$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Royal Caribbean

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. Kilometer 17, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
45 reviews
A very nice experience, I felt safe here

This is a 4-star hotel, good security, nice and helpful staff.They arranged two tours for me at a... See full review

  • Dorkie
  • May 14, 2014
A great place

We stayed at the Royal Mayan about 13 years ago and really liked it but wound up buying a timeshare... See full review

  • Jarhead63
  • Feb 4, 2014
A holiday haven in Cancun for beach goers

The Royal Caribbean is a beachside resort with fully furnished villas that caters to summer travelers, beach lovers and vacationers seeking for a vibrant retreat in this side of Mexico. Set on Kukulcan Boulevard in Cancun, the elegant resort with top-notch facilities provides convenient access to Aquaworld, Interactive Aquarium, and La Isla Shopping Village. For dining, visitors can enjoy a selection of Italian and international cuisines at the in-house Tradewinds Restaurant. Home-style meals for lunch and dinner are available at Tradewinds Express, while pizzas are on offer at Bartolo Pizza.

For on-site recreation, holidaymakers can sweat out and keep fit at the fitness center, take a dip in one of the outdoor freshwater pools, play lawn tennis at the tennis courts, and enjoy pampering massages at the spa. Wi-Fi access throughout the resort, 24-hour front desk, car rental, laundry facilities, tour desk assistance, gift shop, and shuttle service are also on offer for convenience.

3 Reasons to Stay:

  • Beachfront location with an array of recreational facilities
  • Tradewinds Restaurant with international and Italian specialties
  • Resort-wide Wi-Fi access

The Royal Caribbean rooms:

The villa accommodations at The Royal Caribbean are stylish, and come equipped with modern facilities to make sure guest stays are superb and comfortable. Each of the chic units is appointed with central air conditioning, safe deposit box, iron/iron board, telephone, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and Wi-Fi access. The plush accommodations also come furnished with balcony with scenic ocean views, living area with flat-screen TV, DVD player with sound system, dining area, and fully-equipped kitchen. Baby cot and babysitting are on offer upon request. Daily maid service is also available except Sundays and official Mexican holidays.

Things to do:

  • La Isla Shopping Village (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club at Pok ta Pok (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Wet'n Wild (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Parque Urbano Kabah (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Estadio Andras Quintana Roo (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Museo Subacuatico de Arte (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Zona Arqueologica: El Meco (10 mi/16 km)

Hotel Map

21.0711 -86.7785
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 6 Miles
Area description
Nearby golf, Cancun's downtown, major shopping, close to exciting nightlife. Next door to championship golf and small archaeological vestige, Ruinas del Rey. Royal Yacht Club & Marina offers a variety of water sports services, sailing and rentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Caribbean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Royal Caribbean Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious and tastefully decorated, the rooms have two beds, ample closets, an en suite bathroom with shower and tub, centrally controlled air-conditioning and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Room amenities include a TV, telephone, coffee maker, and an in-room safe.
One Bedroom Suite with Full Kitchen
The Suites at The Royal Caribbean sleep up to four people. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the bathroom and an independent door leading out on to the terrace. Suite amenities include central air-conditioning, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi-Fi connection, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster.
Two Bedroom Master Suite with Full Kitchen
The Master Suites at The Royal Caribbean sleep up to six people. They have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the master bathroom and an independent door leading out on to the terrace. The lock off guest bedroom has two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony with seating for two people. Villa amenities include central air-conditioning, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi-Fi connection, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 1,448 square feet including terrace.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 0.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 0.8 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.9 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.9 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 3.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 4.6 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 5.5 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 5.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.9 mi

Dining

Cayo Largo at Royal Islander
An intimate poolside garden restaurant with a relaxed ambiance, Cayo Largo offers Caribbean seafood and International favorites. Cayo Largo is located at The Royal Islander and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the Terrace Bar is a popular spot for cocktails.
Paco's Tacos at The Royal Islander
The upper deck at Cayo Largo is home to Paco's Tacos, our casual and colorful Tex-Mex restaurant. Satisfy your cravings for a crispy hard shell Tex-Mex taco, a burrito, chimichanga or your favorite fajitas. Of course, we also serve a variety of traditional Mexican tacos with soft corn and flour tortillas, guacamole and spicy salsas!
La Palapa at The Royal Mayan
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, La Palapa features International favorites such as hamburgers and sandwiches and mouthwatering Mexican specialties including fish and shrimp tacos and Yucatecan lime soup.
El Conquistador at The Royal Mayan
Cancun's best kept secret, this intimate little restaurant is an enchanting spot for a romantic candlelit dinner. The menu features French, Italian and International specialties, seafood and prime Angus steaks. Tableside flambes are a house specialty, there is an Early Bird Special for those who like an early evening meal, and for an unforgettable dining experience don't miss Prime Rib Night.
Captain's Cove at The Royal Yacht Club & Marina
Across the street Lagoon location. Waterfront indoor/outdoor dining, fresh seafood and cuisine, breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch, Happy Hour and dinner buffet available.
Tradewinds
Casual dining, Caribbean decor, buffet breakfast, and sandwiches for lunch, seafood and steaks for dinner, giving a taste of the topics.
Tradewinds Express
convenient Food to Go Counter in Tradewinds Restaurant offers a selection of home-style food for lunch or dinner in your villa. The menu includes BBQ Ribs, roast chicken, main course salads and desserts and you can also order box lunches for day trips.
Bartolo's Pizza
a pizza to go from the convenient resort delivery service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Caribbean

