$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd , Lote 32, Section A 2DA Etapa Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
128 reviews
Amazing all around

Everything was great here. Great service, great food, great amenities. Had a nice mix of young,... See full review

  • Midwesterners on vacation
  • Aug 3, 2014
Incredible family vacation

The room was very nice and large, the staff were all amazingly nice. The food was simple yet very... See full review

  • Alex of Naples
  • Jul 30, 2014
Self-serviced suites in the Cancun Hotel Zone

Travellers looking to enjoy a Caribbean holiday vacation in Cancun retreat to the well-appointed spaces and leisure activities at Royal Sands Resort & Spa. This luxury resort is situated in the center of Boulevard Kukulcan, placing tourists close to the specialty stores of Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall and La Isla Shopping Village. Holidaymakers can have a good time without leaving the hotel premises. Guests play beach volleyball and tennis, snorkel and sailboat, have laps in the outdoor pools, work out at the fitness center or have relaxing massages at the spa on site. Wi-Fi access in public areas and gift shop are also on offer.

Royal Sands Resort & Spa features La Veranda Restaurant, Hacienda Sisal, Captain's Cove, Char Hut, and El Conquistador that serve a mix of local and international specialties. Patrons can enjoy cocktails and live entertainment at Sidelines Sports Bar and Pancho & Willy's Bar on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Elegant suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea
  • Three swimming pools and a spa
  • Close to Cancun's shopping venues

Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun Rooms
Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun offers 340 spacious suites that can accommodate up to six guests. Each unit has a private balcony/terrace facing the beach and separate living and dining rooms. Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, TV with DVD player, Wi-Fi access, central air conditioning, safe deposit box, phone, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. 
Things to Do
  • Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall (0.25 mi/405 m)
  • La Isla Shopping Village (0.81 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club at Pok ta Pok (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • MUSA Underwater Museum (7.4 mi/12 km)
Policies and fees

  • NOTE: Guests staying on a Saturday night may need to change units. The hotel will work to avoid this scenario, but when necessary, management will work directly with guests to streamline this process.
  • NOTE: One registered guest in each suite must be at least 25 years old and willing to accept responsibility for the actions of all suite occupants.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0991 -86.767
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International - 10 MILES
Area description
The Royal Sands is located a stone's throw from Kukulcan Plaza shopping mall and a short walk from La Isla Shopping Village. The resort is 7.9 mi (12.8 km) from Cancun International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with full kitchen
The One-bedroom Suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to four people. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. Unit amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 811 ft2 excluding terrace.
Two Bedroom Master Suite
The master suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to six people. They have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the master bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. The lock off guest bedroom has two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Master Suite amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 1,516 ft2 including terrace and balcony.
Standard Room
The Standard Rooms at The Royal sands sleep up to two people. They have two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Standard room amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TV, telephone, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven. Size: 437 ft2 excluding balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 0.8 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 2.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 2.8 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 3.6 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.2 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 6.6 mi

Dining

La Veranda
A family favorite for its International dishes, seafood and steaks. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Theme buffets and poolside cookouts during the week.
Hacienda Sisal *
Traditional Mexican cuisine, seafood, steaks and fajitas in a magnificent setting that evokes the estate houses of old Mexico. Mariachi music nightly and Mexican dinner shows during the week. Open daily for dinner. Don't miss the Mexican and Caribbean Dinner Shows at Hacienda Sisal Restaurant.
Char Hut
Casual poolside lunch venue for burgers, sandwiches and wraps.
Sidelines Sports Bar
Keep track of your favorite sports, enjoy the weekly karaoke nights.
Other bars
Lobby, pool and beach bars.
El Conquistador *
A Royal favorite, serving prime steaks, seafood and flambe dishes. Located at The Royal Mayan.
Captain's Cove *
A Cancun classic, serving seafood in a captivating waterfront setting. On the shores of the lagoon, opposite The Royal Caribbean.
Pancho & Willy's *
The perfect spot for a sunset cocktail and after-dinner drinks and entertainment. It is located next to Captain's Cove restaurant. Don't miss karaoke or live music during the week.
La Palapa del Sol, Sol y Luna, Los Murales restaurant *
Restaurants at The Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen
* Restrictions apply.
* Restrictions apply. Surcharges for premium drinks and dishes also apply. Captain's Cove, El Conquistador, Pancho & Willy's are not located on The Royal Sands premises but are located nearby in Cancun (free shuttle service available). Transport is not included to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kimbo2000
North Carolina
Feb 24, 2014

All-Exclusive

This is a time-share resort and they don't want to give anything free to time-share holders. Because of that, it doesn't have a lot of free ammenities like coffee, soft drink dispensers, ice cream. Everything needs to be ordered with a room key and you have to sign a bill even for something simple such as a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

They have only one resturant in the hotel that doesn't need a reservation and only has one menu that is very similar throughout the week. The two outside of the hotel resturants, which is part of the all inclusive package, needs reservations and commuting with a hotel shuttle which is a hassle.

Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WHITNEY FROM SAN JOSE
SAN JOSE, CA
Jun 23, 2013

Customer Service

The room cleanliness is good, room servicer is very good. They did their good job. The restaurant and bar, the servicers are very, very good. Front desk and the hotel management are VERY BAD. Do you want to know why? I came late that night, and was told I have to move to another room by tomorrow morning. That should be ok. The next day, our room was LOCKED during the breakfast time. Then we can't get in. It took 40 minutes in line to get the key so we can move. Once we moved to the new room, OMG! It's VERY VERY DIRTY. The previous customers left and NO ONE CLEAN THE ROOM BEFORE WE MOVE IN. I had to go back front desk to get someone clean the room. Another 40 minutes in line to talk to customer service. It's horrible, they told me I have to wait for 2 hours. They said I GET THE KEY DOESN'T MEAN THE ROOM IS READY. THE ROOM IS AVAILABLE BUT NO READY. I missed the tour because I could not shower, change cloth....for my tour. Even I talked to the manager, SHE TOLD ME THE SAME THING THAT I HAVE TO WAIT 2 HOURS. NO CHOICE. They don't even say sorry and ask room servicer to take care of this issue. We paid for the room 24 hours per day. The tour planner (whatever they call) she kept follow us and give bunches of ad about the tour, timeshare...it's really annoying and bothering us. She ran and called our name, we didn't even have private time with our family. She followed us and share our table during breakfast and lunch. She even followed to the beach and the pool and kept talking. My children told me: "mom, she's chasing you, you better hurry...." WHY? WE PAY FOR OUR VACATION NOT FOR HER TO BOTHER US. Finally, I couldn't stand and told her: PLEASE STOP, YOU ARE HARRASING US. IF YOU DON'T I WILL ASK LOCAL POLICE TO GET INVOLVE. This wasn't my idea. One of the customer there she told me that she had the same problem and she asked the front desk for help BUT it doesn't help so she had to call police...OMG!OMG! It's terrible trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michigan0309
Detroit, MI
Mar 9, 2012

It is not a hotel

The facility was wonderful, well maintained. The beach was beautiful… The problem is this is not a hotel it is a time share. If you plan on staying over a Saturday you will need to move rooms and the process they use moves you into a new room that has not been cleaned yet so they can clean the room you are leaving. When you complain, they point you to their rules that clearly state that you should expect to be moved into a dirty room (by the way the rules are only available in the room, not when you check in). The room we were moved into was unlivable (you did not want to sit down). Things growing in the refrigerator, used towels on the floors and furniture… The original instructions you receive about the move when check in state you need to be in your room at 11:00 so they can move you (not able to plan to be offsite that day). After this all happens and you complain about living in a dirty room, they tell you that you had an option to check out at 11, and check back in at 4 (never having to live in a dirty room). In my opinion a much better option. Besides having to live in a room that had not been cleaned after the last group left, everything was wonderful. I would recommend this to a friend if they were not staying over a Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiRom
Montreal, Canada
Apr 24, 2012

The resort is beautiful but NOTHING is included

The resort was quite nice and clean. However, everything is excluded from the price you pay. The staff is always trying to sell you things for extra cost. The prices on the resort are excessively high, drinks are around 8 dollars (only one shot of alcohol per beverage) and the food is minimum 10 dollars for something as small as a quesadilla. The grocery store on site doesn't offer much and it is WAY over priced. The entertainment is weak, nothing happens at the resort except for a few activities such as pool/beach volleyball, however hardly anyone participates. There is absolutely NOTHING happening at night so if you plan to hang around the resort, bring your own entertainment. Overall, not what I expected. Although the beach and pools were beautiful, the atmosphere was not what was portrayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hannah K
Berkeley, California
Feb 26, 2014

