The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview

4.3/5

Overall score

93%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

21.1095 -86.7626
Nearby airports
Cancún International Airport, (CUN), 14.48, KM;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flora F
Business
Rochester, New York
May 10, 2012

Perfect stay in Westin Lagunarma!

Westin Lagunarma has the best location in Cancun hotel zone. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel. A mall with lots of restaurants and shops is just across the street. I live in a regular ocean view room. The room is small but newly renovated and well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HAHAHA
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 9, 2012

Pretty NIce

Staff were nice, rooms were great, the view was awesome. Room service food wasnt great but service was amazing. Do not go to restaurants recommended by the staff ( they will give u a coupon with their name on it), it is not great, they get paid for sending u there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far away there is a mall, you'll see it as you come to the hotel from the airport. i think its call the luxury mall? maybe. but it very large and clean. Also they have decent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJLM
Business
Oakton, VA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Party and relaxing

Hotel is only a 5-minute bus ride away from the party area and right across the street from la isla mall where you can shop and dine. The hotel has a huge infinity pool which is the biggest in that area, the beach is beautiful and the staff serves you drinks and food wherever you are in the hotel. The food and drinks in the hotel are very good and inexpensive, there's a happy hour every day where you get two drinks for the price of one. The hotel offers a lot of activities such as day trips or clubbing but also free daily activities at the hotel such as fashion shows, contests, water aerobics, volleyball tournaments, salsa and Spanish and scuba diving lessons. Even if you're on a small student budget like me and my friends were you can enjoy Cancun in a luxurious atmosphere in the westin lagunamar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Glow party at Señor Frog's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Camel
Business
Woodinville, WA, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Nice property

My wife and I visited Westin Lagunamar betwen Apr 17 thru Apr 24. We have stayed in all inclusives at Cancun twice before (Riu and Great Parnassus) and Riveria Maya once (Barcelo). The studio room, bed, view, and beach and pool area are very good. The building was fresh and clean (void of the normal musty smells like in the other experiences). The bed was pretty comfortable when compared to other hotels beds I've had in Mexico. The beach and pools were not crowded at all, great for a quiet relaxing trip. The only negatives I have is that our room was not serviced twice in one week. I don't why this is a difficult for the staff to manage this, seems pretty simple to keep track of. However, when called service to complain, someone was sent up fairly quickly to oblige. As in other post, The wireless internet is ridiculously slow, just to view normal web pages would take a minute or more. The location in Cancun is great; a bus pickup is at the property entrance and only a couple stops from the advertised nightlife. The La Isle shopping mall is across the street. In the Chilis and Planet Hollywood the food is worse than average for similar plates in the US counterparts, almost on an all-inclusive scale as far as tastiness. I seriously had a thought that the restaurant is likely serviced by the same food vendor. The waitstaff help at these restauarants is also worse than average. If you want good food, go to a better restaurant or one away from tourist convenience. All in all, the Westin is a fine property located on a gorgeous beach and is really laid out well. The staff is ok, but overall nothing special (for comparison, cruise ship staff help is fantastic, and works harder than anyone I have ever seen). I think a little better planning in customer service, organization, and drink price points could make this property a best in class in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For alcohol purchases, by far the best deals are in a building called "La Europa". After exiting the property, walk left down the road. After about a quarter mile (before you get to the OXXO convenience store, there is a white office looking building on the right side with La Europa above the dor to go in. Also, find a good exchange rate place (ATM?) and convert your buying business in pesos. This will avoid all the hidden markups due to seller's descretion conversion rate. Just make sure you can do the rough math in your head to dollars when buying so as to not treat it like las vegas chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluedemon
Business
Chicago
Apr 17, 2012

Westin Lagunamar Cancun

The hotel is huge and beautiful, with an Infinity pool and many more pools. Not enough umbrellas. The staff by the restaurants and pools are SLOW and lazy. We and teens were starving. After placing order, they made us wait over 1 hour and 15 min. for 2 plain hamburgers and 2 salads and 4 sodas. Many more guests complained about the slow and bad service. I witnessed a worker drop ice and pick it up with his bare hands and quickly dump it back into the glass. He assumed nobody was watching him. Again, the location is excellent, the rooms excellent, pools great, parking great, security good. Bad reception on the Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Isla" The Island, is just outside the hotel, there is a traffic light with police there. Cross and go have lunch and dinner there by the lagoon. very nice, lots of stores. Tip: buy drinks and snacks at the small market. for the price of 2 drinks in hotel, you can get about 5 water bottles, 3 sodas and lots of snacks. If doing the tours, and 3 or more persons, its cheaper and better to walk across the street and rent a car for 70.00 usd and drive together there. also gets a discount in some places if you bring the car rental agreement, so ask. buses charge 120.00 usd per person for the tours. The entrance can vary between 30.00 to 60.00 per person if you drive there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sameer
Business
King of Prussia, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Very comfortable place

