$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 17, 2014

The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 20 Zona Hotelera P. O. Box 1808, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
426 reviews
Fantastic getaway

I've stayed at this hotel before and loved it which is why I chose to stay again and will continue... See full review

  • Fonda Family
  • Apr 6, 2014
Beautiful

I have been around the world and I can not find a more enjoyable laid back spot then the Westin... See full review

  • Rena Top Travel Gal
  • Mar 28, 2014
Quiet Cancun beach getaway in the hotel zone between lagoon and sea

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun is perched between Nichupte lagoon and the Caribbean waters on a white-sand beach. The hotel has four shimmering outdoor pools, a fitness center and signature spa, as well as lit outdoor tennis courts, water sports and a club for kids. Elegant, contemporary guest rooms swathed in crisp linens overlook the lagoon or turquoise sea. Breeze-swept outdoor bars and restaurants and an array of indoor dining venues cater to diverse tastes. An all-inclusive plan is an option.

 

Highlights
  • Optional all-inclusive plan, including three meals daily, 24-hour room service, snacks and by-the-glass beverages
  • Modern, spacious rooms with sweeping lagoon or ocean views at Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
  • Club for children, complete with playground and indoor discovery room (fees may apply)

 

Rooms

All of the 387 contemporary guest rooms at Westin Resort & Spa Cancun are located in a six-floor main building and seven-story beach club. Each is flooded with light and features one king or two double signature Heavenly Beds with pillow-top mattresses, a breathtaking sea or lagoon view, satellite TV and wireless Internet access (fees apply). Royal rooms have private balconies, mini bars, oversized desks and in-room, laptop-sized safes as well as private check-in, complimentary daily buffet breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All-inclusive rooms in all categories feature 24-hour room service.

 

Dining

A wide range of dining options at Westin Resort & Spa Cancun caters to guests of all tastes. Options include the contemporary fine dining establishment overlooking the Caribbean or thatched-roof palapa, which sizzles fare atop hot stones. A casual snack bar, sunset bar steps from the main pool, and lounge serving martinis alongside gourmet appetizers are additional perks.

 

Recreation

The beachfront Westin Resort & Spa Cancun has its own workout room and spa offering massages and body treatments (fees apply). Many water sports are available, including parasailing and waterskiing (fees apply). Close proximity to Palancar Reef makes diving and snorkeling an option, too. Meanwhile, guests can opt to arrange tee times at a golf course nearby.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)

 

Attractions
  • Plaza Kukulcán shopping (4.5 mi/7 km)
  • Cancun Convention Center (7 mi/11.2 km)

 

Business
  • 11 flexible meeting spaces, the largest of which is a 9,688-square-foot ballroom for up to 1,200 reception-style
  • Business center

 

