$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
282 reviews
Wish I was still there....

Great stay! One bedroom unit with an amazing view of the beach. The view was so stunning from the... See full review

  • bjw1
  • Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bjw1
Business
Saskatchewan, Canada
Sep 15, 2014

Wish I was still there....

Great stay! One bedroom unit with an amazing view of the beach. The view was so stunning from the deck we made every meal in the nicely equipped kitchen and enjoyed it on the deck with the sights and sounds of the ocean. The unit was cleaned daily and the place was spotless after they were done. Interesting activities including feeding iguanas and releasing baby turtles into the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to make your own meals, take a rocket bus to Walmart and stock up for a couple of days...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatherCat
Business
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2014

Great Rooms, but needs improvement to the grounds

This hotel has great rooms, with kitchen, tub with jets and, ocean view with balcony. Here are some of the cons: Getting back to the room at 5pm we would find that the maid had not yet cleaned the room. The restaurant selection needs improvement. The Duna Bar is drab. The only real restaurant had a theme-night buffet for dinner every night. Not everyone likes buffets... This is a timeshare resort so they will try to schedule an appointment with you. While walking to our room at night, I tripped badly on a ditch in the sidewalk. It looked like it was normally covered by a metal grate, but the grate was missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Destileria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovestotravellinda
Business
charlotte north Carolina
Jun 7, 2014

a great dental vacation

Friendly helpful staff. A person could not ask for more. Location was convenient to everything. Pool and beach was heavenly. Food at the poolside was the absolute best and didn't break the bank. Besides the poor weather for the first 3 days of our trip this hotel was able to still provide a memorable stay. Will definitely consider coming back to this hotel for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La isla is across the street. Kukulcan plaza is a short walk and the flamingo mall is about 15 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jovanka
Business
Colorado
May 30, 2013

Amazing!

Great staff! Great location! Great accomodations! Room: We were in Bldg 14, second floor and couldn't have asked for anything better. After the reviews we worried that the palm trees would block the view and they didn't. We were right next to the pool, hot tub, and beach. Hotel next door had a pool party one night that was noisy but we were so tired it didn't keep us from sleeping. Jacuzzi tub in room, blender, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and washer/dryer were all great. Room did not feel crowded. Pools: We were by the "smaller" pool but it wasn't small at all. Regardless the larger pool not too far away. Never had an issue staying in the pools after pool closing time. Restaurants: Hotel has 3 restaurants. Everything we tried we enjoyed - especially the guacamole - sooo yummy! Husband LOVED the beef tacos. Tasted like philly cheese steak. Beach: The beach was amazing but due to the currents, you could not play in the water just anywhere. They had a specific section you could play in. The fun part is that there is a huge sand bar there and took me three times to get to it because of the current. Not sure that I would recommend that beach for little kids during that time of year #end of May#. Nightlife: The hotel does not have a nightlife. The Duna restaurant did karaoke one night but that was it. However, across the street at the Mall there is some nightlife or just hop on the bus to the area where CocoBongo is #by the way, CocoBongo is costly so be prepared ahead of time#. Food/Liquor: The hotel market is very limited but had the basic necessities. They also had steaks and hot dogs that you could grill. We meant to grill food using hotel outdoor grills one night but it never happened. You can take the local bus to Walmart. Hotel liquor was very pricey. The Mall across the street had some stores with liquor that was cheaper. Otherwise, a block away is the La Europa liquor store which was much cheaper. Transportation: The bus system is very simple and they take US dollars and Pesos but I don't believe they make change. Concierge: The concierge was great but they will call you daily until you meet with them which was annoying. We traveled the whole first day to get there and then stayed out late and they called at 8:30 am #which was 7:30 at home# and woke us up. Next day, same thing. Guess they want to catch you before you go out the door for the day. We did the Chichen Itza/Cenote tour - it was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never Ending Honeymooners
Business
Da Bears
May 22, 2013

Perfect for any occasion

WOW!! What a beautiful resort. Our room was spacious and had a jacuzzi, washer/dryer, fridge and stove top among other amenities. Resort has very well kept grounds and beach areas. Various jacuzzis and pools throughout the resort. They have their own grilling area for which we went to Walmart about 15min away taking the R1 bus for less than a dollar (8.50 pesos) and bought our own steaks and had a romantic cook out with my wife under the stars. I highly recomend taking the Xplor zip-line and underwater cave swimming adventure tour. Take your own water slippers for convenience. Xcaret, Chichen-itza and Xel-Ha Tulum is also a must if you have the time. AVOID Yellow Cab Transfers for transportation from and to the airport. I bought the round trip package and they FAILED to pick us up at the hotel and almost missed our flight back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No.name
Business
NYC
May 22, 2013

getaway

convenient location with mall across the street. room has ants running around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC409
Business
Houston
May 21, 2013

Good Getaway

Worked out well for me and my guest, wouls stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toledoborn
Business
Toledo, Ohio
May 12, 2013

First time at Lagunamar

There are some things we really liked - kitchen, in-room whirlpool. Average was the balcony (small), the food (a lot of melted cheese on foods making it greasy). some things we didn't like was the control of lounge chairs. Peopled placed towels on chairs early and then when we came around at 10am, not much left except a lot of chairs with towels. Keep in mind this is a Westin Hotel with hotel prices. Breakfast buffet (average overall) was $300 peso! At lunch, 2 salads and 2 ice teas for about $35 US. Check-in was very slow. They do provide 12 outside grills for guests to use which was real nice, but their internal grocery store has very little food - which means a trip to Walmarts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Walmarts at start of week so that you can enjoy outside grills. Food in restaurants at hotel are expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUBLZ
Business
Berkshires, MA
May 9, 2013

Westin Lagunamar - AWESOME!!!

Our first time in Cancun, and the Westin was fantastic. Location is great (across street from La Isla outdoor shopping mall). You can get the local bus right outside the hotel. Grounds are beautiful, rooms are clean, staff is beyond helpful and excellent. We did a tour (booked on our own) and the tour company didn't show up, the Concierge kept checking on us and calling the company for us. They are just super-fantastic!!! Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take bus to downtown area for some dinners from local places. This way you're putting money in their pockets instead of the chain restaurants (which are overpriced anyways#. We had dinner one night for about $18 usd and it was fantastic. Take the bus down and back to your hotel #pay in Pesos) or it will cost you $1 per person usd each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
abdul hafeez
Business
san francisco bayarea
May 5, 2013

changeing bedsheet and garbage bin

/we stay 6 night when i reached 4.27.13 at 7.30 p.m at hotel my room was not ready and clean check in time 4.00 p.m so i called supervisor because 6 hour flight journey after 30 minutes room ready at 8 oclock after 3rd day same cituation when we make up a trip back to xcarat messup roop no change sheets and garbage approximetly 11 p.m i go on desk clerk and tellthem that is supervisor responsibility to check rsoom and clean ready for costomer supervisor name patricia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top