$572 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 23, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
344 reviews
First Cancun Visit, Wanted to Stay!

This was our first Cancun vacation and we chose the Sun Palace due to it being adult orientated (no... See full review

  • Loryn M.
  • Dec 19, 2014
great couples getaway

Couldn't have asked for a more luxurious vacation! Beach was beautiful and warm. Room was huge and... See full review

  • Howdy from Hawaii
  • Oct 14, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
344 out of 344
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jack n Priss
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2010

BAD HOTEL! Stay away from this scam!

This was the WORST hotel treatment I ever received in my entire life!I travel at least twice to Cancun and stay at different 4 star hotels. This is the first time I tried the Palace Resorts hotel because of the great reviews (perhaps falsified). To say the least, this was a HUGE disappointment and a WASTE of money and time. My wife and I booked 3 nights (Dec29-Jan1) and paid 445ddl/nt for a deluxe room with jacuzzi. We arrived at a very cheap looking reception area with a decor worse than a cheap motel. We were rudely given a room by [...] who barely cracked a smile or acknowledged our presence. He gave us the key to Room#134. Room #134 turned out to be a tiny room facing the noisy road. I asked where the jacuzzi was and I was told it's outside the patio (where the noisy road is and where people can see you naked)!I said there must be some mistake! "No, that's what you booked and paid for!" snottily replied the reception guy [...]. I asked to be upgraded to the OceanView room. No problem, just pay an extra 336 dollars! By that time I was so tired and frustrated I just paid for it without much protest. Later my wife and I went to the 'only' restaurant open because they consolidated the 4 restaurants to one single place (perhaps to save money). The food, by the way, was NOT GOOD. Later, I asked how much occupancy there was and I was told less than 50%!! WHY ARE WE BEING STUCK WITH A TINY, ROADSIDE ROOM WHEN THERE WAS ONLY 50% OCCUPANCY?!!Long story short, we transfered to Cancun Palace 2 hours later. We called the PublicRelations the next day who was dismissive of our plight/disappointment. She said that "she was aware of our complaint and that she'll bring it up to accounting!".Two nights later, we met "two" other couples who were offered room #134 upon check in and HAD TO PAY EXTRA to get an upgrade to get the room advertised on this website. The reception told me that "the hotel DOES NOT GUARANTEE to assign the room paid for on the internet if it's not available---but there was only 50% occupancy that day! What kind of business practice is that?!!DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! BAD TREATMENT OF GUESTS. THEY DO NOT TRY TO MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME. FOOD IS NOT GOOD. POOL IS TINY. RECEPTION IS COLD AND DISMISSIVE. THEY JUST WANT TO TAKE YOUR MONEY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not stay at Sun Palace. They are rude and they don't care how your vacation goes. You can move to another Palace resorts. I WILL NEVER AGAIN BOOK TO ANY PALACE RESORTS chain! It's a scam! Do not believe the good reviews! This is a BAD expensive hotel with BAD service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clownfish
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 20, 2013

Dissapointed

Having stayed at another palace resort we were extremely disappointed with Sun Palace and its management. We had an issue where we asked the manager to contact us, and never heard from. Clearly shows that he does not care about the guests of the resort. Resort also needs better nightly activities. The room was nice and spacious, but the bed was horrible, and lumpy. Pillows were extremely poor as well. Location of the resort is nice, it has a nice beach. The staff are hit or miss, there are a few that are very nice. Armando in El Alamo is superb, and the older gentlemen in the second pool bar is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cirque show was great and a must see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointment
Business
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Oct 25, 2011

Will never go back

We were constantly bumbarded starting at the airport and hotel to buy timeshare that we never felt like we were on vacation. Kaveen (cust svc) negotiated tours/svcs which we never got. When asked, another customer svc said we had to pay $89, then the manager said, it's free; but later came and said $20. Diff prices for same tours/services. Hotel didn't have that "special something!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
davebob
Business
tyler texas
Mar 11, 2012

ok not great

paid extra for concierge room. nothing worth extra money. food ok. lobster and steak dinner not great. wife hurt arm, dr came to room did good job. got prescription brought to hotel appreciated that. girl in charge of kareoke very good. violinist in italian restaurant very entertaining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zbiggy
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 10, 2012

Cancun

Not so good. It took an hour and a half to check in, because the room wasn't ready and they kept trying to sell us things. Throughout our stay, we had to constantly either sign things or be asked our room number and our names. The room had a huge Jacuzzi in the middle of the room (strange), which was hard to navigate around. We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay home or go to a different hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveller2
Business
Allen, Tx
May 6, 2012

Quality has gone down

I have stayed in palace resorts many times before and this time around I noticed the quality of food, alcahol has gone down drastically, they seem to care about their Diamond members. I wish I could have my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clan C
Business
Midwest, USA
Oct 1, 2013

A let down

My wife and I were hopeful based on previous reviews but were let down at the actual experience. The staff was helpful, but had actually little response to our concerns. Glass shards were in the room and on our balcony. The staff constantly apologized but the actual shards were cleaned by my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayhawk32
Business
Kansas
Feb 21, 2014

Nice Resort but

Nice resort. Honeymooned here in 1991. Rooms very noisy with constant furniture dragging sounds. Interior bars and restaurants very cold in the evenings. Most diners returned to rooms to get more clothing. For the price better accommodations can be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madalin
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 25, 2010

Average to low-class hotel

I stayed at Sun Palace the 3rd week of March 2010. The staff 'seems friendly' but the customer service offered is one of the worst I have ever seen, and I have been to many 5-star hotels. Previously I stayed at 'Riu Palace (Las Americas)' in Cancun, and 'Sun Palace' looks&feels very cheap compared to Riu Palace, the food selection being very limited as well. As far as the checkout, I went downstairs 10min prior the scheduled transportation pickup time. The front desk person [...] took almost 15min to do the checkout (she just had to receive the keys and towel cards - completely inadmissible - thus my transportation left and I had to wait 30 min more for next one (I did catch my flight).If you are looking for an average hotel with very expensive prices this is it. But if you are looking for a nice 5-star hotel, there are better options out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Househaze
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 12, 2010

Not what we'd hoped for!

After staying at the Aventura Spa Palace Resort in 2007 we were hopeful this resort would have the same benefits while offering a closer location to the airport. The website showed rooms with indoor double jacuzzi tubs and described 5 onsite restaurants. The room they gave us had an outdoor tub (not appealing in January) and a room facing the interstate, hence it was extremely noisy. The hotel was at a very low occupancy although it took us about an hour to have management agree to give us an interior room away from the noise. Their is only two restaurants on site. One offers 3 menus. By the end of the first day we had seen and done everything. We checked out w/in 24 hours. All in all it was a huge waste of money. I wish we had returned to the Aventura Spa Palace and endured the long shuttle from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top