$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
281 reviews
Wish I was still there....

Great stay! One bedroom unit with an amazing view of the beach. The view was so stunning from the... See full review

  • bjw1
  • Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had... See full review

  • Jman0413
  • Dec 6, 2013
Beach fun and water sports await at family-friendly Cancun resort

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort is a modern, chic getaway situated in an ideal location for easy access to many of Cancun's treasures.  Sandy beaches, golf courses, waterfront restaurants, fantastic shopping and ancient ruins are dotted throughout the area. Guests at this resort stay in private, spacious one or two bedroom villas that embody the culture of Cancun, with beach-themed decor and hand-picked artwork in every room. The hotel features breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea, together with a business center, a fitness center, massage services, several restaurants which offer a range of cuisine, swimming pools and on-site water sports.

Reasons to stay
  • Fantastic views with easy access to the beach
  • Supervised activities at kids club, including water play and mini golf
  • Villas contain a host of amenities and fully-equipped kitchens
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort rooms

The accommodations at Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort include 394 one or two bedroom villas, with many overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  The rooms feature private terraces, washer and dryers, jetted tubs in the bathrooms, two flat-screened TVs, DVD and CD players, BOSE AM/FM radio and kitchens with granite counters, ceramic glass four-burner stovetops, microwaves and full-sized stainless steel refrigerators.

Things to do nearby
  • La Isla Mall (across the street)
  • Playa Paraiso Gold Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mayan Aqua Dive (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun also booked these hotels.

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun Rooms

Villa
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 0.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 2.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sameer
Business
King of Prussia, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Very comfortable place

We reached hotel around 12 PM, hotel staff did well in getting us checked in around 2:30. They have luggage space to keep your belongings until you get the room .We stayed in building 12. Seems building 9 has best view. All the rooms have ocean view. Food is little over-priced but that is expected. La Isla Mall across the street. Bus stop just outside. Would definitely recommend !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim the medic
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

great family spot

rooms were very nice and new, nice lay out. the pool and hot tub area could not be any better. great location. right across the street you have outdoor mall with many shops and restaurants. prices in the shop , bar and restaurant very high. we took the bus downtown to store and bought food and cooked out on the grills the have down by the pool. a must do. 2nd time at this hotel and we have been to others. you will not be disapointed. enjoy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

if your looking to save money... bus ride to other westin hotel by south corner bring snorkle gear and from there walk the beach to the south end and snorkle for free on both sides of rocky point. bus ride to north end in town to walmart or sams for main food and supplies. same stop ask for market 28 , that is were to buy all of your souvenires , it a 2 block walk but large shoping area and restuarants . will not find a cheeper place. go during the morning for quick travel and safe till evening

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin 3
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Apr 13, 2012

A Fantastic Spring Break Family Vacation

This is our second stay at the Westin Lagunamar and love the location, the ocean view villa and the eating choices available with having a kitchen and outdoor grills and hotel dining options as well as nearby restaurants. This time we stayed in the new addition that recently opened a month before our stay. Being newly opened there was an issue with the washer hookup but was fixed in time to use it. The ocean view from our villa was incredible but we were farther away from the infinity pool. The new addition has its own smaller pool but just cant compare with the large infinity pool, its gorgeous. We spent time at both. The hotel staff was very helpful and made sure we got the ocean view villa we booked and had on our confirmation letter even though the information they received from our travel company was incorrectly recorded as a studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They have great grill stations to cook some of your meals. Their small store used to stock some meats for grilling but didnt see it there this time. It was good that on our way to check in at the hotel we had our airport transport van stop off at Superama and picked up some groceries .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrgolfguy
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Nice amenities, nice location, so so service

