$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

The Royal Caribbean

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Kilometer 17, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Fun week

Great week, have been here several times. Hotel staff was amazing. Worth it to get larger room with... See full review

  • mtoto1202
  • Apr 6, 2015
mexican paradise

the best staff and the best services ever nice people beautiful view clean rooms See full review

  • julio m.
  • Mar 23, 2015
A holiday haven in Cancun for beach goers

The Royal Caribbean is a beachside resort with fully furnished villas that caters to summer travelers, beach lovers and vacationers seeking for a vibrant retreat in this side of Mexico. Set on Kukulcan Boulevard in Cancun, the elegant resort with top-notch facilities provides convenient access to Aquaworld, Interactive Aquarium, and La Isla Shopping Village. For dining, visitors can enjoy a selection of Italian and international cuisines at the in-house Tradewinds Restaurant. Home-style meals for lunch and dinner are available at Tradewinds Express, while pizzas are on offer at Bartolo Pizza.

For on-site recreation, holidaymakers can sweat out and keep fit at the fitness center, take a dip in one of the outdoor freshwater pools, play lawn tennis at the tennis courts, and enjoy pampering massages at the spa. Wi-Fi access throughout the resort, 24-hour front desk, car rental, laundry facilities, tour desk assistance, gift shop, and shuttle service are also on offer for convenience.

3 Reasons to Stay:

  • Beachfront location with an array of recreational facilities
  • Tradewinds Restaurant with international and Italian specialties
  • Resort-wide Wi-Fi access

The Royal Caribbean rooms:

The villa accommodations at The Royal Caribbean are stylish, and come equipped with modern facilities to make sure guest stays are superb and comfortable. Each of the chic units is appointed with central air conditioning, safe deposit box, iron/iron board, telephone, hairdryer, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and Wi-Fi access. The plush accommodations also come furnished with balcony with scenic ocean views, living area with flat-screen TV, DVD player with sound system, dining area, and fully-equipped kitchen. Baby cot and babysitting are on offer upon request. Daily maid service is also available except Sundays and official Mexican holidays.

Things to do:

  • La Isla Shopping Village (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club at Pok ta Pok (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Wet'n Wild (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Parque Urbano Kabah (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Estadio Andras Quintana Roo (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Museo Subacuatico de Arte (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Zona Arqueologica: El Meco (10 mi/16 km)

Policies and fees

  • Guests staying on a Saturday night may need to change units. The hotel will work to avoid this scenario, but when necessary, management will work directly with guests to streamline this process.
  • Credit card or cash deposit must be provided upon check-in to cover any additional charges during the stay. 
  • One registered guest in each villa must be at least 25 years of age and shall be willing to accept responsibility for the actions of all villa occupants.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

The Royal Caribbean Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious and tastefully decorated, the rooms have two beds, ample closets, an en suite bathroom with shower and tub, centrally controlled air-conditioning and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Room amenities include a TV, telephone, coffee maker, and an in-room safe.
One Bedroom Suite with Full Kitchen
The Suites at The Royal Caribbean sleep up to four people. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The bedroom has a king-size bed, the bathroom and an independent door leading out on to the terrace. Suite amenities include central air-conditioning, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi-Fi connection, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster.
Two Bedroom Master Suite with Full Kitchen
The Master Suites at The Royal Caribbean sleep up to six people. They have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down twin Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with sun beds and seating for four. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, the master bathroom and an independent door leading out on to the terrace. The lock off guest bedroom has two beds, a private bathroom and a door leading out on to a smaller balcony with seating for two people. Villa amenities include central air-conditioning, flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi-Fi connection, telephone, safety deposit box, walk in closets, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, cooker, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Size: 1,448 square feet including terrace.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 0.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.9 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.9 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 3.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 4.6 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 5.5 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 5.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.9 mi

