$390 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
327 reviews
Paradise!

The Sun Palace is amazing. I will most definitely go back. The rooms, the beach, the pools, the... See full review

  • beachblonde
  • Mar 21, 2014
Amazing honeymoon destination

The resort was beautiful, food was great and service was outstanding! We had the opportunity to... See full review

  • Saffrins
  • Feb 20, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Pacakge
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi
Superior deluxe lagoon view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Package
Each suite features:
-1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only.
Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka, Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer, LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe (laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker, Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple)
-574 Sq. Ft
-2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on the 5th floor(non-smoking). Seating area. Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine & Fruits. Private bath w/shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor dispenser with premium, upgraded brands of liquor: Bacardi White Rum, Jose Cuervo Tequila, J&B Whisky and Barton Vodka. LCD TV w/ Satellite. DVD Player, CD Player. Chi Bath Amenities. Two(2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms (location varies per resort), Bathrobes & Slippers. Exclusive Beach Bag (1 per room/per stay). Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Waiter Service. Aromatherapy menu. 24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurants to create a "Special Menu".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
roxygirlie
Appleton Wi
Feb 2, 2012

Perfect Vacation!

The service was amazing! They catered to you 24/7 and with speed....adding a tip in here and there also made the experience that much better! The food was unbelievable and so delicious. Also, the beach was beautiful, it was a little windy but thats Cancun weather for you. The staff was very friendly and entertaining. House keeping did an awesome job cleaning and leaving towel elephants, swans, and a heart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to the flea markets there, be prepared for them saying "come in lady check out my stuff" or "come in and let me rip you off" some of the stuff was very nice but they are nonstop trying to get you into their shops

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
K. SO
Irvine, CA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

The best

The service is excellent. All the staff are great. Will share this experience with friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Dale=70
Buffalo, NY
May 9, 2011

Excellent Resort!

This was our 4th trip to the Sun Palace. As always our stay was wonderful. The hotel is immaculate and the staff was superb. The food and beverages were also great. I highly recommend the Sun Palace! It is a couples only resort whic is also wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 11, 2010

Reconnect in Paradise

The staff was so attentive and friendly. We felt like we were in Paradise and forgot about the stresses in our lives for a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 15, 2010

HoneyMoon

The Sun Palace and all the palace resorts are great. We were treated likes kings at this resort. It was our honeymoon and we couldn;t have picked a better hotel. Excellet service, great food, overall PERFECT! Free tours,spa services, photo shoot, the list goes on and on and on!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to COCO Bongo Disco, you can;t miss it!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 14, 2011

Sun Palace Couples Only

Food and service were top notch...Highly recommend this place to anyone...only negative I'd say is it seems to be a little older than other all inclusive we've been to but every else more than made up for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian was the nicest of all the restaurants.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York
Mar 1, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Fantastic Service!

The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. The service is excellent. Gorgeous room with whirlpool + beach/pool. Fresh fruit/drinks served by the pool. Homemade chocolates left during turn-down. The food overall was very nice. A very quiet and peaceful place. Heaven on earth! Can't wait to go back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Temecula
Jul 7, 2008

Great for honeymooners

THe reason for choosing Sun Palace was that it was adults only hotel which would be suitable for my honeymoon. I found out that it's couples only hotel too. I met three people who had to move to the Beach palace because they were not couples... we could visit other palace resorts which was good about choosing one of the Palace hotels. Sun Palace is quiet and relaxing place compared to other palace resorts. But the food was not as good as other palace resorts. Sun didn't have nice restaurants. The Asian was not even closer to the real Asian food. For the food, I would say Beach and Cancun is much nicer. FOr instance, Sun didn't even had Mango while Beach and Cancun had Mangos. THe room, we were upgraded as we were honeymooners. We had junior suite which had double Jaquzi. The room was very much satisfied. The location, it's located at the begining of hotel area, but I would say the location doesn't really matter as they have the buses. And the buses run 24hours. THis is my conclusion. More activities - Cancun, Beach Palace. For Family - Cancun Palace For Food - Deffinitely, It's not Sun Palace. For Beach - Beach palace has small beach...Sun has nicer and bigger one...never been to Cancun palace. So Overall, we were satisfied we hadded to extend our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Superior, Wisconsin
Apr 1, 2011

Relaxation at it's finest!

