$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
205 reviews
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Allegro a great place for couples

This was our second trip to Cozumel and Allegro. I could not be more pleased with the place or the... See full review

  • Hubizzle
  • May 19, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.3823 -87.021
Area served
Cozumel, Mexico
Nearby airports
CZM - Cozumel
Area description
On magnificent San Francisco Beach, an excellent beachfront location on the southwest part of the island, just 5 minutes from Palancar Reef.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray from OKC
Business
Oklahoma city, ok
Feb 22, 2010

Hotel Allegro February 2010

The Allegro Hotel:Grounds: Very pretty resort, the grounds are well taken care of. The beach was very nice for Cozumel hotels. The water was very calm and there were kids off all ages playing on the beach. The sand is not the baby powder variety, but ground small pieces of shell and coral (natural sand for the area) I never cut my feet, or had any problem walking in the sand there. Occasionally I found people complaining that it wasn't the white powerdered sugar they had seen in Florida, but I think that's because they had never known any other kind of sand before. I found it quite nice, as did my wife and daughter.Wifi can be found in most public areas, but wouldn't work in my room - best results seemed to be in the lobby - where it was actually pretty fast. I wouldn't stream video, but very useable for normal web/email. It's not free - you can pay ~$10 for an hour, ~$80 for a week. I was only dissapointed because some of the other places I stay offer it for free in public areas. Rooms:The rooms are in casita style buildings with thatch roofs. There are 4 rooms per building. The rooms I got off of [...] are a bit small, 11x13 for the bed/tv area (2 full beds), plus some more space for the bathroom and closet. The bathrooms in my room are a bit out of date and dingy, if that type of thing bothers you, it doesn't bother me. One positive note about the bathroom, there was no problem getting plenty of very hot water. This is nice, I often find that in Mexico the hot water isn't very hot, or doesn't last long. I could get hot water anytime, and for long wasteful showers. The beds are fairly comfortable, a bit firm (It's mexico, they always are) but they were ok, a little softer than some other places I've been.I noticed there are nicer rooms at the resort, maybe for timeshare customers (I believe referred to VIP members at the resort). There are even some suite rooms.On the note of timeshares, there is a timeshare sales desk (referred to as tours desk) near the lobby. They offer all the usual discounts on this or that to go to a presentation, personally I value my vacation time to highly for 100-150 discount on anything in trade for time in Cozumel...but to each there own. It only took 2-3 "no gracias" the first day, and they didn't bother us after that. Polite but firm usually solves this nuisance, and it did this week as well. Eating and drinking:The resort is All inclusive, there are 2 bars open during the day, one at the pool/lunch buffet, another at the beach. There is a 3rd bar near the dinner buffet/lobby, but it doesn't open until the other 2 close (~5pm/dinner time).There really is 1 main restraunt at the hotel, it's buffet for all 3 meals. For DINNER there are 2 other options, Mexican a la carte (which is actually housed in the lunch buffet area), and Japanese a la carte(housed next to the dinner buffet). For a la carte, Men are required to wear long pants (I really didn't care for that). When you check in, they will tell you to make reservations for the a la carte's - make them right away, no matter what. They say they don't take reservation for more than 1 day in advance, when I called about japanese first available was 3 days away. I asked how it was possible for it to be 3 days away when they only take reservations 1 day in advance, which lead to a circular conversation where we came back to the first available being 3 days away. I tried the japanese place it was pretty good, try the chicken/shrimp terriyake.Lunch was pretty good, it's a buffet next to the pools. Try a little bit of everything, then go back and get more of what you like. If they have the grill going go look for steak, they served skirt steak one day, and it was GREAT. Popular items like guacamole, and tortilla chips go fast when the hotel is full. When it's not full there is usually plenty to go around. They will start cooking burgers and fries for the lunch buffet around 11am, but the buffet starts at noon - so the first ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the onsite dive shop, other shops in town will pick you up from the hotel pier. Try Scuba Mau, google them and make reservations before your trip, great prices, great shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2010

Less than expected

Long lines at meals; short on bacon and any popular foods; numerous insect bites - bed bugs? (front desk said to buy an "After Bite" stick at the gift shop); no lock for room safe for first two days; insect repellant cost $9.00 at the gift shop; layout for food lacked logic (e.g. nacho chips hot off the grill were great, but were across the room from the guacamole and salsa containers, which were usually empty); front desk always had a line so not easy to get questions answered; beds were single thin mattress on a concrete slab.....very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car for the week. Taxi ride is $20 each way into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Feb 20, 2010

