$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd , Lote 32, Section A 2DA Etapa Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
139 reviews
Great Vacation

Everything and everyone was perfect. The staff the food the room was great. We will be back. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
4.3 Stars!!

I had a wonderful experience at Royal Sands.Food, location and the service was amaising!! Recomand! See full review

  • mitu
  • Oct 27, 2014
Self-serviced suites in the Cancun Hotel Zone

Travellers looking to enjoy a Caribbean holiday vacation in Cancun retreat to the well-appointed spaces and leisure activities at Royal Sands Resort & Spa. This luxury resort is situated in the center of Boulevard Kukulcan, placing tourists close to the specialty stores of Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall and La Isla Shopping Village. Holidaymakers can have a good time without leaving the hotel premises. Guests play beach volleyball and tennis, snorkel and sailboat, have laps in the outdoor pools, work out at the fitness center or have relaxing massages at the spa on site. Wi-Fi access in public areas and gift shop are also on offer.

Royal Sands Resort & Spa features La Veranda Restaurant, Hacienda Sisal, Captain's Cove, Char Hut, and El Conquistador that serve a mix of local and international specialties. Patrons can enjoy cocktails and live entertainment at Sidelines Sports Bar and Pancho & Willy's Bar on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Elegant suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea
  • Three swimming pools and a spa
  • Close to Cancun's shopping venues

Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun Rooms
Royal Sands Resort & Spa Cancun offers 340 spacious suites that can accommodate up to six guests. Each unit has a private balcony/terrace facing the beach and separate living and dining rooms. Amenities include a fully equipped kitchen, TV with DVD player, Wi-Fi access, central air conditioning, safe deposit box, phone, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. 
Things to Do
  • Kukulcan Plaza Shopping Mall (0.25 mi/405 m)
  • La Isla Shopping Village (0.81 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club at Pok ta Pok (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • MUSA Underwater Museum (7.4 mi/12 km)
Policies and fees

  • Guests staying on a Saturday night may need to change units. The hotel will work to avoid this scenario, but when necessary, management will work directly with guests to streamline this process.
  • Credit card or cash deposit must be provided upon check-in to cover any additional charges during the stay. 
  • One registered guest in each villa must be at least 25 years of age and shall be willing to accept responsibility for the actions of all villa occupants.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.0991 -86.767
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International - 10 MILES
Area description
The Royal Sands is located a stone's throw from Kukulcan Plaza shopping mall and a short walk from La Isla Shopping Village. The resort is 7.9 mi (12.8 km) from Cancun International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with full kitchen
The One-bedroom Suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to four people. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. Unit amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 811 ft2 excluding terrace.
Two Bedroom Master Suite
The master suites at The Royal Sands sleep up to six people. They have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the master bathroom and an independent door to the terrace. The lock off guest bedroom has two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Master Suite amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TVs, DVD players, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 1,516 ft2 including terrace and balcony.
Standard Room
The Standard Rooms at The Royal sands sleep up to two people. They have two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony. Standard room amenities include central air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, daily maid service (except Sundays and Mexican holidays), TV, telephone, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven. Size: 437 ft2 excluding balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 0.8 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 2.5 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 3.6 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.8 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.8 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.2 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 6.6 mi

Dining

La Veranda
A family favorite for its International dishes, seafood and steaks. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Theme buffets and poolside cookouts during the week.
Hacienda Sisal *
Traditional Mexican cuisine, seafood, steaks and fajitas in a magnificent setting that evokes the estate houses of old Mexico. Mariachi music nightly and Mexican dinner shows during the week. Open daily for dinner. Don't miss the Mexican and Caribbean Dinner Shows at Hacienda Sisal Restaurant.
Char Hut
Casual poolside lunch venue for burgers, sandwiches and wraps.
Sidelines Sports Bar
Keep track of your favorite sports, enjoy the weekly karaoke nights.
Other bars
Lobby, pool and beach bars.
El Conquistador *
A Royal favorite, serving prime steaks, seafood and flambe dishes. Located at The Royal Mayan.
Captain's Cove *
A Cancun classic, serving seafood in a captivating waterfront setting. On the shores of the lagoon, opposite The Royal Caribbean.
Pancho & Willy's *
The perfect spot for a sunset cocktail and after-dinner drinks and entertainment. It is located next to Captain's Cove restaurant. Don't miss karaoke or live music during the week.
La Palapa del Sol, Sol y Luna, Los Murales restaurant *
Restaurants at The Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen
* Restrictions apply.
* Restrictions apply. Surcharges for premium drinks and dishes also apply. Captain's Cove, El Conquistador, Pancho & Willy's are not located on The Royal Sands premises but are located nearby in Cancun (free shuttle service available). Transport is not included to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and K from MN
Business
Howard Lake, Minnesota
Dec 28, 2013

