$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dani65
Family
toronto
Jan 4, 2013

It doesn't get any better!

Excellent hotel, great location, superb customer service, great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Taco place in the mall across the street.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv2trvl618
Couples
Houston, TX
May 17, 2012

Simply Amazing!!!

The pictures on the web where gorgeous and I'm always a little skeptical but booked it anyway because of the reviews. The hotel is absolutely amazing. Beautiful hotel overlooking the torquoise water of the caribbean ocean. The swim up bar was a hit and the infinity pool as well. Loved our own private balcony. We watch dancing fountain the changes colors. The staff were sooo friendly and all their recommendations were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chim4y
Friends
Maryland
May 15, 2012

Great Vacation Getaway

The hotel staff is excellent! They were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is perfectly located across from La Isla Shopping center. It was walking distance to some great restaurants. There's a convenient store in the hotel. The restaurants in the hotel are great along with hotel prices. The Inifinity Edge Pool sealed the deal! It's so nice to be able to look at the ocean while you are in a beautiful pool! I would definitely recommend this hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La Isla Shopping Mall is across the street La Europa as some great wine and water for sale Frishtanga is a great place for authentic mexican food Taco Grill (in La Isla Shopping Mall) is a great place to eat.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chrsmith0575
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
May 14, 2012

Great Vacation and Service

This hotel and resort experience far exceeded our expectations. Working in the hospitality industry, I have come to grow very picky on service and quality of amenities. Overall, the service at the restaurants and bars was top notch, the property was well maintained and had a top notch pool. Additionally, from a location perspective it is right across the street from the La Isla mall which made it a great location. Kudos to the Viento Bar and Grill staff for making the stay memorable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your own groceries from the Wal Mart about 15 minutes away as each room has a kitchen and top notch grills in the pool area.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flora F
Couples
Rochester, New York
May 10, 2012

Perfect stay in Westin Lagunarma!

Westin Lagunarma has the best location in Cancun hotel zone. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel. A mall with lots of restaurants and shops is just across the street. I live in a regular ocean view room. The room is small but newly renovated and well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJLM
Friends
Oakton, VA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Party and relaxing

Hotel is only a 5-minute bus ride away from the party area and right across the street from la isla mall where you can shop and dine. The hotel has a huge infinity pool which is the biggest in that area, the beach is beautiful and the staff serves you drinks and food wherever you are in the hotel. The food and drinks in the hotel are very good and inexpensive, there's a happy hour every day where you get two drinks for the price of one. The hotel offers a lot of activities such as day trips or clubbing but also free daily activities at the hotel such as fashion shows, contests, water aerobics, volleyball tournaments, salsa and Spanish and scuba diving lessons. Even if you're on a small student budget like me and my friends were you can enjoy Cancun in a luxurious atmosphere in the westin lagunamar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Glow party at Señor Frog's

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Camel
Couples
Woodinville, WA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Nice property

My wife and I visited Westin Lagunamar betwen Apr 17 thru Apr 24. We have stayed in all inclusives at Cancun twice before (Riu and Great Parnassus) and Riveria Maya once (Barcelo). The studio room, bed, view, and beach and pool area are very good. The building was fresh and clean (void of the normal musty smells like in the other experiences). The bed was pretty comfortable when compared to other hotels beds I've had in Mexico. The beach and pools were not crowded at all, great for a quiet relaxing trip. The only negatives I have is that our room was not serviced twice in one week. I don't why this is a difficult for the staff to manage this, seems pretty simple to keep track of. However, when called service to complain, someone was sent up fairly quickly to oblige. As in other post, The wireless internet is ridiculously slow, just to view normal web pages would take a minute or more. The location in Cancun is great; a bus pickup is at the property entrance and only a couple stops from the advertised nightlife. The La Isle shopping mall is across the street. In the Chilis and Planet Hollywood the food is worse than average for similar plates in the US counterparts, almost on an all-inclusive scale as far as tastiness. I seriously had a thought that the restaurant is likely serviced by the same food vendor. The waitstaff help at these restauarants is also worse than average. If you want good food, go to a better restaurant or one away from tourist convenience. All in all, the Westin is a fine property located on a gorgeous beach and is really laid out well. The staff is ok, but overall nothing special (for comparison, cruise ship staff help is fantastic, and works harder than anyone I have ever seen). I think a little better planning in customer service, organization, and drink price points could make this property a best in class in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For alcohol purchases, by far the best deals are in a building called "La Europa". After exiting the property, walk left down the road. After about a quarter mile (before you get to the OXXO convenience store, there is a white office looking building on the right side with La Europa above the dor to go in. Also, find a good exchange rate place (ATM?) and convert your buying business in pesos. This will avoid all the hidden markups due to seller's descretion conversion rate. Just make sure you can do the rough math in your head to dollars when buying so as to not treat it like las vegas chips.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sameer
Couples
King of Prussia, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Very comfortable place