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JS Dunn
Florida
Jul 21, 2014

weekend in Cancun

This hotel was on par with the neighboring chains. Our stay was nice and the staff helpful. We stayed for a long weekend and on Saturday we had to change rooms. This part of the experience sucked, b/c we were all comfortable then SWITCH. Besides this all was well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from the street booths selling excursions b/c they're just timeshare front-men. If you can, deal with the activity place directly or just buy thur the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovePits
Ventura,CA
Apr 7, 2014

Great layover at TRC

We spent one night here between our flight home. The pool was big and swim up bar was nice. Expect to put everything on credit- no money is excepted here which was a surprise. The staff all speak good English and are very helpful. I would stay longer next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus will pick you up not far from the hotel and is only 15-20 pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jarhead63
Rochester, MN
Feb 4, 2014

A great place

We stayed at the Royal Mayan about 13 years ago and really liked it but wound up buying a timeshare at a different resort in Cancun. That timeshares location was perfect, right across from Margarittaville. We went to Cancun for about 10 consecutive years but decided to walk away from our timeshare to eliminate escalating yearly maintenance fees. We went back this year and decided to try the Royal Caribbean. We got a great deal thru Obitz on hotel and airfare. The resort is beautiful with several pools and the room was very nice. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only negative wacess to the beach was a treak. Would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Calipso's. A little outdoor cafe/bar with excellent seafood. Try the sea bass stuffed with lobster and shrimp covered in a white sauce. Hmmmmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FERNSHEY
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA
Jan 24, 2014

PARADISE

MY BEST VACATION EXPERIENCE, EVER. The word "Paradise" does not get close to explain what a Phenomenal place "Cancun" is, especially while staying at one of the Royal Resorts. I stayed at the The Royal Caribean. The representatives were very curteous and went out of the way to make our stay the best experience ever. There were soo many Amenities included in our stay; snorkling gear, bicycles, beach towels, tennis gear, and many other things. But these are the ones we used. The pools are huge. The royal resorts even have a turtle pond, I don't know if you are suppose to touch them but I touched them anyways. Oh well. I stayed in the standard Villa, and it had a beautiful view of the Caribean Sea. There are Palapas with beach chairs under them on the the beach. I have never seen such a view from a hotel. Cancun is a must before you die. I hope this was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you plan to eat good and not pay much, your best bet is eating in CANCUN CENTRO. Out of the Zona Hotelera. There are many small shacks and most of them are good, Keep in mind I am adventurous and do not mind trying something new, meals at Cancun CENTRO range from 100 pesos for 2 to 150 pesos for 2. FULL MEALS. Cheap right. If you stay in Zona Hotelera you will most likely be eating American food and pay any were from 300 to 500 pesos for 2, on the cheap end. A large pizza starts at 170 pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimMay0515
Atl, GA
May 22, 2013

Great Stay!

The hotel was great. We did have a problem checking in though. It took us about an hr (wait & check in time), which kind of put a sour taste in my mouth. They needed more than one receptionist clerk. Overall, the room was good. Most of the rooms are ocean view. We had the best pools out of the three hotels. We didnt eat at the resort so I cant tell you how the food tastes. We went in mid May and it wasnt too busy so we were able to enjoy the pool and beach without any hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alibabba
San Francisco
May 5, 2013

Nice beachfront location!

We got a beachfront room with views and sounds of the ocean! The hotel discouraged us from opening the sliding glass door, but we did it anyway to enjoy the fresh ocean air in our room...what a stupid policy for an oceanfront room! We didn't have a good experience after we got our room. The key to the room did not work. We had to go back and forth five times from our room to the reception desk (which was a bit of a hike) to report that the key didn't work after they said it was fixed. It took them five hours before problem was resolved...not a good first impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local bus stop by the hotel which takes you up and down Hotel Zone for shopping, etc. for only 70 pesos each way (less than $1). There are a few shopping malls nearby if you want to shop. There's a R-1 bus that takes you to the port to catch a ferry to Isla Mujeres which costs $15 round trip...this one runs up to 11 pm...there is a ferry you can catch in the Hotel Zone which costs $17 round trip but that only runs until 6pm I believe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One who loves to explore
Austin, TX
Feb 4, 2013

A quick get-away

A very nice resort with extremely friendly and helpful staff. I wanted to stay somewhere near the beach and this fit the bill. A beautiful, well-kept beach just steps away. A very spacious living, dining, kitchen area. We didn't use a lot of the amenities, but there was a huge, meandering pool so it never seemed crowded and pool activities for those who wished to participate. The only glitch was that since we stayed over until Sunday, we had to relocate for the last day (their normal rental period is Saturday till Saturday). It was a bit of a hassle, but it did give us a different perspective from the top floor of a differently oriented building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mayan Museum was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller X 2
Mexico City, Mexico
Dec 29, 2012

A good place for families

We didn't realize this hotel is primarily time shares and not a full service hotel. Lots of family groups there for Xmas vacation. Many many children. It was pleasant there, but, as a couple, it wasn't what we wanted. Also, a free Sunset Cruise was to be included with our reservation. We called and booked the cruise with Greyline Tours and they never came to pick us up! Disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach4me
Virginia
Nov 24, 2012

Cancun Thanksgiving

Always a wonderful time at this hotel. Service can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeattleAnniversary couple
Seattle WA
Oct 7, 2012

Big anniversary trip

Selected Royal Caribbean to join friends while celebrating our big anniversary. Wonderful resort friendly staff ..took advantage of massage and some activities that were great. Liked the three resort access to give you more options. Liked the market grocery stores..prices were good and selection was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search