$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
433 reviews
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
BEST BEACH IN WORLD. NICE AND QUIET

I've been to many beaches from Thailand to India to Carribean to Cancun to Hawaii. This strip of... See full review

  • kevdon
  • Nov 24, 2013
Overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea, The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun enjoys a tranquil setting along a beautiful, unspoiled beach. Intuitively designed to suit your personal needs, our five-star resort will refresh your spirit while placing you only minutes from Cancuns energetic nightlife. Our beautiful accommodations combine relaxed elegance with traditional Westin quality and service. Spacious, richly furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom villas feature ocean views, hand-selected art, and other distinctive touches that reflect the unique Cancun culture and environment while inspiring rejuvenation. Perfectly positioned with access to beaches, waterfront restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses, and some of Mexico's best underwater diving sites, Cancun is a modern paradise. The indescribable beauty of the Caribbean Sea and the rich history of the Yucatán Peninsula meet to form a magnificent destination at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun.

Hotel Map

21.1095 -86.7626
Nearby airports
Cancún International Airport, (CUN), 14.48, KM;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 3.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (433)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Apr 22, 2009

Very good hotel, nice rooms, very pretty

Very nice, enjoyable pool area, very good for smal kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping area is across the street, very good local bus service

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jandi
san jose, california
Feb 12, 2012

family trip, good stay~

with 3years old boy, we had a good time. The view is great. Beach is also beautiful but a little tough wave. my boy enjoy the sand. all rooms has kitchen so it was nice. HOWEVR, I am not satisfied with the make up room service. every day new coffee? NO!!!. sometimes not enough towels, etc. Overall, the hotel is nice to stay. near by hotel, lots of restaurant!! Try it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food in hotel is nice but not many choice. try outside restaurant!!...short walk.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DadJim
michigan
Feb 25, 2013

Nice place for family vacation

We stayed there in the studio for a week. The location is great, right across the shopping center. There is also quite a few restaurants nearby. Each room has a ocean view. The drinks are expensive comparing to the quality, I won't recommend it. Staffs are friendly. The main complain is the wifi signal is very weak and internet constantly break in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springville, UT
Jun 24, 2009

Cancun vacation

Overall we loved the hotel. Our only problem was the inconsistency on towels. It seemed that the maid would come in and clean the room and not keep the same towel level. Kitchen towels and wash cloths dissappeared after the first time we used them. We got down to less than half a roll of toilet paper before a second backup roll was porvided. One day all the wash cloths disappeared after the maid service. If they had a set quantity and then maintained it things would have been a little better. Other than this minor complaint the hotel and service was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are vacationing in Cancun or the general area, I would recommend going to Xcaret for a whole day and also to Chichen Itza. Both were fantastic albeit a distance from Cancun,requiring a moderate to long drive. Mercado 28 is fun but remember you really need to haggle for price. Don't be afraid to offer half or less of the asking price. See what they come back with. If they just say no and won't counteroffer then go to the next shop. In most cases you will find the same item somewhere else. Armed with the information from the last shop you can get an idea of what to offer at the next. If you are pushed to buy something you really don't want, tell them no me gusta. Don't feel bad about smiling, saying gracias and moving on. If you aren't a little assertive, they will drag you into their shop and make you look at every item.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew
Cincinnati, ohio
Aug 14, 2011

Westin Lagunamar, august 2011

Room itself was awesome, only thing missing was the large terrace with jacuzzi the that the Sheraton (that was previously on the same grounds) had. Full kitchen, dining room, living room, NICE bath & bedroom & it's own in room washer & dryer ! I LOVED that ! I was fortunate enough to stay during the summer sea turtle nesting season and got to see 2 while I was there. There were obviously many more to be seen had I stayed up at night to turtle watch, but that alone was very cool ! Great pool, swim up bar, great view. On the down side, the hotel is so brand new that it's still under construction. So you will likely see and hear at least some of the construction. More in some areas than others. Location is as good as it gets in Cancun, right across the street from La Isla shopping plaza, and close enough to walk to 2 other malls as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel staff will tell you about most of the normal tour options after you arrive. What no one mentions is the free, onsite sew turtles at night in the summer(alone worth the trip), and I read that it was also whale shark season & that you could swim with them (a tour) but the hotel does not mention that, but again it sounds like a once in a lifetime experience should one look into it and go.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Trip 3/22-3/28/09

This was a great trip! We loved the service, the friendly staff, great pools and amenities. Would definitely stay again. Oh, don't let them talk you into the sales pitch for the timeshare. They tell you it is not high pressure and it's only 90 minutes....it was very high pressure, they were rude when we attended and said "no"; the presentation lasted over 2 1/2 hours. Otherwise, we had a fabulous time and loved the property and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining places in La Isla Mall across the street from the hotel. Also recommend La Habichuela for great Mexican food!

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baja-traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Excellent spot to relax in the sun!

Enjoyed the slide at the pool and the multiple pools. The beach was excellent! Spent a few days going to the local sights. Don't miss seeing Explor which had top notch zip lines and a one of a kind underground river swim. Best margaritas, mariachis, and mexican food can be found at "Hacienda El Mortero". It can be found at the first bus stop north of The Westin Lagunamar. Planning on booking the same resort next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from Westin Lagunamar is La Isla shopping and dining center. Great open air Italian restaurant overlooking the bay. Good food and prices and wonderful view. An excellent casual dining experience with a wonderful view of the bay.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiz Kalifa
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A great stay in Cancun

We had a great 3 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Over all we really enjoyed our time at Westin. The beach/ pool / room was excellent and we had a very nice vacation. We got to the hotel around 2 pm after a long tiring journey. It took us a long time to check in as they seemed to be short staffed at the Lobby. We later realized that the lobby is always crowded, so give some extra time to check in. We were pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to a 1 bedroom. However, the staff won't allow us to check in till 4 pm...so we had to bide an hour or so till they could clear the room. The food in the restaurant close to the pool was bad...we didn't eat in the hotel after that. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The 1 bedroom is very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We found the staff very responsive to all our requests. The pool/ hot tub are great, and despite the huge size of the resort, the pool are never felt crowded. Great place...would highly recommend others to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel doesn't allow you to check in to your room till 4 pm. Make sure you co-ordinate your flights accordingly

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tammy
Sammamish, WA
Jan 22, 2014

Great Place to Vacation!

The pool and grounds are amazing. The location right in front of a beautiful part of the beach can't be beat! The room is large - lot's of space for three-four people. The happy hour at the pool at 3 was a welcome treat.. We even watched the NFC championship football game in the Sports Bar on the hotel grounds - great food, happy hour, wonderful service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Isla Mujeres via catamaran...beautiful! Get an excursion where they take you snorkeling on the way, and parasailing on the way back.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fabian B
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 29, 2012

Our Family vacation

From the moment we got to the Hotel until we left, was amazing. The staff speaks very good English, extremely helpfull, very warm welcome. We will come back and stay at this hotel. Wifi is poor in the rooms, but I was able to connect the to the Internet through a LAN wire that is already there to just plug in. We stayed in the studio ocean view, and this room had everything from kitchen to a washer and dryer. We had a group of 22 people and they also loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to just walk across the street or take a short bus ride.

Back to menu Return to top