$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan Km 10 lote-13b, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Great Stay !!

Another great hotel in Cancun. Food-Staff & location were great !!. Stayed here for 14days & my... See full review

  • ADAVE
  • Jul 3, 2014
Fantastic

Very very fantastic such as food, room, pool, etc. See full review

  • Heungryong
  • Mar 30, 2014
Resting on one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the Mexican Caribbean with breathtaking views of the turquoise blue Caribbean Sea, Sunset Royal Resort is an ideal place for a Cancun vacation. Located in a peaceful area of Cancun's hotel zone, it's close enough for easy access to popular travel entertainment and restaurants, but it's far enough to escape the action

Sunset Royal offers more than the customary Cancun hotel with its comprehensive all inclusive plan containing added benefits. Two features that make this upscale resort so popular are the unique attributes of its optional all inclusive plan and exceptional guest services. Add the personalized attention and quality amenities provided, such as gourmet cuisine and premium liquor, and members are sure to have an extra special vacation experience

Located in one of the finest sections of the Cancun hotel zone, Sunset Royal continues to be a first choice for travelers who prefer a first-class beach resort. Only 10 miles or a 15-minute drive from Cancun International Airport, the resort is on Kukulcan Boulevard at kilometer 10 in the center of the hotel zone

All meals and snacks plus international buffets
A la carte gourmet restaurants at both resorts, which also features healthy low-cal options
One Sunset lobster dinner at one of our a la carte restaurants
Exotic cocktails, frozen daiquiris, non-alcoholic beverages and premium liquor brands
External restaurant credit vouchers
Boxed lunches for tours
Minibar stocked daily (soda, beer, water, and snacks)
In-room coffee pot
Room service 7:00am to 10:30pm
Access to the on-site Ya'ax Che Spa
Yoga classes
Unlimited non-motorized water sports
Guided bicycle tours, Cancun city and shopping tours
Entertainment at the on-site theater
Sports and activities program
Kids activities program
*Incidentals, such as laundry charges and telephone calls, are not included (extra fee).

Sunset Royal knows a fun vacation includes plenty of activities and services that result in an enjoyable, relaxing stay. That's why the vacation activities we offer range from the familiar, such as fitness classes and beach volleyball, to the unique, such as Mexican handicraft workshops and nightly theme parties. Our on-site services provide both the fundamentals for convenience and extravagances for indulgence, ranging from airport transportation and internet access to spa treatments and shopping tours. Most adult and children's activities at the resort run daily from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.

Facilities and Services: Non-smoking facilities available, Private beach access, Swimming pool and 3 Jacuzzis, Fitness Center on-site, Shuttle to Marina Club Lagoon at Sunset Lagoon hotel, Wireless internet, In-room cable TV, Personal concierge services, ATM on-site, Travel agency on-site*, Car rental services on-site*, Laundry services*, Babysitting services*, Doctor on-call 24 hours*, Currency exchange on-site*, Gift shop*, Yaax Che Spa with sauna and steam room*, Airport to hotel transportation* (*Additional cost may apply)

Activities: Pool activities: aqua aerobics, water polo, water basketball and volleyball
Fitness classes: yoga, stretching and low-impact aerobics
Non-motorized water sports(gear provided)
Dance and Bartending classes, Spanish and Cooking lessons
Trivia contests and other games
Kayaking and Scenic bicycle riding tours (complimentary bicycle use), City and shopping tours
Nightly theme parties at the beach or Moonlight Theatre 7:00pm to 10:00pm

Sunset Royal - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Sunset Royal Resort consists of 264 rooms with either beautiful ocean views or dazzling lagoon views.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Game room
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Royal - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

21.1276 -86.751
Area served
Cancun. Q. Roo. Mexico Kukulcan Blvd. Km 10 Lote 13-B.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Located in the middle of Cancun's hotel zone. Within walking distance from major nightlife and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • El Rey Ruins: 1.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 1.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.5 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 4.7 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.8 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.3 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.4 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 8.9 mi

