$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nelsa
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2012

Awesome hotel!

Love the hotel, location, and staff! I highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cenacolo - Italian Restaurant Great food and service - I give it a 5 Star

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm Weather Lovers
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2013

Winter Getaway

We had an excellent stay at the Westin Lagunamar Resort. The best part was the massage we got in a private hut on the beach. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian From Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 13, 2013

Excellent first time visit to Cancun!

This was our first time to Mexico and we felt extremely comfortable and safe. Everything you needed was found either within the hotel grounds at the Westin or across the street at the very upscale La Isla shopping mall. If you are an american and worried about not having the comforts of home when you travel abroad to Cancun, Mexico, this place is a very safe bet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend the Westin round trip shuttle service to/from the airport. You can haggle with taxi drivers or other third party companies. However, if you call Westin and book your transportation in advance you pay a flat fee with no hidden extras. Tipping is recommended, FYI.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dani65
Business
toronto
Jan 4, 2013

It doesn't get any better!

Excellent hotel, great location, superb customer service, great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Taco place in the mall across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Spring Breaker
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 2, 2013

1st trip to Cancun!

This hotel was jaw dropping from the drive way all the way to the view from our room! The strip was just a fun bus ride away & there was an amazing mall right across from us. The only thing I didn't like was how heavy the doors are, 1 windy night my hand was slammed by the door & the hotel barely budged when I showed them my almost broken hand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart is only a 15 minute bus ride away & if your room has a full kitchen you should definitely buy groceries especially since there is only 2 good restaurants in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancuner 17
Business
United States
Dec 31, 2012

Good but not great hotel option in Cancun

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful hotel. If you're new to Cancun and just wondering about the quality of the hotel, it's 4 star, and more impressive than most hotels in the states in this price range. You can book it without worrying. I've stayed here twice. First experience was exceptional which warranted a return trip. Second visit was just OK. Location is amazing, it's right on a great patch of Cancun's finest beach. Amenities are stellar: including full kitchen and washer/dryer. Great for a long term stay. Pools and grounds are great. Downsides: beds are small, no kings, and what they call queens are twins. New building to the south smells like concrete, like a construction zone; both in the room and in the hallways. If you don't get a suite with a separate bedroom and you're traveling with family then the rooms are small. Suites are stellar. Jacuzzi tubs in rooms with ocean view are amazing. Great stay first time when we had a suite, OK stay second when we didn't. Next time in Cancun I'd stay elsewhere, there are so many amazing hotel options in Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattle JK
Business
seattle, washington
Dec 24, 2012

this is a perfect resort for family

i was there for 4 nights with my family. it is a great place for family. well located in the center of hotel zone in cancun. everything is so close to the hotel. even the shopping mall is right across from the hotel. i did rent a car but trust me it is not worth it. hotel got great packages for your tours in cancun with reasonable price. staffs are very nice too. just to give you a tip, do not exchange your dollars at the airport. hotel offers better exchange rate than anywhere else. And one last tip for you, everything is expensive in cancun and the hotel too. if you can get the all inclusive package for the hotel. that is the best way to enjoy you vacation in cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

do not exchange your dollars at the airport which offers you a rate of 10 pesos for a dollar. instead exchange it at the lobby of the hotel. hotel has a better rate which is 12 pesos for a dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob C C
Business
New Hampshire
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect.... seamless

We travel to Cancun each year... This is by far the best.. the staff was consistently attentive and apparently very happy to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob Ishee
Business
Greensboro , Ga.
Dec 2, 2012

Relaxing getaway for any one

Xplor theme park, Jungle tour in Sea- Doo 30 hp outboard boat. Many excellent restraunts, La habena cholia, Thai, Distillery, Fish Fratanga

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eduardo F.
Business
Mission Hills
Nov 25, 2012

CANCUN

The room was like new, great features,loved the kitchen,bathroom, and the comfortable bed. Situated perfectly alond the Blvd. The beach was beautiful and was able to swim in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tejas
Oct 2, 2012

First couple vacation

From the moment we got off the plane we had wonderful service! The taxi was quick and took us straight to our beautiful hotel at the Westin. The pictures on this site don't give it justice. The rooms were immaculate. The service was impecable, and the food was good. It was a little pricey but nonetheless. The happy hour at the infinity pool was delightful! One thing I wish we had done was gone all-inclusive, but at the time it was not offered when we purchased this trip. The mall is DIRECTLY across the street and the food at Taco Grill is delicioso!!! If you want to stay somewhere that's convenient to food, shopping, and nightlife then the Westin is the place to go. And make sure you do the Jungle Tour....it's a beautiful excursion! And september weather was perfect. not a drop of rain or threat of hurricane! It was just magical!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please please please eat at Taco Grill, or at the Lighthouse for dinner. 2 for 1 margaritas and Mojitos and the service is impeccable! If you are thinking about something, they'll bring it to you. lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top