$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd , Lote 32, Section A 2DA Etapa Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
155 reviews
Girl Trip!!

Delightful. simply fantastic! The only " learning experience" involved our rental car. DO NOT buy... See full review

  • Jennifer M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
We love it here.

This was our second visit to the Royal Sands. We have been to about 25 hotels both all inclusive... See full review

  • Canvas
  • Jan 14, 2015
Self-serviced suites in the Cancun Hotel Zone

Travellers looking to enjoy a Caribbean holiday vacation in Cancun retreat to the well-appointed spaces and leisure activities at Royal Sands Resort & Spa. This luxury resort is situated in the center of Boulevard Kukulcan, placing tourists close to the specialty stores of Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall and La Isla Shopping Village. Holidaymakers can have a good time without leaving the hotel premises. Guests play beach volleyball and tennis, snorkel and sailboat, have laps in the outdoor pools, work out at the fitness center or have relaxing massages at the spa on site. Wi-Fi access in public areas and gift shop are also on offer.

Royal Sands Resort & Spa features La Veranda Restaurant, Hacienda Sisal, Captain's Cove, Char Hut, and El Conquistador that serve a mix of local and international specialties. Patrons can enjoy cocktails and live entertainment at Sidelines Sports Bar and Pancho & Willy's Bar on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Elegant suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea
  • Three swimming pools and a spa
  • Close to Cancun's shopping venues

Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun Rooms
Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun offers 340 spacious suites that can accommodate up to six guests. Each unit has a private balcony/terrace facing the beach and separate living and dining rooms. Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, TV with DVD player, Wi-Fi access, central air conditioning, safe deposit box, phone, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. 
Things to Do
  • Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall (0.25 mi/405 m)
  • La Isla Shopping Village (0.81 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club at Pok ta Pok (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • MUSA Underwater Museum (7.4 mi/12 km)
Policies and fees

  • Guests staying on a Saturday night may need to change units. The hotel will work to avoid this scenario, but when necessary, management will work directly with guests to streamline this process.
  • Credit card or cash deposit must be provided upon check-in to cover any additional charges during the stay. 
  • One registered guest in each villa must be at least 25 years of age and shall be willing to accept responsibility for the actions of all villa occupants.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with full kitchen
The One-bedroom Suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to four people. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. Unit amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 811 ft2 excluding terrace.
Two Bedroom Master Suite
The master suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to six people. They have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the master bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. The lock off guest bedroom has two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Master Suite amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 1,516 ft2 including terrace and balcony.
Standard Room
The Standard Rooms at The Royal sands sleep up to two people. They have two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Standard room amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TV, telephone, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven. Size: 437 ft2 excluding balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 0.8 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 2.5 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 3.6 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.2 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 6.6 mi

Dining

La Veranda
A family favorite for its International dishes, seafood and steaks. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Theme buffets and poolside cookouts during the week.
Hacienda Sisal *
Traditional Mexican cuisine, seafood, steaks and fajitas in a magnificent setting that evokes the estate houses of old Mexico. Mariachi music nightly and Mexican dinner shows during the week. Open daily for dinner. Don't miss the Mexican and Caribbean Dinner Shows at Hacienda Sisal Restaurant.
Char Hut
Casual poolside lunch venue for burgers, sandwiches and wraps.
Sidelines Sports Bar
Keep track of your favorite sports, enjoy the weekly karaoke nights.
Other bars
Lobby, pool and beach bars.
El Conquistador *
A Royal favorite, serving prime steaks, seafood and flambe dishes. Located at The Royal Mayan.
Captain's Cove *
A Cancun classic, serving seafood in a captivating waterfront setting. On the shores of the lagoon, opposite The Royal Caribbean.
Pancho & Willy's *
The perfect spot for a sunset cocktail and after-dinner drinks and entertainment. It is located next to Captain's Cove restaurant. Don't miss karaoke or live music during the week.
La Palapa del Sol, Sol y Luna, Los Murales restaurant *
Restaurants at The Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen
* Restrictions apply.
* Restrictions apply. Surcharges for premium drinks and dishes also apply. Captain's Cove, El Conquistador, Pancho & Willy's are not located on The Royal Sands premises but are located nearby in Cancun (free shuttle service available). Transport is not included to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michigan0309
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 9, 2012

