$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
May 31, 2009

Westin Lagunamar Cancun was AWESOME!!

We loved the rooms!! We had the two bedroom unit and it was really nice! The beach was fun and our son found lots of shells. We spent most of our day on the beach and in the water "riding" the waves!!! The infinity pool and swim up bar completed our afternoon. We didn't want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TurboTraveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2009

Great New Resort Deal

Over the long Memorial weekend we just wanted to relax by the pool, dine out a little, and do some shopping. We were able to do so easily in this convenient location. We were a little annoyed by the aggressive "upselling" of excursions by Orbitz staff, which we chose not to take advantage of during our brief visit. This vacation suite hotel was new, the rooms well-thought out with mini-kitchens for convenience, clean and nicely appointed. The staff was also friendly and accommodating. Because it is a pretty new property there are some small kinks that will likely work themselves out, like the poor quality of the in-room phone and limited range of products in the hotel's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some really great dining options nearby, including a Thai restaurant with fantastic food and ambiance that you'd never expect to find in a mall as well as a top italian restaurant, Cenacola, a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ the jet plane
Business
Toronto, Ontario
May 27, 2009

Great value

Stayed in a studio in building 7. Hotel was not very busy because of the CNN, I mean, H1N1 flu concerns. Most important (for us): every suite has an ocean view, with a great balcony and nice outdoor furniture. To sit out there with coffee in the morning and wine in the evening was an added bonus. Fabulous location, pool, furnishings, view, gym, etc... We enjoyed having a kitchen for breakfast and lunch, and the BBQ's for the occasional grilled meal. Be a kid again -- do the waterslide!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

As everyone else says: take the R2 bus to Walmart. Stock up on meat, veggies, booze, snacks. Taxi back to the hotel with all your loot will run you 120 pesos. BBQ at night and be social :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 27, 2009

Westin Lagunamar

Absolutely terrific. A great location. Pool is massive. Water is warm, clean, and inviting. Temperature was 92 during our recent Memorial Day weekend stay. The rooms are fully furnished with a complete kitchen set up from a Sub Zero refridge to a dishwasher. Our room even had a washer and dryer. Hotel staff went out of their way to help us make dinner reservations in terrific restaurants throughout Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Although there are a number of plazas/malls within walking distance, the best find is discovered by taking the local bus to downtown Cancun. This short, 20 minute ride can be had right outsite the hotel on either bus R2 or R15. It costs 7.5 pesos, about 60 cents. You'll have access to "Market 28", the area's largest collection of flea market vendors. The buys are incredible! Across the street is a Walmart where you can load up on food items for breakfast and lunch. For the 4 days we were in Cancun, breakfast and lunch cost us less than $30 total; and we ate well. Compare that to the Westin's $20/pp charge for their breakfast buffet, and you come out ahead at the first meal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, New York
May 26, 2009

Beautiful Honeymoon

Perfect place to relax by the pool and watch the ocean waves wash up on the beach. Conveniently located across from La Isla Mall. If that is not enough shopping for you the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel to catch a ride downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the bus for 7.5 pesos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas,NV
May 24, 2009

A+

The entrance to this hotel is spectacular. Breath taking views to the ocean. The hotel's location is perfect with a shopping mall complete with restaurants across the street. The staff was top of the line. The food was great also. The best thing by far about this hotel is the pool. I can't say enough how much we liked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT STOP TO TALK TO ANYONE AT THE AIRPORT. THEY ARE A BUNCH OF LIARS THAT WILL GRAB YOU AND SIGN YOU UP FOR A TIME SHARE ORIENTATION AND LIE TO YOU ABOUT IT. NEXT THING YOU KNOW, YOU HAVE WASTED AN ENTIRE DAY DEALING WITH VERY PUSHY SALESMEN AT A TIME SHARE AND IT ISNT WORTH THE DISCOUNT THEY GIVE YOU FOR TOURS, ETC. THEY LIE LIE LIE SO DON'T GET CAUGHT UP IN IT. JUST WALK ON BY AND GO RIGHT TO YOUR HOTEL. SERIOUSLY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carefree couple
Business
Chicago
May 19, 2009

Brand new

Half the residences are still under construction, but the resort amenities -- restaurant, spa, gym, infinity pool, water slide, swim-up bar, beach -- are complete and luxurious. Wait, water slide? Yes, but it's tasteful. (No kids here, but my wife loved it.) Construction + recession + pandemic = prime deals, but the budget traveler should plan to eat and drink elsewhere -- or even better, cook for yourself in your room's kitchen or on one of the poolside grills. Gird yourself for the timeshare sell, but if you have the time and stomach to hear the pitch, they'll throw in a $100 credit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Distilleria is a short walk south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A & W
Business
Southern CA
May 11, 2009

Fantastic vacation

Had fantastic customer service from check-in to check-out. Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Was really quiet since we went during the swine flu "epidemic". Would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to everyone. The hotel construction was a non issue - we were pretty close to it and never heard anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Like all others have mentioned go to Walmart and take advantage of the full kitchen in the room to save $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castle Rock, Co
May 11, 2009

Wonderful Resort

When we arrived a day late due to weather delays they were very accommodating. I asked for an upgrade to a one bedroom suite and we got it at no extra charge. They gave us a room with almost a direct view looking out past the infinity pools and ocean. We enjoyed swimming (up to the swim up bar) The bar service was excellent. We went sightseeing (took ferry to Isla Mujeres) and sampled local restaurants. We didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. There are so many great places to eat in Cancun. The sea bass I had at the hotel restaurant was excellent too. The Thai Lounge across the street in the mall is a great didning experience. We had our own little hut out on the water with a table and couch. It was a very romantic dining experience. For a light weight like me the Thai food was a little too spicey. One night we took a taxi downtown and ate at La Habichuela restaurant. Our taxi driver waited for us to eat our meal at no charge. The outdoor dining area is set-up like you're in Mayan Ruins and sparkly lights are in the trees. The seafood, lobster, shrimp cooked and served in a coconut shell was eye rolling back good. We left the restaurant after an hour and a half and our taxi driver was waiting across the street. Life is good. Because of the economy and flu scare the facility was at only about 10% of capacity. We had the huge pools many times to ourselves. Our room was cleaned every day and the housekeeper folded our towels into animal shapes. We would definitely go back and recommend the Westin Lagunamar to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 11, 2009

Fantastic

We picked this hotel because it is on one of the best stretches of the beach, and is right across the street from the "La Isla" shopping center, which is probably the best in Cancun.Besides having great shops, there are many great restaurants there too. The hotel is less than a year old and has the look and feel of any 5 star hotel. The pool area is the best I have ever seen at any resort. Great staff. Great time !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant across the street in the shopping center is fantastic. Private booths that are actually little huts out over the water, and very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top