$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
283 reviews
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
BEST BEACH IN WORLD. NICE AND QUIET

I've been to many beaches from Thailand to India to Carribean to Cancun to Hawaii. This strip of... See full review

  • kevdon
  • Nov 24, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

Hotel Map

21.1095 -86.7626
Nearby airports
Cancún International Airport, (CUN), 14.48, KM;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 3.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jarrr
Montreal
Jan 7, 2012

Bitter-sweet

I called in advance to get a room in a high floor and was told I was already assigned to building 5, fith floor. Once there, the guy serving me assigned me second floor and refused to acknowledge my phone request. I also called the store in advance to request the pre-stocking they offered but the girl was too busy to talk to me. Once there, the store was never that busy, and I visited it quite often. The breakfast buffet was good as reported by others. The staff however lacked some trainning and were not very attentive or at least their service was very inconsistent. The doors from the buffet area to the tables are hard to open when you had your hands busy with plates. No one there to help most of the time. They should have automatic doors. The pool design was very nice and children friendly. However the pools can use some more regular cleaning as the walls had brown sediment in most places. It is not true that the view to the sea is good no matter where you are. You have to go for a 4th floor and up to enjoy a nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Even if you buy in their market, which sells a bit overpriced stuff, you can save a lot by cooking in your villa or preparing your own bbq outside of the rooms. Besides, less chances of getting food poisoned, which one of us did by eating at a nearby recommended restaurant (Italliani)

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
APSA
Illinois, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Service

The service at the hotel was quite poor. The rooms were not cleaned everyday and when they were it was not done very well. There were no sheets for the sofa bed and whenever we called for one it was always "on the way". The staff at the reception seemed aloof and were never quick to help. They always seemed to be too involved in their computers and would treat us as if we were disturbing them and wasting their time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluedemon
Chicago
Apr 17, 2012

Westin Lagunamar Cancun

The hotel is huge and beautiful, with an Infinity pool and many more pools. Not enough umbrellas. The staff by the restaurants and pools are SLOW and lazy. We and teens were starving. After placing order, they made us wait over 1 hour and 15 min. for 2 plain hamburgers and 2 salads and 4 sodas. Many more guests complained about the slow and bad service. I witnessed a worker drop ice and pick it up with his bare hands and quickly dump it back into the glass. He assumed nobody was watching him. Again, the location is excellent, the rooms excellent, pools great, parking great, security good. Bad reception on the Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Isla" The Island, is just outside the hotel, there is a traffic light with police there. Cross and go have lunch and dinner there by the lagoon. very nice, lots of stores. Tip: buy drinks and snacks at the small market. for the price of 2 drinks in hotel, you can get about 5 water bottles, 3 sodas and lots of snacks. If doing the tours, and 3 or more persons, its cheaper and better to walk across the street and rent a car for 70.00 usd and drive together there. also gets a discount in some places if you bring the car rental agreement, so ask. buses charge 120.00 usd per person for the tours. The entrance can vary between 30.00 to 60.00 per person if you drive there.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DHKIM
East Lansing
Mar 10, 2013

Good location, but the service is not that valuable to compare with the hotel name value

The Westin Lagunamar Ocena resort location was good for shopping areas. There were two big shopping areas nearby hotel. The security of the hotel and the nearby hotel area was quite good. This hotel was also really clean. However, their check in time starts at 4:00PM. It was 1:00PM when I arrived there. They allowed me to check in, but they said I have to pick up the room key after 4:00PM. The reason was they need to clean up my room. That was fine. But when I picked up my room key at night, they lost my luggage what they kept, They made me to wait more than an hour to send my luggage to my room. Also, their hotel restaurant food was not that qualitative comparing with their hotel name value. Also, one night when I came back from a tour, they were started to clean up my room at that time. It is supposed to be finished until the afternoon around 4PM. Also, they offered wi-fi service, but the signal is too poor at the room. Especially, at night, around 8~10PM had poor wi-fi signal at the room. I recommend to go to business center for using Internet. Overall, the location was good, security and cleanliness was quite good. However, they need to ameliorate their quality of service and hotel restaurant's food quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel bug 124
Philadelphia, PA
May 2, 2013

Scammers

They will try to push a ripoff timeshare aggressively! Do not be fooled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
abdul hafeez
san francisco bayarea
May 5, 2013

changeing bedsheet and garbage bin

/we stay 6 night when i reached 4.27.13 at 7.30 p.m at hotel my room was not ready and clean check in time 4.00 p.m so i called supervisor because 6 hour flight journey after 30 minutes room ready at 8 oclock after 3rd day same cituation when we make up a trip back to xcarat messup roop no change sheets and garbage approximetly 11 p.m i go on desk clerk and tellthem that is supervisor responsibility to check rsoom and clean ready for costomer supervisor name patricia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No.name
NYC
May 22, 2013

getaway

convenient location with mall across the street. room has ants running around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mestiza1983
australia
Aug 29, 2013

less than extraordinary

Hotel was nice and clean. Unfortunately i had issues with the food served at the pool restaurant and the fact that it was totally inedible and also was charged an amount by the hotel on my card that i was not advised of and did not sign for....even after enquiring about wether an amount would be charged in which the staff advised i wouldnt. Taking into accounts these two problems, i will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madonna restaurant in the fashion precinct ccross the road.....best Italian ever!

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jayuff
Arkansas
Jun 5, 2009

Great location, just not a great hotel.

As you drive up to the Westin Lagunamar, the first thing that you notice is the ugly pink and purple colors that the building is painted. After you go inside the lobby, you will start to think that this is a pretty nice hotel and you picked a great place to stay. You will check in and go to your room and say to yourself "how could this place be priced so low"? This is exactly what my wife and I thought for the first two of our seven days there. About noon on the third day, we started to realize that this place is far from being a nice hotel! The wireless internet usually wouldn't work in our 8th floor room. In our seven days there, nobody ever cleaned the pools. There was enough trash on the bottom of the pool that we could see it from our room! Our room had a weird smell to it, and also had a very bad "gnat" problem. I bet that we killed a few hundred gnats in 7 days we were there, some of them even flew out of our luggage when we got home. This hotel has a very eroded beach with many rocks in the sand, but still has enough room near the water to have fun getting in the ocean. I never saw a lifeguard on the beach, and the vendors pestered us worse here than anywhere else we've stayed. You can go on the Westin's timeshare presentation for a $100 resort credit that can be used for anything at the hotel or tours away from the hotel. We did the timeshare thing, and it was two of the most uncomfortable hours of my life, and I promise you that it's not worth the $100 unless you are seriously wanting to buy a timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A taxi will take you to Walmart, wait on you to do your shopping and take you and your groceries back to the hotel for a $35 round trip.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
play2win
Charlotte, NC
Apr 23, 2009

Poor - all together

They need some kind of family activity. There is no shade at the hotel at all. I heard several families complaining of this. You go on the beach and their were maybe 6 undercover spots. We go to Cancun every year and this was the worst trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel stay was late every morning opening the restaurants and store on lower level ----and had poor attitude of that so concern.Poor business.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search