$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
282 reviews
Wish I was still there....

Great stay! One bedroom unit with an amazing view of the beach. The view was so stunning from the... See full review

  • bjw1
  • Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
May 31, 2009

Westin Lagunamar Cancun was AWESOME!!

We loved the rooms!! We had the two bedroom unit and it was really nice! The beach was fun and our son found lots of shells. We spent most of our day on the beach and in the water "riding" the waves!!! The infinity pool and swim up bar completed our afternoon. We didn't want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, New York
May 26, 2009

Beautiful Honeymoon

Perfect place to relax by the pool and watch the ocean waves wash up on the beach. Conveniently located across from La Isla Mall. If that is not enough shopping for you the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel to catch a ride downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the bus for 7.5 pesos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW,Texas
Dec 30, 2010

Westin Lagunamar, Cancun, December 2010

We concentrated on relaxing on this trip to Cancun. Open the sliding glass doors and hear the ocean. Reserved this Westin location on [...]and felt like it was a great bargain. The hotel is about two years old and very clean. Service is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Mall (The Isla Mall) across the street. FIne dinning at the Thai Resaturant AND it backs up to the dolphin exhibit tank, very nice! Also, the R2 bus runs right in front of the hotel and you can take it for 8.5 pesos to any location and Walmart. Stock the fridge/liquor in the hotel room and just eat out at dinner. Another option is the grills out in the courtyard at the hotel to grill burgers/steaks. The in house hotel shop is good but a little expensive. Lastly, the massage from the hotel is very good and about $75 for neck/back/shoulders. Restaurant Puerto Madero is top-notch Argentinian food, fantastic meat and walking distance...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ the jet plane
Business
Toronto, Ontario
May 27, 2009

Great value

Stayed in a studio in building 7. Hotel was not very busy because of the CNN, I mean, H1N1 flu concerns. Most important (for us): every suite has an ocean view, with a great balcony and nice outdoor furniture. To sit out there with coffee in the morning and wine in the evening was an added bonus. Fabulous location, pool, furnishings, view, gym, etc... We enjoyed having a kitchen for breakfast and lunch, and the BBQ's for the occasional grilled meal. Be a kid again -- do the waterslide!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

As everyone else says: take the R2 bus to Walmart. Stock up on meat, veggies, booze, snacks. Taxi back to the hotel with all your loot will run you 120 pesos. BBQ at night and be social :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 27, 2009

Westin Lagunamar

Absolutely terrific. A great location. Pool is massive. Water is warm, clean, and inviting. Temperature was 92 during our recent Memorial Day weekend stay. The rooms are fully furnished with a complete kitchen set up from a Sub Zero refridge to a dishwasher. Our room even had a washer and dryer. Hotel staff went out of their way to help us make dinner reservations in terrific restaurants throughout Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Although there are a number of plazas/malls within walking distance, the best find is discovered by taking the local bus to downtown Cancun. This short, 20 minute ride can be had right outsite the hotel on either bus R2 or R15. It costs 7.5 pesos, about 60 cents. You'll have access to "Market 28", the area's largest collection of flea market vendors. The buys are incredible! Across the street is a Walmart where you can load up on food items for breakfast and lunch. For the 4 days we were in Cancun, breakfast and lunch cost us less than $30 total; and we ate well. Compare that to the Westin's $20/pp charge for their breakfast buffet, and you come out ahead at the first meal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golfsnownut
Business
Bismarck, ND
Feb 8, 2010

fantastic location and conviences access

friendly staff and maids, but food are little outrageous expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 6, 2011

Spectacular Hotel

The hotel was accomodating with every request we had. Upon our arrival the Concierge booked a tour for us. Due to her experience she was able to save us over $200! The beach in front of the hotel was extremely clean and comfortable with cabanas and lounge chairs. It wasn't over crowed and drink services is provided on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huge retail and restaurant shopping across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten island, new York
Aug 6, 2011