The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun Rooms

Ocean View
One king bed or two double beds. Westin's signature heavenly beds.Floor to celing window providing carribean sea/sunrise view. Tear yourself away from the windows to appreciate the other pleasures: contemporary design with Mexican-style accents, a separate sitting area, amenities such as satellite TV and High Speed Internet Access, plus the indulgent Westin Heavenly Bath. (455 square feet)..
Lagoon View
One king bed or two double beds. Westin's signature heavenly beds. Floor to celing window providing lagoon/sunset view. Tear yourself away from the windows to appreciate the other pleasures: contemporary design with Mexican-style accents, a separate sitting area, amenities such as satellite TV and High Speed Internet Access, plus the indulgent Westin Heavenly Bath. (455 square feet).
Rooms with All Inclusive All Categories
Daily breakfast buffet or a la carte at El Palmar Restaurant
Daily lunch buffet* or a la carte at Sunset Restaurant
Daily dinner buffet* or a la carte at El Palmar, Arrecifes or Sea & Stones Restaurant
*Buffet subject to availability
24-hr Room Service, A la carte snacks at Breeze, RBC lounge & The Place(limited bar menus)
Domestic & International drinks served by the glass (during operational hours of restaurants/bars)
Access to Westin Workout Room, Free in-room Internet access
Rooms with All Inclusive All Categories
Must book "All-Inclusive" rate category
A surcharge applies in some dishes of the restaurant menus for lunch, dinner & room service
Not included:
In-room minibar items, Hair salon, Heavenly Spa, concession-shop products or services; telephone calls (800-number service charge applies), Premium & deluxe beverage brands, wine by the bottle, laundry service, business center
Kids from 0-4 free of charge
Kids from 5-12: Charge of USD $40 per kid per night
Kids 13 and above: Pay as an adult
Royal Beach Lagoon View
One king westin heavenly bed or two double westin heavenly beds. Private balcony with Ocean view. Over sized desk, 32 inches plasma tv with premium channels with pay moview. Two dual line speaker phone with voice mail. Cable and wireless internet access(surcharges).Cofee maker and mini bar.Iron/ironing board. Lap top compaible safe. Private check in. Complimentary daily buffet breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvre and cocktail.
Royal Beach Ocean View
One king westin heavnly bed or two double westin heavnly beds. Private balcony with Ocean view. Oversized desk, 32 inches plasma tv with premium channels with pay moview. Two dual line speaker phone with voice mail. Cable and wireless internet access(surcharges).Coffee maker and mini bar.Iron/ironing board. Lap top compaible safe. Private check in. Complimentary daily buffet breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvre and cocktail.
Junior Suite
Experience loft-like living in a gorgeous tropical setting with a Junior suite at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. These studio suites feature a generous living room area offering stunning sea or lagoon views, and many with a private terrace or balcony. Centrally located in the resorts main building complex, theyre a perfect retreat for stretching out in privacy"while you save that Heavenly Bed for sleeping Complimentary Breakfast, Lounge in Royal Club; cocktail and appetizers in the evening, 617-702 Square Feet / 57-65 Square Meters, 617-702 Square Feet / 57-65 Square Meters, Studio Suite, IPod Dock, Nichupte Lagoon or Caribbean Sea Views, Extra-Large Bedroom with Living Area, Flat-screen LCD TV, Private Balcony or Terrace

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.0396 -86.7825
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - six miles.
Area description
Beachfront Resort located on Punta Nizuc at the southern end of Cancun's hotel zone. Six miles from Cancun International Airport. 10 minutes from superb shopping and award-winning restaurants. 7 miles from the Convention Center and 20 minutes from the City of Cancun.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.4 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.7 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 5 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.7 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.9 mi

Dining

Sunset Bar
Just steps from the main pool, Sunset Bar is the perfect place to break for an alfresco lunch, with salads, sandwiches, burgers, and grilled items, plus ice cream, cocktails, and more. The terrace offers extraordinary views of the Caribbean Sea.
Cuisine: Light Fare
Dress Code: Casual
Hours: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Atmosphere: Ocean view
Sea & Stones
Sea & Stones offers a truly unique experience: meals custom-cooked on hot stones, then enjoyed under a traditional palapa (straw hut) on the beach with delicious sangria or other local cocktails, plus stunning views of the Caribbean and Cancun.
Hours: 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM; Closed Mondays
Atmosphere: Romantic dining under a palapa
Setting: Ocean View
El Palmar
Making the most of the local bounty, such as tropical fruits and fresh seafood, El Palmar offers extensive choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Bring the whole family and enjoy a casual meal by the main pool overlooking the Caribbean
Cuisine: International
Hours: 6:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Atmosphere: Family & friendly
Setting:Ocean view
The Place - Bar & Lounge
Looking for somewhere to just hang out and relax? The Place is your place. Gather with friends and unwind with a beer, one of our signature martinis, or a choice from our huge tequila list-plus gourmet appetizers and ocean views.
Cuisine: Snacks
Hours: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Atmosphere: Beach Bar
Brisa/ Breeze
Sea breezes and refreshing drinks: what better recipe for relaxation? Find it at Brisa/Breeze, located by the main pool and offering cocktails, other beverages, and light snacks with a tranquil ocean backdrop
Cuisine: Snacks
Dress Code: Casual
Hours: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Atmosphere: Swim-Up Bar/Pool Bar
Setting: Ocean view
Arrecifes
The resort's best place to enjoy a romantic dinner for two, Arrecifes has it all: an excellent fine-dining menu, extensive wine list, cozy ambience, and beautiful ocean views.
Cuisine: Comtemporary
Dress Code: Business Casual
Hours: 6:00 PM - 12:00 AM, Closed Tuesdays
Atmosphere: Cozy
Setting: Ocean view