great location but understaffed

My husband and I stayed at Allegro for 7 days. We came with the understanding that our accommodations might not be top notch, since the price was one of the lower ones that we found in all of our searching. That said, we were pleasantly surprised by a number of things. The rooms and grounds were quite clean. The pools are large, and access to the beach was perfect. The beach itself was nice, not the sprawling beach that we prefer, and the sand was courser than expected, but it was still beautiful and we had fun on the beach. Our disappointments had more to do with the amount of time we spent waiting for drinks and food. The staff was clearly overworked and not prepared for the number of people that were staying at the resort. I felt bad for them. Many of the guests were angry and actually yelling at them, and the issues weren't THEIR fault, but the fault of the management. Bartenders ran out of liquor, glasses, etc. The cooks were running low on supplies. The food was hit or miss too. Some days it was delicious, some days it was terrible. They made everything from scratch but in such small quantities that people would flock to it, horde it and then none would be left for anyone else. We also realized once we were there that (we were there in February) that the weather wasn't ideal for the kind of vacation we wanted. It was cloudy more than half the time and rainy. We suspect that the resort wasn't accustomed to having so many people that time of year. They just had the BEST price at the time. The snorkeling more than made up for it though- highly recommended! If you go in February, bring lots of layers to put on after you are done or you will be cold!! I would only stay here again if we decided to go on another inexpensive vacation. Like I mentioned, the staff was trying their best and I felt that they couldn't have done better unless management increased their numbers. They needed to double the number of bartenders and wait staff in the buffet areas. If you come here, be patient, and realize that you get what you pay for. The other Occindental hotel down the beach is quite a bit newer and worth looking in to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ERICK PALACIOS
Business
Eden Prairie, MN
Feb 18, 2010

Great vacations!

the hotel is good, the services great, but the food didnt have a lot of variety as the same time in the 2 special restaurans food was OK but the waiting time was awful. other than that I will give a 3.5 rate out 5, they need to have differente food, more mexican and typical food, not american. The tourism is going there to try new stuff. Get more people at the bars with more experience and also better drinks they we a littel cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tim and Lucy and family
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 15, 2010

Very average accommodations

The food was horrible. They also "ran out" of certain foods and even after asking multiple employees to get from the kitchen, it took forever.They also conveniently ran out of bananas, strawberries and mint for the various drinks at the bars. This happened every single day we were there. They had no change at the front desk. The staff at the front desk had an "oh well" attitude about most things. Also, watch out for "pushy" timeshare staff as you enter the resort after check-in. It is a real "turn-off."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't come with high expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Feb 14, 2010

Nice family location

food was great! Employees were very nice. Rooms very clean. The only complaint was the bar service. Bartenders were great, but the bars were under staffed and ran out of alcohol every day and had to wait for quite some time to restock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great variety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Feb 9, 2010

Isolation

Cozumel has so much to offer but this hotel is very isolated from town. Buffet certainly left something to be desired and you have to make reservations for specialty restaurants before 5pm. I checked in at 6pm so no luck for me. I went to town for breakfast. Room was very nice and clean. I only stayed on night so I did not have a chance to explore other aspects of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Feb 3, 2010

Great fun

Great place to stay with kids - there's lot for even little kids to do. My daughter loved the pools - especially the wading pool with water slides. The beach was beautiful and the water was calm enough for easy wading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round lake,Illinois
Jan 25, 2010

You get what you pay for ...

The resort was acceptable enough for its price even without a boxspring or clock available in the room . It would have been better if they can have internet access in rooms or more american channels . You come here to enjoy and relax and you can get it easily . You have to buy an internet access card in the lobby for either a day or one hour use bring net or notebook computer) . THE ROOM IS CLEAN BUT HAS MOSQUITOES outside and AROUND ( as expected for a summer place and bring OFF spray ). The place could have also included a payphone that you can call a 1-800 number without paying. We have all-inclusive so drinks and food were available and all taste great for mexican dish. Never had the chance to do scuba lessons for beginners or other non-motorized water sports because of the weather and high waves. No arcade available for teenagers for nighttime other that swimming. The have a dedicated channel for daily activities of the resort . Small cars have manual transmission so beware and be aware. Rent a car and go to the other side of the island for a free and nice white beach walks and swim. 90 km/hour is not bad . They have Mcdonalds and Pizza hut by the city .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car to enjoy the islands and be careful of timeshare program personnels. leran a little language for it can help a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roscoooo
Business
Milliken, Colorado
Jan 24, 2010

Great Fun Great Beach

The staff were doing everything to be helpful, the presentation of everything was great, the food was good but could have been better,breakfast was unvaried, the fresh eggs and omelete cook was great. The drinks were not all that but bar staff were efficient/friendly. the nightlife was terrible, the discotech was useless almost an embarassement to the hotel.they have a theatre that puts on shows which was very nice and the dancers were great. beach was great,snorkeling was great.One concern.... us and another couple both had cameras missing from our rooms never to be found,USE THE SAFE !! apart from that we had a fantastic time,,, Take Bug spray for dusk Ouch !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Albertos seafood restaurant about 1 mile south on the beach had fantastic lobster, Grouper, Crab, shrimp, conch, all fresh and cooked to perfection also offering top shelf liquor and nice wines and a good selection of beers very nice !!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top