Perfect Vacation

Our family of four stayed a week at the Royal Sands. We have stayed at other Royal Resorts, but this was our first time at the Royal Sands. I would highly recommend this hotel. The wait staff is awesome - love the beach waiters!! The room was always cleaned everyday and we had a great ocean view! We had a great choice of food and drinks. I would highly recommend the all inclusive option. We also met other guests staying at the hotel who were very nice - hope to see them all again some day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongo is a great show to see and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meghan S.
Business
New Jersey
Jan 2, 2014

GREAT VACATION

I just got back yesterday from the Royal Sands and it was a fantastic vacation. The food was great, service exceptional, and hotel clean and well kept. I don't have a bad thing to say about this place. They were very accommodating, the pool bar/food was delicious, and the restaurants offered a great variety. I am already planning my next trip back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus - it is around 1 USD and very convenient to go to the shopping centers, other resorts, and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wodrich
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jan 3, 2014

Royal Sands Cancun Resort

This was our first experience with an all inclusive and we could not have asked for anything more. The staff was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santa on Vacation
Business
Salem, WI
Jan 6, 2014

Beach Christmas

My wife and I stayed and the Royal Sands during Christmas week #51. This is a time share resort with many older people and families. It does not have many bars and restaurants plus there is no night life. So if you want to spend a nice quiet time on the beach or by the pool this resort is for you. It is best to reserve a room from Saturday to Saturday, otherwise you will have to switch rooms on Saturday. That wasn't a big deal with us since we stayed Sunday to Sunday. So we had to move for just one night. We also went for the Refine All Inclusive Package. This is the best way to go, just don't order top shelf or lobster/prime rib. We did not have any issues with the service as other reviews indicated. We did tip the staff a few dollars every time. Maybe this is why. The food was great, we ate mostly room service and from the pool bar for lunch. As previous reviews indicated plan ahead for room service. It does take 35-45 minutes. Christmas morning it took an hour. We started ordering the night before for breakfast and had no issues after that. The only sit down restaurant in the resort (there is one on the road but we didn't eat there) was buffet only for the week. Probably because the resort is full and easier to feed everyone. We're not big on buffets. We did it one night and got there right when they opened. This way people haven't "dug" through it already. Sure enough, I scolded one little boy for reaching for food with his fingers...His mother was right there. Gross. One day we took the bus to the Walmart. The prices there are not much different compared to the mall next to the resort. It was difficult to find Mountain Dew and Miller Lite. Cancun is a Coke and Bud place. The market at the resort is slightly over priced but worth it. It took us most of the afternoon to go to Walmart and back. There is a nice mall one block north of the resort. Very clean with many shopping options. We went there for most of our things once we figured that out. We plan on staying there next year. For the price of the flights and knowing it's going to be warm and sunny any of the Royal resorts is a great choice. This is the first time in a while we went all inclusive and I would definitely do it again. We look forward to next Christmas at the Royal Sands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall one block north of phase two. It is a large mall with a variety of shops and restaurants. American money is widely accepted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCDABS
Business
Minnesota
Jan 7, 2014

Perfect Family Retreat

First time at an All-Inclusive and was not disappointed. Room - was able to get into our room early which was a big plus. Very nice clean room and set up perfect for a family with two bedrooms and kithchen and living room in between. (The kids loved the robes that were set out). Yes we did have to change on Saturday but we knew this going in so not a big deal. Food - kids liked the pool bar/grill but loved that they could order room service. We enjoyed the main restaurant with different specials every night. Service/Staff - great service started from the begining with a simple comment of "welcome home" and that is how we felt if we had someone waiting on us hand and foot. A dollar here and there go a long was for good service. Cons: 1)having to give room key when getting drinks/food. 2) if you don't return your beach towels you are charged