We reached hotel around 12 PM, hotel staff did well in getting us checked in around 2:30. They have luggage space to keep your belongings until you get the room .We stayed in building 12. Seems building 9 has best view. All the rooms have ocean view. Food is little over-priced but that is expected. La Isla Mall across the street. Bus stop just outside. Would definitely recommend !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim the medic
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

great family spot

rooms were very nice and new, nice lay out. the pool and hot tub area could not be any better. great location. right across the street you have outdoor mall with many shops and restaurants. prices in the shop , bar and restaurant very high. we took the bus downtown to store and bought food and cooked out on the grills the have down by the pool. a must do. 2nd time at this hotel and we have been to others. you will not be disapointed. enjoy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

if your looking to save money... bus ride to other westin hotel by south corner bring snorkle gear and from there walk the beach to the south end and snorkle for free on both sides of rocky point. bus ride to north end in town to walmart or sams for main food and supplies. same stop ask for market 28 , that is were to buy all of your souvenires , it a 2 block walk but large shoping area and restuarants . will not find a cheeper place. go during the morning for quick travel and safe till evening

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin 3
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Apr 13, 2012

A Fantastic Spring Break Family Vacation

This is our second stay at the Westin Lagunamar and love the location, the ocean view villa and the eating choices available with having a kitchen and outdoor grills and hotel dining options as well as nearby restaurants. This time we stayed in the new addition that recently opened a month before our stay. Being newly opened there was an issue with the washer hookup but was fixed in time to use it. The ocean view from our villa was incredible but we were farther away from the infinity pool. The new addition has its own smaller pool but just cant compare with the large infinity pool, its gorgeous. We spent time at both. The hotel staff was very helpful and made sure we got the ocean view villa we booked and had on our confirmation letter even though the information they received from our travel company was incorrectly recorded as a studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They have great grill stations to cook some of your meals. Their small store used to stock some meats for grilling but didnt see it there this time. It was good that on our way to check in at the hotel we had our airport transport van stop off at Superama and picked up some groceries .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrgolfguy
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Nice amenities, nice location, so so service

Nice new hotel across the street from large outdoor mall. Studio room is complete with efficiency kitchen which is ideal for chilling your own beer and the microwave is good for reheating your leftovers (a benefit we never really considered when booking). Service experience was poor at times. Not sure whether it's because the building is also a timeshare or not but they would rarely clean our room unless I asked. On the second day I called down to the front desk and specifically requested that our room be serviced at 11:00am each day which they confirmed. The next day our room was serviced around 6:30pm, following day I had to call again. Front desk said "oh, I thought you just wanted service at 11:00am on Tuesday". Maybe it was a communication issue but we never seemed to get on a regular schedule throughout our eight day stay and 6:30pm is very inconvenient. Called one day requesting an extra blanket for the pullout, never did get it. Service around the pool was slow. Our room was by the smaller secondary pool so we sat there. It would take about an hour to get our lunch after ordering. Eventually we would just get up and go to the restaurant for better/quicker service. The rooms are new and nice but the studio room was too tight for three people (my wife and I and our 13 year old). All in all there are some real pluses (new, location, kitchen, pool/beach) and some minuses (service, room size). Best suited for a large family or a couple of families travelling together as you can get adjoining rooms. Many guests made a run to Walmart and then cooked in each night (grills are available by the pool at no charge) and the in-room kitchen provides all the amenities for cooking. This can dramatically lower the cost of your trip. We go to Cancun to relax so the last thing we want to do is cook dinner so for us this had little appeal. For this reason, with all the potential places to stay in Cancun, we will try something different next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Surfing Burrito (across from Senior Frog), their burritos are the best I've ever had and they're only five dollars US. It looks like a hole in the wall but don't be put off by appearances, you won't be disappointed. Take the bus, it's cheap and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiz Kalifa
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A great stay in Cancun

We had a great 3 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Over all we really enjoyed our time at Westin. The beach/ pool / room was excellent and we had a very nice vacation. We got to the hotel around 2 pm after a long tiring journey. It took us a long time to check in as they seemed to be short staffed at the Lobby. We later realized that the lobby is always crowded, so give some extra time to check in. We were pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to a 1 bedroom. However, the staff won't allow us to check in till 4 pm...so we had to bide an hour or so till they could clear the room. The food in the restaurant close to the pool was bad...we didn't eat in the hotel after that. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The 1 bedroom is very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We found the staff very responsive to all our requests. The pool/ hot tub are great, and despite the huge size of the resort, the pool are never felt crowded. Great place...would highly recommend others to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel doesn't allow you to check in to your room till 4 pm. Make sure you co-ordinate your flights accordingly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top