$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
343 reviews
great couples getaway

Couldn't have asked for a more luxurious vacation! Beach was beautiful and warm. Room was huge and... See full review

  • Howdy from Hawaii
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fantatic Honeymoon Vacation

This place was amazing! Very romantic and great for couples and honeymooners! The food for dinner... See full review

  • Happy Honeymooner2014
  • Sep 22, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (343)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
343 out of 343
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 19, 2009

Best Vacation Ever!

My husband and I just got back yesterday from the Sun Palace. We had a great time and loved that it was adults only. We didn't even visit the other Palace resorts on the cancun hotel zone because everyone we met said that there were tons of kids at the other resorts. The Sun Palace had everthing we needed; beautiful beach, refreshing pools, awesome food and drinks, and the staff were outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to couples that want to have a nice relaxing vacation. We also did the tours to Tulum, Chichen Itza, and the zip line. All 3 were fantastic. One small downside is that it is at the end of the hotel zone so you are really far away from all the night life. But you can take a bus for $1 per person. Stay at the Sun Palace, you won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 18, 2009

Wonderful Vacation Experience

After much research we booked a vacation at the Sun Palace based heavily on the reviews of other guests and it certainly did not disappoint. The service at Sun Palce was the best we have ever experienced in our travels and the facility was first rate. Great restaurants (especially the Italian) and the beach may be the best of any resort in Cancun. Evening entertainment and daily sports activities made us not even want to leave the resort. If you do decide to go into Cancun, it's only about a 15 minute bus or taxi ride. One other note related to location: the Sun Palace is one of the closest hotels to the airport. The only negative, I can even think of is relatively limited English channel options on the TV (but you're probably not there to watch TV). If you're thinking about a vacation to Cancun, now is the perfect time while the crowds are small. Absolutely, no sign of anything related to the H1N1 Flu or drug related violence. At no time did we ever feel unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain's Cove is only a short bus ride away and was a great seafood dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cartersville, GA
Jul 15, 2009

My second time

Trip was great and very relaxing. My second time there. Staff was very friendly and courteous at all times. Spotless rooms and grounds. One of the best beaches period. If I had to pick out some negatives they are small. Bed is not anchored to the wall so if you want to sit up and watch tv you will find yourself on the floor possibly sliding behind the bed! Not too many english TV channels and the glass bathroom walls/door is more of a distraction than you might think plus with all the stone every sound is amplified! Food was great but after 5 days of it you tire so venture out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The biggest balconies are on the 6th floor however the concierge level is on the 5th. You can upgrade onsite for $69/night but see if you can swing it for free first. Ask for your favorite liquor its usually kept under the bar out of sight. Also when checking in they usher you to "guest services" (read "time share sales") but since this was my 2nd time I knew better and just never went to get "my package" . There is no package by the way just maps, info and a sales pitch. It was funny because they kept calling all week to our room reminding us but we just blew it off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jul 13, 2009

Terrific location, facility and service

The hotel staff were totally focused on service. Very well trained and genuinely friendly. The facility is of manageable size. Easy to navigate and you quickly know where everything is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stick with the local food. They do that just great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, CA
Jul 11, 2009

Our Perfect Anniversary

I am hesitant to say how wonderful the stay at Sun Palace was for fear that it will become too popular. We have done a fair amount of traveling and this was bay far the best experience we have ever had at a hotel. The staff was so kind and helpful at every opportunity. If I return to Cancun the only place I will stay is the Sun Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The local bus line runs 24 hours a day and the rate is only $7.50 pesos (about $.60 USD). Easy to get on and off and goes almost everywhere. Also will accept USD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N'awlins Fan Forever
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 9, 2009

WHEN CAN I GO BACK?

From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were treated like royalty. The hotel employees were extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful at all times. The rooms are huge and very nice, and the view of the ocean is gorgeous! The hotel has fun shows or entertainment every night. This hotel is clean and spacious, without being too sprawling. It is on the end of the strip that is closest to the airport and excursions, which was nice. It was only a 15 minute bus ride down the strip to get to the little flea market where we bought souvenirs. We laid on the beach and loved how the hotel staff came around every 10 minutes to ask if we needed a drink. Most clear and bright blue sea I've ever seen! The swim up bar in the pool is wonderful. We did the snorkeling and Tulum excursions and loved them both. Just be prepared for a long day. The food was pretty good (breakfast is the best meal), but after 6 days we were really ready for different food. We liked the Italian restaurant the best. My only complaint is that since all the flooring is tile, it is a little noisy. We were woken up pretty early every morning to sounds of people in the halls, furniture moving above us, etc. All in all, this is one the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in and would book another trip to the Sun Palace in a heartbeat! Had a fantastic experience in Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oskee
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2009

Amazing honeymoon location!

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. There were plenty of other honeymooners there also, and since the resort is couples/adults only, it was perfect for this type of vacation. We visited the other Palace resorts for dinner throughout the week, and the kids were running around like crazy. So we were very happy with our choice of Sun Palace. The beach was fantastic, plenty of room for all of the guests. The staff was there about every 10 minutes refilling drinks. The pools were amazing also. Two outdoor quiet pools overlooking the ocean which were very relaxing, and an outdoor activity pool which usually had something fun going on. The indoor pool is actually just underneath an overhang-but it was nice to have on the day it rained. The food was really good. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality. I had filet mignon several nights at the different restaurants, and it was excellent quality. We also enjoyed going to the other palace resorts for more of a variety. But we would've been happy staying at Sun Palace too. They serve any kind of drink you want with dinner also! The service and people were incredible. Everyone was so friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help and serve us. We've never felt more welcome than we felt at Sun Palace. Overall, we could not have been happier. Absolutely no complaints about the trip. We stayed 6 nights, and each night there was something to do with the great activity staff. We weren't looking to stay up too late, so if you are the type that likes to party all night- this might not be the place for you. But it was perfect for the relaxing, romantic, and fun vacation. We would recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We decided to do the zip-line tour that was included with our 'palace passport'. We would recommend this trip to everyone who is up for a thrill! The trip was really fun, and it was a very short bus ride away. So we were back at the resort by 11:00AM. Some of the other tours don't get you back until after 6:00PM. So this one was a great choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2009

Wonderful Relaxing Vacation!

We stayed there June 27-July 4 and wish we had had the ability to stay even longer. Wonderful Staff. Everyone is so helpful and wants to service the clientle to the best of their ability. That is to say that it is important to tip them even though the vacation is all-inclusive. BRING LOTS OF $1s --leave some for the maid each day, and for your waiters. The pool and beach are beautiful. I have never seen water that blue in my life! They have daily activities at the pool and at night and it's totally your choice if you want to participate or not. The gym is one of the best hotel gyms I have seen, and has most general weights equipment and cardio machines. Also - please take advantage of the trips offered by Palace Resorts - I would definitly recommend Tulum, the zipline & even Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sipes
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 8, 2009

4 out of 5

This was a wonderful experience. The Sun Palace offers everything you need. The beach is awesome. The pool is great (though I wish it was bigger). The service is first class. The only issue we had was the overall spa. The spa was small, it felt dirty, and it was definitely not the quality we were expecting. The massage was very relaxing though. We wished there was more food selection instead of having the same selections everyday. Overall, this was a great trip and well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Cancun Palace for dinner. It has a better food selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El paso texas
Jul 8, 2009

Great stay

Rest and eat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top