$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 12.5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honey1
Business
Ohio, USA
Mar 4, 2012

sun and beach

This is a wonderful hotel. The resort has great pools and beach. It was nice to have a small kitchen and washer and dryer in our room. This resort was right across the street from the mall . Many places to eat within walking distance. At this resort all rooms are oceanview with balconies. Looking forward to our next visit .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james a
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Perfect location

We had a great time in February of 2012. Perfect location across the street from La Isla shopping mall, and about 2-3 km from the downtown action spot of Cancun. Bus service was awesome, and price was great. Hotel pools are second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KBell
Business
Atlanta
Feb 24, 2012

Great Mother and Daughter Trip

Hotel was excellent! If cleanliness is a must then this is the Hotel for you. Location was excellent. The only frustrating thing is you have to get up at 7:00am to get a beach chair with an umbrella. A umbrella is a must in Mexico's hot sun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricardo1357Cv
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great place to stay!

Excellent facility, rooms are well equipped, and service is great. Swimming pools and beach area are unbelievable real.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy all gifts at the Island mall, there is a Mexican shop with great stuff and prices, we tried to go to the local market 28 inside the city but it was a great mistake they all try to get the most money possible.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jandi
Business
san jose, california
Feb 12, 2012

family trip, good stay~

with 3years old boy, we had a good time. The view is great. Beach is also beautiful but a little tough wave. my boy enjoy the sand. all rooms has kitchen so it was nice. HOWEVR, I am not satisfied with the make up room service. every day new coffee? NO!!!. sometimes not enough towels, etc. Overall, the hotel is nice to stay. near by hotel, lots of restaurant!! Try it....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food in hotel is nice but not many choice. try outside restaurant!!...short walk.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoe101
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great Escape

They are very accommodating and friendly. The staff there were helpful in making our trip the best that it could be. The hotel is set up really nice with a great sized infinity pool and lots of things to do. The rooms are clean but do not recommend a room on ground floor, we saw a bug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin swimming!!

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayyy
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Great

We had a great time. My family enjoyed the pool beach food. It was all a great experience. The staff were all friendly and even remembered our names.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try dinner across the street as La Isla mall. Chocolate City was great.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carole C
Business
Hoffman Estates, Il
Jan 22, 2012

Great family vacation

The Westin Lagunamar is everything we expected it to be and more. The staff, rooms, pool and beach were amazing. Everyone always greeted you with a smile and was always happy to help with anything you needed. It was great having the shopping mall right across the street and the bus stop right in front of the hotel. Couldn't have asked for a better trip. Made many memorable memories at the Westin Lagunamar. Would go back in a heartbeat. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachbum wannabe
Business
NC
Jan 9, 2012

Great hotel and Cancun location

The hotel is beautiful. Our studio room was large enough, convenient, and very clean. The bed was quite comfortable. It was a bit too chilly in January for swimming, but the poolside and beach were lovely with plenty of chairs, umbrellas, and pool towels. Staff were friendly and helpful. As vegetarians, we never ate in the hotel restaurant because the menu was rather meaty, but the poolside snack bar had delicious guacamole and margaritas. Cancun is not quite our cup of tea--we prefer a more hippy or remote beach less devoted to shopping and nightlife--but if we return to Cancun, we will definitely stay at the Westin Lagunamar again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to nearby restaurants and nightlife. Everyone rides the bus because it is safe, cheap, and easy to figure out.

Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jarrr
Business
Montreal
Jan 7, 2012

Bitter-sweet

I called in advance to get a room in a high floor and was told I was already assigned to building 5, fith floor. Once there, the guy serving me assigned me second floor and refused to acknowledge my phone request. I also called the store in advance to request the pre-stocking they offered but the girl was too busy to talk to me. Once there, the store was never that busy, and I visited it quite often. The breakfast buffet was good as reported by others. The staff however lacked some trainning and were not very attentive or at least their service was very inconsistent. The doors from the buffet area to the tables are hard to open when you had your hands busy with plates. No one there to help most of the time. They should have automatic doors. The pool design was very nice and children friendly. However the pools can use some more regular cleaning as the walls had brown sediment in most places. It is not true that the view to the sea is good no matter where you are. You have to go for a 4th floor and up to enjoy a nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Even if you buy in their market, which sells a bit overpriced stuff, you can save a lot by cooking in your villa or preparing your own bbq outside of the rooms. Besides, less chances of getting food poisoned, which one of us did by eating at a nearby recommended restaurant (Italliani)

Back to menu Return to top