$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
281 reviews
Wish I was still there....

Great stay! One bedroom unit with an amazing view of the beach. The view was so stunning from the... See full review

  • bjw1
  • Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crystahhhhh
Business
providence, RI
Mar 24, 2009

This hotel is awesome

This hotel is amazing, the room was so clean and beautiful. The view was spectacular. I could not ask for more. This hotel is all that one needs to relax and have a great time. The staffs were friendly, the location was great. It was across the street from the shopping mall. Although the outside of the hotel doesn't look that great like some other ones but it will impress you once you're inside. This is my second time to Cancun and I like this hotel so much better than my previous one. The only drawback is if you eat or drink at the hotel, they ask for a lot of tip. Somehow we end up tipping over 50% every time because the staffs said 20% wasn't enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ry&Meg
Business
Sheffield, IA
May 4, 2009

Great Hotel!!!!!!!

Excellent hotel! We were automatically upgraded to the one bedroom suite at no extra charge. Great ocean view from our large balcony. Hot water would run out at busy times of the day(no different than any other hotel). Room was cleaned at inconsistent times during the day which didn't matter because we weren't usually in the room during the day. All amenities in room were great and make a long vacation more enjoyable. Staff was very knowledgeable, willing to do anything for us, and extremely kind. Would recommend to anyone from families with small children to couples to older people. Definitely staying there when we go back next time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant on west side of pool has the best breakfast buffet I have ever experienced. A MUST during your stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Ant
Business
Houston,Tx
May 4, 2009

Great family vacation!!!!!!!!!!

Lovely pool area. Great grill spots. We chilled at the bar in the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina- mexican girl
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 25, 2009

Awesome hotel

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, the pool is amazing!! Their beach is also beautiful, they clean their sand everyday and there's lots of palapas to sit and enjoy the view. I really liked their rooms, we stayed at the studio, it had pretty much everything we needed (plus awesome if you have a family) full stacked kitchen, dishwasher, fridge, washer and drier, also jacuzzy. The place was spotless, and we had a wonderful view. Everyone was very polite and attentive, you get very spoiled. Also you can barbeque by the pool and chill on the hammocks. You have to stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can drive to walt-mart and get all the food you need, they have already made salsas, tortillas, mexican sweet pastries, etc. Also if you like original mexican food (and I'm mexican) and don't want to spend a whole lot, go to VIPS and for something more spendy go to Casa Maguey, the food's amazing!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY gal
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 19, 2010

Excellent Hotel!!!

The hotel was great. The staff was friendly and spoke english for those of us who dont speak spanish. The hotel is across the street from a mall which is cool and you can always get a taxi right in front of the mall or go to the bus stop which is right in front of the hotel. The rooms are all ocean view, which means you do not have to pay extra for an ocean view room like most hotels charge you for. The rooms are also spotless, even the bathroom, which you get a separate large shower and a large jacuzzi tub!!! daily maid service who does an amazing job of cleaning. We never had anything missing or touched in our room that shouldnt have been. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I cant wait to go back and stay at the Westin Lagunamar again. By the way there is also a food store on the premesis so you can buy food to cook in your room which have kitchens (the studios have small kitchens, but they are definitely big enough to cook in. You get two burners, a microwave/ microwave oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, and complete utensils). They also sell dvds at this store because you do receive a dvd player in your room. The pool is great. It is large and never over crowded. The hot tubs are large as well and you will have no problem with them being crowded as well. Most of the time they were empty :). There are even large bbq grills outside with chairs for those you would love to bbq for dinner. This hotel has gone above and beyond to make sure it's guests have everything they need or could want on the premesis. There is also a gym, (which I did not use. lol) on the premesis. It's not a large gym but by no means is the gym small. Its a good size and has pretty good equipment. There also is a large tennis court. We only ate at one of the restaurants at the hotel by the pool and the food was great and it was not overpriced. There are washers and dryers (with detergent)in the room which help alot when your out swimming and you need to wash your swimsuits. The location is great as well. It is not far from Margaritaville, CoCo Bongo, Senor Frogs. It will cost $8.00 in a cab to these locations or you can take the bus for under a u.s. $1.00. At the mall acroos the street there is a currency exchange where you can exchange your pesos for american dollars or vise versa. Most atms in cancun give you pesos but one of the ones at this mall (La Isla mall) has an hsbc (I believe it was hsbc atm) which you can request for american dollars instead of pesos. There is also an atm at the hotel which gives american dollars as well. If you arrive at the hotel before checkin time which is 4pm they will allow you to check in early as long as there is a room available. You do not have to put down a deposit for incidentals at this hotel. They dont need your credit card unless you would like to keep it on file for room service and things of that nature. I researched many hotels before my trip to to Cancun and I am sooo happy I chose this one. I have no complaints at all. We returned on May 11th, 2010. Good Luck!!! :) Be safe and have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TxAggieinCancun
Business
Rio Grande Valley, TX
Mar 22, 2011

AMAZING!

Great hospitatlity, wonderful location - we had a great stay at Westin Lagunamar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

$1 shuttle will take you straight to the heart of the nightlife (Coco Bongo, Senor Frogs, etc).It's about a 5 minute shuttle drive. Avoid taking the taxi unless you are willing to spend a little extra. Overall, this location is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So Cal
Aug 7, 2011

Great family getaway

The service here was excellent and everyone was very happy to assist us in anyway possible! Beautiful pool and beach area to relax and we loved the daily happy hour!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall across the street was good dining and shopping at a close distance for small kids to be able to walk to comfortably

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodie P
Business
California
Oct 18, 2011

Wonderful experience!

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Westin and it was great! The staff were so friendly and so helpful! We will be returning to this spot and would refer it to anyone looking for a vacation spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L and J
Business
California, USA
Oct 26, 2011

amazing honeymoon

Just got back from our honeymoon and we cant wait to go back. The pool is breathtaking, the staff is so friendly. not only do you get the benefits of a private beach and pool but downtown is a 5 min bus trip away(70 cents)!!! The rooms are gorgeous and so clean! I will definietly be back and be staying only there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaraRae
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 27, 2011

Best Girls Trip Ever!

When I booked the Westin Laguna Mar for our four-night girls' getaway, I was going based on reviews and price. Yes, the pictures looked beautiful, but I didn't believe it would actually be that perfect. And it was. The room was spacious (we got the "suite," which had a kitchenette, a washer and dryer, and a pull-out sofa), even with four girls sharing it, and the view was amazing. The mall across the street has everything you could possibly want, and the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was fabulous - we kept planning to grab something small at Starbucks, but the food was just too good to miss. The service at the hotel was wonderful as well. Everyone was so polite and accommodating, from helping us plan our day trip to Isla Mujeres to arranging our shuttle to the airport. My only small complaints were that there wasn't a whole lot going on in the evenings (probably because it was the off season) and that the housekeeping staff showed up very late to clean (between 2 and 4). Overall, however, this was exactly what we were looking for. The pool was lovely, but the beach was so amazing we spent most of our time there. I would even go back with my husband and son - there were a lot of families there and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for an experience you'll never forget, go to Coco Bongo - it's like Vegas, Cirque de Soleil, and a night club all rolled into one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top