$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 25, 2015 Check-out: Mar 26, 2015

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of KM 16.5 Carretera Sur, San Francisco, Palancar, Cozumel, 77600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
212 reviews
Great getaway.

We had a great 6 day stay at the Allegro Cozumel. We got in very late due to a plane connection... See full review

  • Joel S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Everything we expected!

We stayed here for 8 days. This is the best beach Resort in Cozumel! The staff is very friendly and... See full review

  • tan texans
  • Jul 22, 2014
Beach living in glamorous bungalows on Cozumel
The luxurious all-inclusive Allegro Cozumel resort is on one of Cozumel’s most beautiful beaches and is minutes from one of the world’s largest coral reefs, making it a diver’s dream. The three pools have designated roles -- one for kids, one for group activities and the third for adults. Families will love the kid’s waterpark and supervised activities, which include scuba lessons and windsurfing.
Highlights
  • Located on San Francisco Beach, minutes from Palancar Reef; Pro Dive Mexico Center on site
  • Scuba classes and full schedule of sports and activities
  • Kids waterpark with slides, splash fountain and supervised activities for little ones
  • Four restaurants and five bars on site
  • Lighted tennis courts for night play
Rooms
Guests of the Allegro Cozumel stay in recently renovated, two-story Polynesian style bungalows with thatched roofs, yellow sun-colored walls, and a balcony or terrace complete with hammock. Dark wood furniture provides sophisticated accents. Grander suites and accessible rooms also are available. Room amenities include climate control and ceiling fans, cable TV, telephone, bathtub and shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safety deposit box. Cribs and extra beds are available on request.
Recreation
Scheduled activities allow families to play tennis, beach volley ball, sail or snorkel together. Or they may freestyle their fun at the kid’s waterpark or as live pieces on the on-site giant chess board. Snorkeling and fishing trips to Palancar Reef and along the coast are led by Pro Dive Mexico Center; scuba lessons also are available. A theater hosts shows nightly.
Transportation
  • Cozumel International Airport (8 mi/12km)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Beach (adjacent)
  • Palancar Reef (2 mi/4km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel
Policies and fees
Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Superior rooms feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.
Superior Premium
Superior Premium rooms are facing the pools and feature one king bed or two double beds, private bathroom with tub & shower, hairdryer and air conditioning with individual climate control, ceiling fan, telephones, private balcony or terrace, shower with full bath, safety deposit box, and satellite television with remote control. Cribs available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Topaz
Restaurant offers buffet-style for breakfast and dinner. continental breakfast 6 am - 7 am. Breakfast buffet 7 am - 10.30 am. Dinner 6 pm - 9.30 pm
Disco Bar
Bar and DJ music. Open from 8.30 pm - 1.30 am (Only adults after 10 pm)
El Crystal Bar
Casual meeting place.
Snack Bar
Lunch buffet. Bar and late night fare.
La troje
Restaurant offer the best of Mexican cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.
Aqua Bar
Swim up pool bar.
El Oriental
Restaurant offer the best of Oriental cuisine. A la carte menu. Reservations and dress code required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 1, 2010

horrible ....

The staff was horrible .... They would constantly lie ... The roof of the room was letting water through. Apparantly this was not just in one room, there was over 20 rooms that were effected. What was very disappointing was that they would lie and say they would come and fix it but the never would. The food was also horrible. We were sick for a few days and realized that most people didn't eat at the hotel, they would go to the town and eat at other places. The neighboring hotel was also owned by the same company and they were horrible too! On the first day we found 5 bugs in our food. I have never seen anything like this. I wouldn't even give this hotel a one start rating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

eat in the city don't eat at the hotel. You will get sick

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
STLshorty
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 1, 2010

Fun if you like bugs, bird [*] rain

Occidental Allegro Cozumel advertised several ammenities that were not included when we arrived. There is not 5 restaurants, only three. There was three bars open, not five. They were understaffed-we waited in line for a drink for at least 10 minutes at each bar. The buffet was pathetic and the food was not good. There were lines out the door for that as well. They also don't tell you until you get there that you can only eat at the a la carte restaurants once. The safe in our room didn't close, the mattresses were on concrete slabs and there wasn't a clock or even a remote for the TV. The part about there being a mini fridge and iron was also falsely advertised. The thatched roofs make a haven for bugs, which were crawling all over everything (some tiny and some really big), and we could hear EVERYTHING in the room next to us (getting woken up by someone puking is not what I want on my vacation). We came back to fresh bird poop right by our bed everyday, along with the same iguana poop right by our stairs that had been there since before we arrived. It rained hard one night, and our roof leaked all over the beds and floors. When we complained the manager said the hotel is "only a 4 star and the rain is unexpected". [...] Oh, and if they try to tell you to go to a presentation next door at the Occidental Grand Cozumel and it's "not a time-share", they're lying. In order to get people to go to this sales presentation, they offer cheap car rentals, tickets, etc. Beware of the car rentals! We rented a VW bug, which was free for two days because of the presentation, and it was a broken down, rusted, can't drive it in the rain because the windsheild wipers don't work and the convertible top has the windows cut out of it [*]. There also wasn't a gas cap so we breathed massive amounts of gas fumes as well. They said the tank was full, but it was on half, and of course they tried to make us pay for that when we dropped it off. We were told it would cost $20/day after we had it the first two days, and when we turned it in we were charged $40/day. I've never been more put out or tried to be ripped off more than this vacation. We were there a week and couldn't wait to get home to cold weather, where at least we'd be around friendly, honest people. We will NEVER stay at another Occidental property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Eco Park on the southern tip of the island is beautiful and educational.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bluzdrummer
Business
Columbus,Ohio
Feb 28, 2010