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Overall score

4 / 5
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Minnesota
Aug 31, 2009

Mom and Daughter

We were only in town for three days but the Westin provided the R & R we needed. The Royal Beach Club is the way to go - sensational full breakfast including authentic dishes and happy hour with unlimited drinks and appetizers that can serve as dinner. The occupant rate was low in August but we found plenty of people to visit with and you can't beat the friendliness of the staff. Be sure to brush up on your high school Spanish! We suggest the Grey Line airport shuttle - it takes the worry out of transfers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
family of 7!!!!!!!!
Arlington, VA
Aug 31, 2009

AMAZING FAMILY VACATION!!!!!!!

AMAZING, first time in Mexico and its was just amazing, the staff everywhere we went was amazing. Definetly a big THANKS to [...] a bellboy from the Westin!!!!!! and the guy that makes the omletes in the breakfast buffet!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

right outside the hotel is the local bus stop, 6.50 pesos per person, takes you along the hotel zone all the way to walmart where u can stock up on water and snacks if you are traveling with kids. Also see see if you can negotiate with a taxi driver for a flat rate to take u to Tulum, Coba, Playa del Camen and back, the driver will stay with you until u are ready to come back. and don"t be afraid to ask where things are cheaper, everyone is EXTREMELY friendly and more than willing to HELP!!!!

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2009

Simple elegance and tranquil

There wasn't a single thing (from napkins to bedsheets to the ice bucket) that didn't seem to have a spot or damage. Even the wall in our bathroom had some small dark spots. The hotel is also far from the central hotel zone and central cancun. A car is a necessity for anyone that likes to venture out of the hotel often. Unfortunately the hotel is located next to a "speed trap" which the police use to collect bribes. We were stopped twice even though we were not speeding and then asked for donations. Since they threatened to keep my license otherwise I had to comply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to the actual city of cancun then take the route along the airport rather than through the hotel zone. You will avoid the crooked cops and save time because of the traffic near the malls and clubs.

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 24, 2009

One of our best vacations!

It was one of our best vacations ever! From the moment we arrived at the Westin on 8/6 to the time we departed on 8/20, we were treated extremely well. We'd like to thank the reservation's manager [...], [...] in guest services, all the waiters at breakfast and happy hour and all the staff at the Spa who were so hospitable and friendly and made our stay a truly memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping at the La Lisla Mall (plenty of bargains to be had).

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

1
mom2lillian
phialdelphia, pa
Aug 18, 2009

worst trip ever

i received a welcome package 3 days after i arrived, my room had an awful musty odor (so bad i had to be moved), there was never a concierge at the upgraded "cove" so they didn't find my daughters lost shoes (lost an hour after check in) until we were boarding our shuttle home(never got the shoes), my daughter wasn't allowed in the only area designated for kids because she was only 2 1/2 (even though the hotel manager said she could play as long as i stayed with her), the complimentary 2hr cocktail and snacks was actually buy one get one free and there was no food (something i paid extra for), for two days i asked a few people (including my "orbitz rep") for ideas about where to take a 2yr old (preferably to see dolphins) and they all tried to sell me excursions costing between $100-200, on the last day i decided to go to a local shopping mall and discovered an aquarium with live dolphin show (we were too late to buy tix so we missed out, i am furious that NO ONE told us about this option (probably because there was no commission for them). overall i was extremely unhappy with my trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

i would suggest using the public buses to get around or rent a car, it is very easy to get around (only one highway back and forth) and renting a car is at little as $20/day while a cab can be $10-20 each way every time.