Dining

Cayo Largo at Royal Islander
An intimate poolside garden restaurant with a relaxed ambiance, Cayo Largo offers Caribbean seafood and International favorites. Cayo Largo is located at The Royal Islander and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the Terrace Bar is a popular spot for cocktails.
Paco's Tacos at The Royal Islander
The upper deck at Cayo Largo is home to Paco's Tacos, our casual and colorful Tex-Mex restaurant. Satisfy your cravings for a crispy hard shell Tex-Mex taco, a burrito, chimichanga or your favorite fajitas. Of course, we also serve a variety of traditional Mexican tacos with soft corn and flour tortillas, guacamole and spicy salsas!
La Palapa at The Royal Mayan
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, La Palapa features International favorites such as hamburgers and sandwiches and mouthwatering Mexican specialties including fish and shrimp tacos and Yucatecan lime soup.
El Conquistador at The Royal Mayan
Cancun's best kept secret, this intimate little restaurant is an enchanting spot for a romantic candlelit dinner. The menu features French, Italian and International specialties, seafood and prime Angus steaks. Tableside flambes are a house specialty, there is an Early Bird Special for those who like an early evening meal, and for an unforgettable dining experience don't miss Prime Rib Night.
Captain's Cove at The Royal Yacht Club & Marina
Across the street Lagoon location. Waterfront indoor/outdoor dining, fresh seafood and cuisine, breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch, Happy Hour and dinner buffet available.
Tradewinds
Casual dining, Caribbean decor, buffet breakfast, and sandwiches for lunch, seafood and steaks for dinner, giving a taste of the topics.
Tradewinds Express
convenient Food to Go Counter in Tradewinds Restaurant offers a selection of home-style food for lunch or dinner in your villa. The menu includes BBQ Ribs, roast chicken, main course salads and desserts and you can also order box lunches for day trips.
Bartolo's Pizza
a pizza to go from the convenient resort delivery service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Caribbean

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
koky
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

poor personal attention specially front desk

First night the room smeels prev ocoupants left food inside refrigiretor but the housekeepr take care the problem clean the place and apoligized. Riom was ok after that .unable to get full internet local only.sanset cruise was confirm i was waiting in lobby for 3 hrs and never show up.did not go to cruise never a call total a bad trip .fly from mexico city to cancun delay i can go on and on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SHELLY BOO
Business
usa
Jul 21, 2013

very disappointed

AS SOON AS WE ENTERED THE HOTEL ,NO ONE WAS THERE TO ASSIST WITH LUGGAGE, AND NO ONE WAS IN THE LOBBY TO CHECK IN !! WHEN FINALLY A FRONT DESK REP CAME, HE WAS VERY RUDE AND NOT ABLE TO ANSWER MY QUESTIONS BUT GOING BEYOND THE POINT TO HELP HIS FELLOW HISPANICS THAT WOULD STOP BY AND NOT US TOURISTS THAT WERE WAITING IN LINE FOREVER !!! THE REP WAS VERY SHORT WITH HIS ANSWERS AND NOT WILING TO HELP AND OFFER SUGGESTIONS. I WOULD NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL EVEN IF I HAD A FREE WEEK STAY !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BMCB
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 24, 2014

Really great, until we tried to leave...

We had a wonderful week at this hotel. It's a timeshare that they book like a hotel. It was pretty annoying when they made us move rooms midweek, on a day we were scheduled to be out. Very inconvenient, and I think we lost a couple of items in the fast transition. the location is gorgeous, the grounds are clean - an amazing view from any of the four rooms we had booked with our group. Our second room was next to a VERY loud air conditioner - don't get room 507 or near there. They have a really weird thing they do when you login - they put a $500 hold on your credit card for incidentals. One person in our ground got his wallet stolen - when he went to check out, they would not return the unused amount because they needed to swipe the card AGAIN to put the money back on. Now we have to wait a month for them to release the funds, and we had to put the charge on a different card... so now they have double charged us for a month. One person in our party left the day after us, but I was paying for the room. I got a phone video call from him that they were holding his luggage hostage because he didn't pay the balance due on his room. I told them to use the deposit, they said they couldn't, and that I should have taken care of it yesterday (I'm now home in that states). I had to email them a letter saying it was okay to charge on the card that I had already signed before they would let my friend go and give him his luggage. What an absurd system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grisley64
Business
Regina, Sk
Feb 16, 2014

