$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B to the Ryan
Business
washington, dc
Sep 27, 2013

Very good hotel

The hotel has a ton of amenities and is very clean. Staff members are courteous and helpful. It's not all-inclusive so your food and drink bill might be a little high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mestiza1983
Business
australia
Aug 29, 2013

less than extraordinary

Hotel was nice and clean. Unfortunately i had issues with the food served at the pool restaurant and the fact that it was totally inedible and also was charged an amount by the hotel on my card that i was not advised of and did not sign for....even after enquiring about wether an amount would be charged in which the staff advised i wouldnt. Taking into accounts these two problems, i will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madonna restaurant in the fashion precinct ccross the road.....best Italian ever!

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amirumi
Business
NY
Aug 21, 2013

A perfect place for a family with kids

We stayed 5 nights in one bed room villa here and it was wonderful. Room was clean and spacious, with laundry and kitchen. Our room was at 6th floor and view was very nice. They have several kinds of pools, including warm pool and shallow pool for small children. The market in the resort offers foods and drinks at reasonable prices. Located in front of La Isla Shopping center, it is also very convenient to go there and buy some souvenirs or go out in the restaurant. I would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sjacobo0811
Business
San Marcos, California
Aug 20, 2013

Great place!

For the price we paid, i was not expecting it to be as nice as it was and have wonderful staff that are always there to help us out! Cleaning service did a great job! The view, the beach, Jacuzzi, pool, EVERYTHING about it was amazing. I do not see how it is not a 5 star? Even after we checked out, our flight wasn't until midnight, they let us hang out until then - which is great customer service. I will definitely be staying here again when i go back to Cancun. & if any of my friends go, i will definitely recommend this place to them in a heartbeat. Keep up the great work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Pay $1, get on the bus next to the hotel, maybe 3 minutes later, your in the middle of downtown - Coco Bongo is that close! Mall is right now door! Prime spot!

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schneiders
Business
Delafield, WI
Jun 23, 2013

Schneiders

Perfect family vacation! Something for everyone ! We truly enjoyed it. Would recommend only to improve variety of "grocery items in market" Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery shop at Walmart downtown vs. local market More variety

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viviannnx3
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 31, 2013

Great time!

Perfect location to everywhere and spotless! Will definitely consider staying there again when we come back to Cancun. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2013 First Time Visitor
Business
Atlanta, Ga
May 31, 2013

Great Family Fun

First family trip to the Mexico. Perfect Resort, Perfect Location. The grounds are very well maintained, looks like a tropical paradise. Beautiful infinity pools, swim-up bar and tiki hut umbrellas on the beach. Rooms were really nice, had fridge/freezer, stove, microwave, dishwasher, washer and dryer. No gimmicks. The rooms look just like the pictures on the website. Lots of activities and loads of fun. Cleaning staff, Porters, Restaurant staff and Activity coordinators were great! Crystal blue water and soft white sand. Couldn't ask for anything more! Only complaint, FRONT DESK staff! We were given a studio when we booked a 1BR but that was resolved only after they made us go back to the room and get the actual paperwork/receipt/reservation to prove we paid for a 1BR. Not sure why they didn't have the room information since they had our reservation in the computer. A definite inconvenience and rough start to our vacation but after that, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jovanka
Business
Colorado
May 30, 2013

Amazing!

Great staff! Great location! Great accomodations! Room: We were in Bldg 14, second floor and couldn't have asked for anything better. After the reviews we worried that the palm trees would block the view and they didn't. We were right next to the pool, hot tub, and beach. Hotel next door had a pool party one night that was noisy but we were so tired it didn't keep us from sleeping. Jacuzzi tub in room, blender, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and washer/dryer were all great. Room did not feel crowded. Pools: We were by the "smaller" pool but it wasn't small at all. Regardless the larger pool not too far away. Never had an issue staying in the pools after pool closing time. Restaurants: Hotel has 3 restaurants. Everything we tried we enjoyed - especially the guacamole - sooo yummy! Husband LOVED the beef tacos. Tasted like philly cheese steak. Beach: The beach was amazing but due to the currents, you could not play in the water just anywhere. They had a specific section you could play in. The fun part is that there is a huge sand bar there and took me three times to get to it because of the current. Not sure that I would recommend that beach for little kids during that time of year #end of May#. Nightlife: The hotel does not have a nightlife. The Duna restaurant did karaoke one night but that was it. However, across the street at the Mall there is some nightlife or just hop on the bus to the area where CocoBongo is #by the way, CocoBongo is costly so be prepared ahead of time#. Food/Liquor: The hotel market is very limited but had the basic necessities. They also had steaks and hot dogs that you could grill. We meant to grill food using hotel outdoor grills one night but it never happened. You can take the local bus to Walmart. Hotel liquor was very pricey. The Mall across the street had some stores with liquor that was cheaper. Otherwise, a block away is the La Europa liquor store which was much cheaper. Transportation: The bus system is very simple and they take US dollars and Pesos but I don't believe they make change. Concierge: The concierge was great but they will call you daily until you meet with them which was annoying. We traveled the whole first day to get there and then stayed out late and they called at 8:30 am #which was 7:30 at home# and woke us up. Next day, same thing. Guess they want to catch you before you go out the door for the day. We did the Chichen Itza/Cenote tour - it was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never Ending Honeymooners
Business
Da Bears
May 22, 2013

Perfect for any occasion

WOW!! What a beautiful resort. Our room was spacious and had a jacuzzi, washer/dryer, fridge and stove top among other amenities. Resort has very well kept grounds and beach areas. Various jacuzzis and pools throughout the resort. They have their own grilling area for which we went to Walmart about 15min away taking the R1 bus for less than a dollar (8.50 pesos) and bought our own steaks and had a romantic cook out with my wife under the stars. I highly recomend taking the Xplor zip-line and underwater cave swimming adventure tour. Take your own water slippers for convenience. Xcaret, Chichen-itza and Xel-Ha Tulum is also a must if you have the time. AVOID Yellow Cab Transfers for transportation from and to the airport. I bought the round trip package and they FAILED to pick us up at the hotel and almost missed our flight back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No.name
Business
NYC
May 22, 2013

getaway

convenient location with mall across the street. room has ants running around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top