Bad service,Bad food

Check in was ok,bars open at 10AM,(ONLY TWO)and staff was unattentive,many days didnt start serving until 11AM,many days didnt have beer,limes,or other ingriedients needed.Dining hall is upstairs,no way to get there from the inside.Service and food were terrible.Had to complain to the resident manager twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carolina de Norte
Feb 27, 2010

Allegro never again

food sucked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny Pincher
Business
Hammond, WI
Feb 27, 2010

Sometimes, you get what you pay for

OK, let's start with the positive. The food was awesome, what they lacked in variety they made up for in quality. The beach is beautiful & the staff was very nice. Each room has a little patio/balcony with a hammock. Cozumel has it's own speed...slow. Do yourself a favor and don't expect a quick response to anything. Order 2 drinks at a time since the line to the bartender is usually long. If you want to eat at one of the "specialty restaurants" book it ASAP. We arrived on Thurs. and tried to make reservations on Sunday but they were booked solid for the rest of our trip. Do yourself a favor and look at the menus before you make reservations. The choices at the Oriental & Mexican restaurants are very limited so you might be better off at the buffett anyway. Everything was very clean, but the bathroom smelled. Keep the shower window open at all times. We highly recommend getting a lower level room. We had an upper level and although the thatched roof is cute, it LEAKED...BIG TIME! Granted, it was pouring cats and dogs but really, it's 2010, you can't make a roof that doesn't leak? It took them 4 hours from the time we called to bring us towels and mop up the floor. It wasn't just our room either, it was raining INSIDE the dining room. A few days later we had another downpour and this time part of the roof in our room actually broke loose and the fan blew bits of straw everywhere! We were not traveling in the rainy season, so bring an umbrella no matter what time of the year you come. We got an unbelievable deal on this hotel which is the only way we were able to afford to go to Cozumel in the first place. So if we got that price again, and couldn't find anything comparable, we would go to this hotel again. But we'd definitely shop around first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cozumel Chrissy
Business
NY
Feb 25, 2010

Allegro- Quite Nice

The hotel was very nice with many fun activities. We played volleyball, snorkeled, went kayaking, and learned to sail all on the resort. The buffet was better than most buffets. We went to the Oriental restaurant, which was beautifully decorated but had disappointing food. Our room was somewhat small, but immaculately clean and cutely decorated. The beds were firm, but after all the exercise and booze, we had no trouble sleeping. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The TV and fridge in our room didn't work at first, but as soon as we told someone, they were replaced in <5 minutes. Our neighbor's above us flooded their bathroom causing water to leak into our room. Again, this was quickly addressed. The beach is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Jeep tour! We had so much fun on this trip and it was definitely worth the small extra cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A couple of 50 year olds
Business
New Jersey
Feb 23, 2010

Very Relaxing...

We just returned after spending 1 week (Feb. 16 - 23rd) at the Allegro Cozumel. It was a perfect vacation. Our room was not one of the recently redone at the resort but it was still nice and clean. Each room has a large porch which includes a table and chairs and hammock which we enjoyed. The entire staff was friendly and very eager to please. The other vacationers were friendly as well. The pools, gardens, and beach were spotless. The buffet restaurant has a different theme each evening such as Italian, Mexican, Barbeque, etc. with the staff dressed to match the theme. We went on a 3 hour trip to snorkel at three different reefs and that was fantastic. There are also activities held hourly if you choose to participate. This resort is unique because it is more like a quaint village than a typical hotel. We have no complaints and would definately recommend it to family and friends. We look forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling excursion was great as well as all of the other water sports that were included with the package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray from OKC
Business
Oklahoma city, ok
Feb 22, 2010