It is not a hotel

The facility was wonderful, well maintained. The beach was beautiful… The problem is this is not a hotel it is a time share. If you plan on staying over a Saturday you will need to move rooms and the process they use moves you into a new room that has not been cleaned yet so they can clean the room you are leaving. When you complain, they point you to their rules that clearly state that you should expect to be moved into a dirty room (by the way the rules are only available in the room, not when you check in). The room we were moved into was unlivable (you did not want to sit down). Things growing in the refrigerator, used towels on the floors and furniture… The original instructions you receive about the move when check in state you need to be in your room at 11:00 so they can move you (not able to plan to be offsite that day). After this all happens and you complain about living in a dirty room, they tell you that you had an option to check out at 11, and check back in at 4 (never having to live in a dirty room). In my opinion a much better option. Besides having to live in a room that had not been cleaned after the last group left, everything was wonderful. I would recommend this to a friend if they were not staying over a Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WHITNEY FROM SAN JOSE
Business
SAN JOSE, CA
Jun 23, 2013

Customer Service

The room cleanliness is good, room servicer is very good. They did their good job. The restaurant and bar, the servicers are very, very good. Front desk and the hotel management are VERY BAD. Do you want to know why? I came late that night, and was told I have to move to another room by tomorrow morning. That should be ok. The next day, our room was LOCKED during the breakfast time. Then we can't get in. It took 40 minutes in line to get the key so we can move. Once we moved to the new room, OMG! It's VERY VERY DIRTY. The previous customers left and NO ONE CLEAN THE ROOM BEFORE WE MOVE IN. I had to go back front desk to get someone clean the room. Another 40 minutes in line to talk to customer service. It's horrible, they told me I have to wait for 2 hours. They said I GET THE KEY DOESN'T MEAN THE ROOM IS READY. THE ROOM IS AVAILABLE BUT NO READY. I missed the tour because I could not shower, change cloth....for my tour. Even I talked to the manager, SHE TOLD ME THE SAME THING THAT I HAVE TO WAIT 2 HOURS. NO CHOICE. They don't even say sorry and ask room servicer to take care of this issue. We paid for the room 24 hours per day. The tour planner (whatever they call) she kept follow us and give bunches of ad about the tour, timeshare...it's really annoying and bothering us. She ran and called our name, we didn't even have private time with our family. She followed us and share our table during breakfast and lunch. She even followed to the beach and the pool and kept talking. My children told me: "mom, she's chasing you, you better hurry...." WHY? WE PAY FOR OUR VACATION NOT FOR HER TO BOTHER US. Finally, I couldn't stand and told her: PLEASE STOP, YOU ARE HARRASING US. IF YOU DON'T I WILL ASK LOCAL POLICE TO GET INVOLVE. This wasn't my idea. One of the customer there she told me that she had the same problem and she asked the front desk for help BUT it doesn't help so she had to call police...OMG!OMG! It's terrible trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kimbo2000
Business
North Carolina
Feb 24, 2014

All-Exclusive

This is a time-share resort and they don't want to give anything free to time-share holders. Because of that, it doesn't have a lot of free ammenities like coffee, soft drink dispensers, ice cream. Everything needs to be ordered with a room key and you have to sign a bill even for something simple such as a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have only one resturant in the hotel that doesn't need a reservation and only has one menu that is very similar throughout the week. The two outside of the hotel resturants, which is part of the all inclusive package, needs reservations and commuting with a hotel shuttle which is a hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple53
Business
new york
Mar 8, 2012

don't go, very dissappointed

Me and my husband went on this vacation expecting an "all inclusive vacation." Even though it wasn't that, the staff was unfriendly, not helpful. We were never contacted by our conceire or welcomed for complimentary anything.. We had to hunt down staff for everything. This hotel has wonderful beaches, but it is a timeshare and that is what they are interested in "selling", NOT the customers... WAY overprised for what you get!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChiRom
Business
Montreal, Canada
Apr 24, 2012