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When booking a trip to the Mayan Ruins or Catamaran/snorkling make sure you know what is all included. We went to the Mayan Ruins but admission into the ruins was not included, lunch was included but soft drinks were not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristen E.
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 10, 2014

Royal Sands Feb 1-8 2014

Royal Sands was extremely clean, the staff was very friendly and overall a great value. My boyfriend and I (both 23 years old) traveled here for our first all-inclusive vacation. We booked transportation through Thomas Moore and the transition from the airport to the hotel could not have gone smoother. Very nice people are waiting for you and greeting you with a smile. They led us to a new looking Mercedes van and we were off to the hotel in a matter of 2 or 3 minutes. The hotel was about a 20 minute drive from the airport. Once we got to Royal Sands we were blown away with the décor and how nice entire staff seemed. Check in was quick, easy and informative. Check in is not until 3 or 4 so it was very nice being able to get up to our room which was already cleaned and ready for us with a stocked mini fridge at 1pm. The rest of our stay was pure paradise, perfect weather, a little windy at times but it was warm, about 83 degrees so the breeze was actually very nice. Amazing food selection that was all delicious including La Veranda buffet, sidelines bar, char hut bar and captain's cove. We ate every day at La Veranda for breakfast, must try the pancakes, and switched off between there and the Char Hut for lunch. Dinner we enjoyed 2 very nice meals at Captain’s Cove, the buffet at La Veranda and once at Sidelines sports bar on Superbowl Sunday. Quick service at the bars, and Captain’s Cove, but a few times it took a little longer than we wanted to wait for the servers to bring over the slip for us to sign at La Veranda. Every member of the staff from the cooks, servers, bartenders and even ones in uniform passing by always said "Hola" to us each time we walked by. We were not treated any differently because we were all inclusive; we were treated with the same level of respect and courtesy as the members. The liquor selection was good too. Nothing top shelf but normal liquor you would order at a bar at home anyway. I was not a fan of the Modelo draft beer, this is the only beer you can get with all inclusive but we mainly stuck to mixed drinks anyway, which were great. You get 2 cans of Tecante beer in your mini fridge daily, those we enjoyed, similar to Budweiser. Bring a water proof box with a wrist band to keep on you at all times. You will need this when you are in the pool/ocean to keep your room key in and some dollar bills for tips. Yes you do have to give a server your room key every time you want to order something. We found it the easiest to just give the bar your card in the morning and have they keep it open for you all day then you can just go grab it and sign the slip when you need your card for other things. It really wasn’t a bother to carry the key around with you. You also need the key to get towels, and you get a slip to sign when you return them. People are out early reserving tables with umbrellas on the beach and at the pool so if you want a beach spot put your towels on a chair early, I would say they are all filled up by 8am. We never reserved chairs by placing our towels on them and always found a spot with 2 chairs at the pool. We didn’t spend much time on the beach except to go for a walk, the waves were a little too rough and the undertow was strong. Not a ton to do at night, the only bar open late was Sidelines (midnight) so if we were not tired we would venture downtown, taking public transportation ($1 each way). The busses run 24/7 and are constantly picking up/dropping people off. Didn’t use a taxi once. We heard they were a rip off anyway. Overall thank you Royal Sands for an unforgettable vacation in paradise, we will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluest Bird
Business
Indiana
Feb 11, 2014

Royal Sands is Awesome

This resort was so nice and clean and the people work so hard to help and please you. they do a Great job. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Hacienda Sisal Mexican Grill. Its really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
princess running water
Business
Elkland,Pa.
Feb 16, 2014

awesome vacation.

we had a wonderful vacation. the resort was beautiful. it was only about 20 minutes from the airport. the staff was very friendly and they did everything possible to meet your needs. I hope we can come back next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wesley traveler
Business
New York
Feb 19, 2014

Great 5 day stay

All inclusive deal.. No complaints.. The giving your card for every transaction was annoying but understandable.. Much nicer then oasis and royal solaris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alipps81
Business
Weston WV
Feb 24, 2014

Awesome Week!!!

Our week at The Royal Sands was fantastic! VERY clean, staff was super friendly and accomodating, and atmosphere was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hacienda Sisal, included with the all-inclusive package, was one of the most amazing meals I've ever had! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top