Just spent 8 Days at the Sun Palace in Cancun for Spring Break from March 19 to the 27th. This is a great couples resort with an incredible beach. The pool area is nice, but a bit on the smaller side. And there is not a lot of nightlife, but we weren't looking for that anyways. We had our fun in the sun and were typically wore out by night. From the moment [...]picked us up at the airport, to the moment we left, the Palace treated us like family. When we showed up, we were greeted with a cold wash cloth and a refreshment of your choice. A very sweet girl named [...]checked us in and asked if we would like to upgrade our room with the complimentary $1500 resort credit. She then showed us the difference between the standard rooms on floor 6, and the Concierge level rooms which were floors 3-5. She was very nice and accomidating. We weren't sure if we wanted to burn up the $98 a day on the upgrade so we decided to stay on floor 6. It was a great room with a huge balcony, about 3 to 4 times the size of the Concierge level balconies. After day 3 we decided to do the upgrade to Concierge just to help burn the resort credit up because we weren't very interested in doing most of the tours that were included after our first one to Isle Mujeres. The Concierge upgrade was nice. It had some additional perks. The upgrade included a few more items in the room like a coffee maker, I pod docking alarm clock, aroma therapy, pillow menu, and a dvd player. You could choose from a small dvd collection to use at the 5th floor desk. It also included an upgraded room service menu. The menu is basically a smaller menu from all the four resteraunts on the resort. It also included an additional romantic dinner for two, two 25 minute back massages, and more comfy beach chairs. The food and service on the resort were second to none. Always good, and always great service. All questions seemed to be answered with "It's a pleasure." They say that tips are included, but whats a few $1's here and there over the course of the day. I found out that minimum wage in Mexico, which applies to most of the service people at resorts in Mexico, is $5 for the DAY!!!! So an extra $1 here and there is a nice way to say thank you and I'm sure it is appreciated. We did the Isle Mujers island trip and we did not like it. Didn't feel like spending extra to go swimming with the dolphins or snorkeling because we had already done both on previous trips. So if you don't want to do either of the those, I'd pass on this trip. There wasn't much else other than shopping to do on that island from what we could see, and it took up most of our day. We then took the jungle tour. It is right across the street from the resort. Basically riding mini boats and snorkeling and we really enjoyed it. We took a day trip to check out the Moon Palace too. It's a huge resort with a lot of swimming pools, fun beach sports and a mini golf course. We had good time there too. We used up the rest of our $1500 resort credit at the spa for the max of $300, a steak and lobster dinner on the beach for $350, $120 on pictures taken by the Kodak guys, and three boxes of tequilla to bring back for $300. Other than that all I can say is beware of the under tow on the beach. We went spent almost everyday at the beach for at lesat a few hours and it's safe to swim in as long as you know where to avoid. If the flags are red on the beach beware to stay away from the areas that can pull you out into the ocean. It's pretty safe, just beware. Ask the lifegaurd to point it out. I got caught in it the 1st day and we watched about 4 others have the same thing happen to them over the trip. It's kind of scary when you've never experienced it. So please just be safe and have fun and enjoy the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
CM Travels
Detroit, MI
Aug 4, 2013

Outstanding!

Travelled for our 10th wedding anniversary. Hard to imagine many things that could be done better. Attentive and pleasant staff that goes out of its way - the true bright spot of this resort! "Guest Services" efforts to sell time shares and use of resort credits needs to be clarified - not as clear as it should be. Overall, perfect place for couples who want a quiet setting without hoards of screaming children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top