Hotel Allegro February 2010

The Allegro Hotel:Grounds: Very pretty resort, the grounds are well taken care of. The beach was very nice for Cozumel hotels. The water was very calm and there were kids off all ages playing on the beach. The sand is not the baby powder variety, but ground small pieces of shell and coral (natural sand for the area) I never cut my feet, or had any problem walking in the sand there. Occasionally I found people complaining that it wasn't the white powerdered sugar they had seen in Florida, but I think that's because they had never known any other kind of sand before. I found it quite nice, as did my wife and daughter.Wifi can be found in most public areas, but wouldn't work in my room - best results seemed to be in the lobby - where it was actually pretty fast. I wouldn't stream video, but very useable for normal web/email. It's not free - you can pay ~$10 for an hour, ~$80 for a week. I was only dissapointed because some of the other places I stay offer it for free in public areas. Rooms:The rooms are in casita style buildings with thatch roofs. There are 4 rooms per building. The rooms I got off of [...] are a bit small, 11x13 for the bed/tv area (2 full beds), plus some more space for the bathroom and closet. The bathrooms in my room are a bit out of date and dingy, if that type of thing bothers you, it doesn't bother me. One positive note about the bathroom, there was no problem getting plenty of very hot water. This is nice, I often find that in Mexico the hot water isn't very hot, or doesn't last long. I could get hot water anytime, and for long wasteful showers. The beds are fairly comfortable, a bit firm (It's mexico, they always are) but they were ok, a little softer than some other places I've been.I noticed there are nicer rooms at the resort, maybe for timeshare customers (I believe referred to VIP members at the resort). There are even some suite rooms.On the note of timeshares, there is a timeshare sales desk (referred to as tours desk) near the lobby. They offer all the usual discounts on this or that to go to a presentation, personally I value my vacation time to highly for 100-150 discount on anything in trade for time in Cozumel...but to each there own. It only took 2-3 "no gracias" the first day, and they didn't bother us after that. Polite but firm usually solves this nuisance, and it did this week as well. Eating and drinking:The resort is All inclusive, there are 2 bars open during the day, one at the pool/lunch buffet, another at the beach. There is a 3rd bar near the dinner buffet/lobby, but it doesn't open until the other 2 close (~5pm/dinner time).There really is 1 main restraunt at the hotel, it's buffet for all 3 meals. For DINNER there are 2 other options, Mexican a la carte (which is actually housed in the lunch buffet area), and Japanese a la carte(housed next to the dinner buffet). For a la carte, Men are required to wear long pants (I really didn't care for that). When you check in, they will tell you to make reservations for the a la carte's - make them right away, no matter what. They say they don't take reservation for more than 1 day in advance, when I called about japanese first available was 3 days away. I asked how it was possible for it to be 3 days away when they only take reservations 1 day in advance, which lead to a circular conversation where we came back to the first available being 3 days away. I tried the japanese place it was pretty good, try the chicken/shrimp terriyake.Lunch was pretty good, it's a buffet next to the pools. Try a little bit of everything, then go back and get more of what you like. If they have the grill going go look for steak, they served skirt steak one day, and it was GREAT. Popular items like guacamole, and tortilla chips go fast when the hotel is full. When it's not full there is usually plenty to go around. They will start cooking burgers and fries for the lunch buffet around 11am, but the buffet starts at noon - so the first ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the onsite dive shop, other shops in town will pick you up from the hotel pier. Try Scuba Mau, google them and make reservations before your trip, great prices, great shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2010

Less than expected

Long lines at meals; short on bacon and any popular foods; numerous insect bites - bed bugs? (front desk said to buy an "After Bite" stick at the gift shop); no lock for room safe for first two days; insect repellant cost $9.00 at the gift shop; layout for food lacked logic (e.g. nacho chips hot off the grill were great, but were across the room from the guacamole and salsa containers, which were usually empty); front desk always had a line so not easy to get questions answered; beds were single thin mattress on a concrete slab.....very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car for the week. Taxi ride is $20 each way into town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Allegro Cozumel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Feb 20, 2010

great location but understaffed

My husband and I stayed at Allegro for 7 days. We came with the understanding that our accommodations might not be top notch, since the price was one of the lower ones that we found in all of our searching. That said, we were pleasantly surprised by a number of things. The rooms and grounds were quite clean. The pools are large, and access to the beach was perfect. The beach itself was nice, not the sprawling beach that we prefer, and the sand was courser than expected, but it was still beautiful and we had fun on the beach. Our disappointments had more to do with the amount of time we spent waiting for drinks and food. The staff was clearly overworked and not prepared for the number of people that were staying at the resort. I felt bad for them. Many of the guests were angry and actually yelling at them, and the issues weren't THEIR fault, but the fault of the management. Bartenders ran out of liquor, glasses, etc. The cooks were running low on supplies. The food was hit or miss too. Some days it was delicious, some days it was terrible. They made everything from scratch but in such small quantities that people would flock to it, horde it and then none would be left for anyone else. We also realized once we were there that (we were there in February) that the weather wasn't ideal for the kind of vacation we wanted. It was cloudy more than half the time and rainy. We suspect that the resort wasn't accustomed to having so many people that time of year. They just had the BEST price at the time. The snorkeling more than made up for it though- highly recommended! If you go in February, bring lots of layers to put on after you are done or you will be cold!! I would only stay here again if we decided to go on another inexpensive vacation. Like I mentioned, the staff was trying their best and I felt that they couldn't have done better unless management increased their numbers. They needed to double the number of bartenders and wait staff in the buffet areas. If you come here, be patient, and realize that you get what you pay for. The other Occindental hotel down the beach is quite a bit newer and worth looking in to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top