The resort is beautiful but NOTHING is included

The resort was quite nice and clean. However, everything is excluded from the price you pay. The staff is always trying to sell you things for extra cost. The prices on the resort are excessively high, drinks are around 8 dollars (only one shot of alcohol per beverage) and the food is minimum 10 dollars for something as small as a quesadilla. The grocery store on site doesn't offer much and it is WAY over priced. The entertainment is weak, nothing happens at the resort except for a few activities such as pool/beach volleyball, however hardly anyone participates. There is absolutely NOTHING happening at night so if you plan to hang around the resort, bring your own entertainment. Overall, not what I expected. Although the beach and pools were beautiful, the atmosphere was not what was portrayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hannah K
Business
Berkeley, California
Feb 26, 2014

Hotel made a lot of mistakes and didn't make us feel welcome

We were expecting a first-rate experience based on other reviews. We had a good time (food, location, size of rooms), but a few things really got in the way of a relaxing vacation. The worst was moving on Saturday. It is hard to unpack when you know you will be moving so we didn't feel settled. Also, we didn't like our first room so we moved our second day and on Saturday. Both times, we moved to rooms that were dirty with left over food out on the table, towels all over, and unmade bed. We stood in the hall with our stuff for about 15 minutes both times. This may not sound like a lot of time but we didn't feel like like the hotel respected our time or our need for a wecloming room. The last room had a terrible odor. They don't get service recovery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Captain's Cove is a lovely spot for dinner and is included in the all-inclusive package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amexdude
Business
New Jersey
Feb 22, 2013

not worth the money

Buffet was the worst I ever had. However outside of Royal Spa restaurants were excellent. Captain cove was excellent but other inclusive restaurants were below average. The buffet La Veranda was the worst experience, the hostess was rude, the waiters didn't even provide menus. only care about the tips. Other inclusive restaurants we don't have to sign anything long as we have the bracelet. We were almost force to pay tips on every occasions. I thought all inclusive meant it was all included not here. I would not stay here again. Only positive thins was swimming pools .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tracy AM
Business
Connecticut
Mar 20, 2013

Disappointing

Beautiful hotel, however too big for maneuvering around. The disappointing parts are threefold. Staff was not friendly. To our family, this is what determines if we would go back or not. Sadly we will not be returning to this hotel. Also, the all inclusive package has not been perfected as of yet. Generally, all inclusive is suppose to make things easy for visitors. At this hotel you have to leave your card EVERYWHERE you go, then remember to pick it back up, and then sign for EVERYTHING. By the end of our trip, I literally had 37 receipts. Not something an all inclusive guest should have to worry about. Lastly, if you are wearing an all inclusive bracelet, you are definitely the bottom of the barrel. Drinks take a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes to get, and food is even longer. You can't send 2 people to the bar to order 4 drinks because they tell you it has to be 1 for 1. Very inconvenient. The hotel clearly makes more money on non inclusive guests and they make no bones about it. I have so many more examples, however even I am tired of listening to myself. This was our 5th visit to Cancun. We will go back, just not to the Royal Sands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Apr 3, 2013

Spacious Rooms but Resort is lacking....

The best part of staying at this resort is the spacious 2 bedroom suites. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. We had the all inclusive package and felt that the selection/variety of food was poor. There are activities for older kids. We were expecting an activity/recreation team onsite like other resorts. There are no shows onsite either. Overall, if you are looking for a quiet time away, just to relax, you will be happy with the limited amenities on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Due
Business
Westerville, Ohio
Jul 8, 2013

Not for the traditional all-inclusive traveler

This is a timeshare that has an all inclusive package. So if you are used to the carefree all inclusive experience, this is not for you because you have to sign for EVERYTHING. They even asked my room number to call me a CAB? It was like being on vacation with the NSA looking over your shoulder ever two seconds. The one thing I will say for it is that the food is FAR superior to many all inclusive resorts I have stayed at. Some people complained about the surcharge on some meals. I didn't see that as a problem because the meals with a surcharge were for items, like lobster, you don't see at other all inclusive resorts. So that didn't bother me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain's Cove, which was included in our package, was AWESOME. Be there at sunset for a fantastic view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top