$213 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canvas
Business
Davenport, Iowa
Mar 5, 2013

We love it.

We love it here. Location is perfect. Beach is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baby Lobster-located in the La Isla Mall. You wouldn't go there unless someone told you. 660 pesos for surf and surf for two and you will lunch for the next day. Two small lobster tails, three screw ears of fish, two pieces of fish, shrimp and three side dishes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
midwinter holiday
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 28, 2013

Great for a family getaway

Check in process was a little lengthy and frustrating. It seems our room was not ready and they asked us to wait till the actual check in time for an hour. At 4 pm, they said the room was still not ready and we needed to wait longer. I asked for any other room and they said not possible. I went to another check in station an hour later and asked for another room and this time, the person said he would find a room for me. In the end, we got a room and my family was happy. Double check your bill at check out especially if you charge things to your room. Ours had a double charge for tipping and we were lucky to have caught it. The pools are great and the access to the beach is fantastic. Also, the tours that were offered and that we took were perfect for my family. Chichen Itza, Tulum and Isla Mujeres are all worth a visit! Walking distance to nice restaurants and La Isla shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice local restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DadJim
Business
michigan
Feb 25, 2013

Nice place for family vacation

We stayed there in the studio for a week. The location is great, right across the shopping center. There is also quite a few restaurants nearby. Each room has a ocean view. The drinks are expensive comparing to the quality, I won't recommend it. Staffs are friendly. The main complain is the wifi signal is very weak and internet constantly break in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vossie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Feb 21, 2013

Good location, average service

Hotel is located in the heart of the hotel strip, just between the ocean and the high end shopping mall. For this alone it makes the hotel a good choice. Rooms are clean- staff was pretty unhelpful and rather indifferent of making guests feel welcome. Our check in took about 45min and then another 30 min to get our hotel keys as our room was not ready upon arrival. The swimming pool is large with swim up bar- for people that dont like the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out this mall. It some some cheesy stuff, but also good high ned stores. Case Palacia just opened up- worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle Pride
Business
Auburn, AL, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Wonder Property

This hotel is wonderful. This is my second time staying here. I can assure you the pictures to not do this property justice! Great for families and couples! Conveniently located to La Isla shopping mall right across the street. There is also a bus stop directly in front of the hotel. The staff is great and willing to help at all hours of day and night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to walmart of sams club downtown and buy groceries you will save and bundle and the hotel has grills for guest access as well as cooking utensils. The rooms are also have microwave, stove, and fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NickiG
Business
Minnesota
Feb 13, 2013

Feels like home away from home

We had a wonderful time in Cancun, and owe it to the Westin Laguanamar Resort. The staff are beyond wonderful. They make you feel like you have known them for years. The resort is beautiful and you couldn't ask for anything more in a resort. The grounds are immaculate, staff wonderful, view is beautiful and the beach is fabulous. This is the second time we have stayed at the resort and I don't believe we will ever stay anywhere else. The aspect I appreciate most is the fact the resort is a time share property, however, we do not own and have never been pressured to listen to the sales pitch. We have stayed other places and the pressure to buy ruined the location for us. You will not get the high pressure sales team at the Westin Laguanamar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Puerto Madero's! Fabulous restaurant...it is a quick trip by bus from Laguanamar and worth every penny you spend. The best meal by far!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATC2013
Business
Fargo, ND
Feb 11, 2013

Great trip away from the cold!

We are from ND/MN and needed this trip away from the cold. Weather was perfect the whole time. Location is perfect, right by the bus stop and across from malls and restaurants. The beach is amazing. Soft sand and clean! The hotel overall was very clean. The floors in our room (tile) were grimy from the condensation. Poor ventilation in the bathroom and no fan. Little things. The hotel is huge and confusing at first. Our room was nowhere near the infinity pool. It was right by a smaller pool, but still a gorgeous view. The WiFi in the room was not good at all, for a decent connection we had to go to the Business Center. Had 1 bed and sofa-sleeper. Room was not set up to have the sofa-sleeper out. Table in the way and nowhere to put it. Staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful. English was good. Great value for the overall experience. Will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco Grill across the street in the mall is amazing and a good price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dannyNYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Above average, but just...

My partner and I were there for a long weekend in the sun and got upgraded to a very roomy 1 bedroom suite. The pool areas are large and broken up enough to avoid screaming children or feeling too crowded. The Wifi should be free as it didn't work AT ALL in our rooms, requiring daily trips to hang out in the small, crowded lobby for better reception. And it took various attempts to keep the vacation condo and Activity Hawkers to just leave us alone. And room service ends at 11pm. Lastly, be patient at the restaurants. Real patient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harry's is a go-to steakhouse which, if you can sustain the retro-dsco music and prices, is a nice night out. Hacienda Destilleria and Hacienda Sisal are Mexican restaurants that get recommended to tourists, but most American restaurants serve better fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shebaad
Business
Maryland
Jan 31, 2013

Great stay

definitely rec this hotel. The beach is fabulous and the property is amazing. Great staff and we will most definitely return. This has become my "latest" favorite place to stay in Cancun (and I am extremely picky!). Rooms are spacious and great for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Main Main Man
Business
Madan, nd
Jan 31, 2013

2013 kids away vacation

Another awesome experience, wifi worked a lot better this year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top