Nice new hotel across the street from large outdoor mall. Studio room is complete with efficiency kitchen which is ideal for chilling your own beer and the microwave is good for reheating your leftovers (a benefit we never really considered when booking). Service experience was poor at times. Not sure whether it's because the building is also a timeshare or not but they would rarely clean our room unless I asked. On the second day I called down to the front desk and specifically requested that our room be serviced at 11:00am each day which they confirmed. The next day our room was serviced around 6:30pm, following day I had to call again. Front desk said "oh, I thought you just wanted service at 11:00am on Tuesday". Maybe it was a communication issue but we never seemed to get on a regular schedule throughout our eight day stay and 6:30pm is very inconvenient. Called one day requesting an extra blanket for the pullout, never did get it. Service around the pool was slow. Our room was by the smaller secondary pool so we sat there. It would take about an hour to get our lunch after ordering. Eventually we would just get up and go to the restaurant for better/quicker service. The rooms are new and nice but the studio room was too tight for three people (my wife and I and our 13 year old). All in all there are some real pluses (new, location, kitchen, pool/beach) and some minuses (service, room size). Best suited for a large family or a couple of families travelling together as you can get adjoining rooms. Many guests made a run to Walmart and then cooked in each night (grills are available by the pool at no charge) and the in-room kitchen provides all the amenities for cooking. This can dramatically lower the cost of your trip. We go to Cancun to relax so the last thing we want to do is cook dinner so for us this had little appeal. For this reason, with all the potential places to stay in Cancun, we will try something different next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Surfing Burrito (across from Senior Frog), their burritos are the best I've ever had and they're only five dollars US. It looks like a hole in the wall but don't be put off by appearances, you won't be disappointed. Take the bus, it's cheap and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiz Kalifa
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 4, 2012

A great stay in Cancun

We had a great 3 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Over all we really enjoyed our time at Westin. The beach/ pool / room was excellent and we had a very nice vacation. We got to the hotel around 2 pm after a long tiring journey. It took us a long time to check in as they seemed to be short staffed at the Lobby. We later realized that the lobby is always crowded, so give some extra time to check in. We were pleasantly surprised to get upgrade to a 1 bedroom. However, the staff won't allow us to check in till 4 pm...so we had to bide an hour or so till they could clear the room. The food in the restaurant close to the pool was bad...we didn't eat in the hotel after that. We had a great view of the ocean and the pool. The 1 bedroom is very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We found the staff very responsive to all our requests. The pool/ hot tub are great, and despite the huge size of the resort, the pool are never felt crowded. Great place...would highly recommend others to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel doesn't allow you to check in to your room till 4 pm. Make sure you co-ordinate your flights accordingly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The fours
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Family Vacation

Had a great time on vacation. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCINAU
Business
Shanghai
Mar 27, 2012

Everything Good except the mail service.

Everything very good, friendly staffs, great view from the room, and perfet location as it is located opposite to a shopping mall. Just cross the road, and easily access to resturants with reasonable prices. The only unhappy experience was that I asked the reception to mail four post cards for me, but none of them arrived their destination. I am sure that the addresses are all correct and stamps are attached to the post cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
APSA
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Service

The service at the hotel was quite poor. The rooms were not cleaned everyday and when they were it was not done very well. There were no sheets for the sofa bed and whenever we called for one it was always "on the way". The staff at the reception seemed aloof and were never quick to help. They always seemed to be too involved in their computers and would treat us as if we were disturbing them and wasting their time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great Bear
Business
New Mexico, USA
Mar 25, 2012

ideal location for cancun activites

Our ocean studio room included a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, and a fabulous view of the beach and resort property. There is a shopping mall across the street with numerous restaurant choices. The concierge staff is very helpful and pleasant. The pools and beach areas are amazing. We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay, six days and nights that passed way too quickly! Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen Itza and Xcaret are popular and highly recommended. Our sailing tour to Isla Mujeres included limitless beverages (rum, tequila).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

City bus transportation is 8.5 pesos each way and adjacent to the hotel. Coffee shops and curbside food vans are across the street. Bring your own 'biodegradable' sun screen to snorkel at Xel-Ha. Most tours include food and drinks. Local banks or monetary exchange stands provide a better rate than the airport (with no fees).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
denisemn
Business
Granite Bay, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great getaway

Everything was wonderful. However, upon returning and reviewing credit card charges online, there was a $200.00 USD mistake. Trying to resolve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top