$448 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
343 reviews
great couples getaway

Couldn't have asked for a more luxurious vacation! Beach was beautiful and warm. Room was huge and... See full review

  • Howdy from Hawaii
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fantatic Honeymoon Vacation

This place was amazing! Very romantic and great for couples and honeymooners! The food for dinner... See full review

  • Happy Honeymooner2014
  • Sep 22, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (343)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
343 out of 343
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mitc
Business
Leesburg, Florida
Jan 2, 2012

Be prepared

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept on. It was way too firm. We woke up stiff and sore. Had to have 6 mattress pads added for comfort. Didn't like the fact that resort set up a time share sell under the guise of showing you what the other resorts had to offer in case you came back to Cancun. It took 2 and1/2 hrs. out of our day and we were not expecting a hard sell. We just wanted to relax.The food was pretty good.The views were spectacular.The food service staff were helpful and friendly. Had to do two tours on our last day( and make it back to hotel for a spa treatment )because one of the people who set up tours for the hotel kept forgetting to make a call to finalize a tour for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont agree to take a tour of the other sister resorts unless you want to buy a timeshare. We agreed to a tour for an additional $200 resort spa credit. It's just not worth the time wasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KpDj
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Awesome!!

We loved our stay at the sun palace. The Mexican restaurant was wonderful and we ate there almost every day. The best part of this deal were the resort credits, we used ours to go to tulum, chitchin itza, isla muerjas, massages and a romantic lobster dinner. We only spent money on tipping, awesome! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the public bus. It stops right in front of hotel and is only a dollar. No taxis!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cics
Business
NY
Dec 18, 2011

An amazing vacation

We spent a week at this hotel - the best hotel I've ever been to, and I travel A LOT for work, worldwide. The thing that most impressed me is the staff - they would do anything to make you happy, no matter how much extra work is for them. The other thing is the food - really good quality, fresh ingredients, and prepared with art. The amenities are excellent - the saloon and the spa are nice and clean and they take good care of you. There are a lot of activities and animation going on all the time, but if you want to relax there are also quiet lounges and the beach is also nice and well equipped. Room service is excellent - if you wanted, you could probably never leave the room and enjoy the jacuzzi and the view of the ocean while eating and drinking anything you could ask for. We are both totally satisfied and already thinking about our next trip there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the ocean view room - it's worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon J
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Dec 15, 2011

Cancun

Awesome experience, white-glove clean facility, 5-star food, helpful courteous staff with a fablous setting. What more could you ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimo
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Awesome Couple Retreat (a few improvements needed)

Staff: The entire staff was extremely nice and accommodating, which made us feel appreciated and well taken care of. Make sure to have plenty of 20 pesos bill handy for tips. Although this resort is all-inclusive, it is always good to show your appreciation for good service. Room: Because I had read other reviews, we made sure to request a chance to view our assigned room before agreeing to it. Thank goodness we did. If not, our "ocean view" would not have faced the "ocean" or beach, but the street and neighboring resort instead. The room we ended up in had a gorgeous view, was a nice size and very clean. However, there was a slight smell of sewer in the toilet area of our room, but it wasn't so bad that we needed to change rooms. We also made use of the safe in our room. This way we were never worried about any of our valuables. Hotel and Beach: The pools and concierge level seating at the beach was on point. Love the modern look of the interior. As for the towel service at the beach, it was nice to have this. However, it's time to recycle the towels with newer ones. Food: We were not fans of the lunch buffet and fruit in general. They definitely need to step up the food options/taste at this location. What made up for it was never-ending tasty drinks...there were few hours where we did not have a Mojito in hand. The food exception was the omelette station available during breakfast hours, which made very yummy custom omelettes, including an egg-white only option. We also had complimentary access to all of the other resorts (approximately 10-15 min. away by bus or taxi) and their restaurants, which was a nice. We also had a lobster dinner at this resort. The ambiance was gorgeous - dinner at the beach with ocean waves as our sound track. The appetizer was okay. However, my lobster was dry and the steak tasted pre-cooked. Credits: We received 1,500 resort credits for our stay this time. This allowed us to do everything from a couples massage (amazing), to snorkeling, "aqua twister" and a special lobster dinner. We were also able to use it on jewelry and tequila. :) Can't wait to come back once they've made some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yours
Business
New York
Dec 12, 2011

It's excellent.

Nice staff, delicious food, fantastic beach and my room with great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mexican food~

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swenron
Business
Fishers, IN, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Awesome!

We have stayed at different places in Mexico but this is by far the best place we have ever stayed. Some indicated the food is marginal?? Crazy. They have everything and if you find you like something so much just ask to have it every day. We loved the chicken wings but they weren't on the menu everyday but we asked for them and they hand deliver to your table. The food is great. Upgrade the room for the VIP service and lounge chairs on the beach. The rooms are basically the same-great but the view and extras are worth it-use your points. The message is great, I never cared to every had it done but I guess a guy can enjoy it. The service is outstanding, they will pamper you at every turn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Swimming with the Dolphins was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kentuckianincancun
Business
Richmond, KY, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Great Relaxing Trip

The Sun Palace was great. The staff was amazing and the food was very good as well. Anyone who has complained about the food must be very picky. The beach is beautiful, but while we were there, Thanksgiving 2011, the water was rough and there were red flags all week. The rooms were just OK. The beds were comfortable but the room was a little small to spend an entire week. That is not a complaint, just an observation. The hot tub and bathrooms were nice though. Overall this was a great trip and we had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book all your excursions the first day as they book up very fast. We had some things we wanted to use the hotel credit for and did not get to use a large portion of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STLHoneymooner
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Great place to stay

First off the positives. Great room..we got deluxe ocean view and it was phenomenal. Clean and beautiful with a huge shower and jacuzzi tub. Great view of ocean. Food was great...wife has been to other all-inclusives and she says the food here was the best she has had. Access to other palace resorts was nice. Used resort credit for tequila, spa (wife said was awesome..she got hot stone massage and spa pedicure), swimming with the dolphins, and surf and turf dinner on the beach. These were all great and meal was off the charts good. Staff was great, room service excellent, great that there was no kids (It was our honeymoon). Negatives...it was kind of noisy outside our room in the morning, not our neighbors, but things going on in the hallway. Sun on the pools only until about 2 or 230. This may be different depending on season, we went week after thanksgiving. Beach was kind of rough and not deep, they are supposed to get new sand soon. DO NOT spend resort credit for jewelry (can get $300 of credit using resort cash) unless you are willing to spend $300+ of your own money also because there is nothing in that store below $600 and everything is way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Can get good deals on excursions by going to hospitality desk and talking to representative from this company. We got a snorkeling excursion for roughly 60% of the cost that they were going to charge at the front desks. Also if you want to listen to the time share talk, say no a couple of times and they will keep upping what they will give for free. Don't be afraid to ask for free things if you are willing to listen to the talk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mil4Bil
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Dec 4, 2011

Palace Resorts, the Best.

I have stayed at a Palace Resort on and off for eleven years. Everytime I go I love it more. What can I say, the people are wonderful, the resorts are always clean and the food it always good. You can stay out all night or go to bed early. I suggest the Sun Palace for aduts, but if you have children go to the Cancun Palace you and they will love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go to the Spa it's heaven on earth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top