The food was cold, over cooked, and dry. We found the same to be true for breakfast. Dinning room lacked ambiance and a view. Lunch was the bright spot. Located near the pool and beach. Food was good and fresh. All mixed drinks at bars had little to no alcohol in them. The beach was also a plus as beaches are not native to Cozumel. Plenty of chairs and very well kept. Rooms were very average, but clean. Bathrooms were bare bones. Beds were HARD as rocks...left with a stiff neck. Staff was inattentive and not welcoming at all. Would not stay at Allegro or any Occidental Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You WILL be disappointed in the dinning and food at Allegro. STRONGLY recommend venturing to town to La Terraza. It is on a corner in the main square across from the Pier. Excellent, fresh seafood...very firendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ssfant
Business
Whitney, Texas
Aug 15, 2012

Family vacation 2012

Don't waste your money at this hotel!! The beds are SUPER hard, even with the added cushion on the top. The walls are so thin, you can hear your neighbor sneeze. The food is HORRIBLE! We couldn't wait to get back home for some Hamburger Helper. The beach was beautiful, but not so good for snorkeling. The hotel looks nice, but not worth the money. We spent a lot in cab fares for activities and dinner. The resort is too far from everything. The beach bar closed at 7pm and the pool bar closed at 5pm. We paid extra to be closer to the beach. Not a good idea, because everything closed too early. We were there for 9 days. By day 5, we were on the phone with the airlines trying to get back home early. Even my 13 year old daughter was ready to come home. It was just one issue after another. I will pay extra to stay somewhere else. Please read all the reviews carefully, before you decide to book your trip. If you do not plan outside activities and are okay with hard beds and bad food, you might like this resort. We will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Pickle
Business
United States
Mar 3, 2013

It Was Like a Camping Trip

We arrived and were super excited about being in Paradise! They wouldn't allow us to check in until 3:00pm. No biggie...they gave us towel cards and our wrist bands to go to the bar. We got our room at 3:00 and were more than surprised at the conditions of the room. The roof was a palapa (kind of cool for looks, but not a good idea for a roof...more on that later#. We got over the room quickly, showered, unpacked and were heading to the pool only to have the lobby call us to tell us that we were placed in the wrong room. Ummm not our fault, don't care. They cared. They said we didn't pay enough for that room #Ha!# and that the bell boy would be up in 2 minutes to retrieve us to place us in "our" room. Got to our room and it was IDENTICAL to the other but in a different location #all the way back of the property next to the maid building and the theater). Oh well we can handle it right? No, the toilet doesn't work and there was a nice ring of mold around the bath tub. Also, there were holes in the palapa roof. We still enjoyed the pool and the open bar and we were in paradise. Day 3 the power goes out in the entire complex. We ditch out to town after 4 hours of it. Thankfully when we returned our power was back on but there were areas of the resort that didn't get power for 2 days and some that never got the AC back in their rooms. Buffet food was OK but basically the same meals offered each day. Theater next to our room was insanely loud from 8:30pm-10pm. Pretty sure I cried the first night because I was so exhausted and wanted sleep. The night it rained was enough for us to almost pack up and leave the country. I woke up to a slow drip on the nightstand, then a large drip on the bed and then it was basically raining in the room. Called the front desk and they said they would try to relocate us but that they were totally full. One of our lights blew out due to the moisture. Lastly, don't forget the birds...at about 4:45am every morning they would wake us up with their squawking and pecking at the roof which would then flake off onto us sleeping below. We will not be visiting this resort or any of its affiliates ever again and would recommend others don't attempt it either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling tour. AWESOME!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawn from Las Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 4, 2013

Honeymoon without food

I just came back from my honeymoon. We thought this looked great from the pic and decided to try it out on one of our biggest days. (honeymoon) They do offer food and drinks as part of the all exclusive package. The only part as food and drinks were watered down drinks, and a buffet with ...hot dogs, burgers, and things that we had no idea what they were and everything was cold. My wife and I work in restaurants and know all the trick of the trade. It was far way from town, we had to rent a car to get into town to eat something worth going to Mexico. Not only was This web site no help what so ever, this was the worst venue I have ever seen in my 25 years in restaurants and hotel business, This is not a review of someone whom is upset but an informative review from a someone who know what they are talking about. I heard nice things about Secrets down the street from Allegra. Go there instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 16, 2010

Allegro Cozumel Run for your LIFE !!!!

I have been traveling to Cozumel for 25 years and this is the first time I have been compelled to write a review. The hotel is a nice on a beautiful beach. That's it! We were traveling with a group of 6 people. 4 out of the six contracted a severe case of food poisoning. We complained to hotel management and they blew us of like it was no big deal. The hotel staff later contacted to see how we were doing and informed us that hundreds of people were having the same symptoms we had. Still no big deal to them they said it just happens. No way no how will we ever step foot on the Allegro's grounds again. I will be fallowing up with trip advisory and any other report I can post to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tim and Lucy and family
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 15, 2010

Very average accommodations

The food was horrible. They also "ran out" of certain foods and even after asking multiple employees to get from the kitchen, it took forever.They also conveniently ran out of bananas, strawberries and mint for the various drinks at the bars. This happened every single day we were there. They had no change at the front desk. The staff at the front desk had an "oh well" attitude about most things. Also, watch out for "pushy" timeshare staff as you enter the resort after check-in. It is a real "turn-off."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't come with high expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top