$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Km 10 lote-13b, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NBer
Business
New Brunswick
Mar 24, 2014

Great vacation spot

The staff were excellent at this hotel. They assisted in any way they could and were very friendly. The pool bar boys ( looked like brothers) were awesome as well as the lobby bar tender as well. All of our restaurant waiters/waitresses were very efficient as well. When we checked in they gave us a room that already was occupied. Not sure how that could happen with everyone in their computer system. I am sure at 1 am they weren't too impressed either. They didn't replenish our fridge everyday either. Although one day they did give us a couple of extra beer! When we checked in the fridge was empty which is when we could have used a drink after a long day of delays getting there. Also there were no towels in our room and other days it was a hit and miss with face clothes and hand towels. However, once e called about it they brought some to us. our air conditioner wasn't that great but it wasn't too bad. A little warm at night. A screen on the patio door would be nice so you could leave it open at night. All in all not a bad room. The resort is smaller so not as much choice at buffets but still lots of food. All food was tasty as well. The a la carte restaurants were good with the Asian being my favourite! The shows at night were good but a couple could have used a little more to them. The performers were very talented and in amazing shape. The biggest disappointment was not knowing it was a time share when I booked as we had to give up one morning of our vacation to listen to the talk! After losing our first day due to flight changes and then delays in Philly we really didn't want to give up part of our second day! Also our conseirge was there jsut the day he met with us then never again that week. They changed daily it seemed. All in all we had a great time and enjoyed the Sunset Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Flamingo market has lots to offer and their prices were better than the Market downtown, Wal mart or Market 28. They would bargain as well I believe. I wished i had waited or known about it before I bought all my souveniers for home.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa001
Business
Miami
Jan 20, 2013

Good

The hotel was located at walking distance from the nightclubs... it is an older building compared to the others on the strip. Food was good but not outstanding, needs a little renovation. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

really close to the nightclubs!

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junebug242
Business
Maine
Mar 5, 2013

Cancun good and bad

Cancn is a beautiful vacation spot. It can fulfill all the expectations of your dream vacation. All you need to do is choose the perfect hotel that meets your needs. The staff are friendly and always helpfull. They are the backbone of the operation and they deserve every tip you give them. The food in this hotel was nothing to write home about....I dare say it was pretty awful. The best food is at the outdoor grill...a buger and fries. It's the worst food i've ever had in Mexico. You see the same food morning, noon and night. Room service was quick and efficient. Taking public transportation to Cancun and other shopping plazas is inexpensive and again the people are friendly and helpful. I would warn deal seekers to pay attention about mandatory presentations. They have a way of taking away from your beach time. Will I return to Cancun....yes. Will I return to this hotel chain...no. Junebug242

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use public transportation, everyone is friendly and helpful.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scared2
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2013

visit for a wedding

To many promotion packages, I think they cater to people who are interested in the timeshare. I didn't care for making reservations for dinner. The food places at the hotel close around 9. U couldn't go to their other hotels and eat or enjoy what they had to offer if u didn't purchase a certain package. Only offered shuttle rides to their other facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Z. Shah
Business
New Braunfels, Tx
Nov 10, 2013

Good service!

Hotel needs some upgrades from the inside. faucets are old and tricky. Construction to top floors during siesta time 12pm-5pm was really annoying!! great location from cancun clubs and bars! Short walk. Great service from wait staff! Drinks feel watered down at times???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruiz51
Business
New Jersey, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Great time in cancun

We had a great time !! Hotel was great upon arrival we were outside smoking and the bell hop came out to find out what did we want to drink and then brought them right to us... We checked in great everyone was nice we ate at the buffet breakfast was ah and the other food was just okay ..... We ate the back alley taco places which were awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun beach bum
Business
New York
Aug 4, 2014

Sunset Royal experience

The resort has nice hard working staff. However, you will be reminded often of the excluded services if you're not a "member ". The beach is AMAZING , coffee is fantastic food just ok to survive . Drinks are watered down. Please visit the sister resort sunset Laguna also part of the all inclusive . We had a fun , relaxing time and made the best despite of the few details that could have made it much better .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Market

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pianohits
Business
Rockford, IL
Jul 12, 2014

pleasing surprise

This was our first time at a time share property. We were nervous that the presenter would be insistent, but that didn't happen at all. A plus! The first room we received had sticky floor, foul smell... not good. We were upgraded to a bigger room which improved the experience. Breakfast is good, lunch not great, dinner at reserved restaurants (which was not difficult to do) was yummy. Beach/pooll can get crowded sometimes, but overall it was medium to.little traffic ie good space to relax. Staff is very hospitable and helpful. Overall if you are after saving money and have a few hours on vacay to spare then it's a right fit. If nay, (like me) then best spend the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bus is 95 cents USD/person

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imunoz
Business
New Jersey
Apr 18, 2014

good location

overall very good experience delicious food, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeronimo94
Business
FL
May 31, 2011

great stay and service

NA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top