The best hotel by far

Best hotel by far had a lil problem when we first checked into our room. There were lil ants crawling all over the closet and tv. Front desk took care of it right away. They did tell us that the whole hotel was booked and that they might not be able to get us another room and just exterminate it but thankfully checked us into another. They were doing construction on this massive hotel which really wasn't a bother at all as some other reviews complained about. Drinks were a little expensive but they have 2 for 1 happy hour everyday. The grounds are beautiful and we never had a problem getting a chair by the beach. As a matter of fact we couldn't believe how little people there were on the (beautiful) beach. We will def stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas,NV
May 24, 2009

A+

The entrance to this hotel is spectacular. Breath taking views to the ocean. The hotel's location is perfect with a shopping mall complete with restaurants across the street. The staff was top of the line. The food was great also. The best thing by far about this hotel is the pool. I can't say enough how much we liked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE AT THE AIRPORT. THEY ARE A BUNCH OF LIARS THAT WILL GRAB YOU AND SIGN YOU UP FOR A TIME SHARE ORIENTATION AND LIE TO YOU ABOUT IT. NEXT THING YOU KNOW, YOU HAVE WASTED AN ENTIRE DAY DEALING WITH VERY PUSHY SALESMEN AT A TIME SHARE AND IT ISNT WORTH THE DISCOUNT THEY GIVE YOU FOR TOURS, ETC. THEY LIE LIE LIE SO DON'T GET CAUGHT UP IN IT. JUST WALK ON BY AND GO RIGHT TO YOUR HOTEL. SERIOUSLY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue and Fred -One very happy couple
Business
Stoneham MA
Mar 3, 2009

Would absolutely recommend to all!!!

This by far was the most relaxing vacation my husband and I have been on. This was the first time to Mexico for both of us and we look forward to a return visit. The Westin Lagunamar was idealic for us...wonderful friendly and very helpful staff, very clean "everything", comfortable room furniture, dining facilities very nice, (although limited variety at the poolside eatery)every option was tasty. We stayed in a studio and it was absolutely more than enough room for the two of us! The Oceana was delicious. We only ate two breakfast buffets there plus one themed buffet dinner -but all meals were very good! No complaints! We loved having the kitchenette to store and prepare snacks/small meals. We also loved having La Isla mall next door- gave us additional off-site eating options. The main goal for our vacation was to rest, relax, reconnect as a couple and this resort meet all our needs and beyond. I used the fitness center a few times and loved the fact that you had tv/radio/ipod options built into the cardio machines. High tech equipment! Sauna room/steam room was also very nice (one in the woman's change/shower area and same in the men's area). We did not use these areas but peeked in - very nicely kept! The onsite Marketessa had a good variety of items for purchase, however we purchased most of what we needed during our one visit of the SuperCenter Walmart (easy 15-20 minute bus ride away for approx 50 cents each person. Make sure you stock up on groceries/snacks/beer/wine and water for the week and take a cab back to the hotel, it is certainly worth the cab ride back to the resort. You can purchase your morning coffee in either the marketessa or they set up a morning coffe bar outside -adjacent to the lobby. Even though the resort is under construction - very, very little construction noise. Some may find any slight construction noise annoying however, the sounds of the ocean outplay any site noises. Some items you may have to ask for (ie laundry detergent, grill utensils (if using one of the 6 outdoor grills) and that is about it.... If you exchange money at the front desk -they may not always have it to give you....one morning we were told it would be available in 15 minutes, we were told that about 4 times, no big deal we ended up going to La Isla Mall and hitting one of the money exchange kiosks. Needless to say we were dispointed to leave..the weather was perfect -the resort was wonderful and we would certainly recommend to any and all friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everyone recommends heading to the Walmart - this was the best advice we could have followed, plus it is fun to browse around the aisles of Walmart to check out the different items they carry. This was acutally a fun and productive field trip! Well worth an hour or two of your time! If you carry a back pack with you-you will have to check it first and leave it in the "bag check in" area..you are not allowed to walk in with backpacks. (Shopping cloth totes are ok though)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top