$420 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
562 reviews
dream honeymoon

Just got back from our amazing honeymoon at the sun palace. This all inclusive resort is absolutely... See full review

  • will mojito
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great couples getaway

Service is excellent at this resort. Stayed here for 4 nights for a couples getaway. Rooms are... See full review

  • Chad H
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Pacakge
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi
Superior deluxe lagoon view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Package
Each suite features:
-1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only.
Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka, Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer, LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe (laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker, Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple)
-574 Sq. Ft
-2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on the 5th floor(non-smoking). Seating area. Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine & Fruits. Private bath w/shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor dispenser with premium, upgraded brands of liquor: Bacardi White Rum, Jose Cuervo Tequila, J&B Whisky and Barton Vodka. LCD TV w/ Satellite. DVD Player, CD Player. Chi Bath Amenities. Two(2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms (location varies per resort), Bathrobes & Slippers. Exclusive Beach Bag (1 per room/per stay). Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Waiter Service. Aromatherapy menu. 24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurants to create a "Special Menu".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (562)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Oct 21, 2012

Sun Palace

This place was great. No kids, only couples, good food and lots of pools. Lots of excursions and the resort credit was great to use for that. Very relaxing time overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abreucantina
Wichita, KS
Oct 7, 2013

Great, but didn't blow us away either

We chose the Sun Palace because of a few criteria: 1. We stayed at a Palace chain resort on our honeymoon 5 years ago and LOVED it. 2. Sun Palace is adults-only. 3. Resort credits 4. Concierge level amenities sounded like a nice "treat." We enjoyed our stay. The beach was fantastic. All-inclusive included room service and the lobby bar and mini-bar, which is nice. For the most part the staff was helpful. But...they staff doesn't enforce the "concierge level" portion of the beach, so you cannot count on easily finding a lounge chair and umbrella.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We liked the Italian restaurant the least. It is the only one with a "causal formal" dresscode (which we met), but the staff immediately made us feel uncomfortable and the food was not anything special. We had much better experiences at the other restaurants in the hotel.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Clan C
Midwest, USA
Oct 1, 2013

A let down

My wife and I were hopeful based on previous reviews but were let down at the actual experience. The staff was helpful, but had actually little response to our concerns. Glass shards were in the room and on our balcony. The staff constantly apologized but the actual shards were cleaned by my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethany16
New york
Sep 30, 2013

Vacation!!!

I had a wonderful experience. The hotel room was very impressive, beautiful view from the balcony, huge hot tub in room, great housekeeping! The staff at all of the restaurants, bars, beach were great, the service was excellent. Food was great quality and the alcohol selection was great.....grey goose at the swim up bar! Sister hotel beach palace was great as well, enjoyed the swim up bar on the roof if the hotel. Resort credits were awesome as well! Definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Labeey
New York
Aug 23, 2013

Great relaxing place, excellent service,

All rooms have ocean view and balcony. Excellent food. Alcoholic drinks are first grade. Amazing staff/great service. We went to cancun during august 2013 which is the hurricane season. The weather was rainy for 3 days then sunny for the rest of the week. Dont bother to update your room to ocean view. ALL ROOMS have ocean view and a small balcony. The beach was clean but there were a lot of waves. There was no need to wake up early just to get an umbrella or towel. There were plenty of towels and space on the beach. Maybe because it was the hurricane season. The pool area we didnt use much but there was a pool bar with first grade alcoholic drinks. The food was better then any all inclusive resort i went to. It is a little pricey but other then that i highly recommend it. The mini bar in the room was free. Also the room service was free. In addition we got $1500 resort credit which you can for a session in the spa or visit chichen itza (highly recommended) or book other tours. You only pay 11% taxes and fees which was about $20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Have an omelete for breakfast and skirt steak for dinner.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CM Travels
Detroit, MI
Aug 4, 2013

Outstanding!

Travelled for our 10th wedding anniversary. Hard to imagine many things that could be done better. Attentive and pleasant staff that goes out of its way - the true bright spot of this resort! "Guest Services" efforts to sell time shares and use of resort credits needs to be clarified - not as clear as it should be. Overall, perfect place for couples who want a quiet setting without hoards of screaming children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pebel
Texas
Jul 31, 2013

Fun in the Sun!!!

We just love this hotel, this now has been our second trip there. The first time May 5th-10th, and just got back from being there July 23rd-30th. Both times the experience was great. We've been to several other hotels in Mexico and this by far has been our favorite. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are large. The air condition works great. They have the friendliest staff. The food is great. The drinks are good. The service is great too. We had some many plans for things we wanted to do this time, but yet again we got to the hotel and everything was just so nice, we didn't leave the hotel for a week. We laid on the beach everyday. The beach and water are very nice there. We had huge waves this week. We're just waiting for the next time we can get away and we'll be going back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OC2006
New York
Jul 30, 2013

Speechless

I had a great time. Bad time was coming back. The workers actually enjoyed working making the stay enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clownfish
Dallas, TX
Jul 20, 2013

Dissapointed

Having stayed at another palace resort we were extremely disappointed with Sun Palace and its management. We had an issue where we asked the manager to contact us, and never heard from. Clearly shows that he does not care about the guests of the resort. Resort also needs better nightly activities. The room was nice and spacious, but the bed was horrible, and lumpy. Pillows were extremely poor as well. Location of the resort is nice, it has a nice beach. The staff are hit or miss, there are a few that are very nice. Armando in El Alamo is superb, and the older gentlemen in the second pool bar is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cirque show was great and a must see

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMoney Wisconsin
Midwest
Jun 12, 2013

sun palace anniversary getaway

Hotel was awesome, quiet when you wanted but also had regular activities during the day and in the evening if you wanted to liven it up. We were treated like royalty the entire time and enjoyed the variety of awesome food and drink menus. Also enjoyed the ability to visit any palace resort in Cancun for dinner or activities. I will visit another palace resort again. Some paint could use replacing in s few areas but they washed every glass on balconies regularly and were sanitizing the floors inside and by pools daily. Super clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

utilize the concierge add much as possible. You can setup your entire trip though them.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toextreem
Irupana, Bolivia
May 29, 2013

Fantastic romantic vacation

The hotel, location, beach, room, dining, drinks and staff exceeded our expectations! Sun Palace All inclusive / adult only has us spoiled for all future vacations. No need to go anywhere else because anything you want or need is supplied. Highly recommend Sun Palace and we look forward to returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top