$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
433 reviews
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
BEST BEACH IN WORLD. NICE AND QUIET

I've been to many beaches from Thailand to India to Carribean to Cancun to Hawaii. This strip of... See full review

  • kevdon
  • Nov 24, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1095 -86.7626
Nearby airports
Cancún International Airport, (CUN), 14.48, KM;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 3.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (433)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
433 out of 433
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian From Boston
Boston, MA
Jan 13, 2013

Excellent first time visit to Cancun!

This was our first time to Mexico and we felt extremely comfortable and safe. Everything you needed was found either within the hotel grounds at the Westin or across the street at the very upscale La Isla shopping mall. If you are an american and worried about not having the comforts of home when you travel abroad to Cancun, Mexico, this place is a very safe bet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend the Westin round trip shuttle service to/from the airport. You can haggle with taxi drivers or other third party companies. However, if you call Westin and book your transportation in advance you pay a flat fee with no hidden extras. Tipping is recommended, FYI.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiz Kalifa
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A great stay in Cancun

We had a great 3 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Over all we really enjoyed our time at Westin. The beach/ pool / room was excellent and we had a very nice vacation. We got to the hotel around 2 pm after a long tiring journey. It took us a long time to check in as they seemed to be short staffed at the Lobby. We later realized that the lobby is always crowded, so give some extra time to check in. We were pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to a 1 bedroom. However, the staff won't allow us to check in till 4 pm...so we had to bide an hour or so till they could clear the room. The food in the restaurant close to the pool was bad...we didn't eat in the hotel after that. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The 1 bedroom is very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We found the staff very responsive to all our requests. The pool/ hot tub are great, and despite the huge size of the resort, the pool are never felt crowded. Great place...would highly recommend others to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel doesn't allow you to check in to your room till 4 pm. Make sure you co-ordinate your flights accordingly

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The fours
Indiana, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Family Vacation

Had a great time on vacation. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCINAU
Shanghai
Mar 27, 2012

Everything Good except the mail service.

Everything very good, friendly staffs, great view from the room, and perfet location as it is located opposite to a shopping mall. Just cross the road, and easily access to resturants with reasonable prices. The only unhappy experience was that I asked the reception to mail four post cards for me, but none of them arrived their destination. I am sure that the addresses are all correct and stamps are attached to the post cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great Bear
New Mexico, USA
Mar 25, 2012

ideal location for cancun activites

Our ocean studio room included a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, and a fabulous view of the beach and resort property. There is a shopping mall across the street with numerous restaurant choices. The concierge staff is very helpful and pleasant. The pools and beach areas are amazing. We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay, six days and nights that passed way too quickly! Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen Itza and Xcaret are popular and highly recommended. Our sailing tour to Isla Mujeres included limitless beverages (rum, tequila).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus transportation is 8.5 pesos each way and adjacent to the hotel. Coffee shops and curbside food vans are across the street. Bring your own 'biodegradable' sun screen to snorkel at Xel-Ha. Most tours include food and drinks. Local banks or monetary exchange stands provide a better rate than the airport (with no fees).

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
APSA
Illinois, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Service

The service at the hotel was quite poor. The rooms were not cleaned everyday and when they were it was not done very well. There were no sheets for the sofa bed and whenever we called for one it was always "on the way". The staff at the reception seemed aloof and were never quick to help. They always seemed to be too involved in their computers and would treat us as if we were disturbing them and wasting their time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
denisemn
Granite Bay, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great getaway

Everything was wonderful. However, upon returning and reviewing credit card charges online, there was a $200.00 USD mistake. Trying to resolve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAW2
Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Do Not do the Timeshare Presentation!!

We stayed at this property Jan with a friend that was an owner at this property and we did not get the rooms we had requested and had problems checking in. After that - we had a lovely time and my husband and I did go thru their timeshare program and which gave us a discount on a future trip. All total - we paid 1550.00 . We called today to book our time there the end of June and was told the hotel was overbooked. I spoke with Roxanne. She told me she would do what she could to secure us the dates. Meanwhile - I checked the availability online and found it available on all of the popular searches for rates from 638.00 to 750.00 for the same time period, so we definitely feel foolish for falling for the time share presentation and the promise to save money on our next vacation. When I called Roxanne back- she gave me attitude saying I did not giver her time to work on the problem and she then gave us the time. My problem is that she lied to me from the beginning. She told me they were oversold and over booked when really they only hold back a few rooms for the people who go thru their timeshare program and pre-paid. Perfect example of corporate greed and poor customer service. You would think that someone paying twice as much as their advertised rate would get a little priority. I rec'd my confirmation and it now discloses that the property is under construction and that they hope this will not effect my vacation. What does that mean???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luke123
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Good place

Good hotel , very good food , very good staff sss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exushri
Texas, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Westin Lagunamar - A great experience

Our first time to cancun and we had a great time. Positives - great location (before the mall & bus stand) - nice beach and ocean view - lovely pool and other amenities - Having a suite with kitchen really helps to stay in budget. Outside food were quite expensive for Mexico cost-of-living Negatives - second bed in couch was uncomfortable to sleep on - Needed to call clean up crew thrice to clean the room - Vegetarian options are limited While we had a great time. We recommend that a) you book discounted tour tickets before you travel there b) All local folks see of you as "walking $$ signs". The place has become too commercial and money minded. Everywhere you turn they demand tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a great restaurant called Natura just opposite the flea market that serves great veggie food at decent prices.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D4N1
Calgary, AB, Canada
Mar 11, 2012

Great Stay!

Great Value, great location. Beautiful resort, amazing pools, nice beach spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top