$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kevdon
Montreal, Qc
Nov 24, 2013

BEST BEACH IN WORLD. NICE AND QUIET

I've been to many beaches from Thailand to India to Carribean to Cancun to Hawaii. This strip of beach, particularly in front of Westin and Park Royal is the best. Hotel is nice and quiet. People don't budge for anything. Plenty of space on Beach. I definitely recommend this to anyone who is a seasoned traveller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew
Business
Cincinnati, ohio
Aug 14, 2011

Westin Lagunamar, august 2011

Room itself was awesome, only thing missing was the large terrace with jacuzzi the that the Sheraton (that was previously on the same grounds) had. Full kitchen, dining room, living room, NICE bath & bedroom & it's own in room washer & dryer ! I LOVED that ! I was fortunate enough to stay during the summer sea turtle nesting season and got to see 2 while I was there. There were obviously many more to be seen had I stayed up at night to turtle watch, but that alone was very cool ! Great pool, swim up bar, great view. On the down side, the hotel is so brand new that it's still under construction. So you will likely see and hear at least some of the construction. More in some areas than others. Location is as good as it gets in Cancun, right across the street from La Isla shopping plaza, and close enough to walk to 2 other malls as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel staff will tell you about most of the normal tour options after you arrive. What no one mentions is the free, onsite sew turtles at night in the summer(alone worth the trip), and I read that it was also whale shark season & that you could swim with them (a tour) but the hotel does not mention that, but again it sounds like a once in a lifetime experience should one look into it and go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan,PR
Aug 10, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

This hotel was just awesome!great location,just in front of la isla mall.Excellent service and a very clean and confortable room.Would recommend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to la isla mall for restaurants options.The food inside hotel is expensive.Walk a short distance and you will find best dining options for less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ME 86
Business
Bend, OR
Aug 8, 2011

best of Cancun

we were pleasantly surprised with the Hotel. Our room was very spacious with small but efficient kitchen, Tv sitting area that had pull out couch bed, nice Master bedroom and nicely appointed bathroom. Our room seemed brand new and in excellent shape. We had good air cond, flat screen tv's in both rooms and nice deck for cocktails and breakfast. The pool area was excellent, plenty of lounges but we loved their palapa's on the beach. Great shade, super soft sand and light breeze and cold drinks any time. Very relaxing to say the least. Kids had a blast on the jet skiis. Service was excellent in all areas of the hotel and their restaurants. We would definitely recommend this to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant Distilleria, down the street, best food we found in Cancun. We ate there twice during our stay, amazing sauces and grilled vegetables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So Cal
Aug 7, 2011

Great family getaway

The service here was excellent and everyone was very happy to assist us in anyway possible! Beautiful pool and beach area to relax and we loved the daily happy hour!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall across the street was good dining and shopping at a close distance for small kids to be able to walk to comfortably

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten island, new York
Aug 6, 2011

The best hotel by far

Best hotel by far had a lil problem when we first checked into our room. There were lil ants crawling all over the closet and tv. Front desk took care of it right away. They did tell us that the whole hotel was booked and that they might not be able to get us another room and just exterminate it but thankfully checked us into another. They were doing construction on this massive hotel which really wasn't a bother at all as some other reviews complained about. Drinks were a little expensive but they have 2 for 1 happy hour everyday. The grounds are beautiful and we never had a problem getting a chair by the beach. As a matter of fact we couldn't believe how little people there were on the (beautiful) beach. We will def stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 31, 2011

Uneatable location for the price

We enjoy all facilities, restaurants, pool and beach. This has been one of the best vacations ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Jul 27, 2011

Excellent stay!

We had a very good time at the hotel which is immaculate! The facilities are very well kept as the beaches by this hotel are very nice and maintained. The kids facility and exercise area are great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The conceirge was good but wish their breadth of knowledge regarding diverse restaurants was better. The hotel is situated across a nice mall with good places to eat. I would recommend this hotel as there was construction near our balcony/view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chiquinina
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2011

Absolutely a fabulous resort!

This resort is stunning! The staff is EXTREMELY courteous! Shout out to [...] who went out of their way to help with anything we needed. Will definitely return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clarita, Ca.
Jul 22, 2011

Great family retreat

The hotel and staff were excellant. The pools are beautiful with a giant slide for the kids. Take advantage of the huge shopping center across the street and the restaurants there. They'll save you some money. We had our kids there, so we weren't going to party too much. But there is no night life. Pool bar closes at 6:00 pm and the only thing open after 8 is the restaurant. The menu should be expanded. Great experience overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You must take the swimming with the dolphins trip. It's an all day event. You can also swim the sharks, sting rays, zip line and snorkel. Don't do the pool one, book it through the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellsworth Maine
Jul 17, 2011

Westin Lagunamar Cancun

The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly but one gentleman, [...], stood out. He was exceptional. He was friendly, he spoke clear English and he tried to help no matter what we needed. We saw some sights. The pool closes much too early and language is definitely an issue. [...]never explained that we got a $200. food and drink only credit so we lost out and when we checked in our room was not ready at the time stated. Concierges were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top