We reached hotel around 12 PM, hotel staff did well in getting us checked in around 2:30. They have luggage space to keep your belongings until you get the room .We stayed in building 12. Seems building 9 has best view. All the rooms have ocean view. Food is little over-priced but that is expected. La Isla Mall across the street. Bus stop just outside. Would definitely recommend !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin 3
Family
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Apr 13, 2012

A Fantastic Spring Break Family Vacation

This is our second stay at the Westin Lagunamar and love the location, the ocean view villa and the eating choices available with having a kitchen and outdoor grills and hotel dining options as well as nearby restaurants. This time we stayed in the new addition that recently opened a month before our stay. Being newly opened there was an issue with the washer hookup but was fixed in time to use it. The ocean view from our villa was incredible but we were farther away from the infinity pool. The new addition has its own smaller pool but just cant compare with the large infinity pool, its gorgeous. We spent time at both. The hotel staff was very helpful and made sure we got the ocean view villa we booked and had on our confirmation letter even though the information they received from our travel company was incorrectly recorded as a studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They have great grill stations to cook some of your meals. Their small store used to stock some meats for grilling but didnt see it there this time. It was good that on our way to check in at the hotel we had our airport transport van stop off at Superama and picked up some groceries .

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrgolfguy
Family
Holland, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Nice amenities, nice location, so so service

Nice new hotel across the street from large outdoor mall. Studio room is complete with efficiency kitchen which is ideal for chilling your own beer and the microwave is good for reheating your leftovers (a benefit we never really considered when booking). Service experience was poor at times. Not sure whether it's because the building is also a timeshare or not but they would rarely clean our room unless I asked. On the second day I called down to the front desk and specifically requested that our room be serviced at 11:00am each day which they confirmed. The next day our room was serviced around 6:30pm, following day I had to call again. Front desk said "oh, I thought you just wanted service at 11:00am on Tuesday". Maybe it was a communication issue but we never seemed to get on a regular schedule throughout our eight day stay and 6:30pm is very inconvenient. Called one day requesting an extra blanket for the pullout, never did get it. Service around the pool was slow. Our room was by the smaller secondary pool so we sat there. It would take about an hour to get our lunch after ordering. Eventually we would just get up and go to the restaurant for better/quicker service. The rooms are new and nice but the studio room was too tight for three people (my wife and I and our 13 year old). All in all there are some real pluses (new, location, kitchen, pool/beach) and some minuses (service, room size). Best suited for a large family or a couple of families travelling together as you can get adjoining rooms. Many guests made a run to Walmart and then cooked in each night (grills are available by the pool at no charge) and the in-room kitchen provides all the amenities for cooking. This can dramatically lower the cost of your trip. We go to Cancun to relax so the last thing we want to do is cook dinner so for us this had little appeal. For this reason, with all the potential places to stay in Cancun, we will try something different next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Surfing Burrito (across from Senior Frog), their burritos are the best I've ever had and they're only five dollars US. It looks like a hole in the wall but don't be put off by appearances, you won't be disappointed. Take the bus, it's cheap and easy.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiz Kalifa
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A great stay in Cancun

We had a great 3 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Over all we really enjoyed our time at Westin. The beach/ pool / room was excellent and we had a very nice vacation. We got to the hotel around 2 pm after a long tiring journey. It took us a long time to check in as they seemed to be short staffed at the Lobby. We later realized that the lobby is always crowded, so give some extra time to check in. We were pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to a 1 bedroom. However, the staff won't allow us to check in till 4 pm...so we had to bide an hour or so till they could clear the room. The food in the restaurant close to the pool was bad...we didn't eat in the hotel after that. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The 1 bedroom is very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We found the staff very responsive to all our requests. The pool/ hot tub are great, and despite the huge size of the resort, the pool are never felt crowded. Great place...would highly recommend others to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel doesn't allow you to check in to your room till 4 pm. Make sure you co-ordinate your flights accordingly

Back to menu Return to top