Dining

Aquario
International Buffet Restaurante open from Monday to Sunday
Continental breakfast: 6:30 am to 7:00 am
Breakfast buffet: 7:00 am to 12:00 pm
Lunch buffet: 1:00 pm to 5:30 pm
Dress code: Casual (shoes and shirt required)
Capriccio
Capriccio / Italian cuisine
Elegant, romantic atmosphere
Monday to Sunday
a la carte dinner: 6:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Reservations needed, Dress code: Business/Smart casual
International buffet
Friday to Sunday
Breakfast buffet: 8:00 am to 11:00 am
Lunch buffet: 12:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Dress code: Casual (shoes and shirt required)
Aqua Grill
Snack bar on the terrace
Hamburgers, snack foods, beverages, and liquor
Monday to Sunday - 11:00 am to 6:00 pm
No dress code.
Bamboo
Asian fusion cuisine
Monday to Sunday
A la carte dinner: 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Dress code: Business/Smart casual
Moonlight Theatre
Evening dinner show, International buffet
Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday Dinner buffet: 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm Showtime: 8:00 pm to 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual
Lobby Bar
Imported / domestic liquor and cocktails
Monday to Sunday 5:00 pm to 1:00 am
Monday to Saturday 9:00 pm to 12:00 am (midnight): Live music and drinks
No dress code.
Pool Bar
Alcoholic beverages & tropical drinks
Fresh fruits and vegetables
Offers refreshing cold facial towels
Monday to Sunday - 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
No dress code.
Kakao Beach Club
Beach beds, exclusive beach area
(Exclusive access for Premiere Elite Club Sunset members)
Monday to Sunday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
No dress code.
Sun Deck Bar
Imported / domestic liquor and cocktails
Monday to Sunday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm Exclusive opening hours for elite members and special guests 10:00 am to 10:30 pm
No dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xivago
Ft Lauderdale
Oct 22, 2012

Excellent Experience

We had a wonderful experience. The Hotel Staff is really special and helpful. They make you feel better than home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SherP
Missouri
Jul 11, 2014

Terrible hotel.

When we got there we were told it was mandatory to attend a timeshare presentation. If we didn't go we would be charged an additional $110 per person per night. It was like being held hostage. The food was terrible and the air conditioning sucked, as did the food. The pictures of the pool on the website were not the pool on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ADAVE
ORLANDO, FL
Jul 3, 2014

Great Stay !!

Another great hotel in Cancun. Food-Staff & location were great !!. Stayed here for 14days & my young kids had a blast !! Beach is large & 4minute walk from your room. we enjoyed the room svc. You can also, go to their sister hotels & have food & services, which was an added bonus !! We would Go Back to this property. we saw other negative reviews here. But..it's all about what YOU make YOUR vacation !! this is our 26th trip to cancun. & you will not find a better place. Bring some $1 dollar bills for TIPS & your service will get much better !! thanks to GUADULIPE for good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Bus to explore the cancun hotel zone for shopping etc...$1 will give you a ride on each side of the cancun strip.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imunoz
New Jersey
Apr 18, 2014

good location

overall very good experience delicious food, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heungryong
Seoul
Mar 30, 2014

Fantastic

Very very fantastic such as food, room, pool, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NBer
New Brunswick
Mar 24, 2014

Great vacation spot

The staff were excellent at this hotel. They assisted in any way they could and were very friendly. The pool bar boys ( looked like brothers) were awesome as well as the lobby bar tender as well. All of our restaurant waiters/waitresses were very efficient as well. When we checked in they gave us a room that already was occupied. Not sure how that could happen with everyone in their computer system. I am sure at 1 am they weren't too impressed either. They didn't replenish our fridge everyday either. Although one day they did give us a couple of extra beer! When we checked in the fridge was empty which is when we could have used a drink after a long day of delays getting there. Also there were no towels in our room and other days it was a hit and miss with face clothes and hand towels. However, once e called about it they brought some to us. our air conditioner wasn't that great but it wasn't too bad. A little warm at night. A screen on the patio door would be nice so you could leave it open at night. All in all not a bad room. The resort is smaller so not as much choice at buffets but still lots of food. All food was tasty as well. The a la carte restaurants were good with the Asian being my favourite! The shows at night were good but a couple could have used a little more to them. The performers were very talented and in amazing shape. The biggest disappointment was not knowing it was a time share when I booked as we had to give up one morning of our vacation to listen to the talk! After losing our first day due to flight changes and then delays in Philly we really didn't want to give up part of our second day! Also our conseirge was there jsut the day he met with us then never again that week. They changed daily it seemed. All in all we had a great time and enjoyed the Sunset Royal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Flamingo market has lots to offer and their prices were better than the Market downtown, Wal mart or Market 28. They would bargain as well I believe. I wished i had waited or known about it before I bought all my souveniers for home.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All Inclusive Lover USA
San Jose,Ca
Feb 14, 2014