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
des moines, iowa
Aug 17, 2009

great place to stay

its was a great experience it was my wifes i 10th year ann. had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk around its great will see many things

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

3
Tiffalicious
New York
Aug 17, 2009

Very relaxing..great place to getaway

It was good. Very relaxing and beautiful beach. Couple complaints would be there is only 2 restaurants and the water in the pools are hot so not good when it's 100 degrees and no entertainment, but clubs and etc. is only 25 min. away in bus. Other than that i think its a great family place to getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
Teacher on Vacation!
Boston, MA
Aug 16, 2009

Lagoon view was beautiful & private!

We picked the Westin because I knew their beds were super comfortable, and they were! The rooms were clean, and basics were there. A little annoyed that many days they didn't replace the coffee in the room, but not the end of the world. But I was a little surprised about the furniture...it was a lot older than I thought it would be, and the lamps were all rusted at the bottom. Really, not a huge deal at all, but it just surprised me for a Westin. The staff was very friendly, concierges were great at helping to organize trips, recommend restaurants (usually with a free drink or appetizer or something). When we got there, we were set in a 2 bedroom room, as Orbitz doesn't let you specify kind sized bed, at least in my reservation. There "weren't any king sized beds available" but when we asked him to check he "found one." We ended up on the 6th floor with a balcony (only floor 1 has patio; 6 has balcony, others just have large windows). I actually was happy with lagoon view b/c we had total privacy up there. On the ocean side, you also have the pools, so people can see into your room from down there. *It's possible, though, that we just got lucky, as there is one pool on the lagoon side.* However, it still was a nice view, so it doesn't seem necessary to pay extra for ocean view, in my opinion. We ate in the restaurant a few times for lunch; pricey (15 for most meals), but good. The pizza was disgusting! Fajitas delicious! The Westin is the first hotel in the strip, closest to the airport and furthest from town. Not huge inconvenience, just means you mostly take bus everywhere instead of walking. Buses pass every few minutes, and you just want to wait for the air conditioned ones! Since it is the first from airport, you can either set up shuttle from orbitz, or if you do it there, it is set prices: 15 per person for shuttle van; 60 for a taxi (we negotiated for 35 with a stop at a convenience store & atm, but we speak spanish so not sure if all tourists could do that....its about 20 for the taxi back to airport. Everyone accepts American money, or use the atm for better exchange rate (but fees from your bank may take away "savings"). Bring small bills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

La Paloma is delicious. It's a bit of a hike, but basically you take the buses into town (about 60 cents a person), then cab 5 minutes or walk 20 minutes to the restaurant. If you don't speak spanish, maybe cab it, we had to ask a few people for directions but found it eventually. The Westin gives coupons for a free drink there. It's next to mercado 28 if you end up doing some shopping there, it's a great place for lunch or dinner!

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

4
Carmi
Columbus, OH
Aug 16, 2009

wonderful experience

This was our second vacation in Cancun this year, and the Westin was by far a huge contributor to our great trip - extremely friendly & helpful staff, beautiful beach and pools, good dining, clean and comfortable room. It is one of the first hotels on the strip from the airport, so you have to take the bus or taxi to get to nightlife and shopping. We know the taxis are expensive so we took the bus everywhere. The bus stop is in front of the hotel - easy to find and use. If you want a combination of a quiet, relaxing pool/beach/hotel vacation and nightlife/shopping, I would definitely recommend the Westin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the bus downtown to the city to eat most of our meals. The bus fare is cheap and the bus lines are easy to use. We had great, inexpensive food downtown and a more authentic cultural experience.

Review of The Westin Resort and Spa Cancun

Reviewer score

5
Lilyrose
Orlando, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Royal beach club

I stayed there for 10 days. I booked the royal beach club ocean view. It was amazing, i loved the room, the balcony is very large and the view breathtaking. I highly recommend to book the royal beach club in advance, don t wait to be here to upgrade. You will have free breakfast buffet, free coktail and diner buffet, free access to the gym, sauna, jacuzzi located in the Spa. Also, the royal beach club has its own pool and beach. The regular rooms, the one who are not from the Royal beach club, don t have balconies and don t give you any access to the spa or neither food. So book the royal beach club and you will be very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top