$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan Km 10 lote-13b, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ice girl
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2013

The worst vacation ever!!!

My husband and I travel frequently to Mexico . This hotel is the worst hotel by far it is suppose to be an all inclusive hotel, but is not . They force everyone to attend a timeshare presentation in which they harnessed you to become a member don't do it is not worth it. By 11pm the hotel doesn't have a bar open, no entertainment you are forced to go into town . My husband and I are both New Yorkers . I am on my mid twenties , and hubby mids 30's . Please spend a few bucks more and go to another hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carlos & Charlie's the best bar around ask for bartender Fernando he made are trip worth it!!

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess and Jeff
Business
New York
Mar 28, 2013

A Paradise & a Home

We put a more thorough review on a review website, but to make long story short. Location -walking distance from everything but not too close to hear noise. Perfect Beach & pool- Beautiful with activities & waiters who serve you personally Rooms- great furnishings and very comfortable. Kept clean Staff- AMAZING. I have traveled and have never been more impressed with the quality of service as in this resort. They became friends & can't wait to go back! .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are entertainers from the hotel that take you and get you VIP tables. You also get transportation there. The walk back is very short, about 10 minutes max

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junebug242
Business
Maine
Mar 5, 2013

Cancun good and bad

Cancn is a beautiful vacation spot. It can fulfill all the expectations of your dream vacation. All you need to do is choose the perfect hotel that meets your needs. The staff are friendly and always helpfull. They are the backbone of the operation and they deserve every tip you give them. The food in this hotel was nothing to write home about....I dare say it was pretty awful. The best food is at the outdoor grill...a buger and fries. It's the worst food i've ever had in Mexico. You see the same food morning, noon and night. Room service was quick and efficient. Taking public transportation to Cancun and other shopping plazas is inexpensive and again the people are friendly and helpful. I would warn deal seekers to pay attention about mandatory presentations. They have a way of taking away from your beach time. Will I return to Cancun....yes. Will I return to this hotel chain...no. Junebug242

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use public transportation, everyone is friendly and helpful.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
julio teodoro
Business
São Paulo Brazil
Feb 20, 2013

A worst experience of my life!

1 – My room was closing exhaust air from the kitchen, the smell of food was terrible during all the day! 2 – I lost a half of my day in one presentation because one person of staff hotel (his name is Elias) said me it’s was ”mandatory”, because my package was a “promotional package”. And that presentation they constrained me in an offer to membership. 3 – That same guy “Elias” confirmed my “FREE - Welcome to Cancun Sunset Cruise Package” speaking a perfect Portuguese and on the day of the tour he said me that had not said nothing about that and asked me to speak in English because him don’t understand Portuguese. He lie in my face! And made me a fool!!! 4 – One day they not cleaned my room. 5 – They entered in my room while I and my wife was sleeping to putting things in the fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well traveled gent
Business
Sacramento CA
Jan 27, 2013

Good place for the cost

Good atmosphere, not a very attractive hotel; but very clean and functional. The drink servers are great and a small tip goes a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Surfin Burrito- great food better price

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa001
Business
Miami
Jan 20, 2013

Good

The hotel was located at walking distance from the nightclubs... it is an older building compared to the others on the strip. Food was good but not outstanding, needs a little renovation. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

really close to the nightclubs!

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Astralina
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2013

A pleasant surprise!

I stayed in Sunset Royal hotel for 5 nts in the beginning of January. I was quite pleasantly surprised from my whole stay. I don't think that the hotel is 4**** but they compensate with great service of the stuff who is always smily and helpful. I had a room on the 6th floor. For the upcoming tourists I would definately recommend a higher floor - the rooms and the view are better there. The beach is quite wide, the sand is white and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs - great club for young people

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway from HotLanta
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 15, 2013

Three Star - Solo last minute getaway

DO not expect a 4 or 5 star. Location is great. Single traveler and felt I did not get better service because I was not spanish speaking nor traveling with a family. Definately for an older traveler or for famillly. The room was very noisy when there were guests in the other room. I felt as if they were in my room! Luckly the female and her child in the room ajoining mine were only there 2 days of my stay or I would have had to leave! It appeared most guests were timeshare participants. Food was good but not exceptional. Staff was overall friendly. Lobby was loud and there was no where to lounge around without being in full sun out by pool or your room. No complaints if you are looking for Value trip and great location and beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus trips are worthwhile! There are great restuarants within walking distance or short bus ride.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easy Livin'
Business
Florida
Jan 6, 2013

Sunset Royal

The best part of the Sunset Royal experience was sitting on the beach enjoying the sun and picturesque Caribbean Sea. The staff was truly friendly and willing to assist in any way possible. Conversely, my room and the overall property have seen better days. Additionally, the cuisine offered at all of the hotel's dining facilities was routine and lacked creativity. The experience offered by the management of Sunset Royal Hotel is in definite need of an overhaul. The beach was a definite winner!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrikers
Business
Claremore, OK
Dec 29, 2012

Carrikers

The service was very good, the staff was helpful, the food was great! The AC in the room was very noisy. As we learned the transportation from the airport to the hotel and back, was included in the package but we didn't get it. We had to pay for it. Also we didn't get free cruise package, as it was promised to us. Nothing is free, they told us! So don't promise something, which you can not deliver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Columbus ship ride and dining at sunset

Back to menu Return to top