Hotel made a lot of mistakes and didn't make us feel welcome

We were expecting a first-rate experience based on other reviews. We had a good time (food, location, size of rooms), but a few things really got in the way of a relaxing vacation. The worst was moving on Saturday. It is hard to unpack when you know you will be moving so we didn't feel settled. Also, we didn't like our first room so we moved our second day and on Saturday. Both times, we moved to rooms that were dirty with left over food out on the table, towels all over, and unmade bed. We stood in the hall with our stuff for about 15 minutes both times. This may not sound like a lot of time but we didn't feel like like the hotel respected our time or our need for a wecloming room. The last room had a terrible odor. They don't get service recovery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Captain's Cove is a lovely spot for dinner and is included in the all-inclusive package.

Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple53
new york
Mar 8, 2012

don't go, very dissappointed

Me and my husband went on this vacation expecting an "all inclusive vacation." Even though it wasn't that, the staff was unfriendly, not helpful. We were never contacted by our conceire or welcomed for complimentary anything.. We had to hunt down staff for everything. This hotel has wonderful beaches, but it is a timeshare and that is what they are interested in "selling", NOT the customers... WAY overprised for what you get!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newtbuddy
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 26, 2014

Royal Sands Cancun

Overall a good value. Here's the pro' sand con's: Pro's: 1. Great location on the beach 2. Very helpful, curtious staff (if not for this I'd give 2 stars) 3. Great environment for families Con's: 1. Weird combo of all-inclusive and not. Have to sign receipts for everything. Seriously had like 50 of them after 6 days 2. Beds are really uncomfortable, ac works great but sounds like a freight train 3. Drinks were watered down, but pretty typical of all inclusives 4. Only one real restaurant for dinner at night on site

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEFA
New York
Aug 26, 2013

Great family stay

We enjoyed the swimming pool and especially the beach. Food was good, market is expensive but convenient. It is not a luxury hotel but for the price, I will stay again. Time share sellers will bother you, so get mentally ready. Room is cleaned twice a day. And this resort does not have any entertainment at night, a big minus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the ferry to visit Isla Mujeres, and rent a golf cart to ride around the island or to go snorkeling , diving, etc. it will be a lot cheaper.

Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houston traveler 123
Atlanta Georgia
May 12, 2014

Buyer Beware

I never write reviews, but really wanted to share my experience with Royal Sands. I went to Cancun for the weekend with friends. We picked Royal Sands for cost and the fact it was all inclusive. There were good and bad aspects with this place: Good: Food - overall food was really good. We ate at the Captains Cover and Sisal for dinner. Both were good. The fact you get lobster tail at the cove without a surcharge was shocking. Breakfast and lunch at the veranda was good too. The beach and pool and really well maintained. And for drinks at the resort…alcohol was definitely not top shelf and only a few "domestic" beers were included. About what I expected for a low/mid level all inclusive.The bar service was good and our waiter brought drinks to us at the beach all day long. Staff: overall friendly Bad/Warnings: This is not a hotel, this is a timeshare. The rules and regulations brochure in the room is clear with this. The mandatory checkout / room change on saturday is quite ridiculous. Is everyone really coming to the hotel on Saturday? We were only there for two nights (fri and sat) so you would think there is one room in the 500 + room hotel that wouldn't need a mandatory checkout. The amenities in the rooms is inconsistent. The first night we were missing shampoo and our friends were missing everything in the mini fridge and the shampoo. Night two was better stocked. Signing for every drink/food item. It does feel like you are forced to tip and that defeats the purpose of the All inclusive. Some of the waiters were really nice and i wanted to tip, but the signed bill definitely is annoying. Up-charge: Although lobster was no upcharge, guacamole at sisal was?? Go figure On our way back to the airport, our group of 4 discussed if we would return. We didn't come to a solid decision. We all agreed that the room change was annoying, but the next best priced all inclusive was about $200 more a night, so was our inconvenience worth that much, Probably not. But I still think we would go to a more hotel all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lobster tail at Captain's cove

Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lulu B
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 17, 2014

Beautiful location

The location and beach were awesome. The staff was very helpful and friendly. However there were Not enough places to eat for an all inclusive. Also there were no activities or entertainment that are usually part of all inclusive resorts. The rooms were clean but smelled. For the price, it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search