Great location but all inclusive doesnt feel fulfilled

Positives: Great Location, all inclusive is accessible at all locations in the hotel zone. Beach is awesome!! Negatives: No 24 hour room service, we were told we would not have to pay for anything except spa treatments and ended up paying for a bottle of wine at dinner which we were not too happy with. They advertise all inclusive but they have scheduled hours for the pool bar. I asked for a glass of water at 9am by the pool and they guy got angry and said no 10am. I was shocked as every all inclusive I have ever stayed at had 24 hour coverage and I was not even asking for a beer!!! The people there are horrible at customer service so do not go here expecting good food and great service...the better food you would have to reserve a table...if you don't reserve a table they have a buffet and a show and the food was lackluster and I wouldn't eat there.....fortunately there are other options outside the hotel. Also the food is the same with different seasoning and they reuse the leftover meat from lunch ...one day its Mexican, the next its Italian or Asian and you can see the similarities to the day before and its an absolute joke....chefs need an overhaul ...really hope its only this location and not the same behavior at the other hotels associated with the chain.... They also advertised free use of non motorized water recreational things but had none on-site at this location Lots of kids and old people.....not too many people speak english so brush up on your spanish. Lots of senior citizens and families so if your a group of girls or guys looking for people to hang out I would avoid this place....there is no on site casino and there is no on site night club...most all inclusive resorts in Dominican have everything on site...you would have to go elsewhere for the entire feel of all inclusive where everything is on site and 24-7 service ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every dance club has a hefty entrance fee advertising all inclusive drinks....$50+ so beware....they will try and sell you on Coco Bongo but for anyone wanting drinks and a good time its not all that jazzed up. We just stuck to the bars with no cover

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGC TRAVELER
ROSEVILLE, CA
Dec 3, 2013

cancun is great

great location, Daniel - waiter in italian rest. was GREAT, hotel going thru remodeling- noisy 9am to 8pm, food good in italian rest., load music from 8pm to 10:30pm you can hear thru walls/door. Pool only 3 1/2 ft deep. They do have boat that's free, that goes to another of their resorts which is nice, deeper pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

best food for breakfast and dinner is the italian restaurant in hotel, lunch at pool- great hamburgers if you are all inclusive.

Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Z. Shah
New Braunfels, Tx
Nov 10, 2013

Good service!

Hotel needs some upgrades from the inside. faucets are old and tricky. Construction to top floors during siesta time 12pm-5pm was really annoying!! great location from cancun clubs and bars! Short walk. Great service from wait staff! Drinks feel watered down at times???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scared2
Houston, TX
Jul 9, 2013

visit for a wedding

To many promotion packages, I think they cater to people who are interested in the timeshare. I didn't care for making reservations for dinner. The food places at the hotel close around 9. U couldn't go to their other hotels and eat or enjoy what they had to offer if u didn't purchase a certain package. Only offered shuttle rides to their other facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Royal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D Fish
Cambridge, MA
May 23, 2013

Great budget all-inclusive

My friends and I found an amazing deal at Royal Sunset for a 5-day stay, and it was a really great location to hang out by the pool and just relax. We also did a one-day excursion to Chichen Itza, which was a pretty average day tour (I would spring for deluxe tours if you can afford it). Spa was great, employees were very friendly, and the only detractor was the food. Avoid evenings with buffet dinners (Saturday nights and the Sunday night welcome dinner) and go for an a la carte reservation at one of the two restaurants instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top