Disappointing

The facility and staff were very nice, but when I booked the vacation, I did it online and was looking for an all-inclusive package. When I arrived at the hotel and found out it was a time share you can imagine our surprise. So what I paid for was a Hotel and Flight and I wouldn't call it a super deal. Meals & drinks were good but be prepared to pay. If you are a younger couple and looking for a happening place, don't come here. It's a seniors villa, not saying that's a bad thing because it is quite be 9pm. I would come back to Cancun to holiday, just not to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus transportation is clean, inexpensive and easy to get where ever you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller X 2
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Dec 29, 2012

A good place for families

We didn't realize this hotel is primarily time shares and not a full service hotel. Lots of family groups there for Xmas vacation. Many many children. It was pleasant there, but, as a couple, it wasn't what we wanted. Also, a free Sunset Cruise was to be included with our reservation. We called and booked the cruise with Greyline Tours and they never came to pick us up! Disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alibabba
Business
San Francisco
May 5, 2013

Nice beachfront location!

We got a beachfront room with views and sounds of the ocean! The hotel discouraged us from opening the sliding glass door, but we did it anyway to enjoy the fresh ocean air in our room...what a stupid policy for an oceanfront room! We didn't have a good experience after we got our room. The key to the room did not work. We had to go back and forth five times from our room to the reception desk (which was a bit of a hike) to report that the key didn't work after they said it was fixed. It took them five hours before problem was resolved...not a good first impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local bus stop by the hotel which takes you up and down Hotel Zone for shopping, etc. for only 70 pesos each way (less than $1). There are a few shopping malls nearby if you want to shop. There's a R-1 bus that takes you to the port to catch a ferry to Isla Mujeres which costs $15 round trip...this one runs up to 11 pm...there is a ferry you can catch in the Hotel Zone which costs $17 round trip but that only runs until 6pm I believe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luis comodin
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 1, 2014

Just as home.

We have stayed at resorts fromthe Royal family for the past 7 years. We are not time share holders. From the check in, housekeeping, wet bar, everything and everybody wants to make your staying as pleasent as possible. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Within 3 kilometers from the Resort there are fine restaurants specialized in Surf and Turf type of food. Be aware, they are pricey, worth it though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abrilgjbm
Business
vancouver
Nov 19, 2014

good location, bad service

we stayed for 6 days and for 3 days nobody went to clean the room, super expensive if you don't go with an all inclusive plan, location is very good, beach in that part of hotel zone is amazing, the rooms are well equipped, was an ok experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

bring all your groceries and will be cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francisco R.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

It was kind of what I expected.

I think this hotel had its usual good and bad. Great location in Cancun, but far to walk to the beach and far from the main road. The rooms were clean, but need a desperate makeover. Staff were friendly and even front desk which surprised me, but servers in the restaurant were inconsistent. They really need more of things to do at the hotel at night. The bar there is probably the ugliest outlet there and closes early. Overall average hotel and good location, you do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you don't have a car public buses are cheap. They are on the main road that goes up and down the strip. APROX $1.00 dollar each way If you rent a car book first and once your at the rental place ask a lot of questions. Just say you only want the required insurance required by law. I heard if you got stopped by local police they take your license and return it when you pay the fine. Very true, it happened to me what they want is a bribe offer low and haggle just like being at the flea market. Service at restaurants on the strip are hit or miss some good and some very, very bad. I think a lot of wait staff in Cancun are just burnt out. Overall Cancun is a very beautiful City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olga S.
Business
Houston
Mar 20, 2015

Not bad

Decent for the price! enjoyed the location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top