$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KatherCat
Business
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2014

Great Rooms, but needs improvement to the grounds

This hotel has great rooms, with kitchen, tub with jets and, ocean view with balcony. Here are some of the cons: Getting back to the room at 5pm we would find that the maid had not yet cleaned the room. The restaurant selection needs improvement. The Duna Bar is drab. The only real restaurant had a theme-night buffet for dinner every night. Not everyone likes buffets... This is a timeshare resort so they will try to schedule an appointment with you. While walking to our room at night, I tripped badly on a ditch in the sidewalk. It looked like it was normally covered by a metal grate, but the grate was missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Destileria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovestotravellinda
Business
charlotte north Carolina
Jun 7, 2014

a great dental vacation

Friendly helpful staff. A person could not ask for more. Location was convenient to everything. Pool and beach was heavenly. Food at the poolside was the absolute best and didn't break the bank. Besides the poor weather for the first 3 days of our trip this hotel was able to still provide a memorable stay. Will definitely consider coming back to this hotel for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La isla is across the street. Kukulcan plaza is a short walk and the flamingo mall is about 15 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tammy
Business
Sammamish, WA
Jan 22, 2014

Great Place to Vacation!

The pool and grounds are amazing. The location right in front of a beautiful part of the beach can't be beat! The room is large - lot's of space for three-four people. The happy hour at the pool at 3 was a welcome treat.. We even watched the NFC championship football game in the Sports Bar on the hotel grounds - great food, happy hour, wonderful service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Isla Mujeres via catamaran...beautiful! Get an excursion where they take you snorkeling on the way, and parasailing on the way back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeamC
Business
Alberta, Canada
Dec 25, 2013

First Trip to Mexico

We took our family of 4 with 2 children ages 14 and 8 to Mexico for the first time and stayed at Westin Lagunamar. The Hotel was recommended to us by a friend who has visited Mexico several times. We were not disappointed! The pools are fantastic with the infinity pool looking right out over the beach at the Caribbean. The staff is attentive and very professional, the Lifeguards keep a keen eye if you are playing in the ocean. We made use of our kitchenette for breakfast and lunch which helps keep the costs down. We used the on-site market everyday for a very delicious cup of coffee to enjoy while walking on the beach for sunrise. We ate at all of the restaurants and found them all satisfactory. We would love to return again some time in the not too far future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Xel-Ha is worth the money to go and enjoy. It is a bit of a trek, 1.5 hours by bus, but it is an amazing experience and the ticket is all inclusive for your meals and gear, just not the 5 extra excursions on-site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jman0413
Business
Riverside,CA
Dec 6, 2013

Great hotel across for the isla shopping mall

The mall was across the street food at hotel was pricey but the mall was across the street and had several mexican restaurants that were amazing taco grill and tacos and tequila. Clubs were a couple miles away take the bus 1 US dollar . Overall great hotel with great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La isla shopping was across the street and the hotel had a mini mart too. Starbucks and mcdonalds if u miss home haha otherwise great location for shopping and and amazing pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kevdon
Business
Montreal, Qc
Nov 24, 2013

BEST BEACH IN WORLD. NICE AND QUIET

I've been to many beaches from Thailand to India to Carribean to Cancun to Hawaii. This strip of beach, particularly in front of Westin and Park Royal is the best. Hotel is nice and quiet. People don't budge for anything. Plenty of space on Beach. I definitely recommend this to anyone who is a seasoned traveller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
droliaa
Business
Minnaepolis, MN
Nov 23, 2013

Great location --

Hotel is close to the party zone and only about 120 pesos cab ride away. The pool is awesome and beach gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B to the Ryan
Business
washington, dc
Sep 27, 2013

Very good hotel

The hotel has a ton of amenities and is very clean. Staff members are courteous and helpful. It's not all-inclusive so your food and drink bill might be a little high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mestiza1983
Business
australia
Aug 29, 2013

less than extraordinary

Hotel was nice and clean. Unfortunately i had issues with the food served at the pool restaurant and the fact that it was totally inedible and also was charged an amount by the hotel on my card that i was not advised of and did not sign for....even after enquiring about wether an amount would be charged in which the staff advised i wouldnt. Taking into accounts these two problems, i will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madonna restaurant in the fashion precinct ccross the road.....best Italian ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amirumi
Business
NY
Aug 21, 2013

A perfect place for a family with kids

We stayed 5 nights in one bed room villa here and it was wonderful. Room was clean and spacious, with laundry and kitchen. Our room was at 6th floor and view was very nice. They have several kinds of pools, including warm pool and shallow pool for small children. The market in the resort offers foods and drinks at reasonable prices. Located in front of La Isla Shopping center, it is also very convenient to go there and buy some souvenirs or go out in the restaurant. I would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top