$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
562 reviews
dream honeymoon

Just got back from our amazing honeymoon at the sun palace. This all inclusive resort is absolutely... See full review

  • will mojito
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great couples getaway

Service is excellent at this resort. Stayed here for 4 nights for a couples getaway. Rooms are... See full review

  • Chad H
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (562)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Apr 19, 2010

amazing honeymoon

Beautiful rooms with great views of the ocean. It was a great, relaxing honeymoon with no stress and lots of pampering. Had some great meals, but food quality was a bit disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Apr 19, 2010

amazing honeymoon

Beautiful rooms with great views of the ocean. It was a great, relaxing honeymoon with no stress and lots of pampering. Had some great meals, but food quality was a bit disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guston, Kentucky
Apr 18, 2010

Honeymooners

This was our first time in Cancun and we stayed at the Sun Palace for our honeymoon. We were very, very pleased with our choice. I checked a lot of customer reviews before I booked our honeymoon and took those reviews into serious consideration. We were very satisfied with the Sun Palace. The staff treated us very well and we have never had service like we had here. We spoke with several different couples on our trip and they all agreed that the Sun Palace was one of the best they had stayed in, in Cancun. The housekeeping staff were very attentative to us. Room service was the fastest of anywhere I have ever stayed. We were excited to find out when we arrived that there were some excursions that were included in our package that we did not have to pay for! The food was very good and a lot of choices were cook to order right on the buffet. We also liked that we had free calls to the USA and Canada! (I had stressed about a calling card, no need!) We had a very stress free vacation. The beaches were very nice and we had direct access to them. The beach staff were very helpful! The pools were nice and clean. The balcony of our room had an awesome view and was very big. We had a large chase lounge for two, two chairs and a table. The balcony and the shower was our favorite part of the room! We will definitely go back!!! I hope this helps you with your planning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had some rainy, uncharacteristic weather during our stay. There was not a whole lot of indoor activities at the hotel. Make sure you have a plan B! If you have never traveled internationally, be aware of the routine that you have to go through when you go back to the states!!! Make sure you allow yourself plenty of time between flight connections due to immigration, re checking your bags at customs, leaving secured area and having to go back through security, then find your gate! We went through the Houston airport and it took over 1.5 hours to get these done and had only 10 minutes until our flight took off!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guston, Kentucky
Apr 18, 2010

Honeymooners

This was our first time in Cancun and we stayed at the Sun Palace for our honeymoon. We were very, very pleased with our choice. I checked a lot of customer reviews before I booked our honeymoon and took those reviews into serious consideration. We were very satisfied with the Sun Palace. The staff treated us very well and we have never had service like we had here. We spoke with several different couples on our trip and they all agreed that the Sun Palace was one of the best they had stayed in, in Cancun. The housekeeping staff were very attentative to us. Room service was the fastest of anywhere I have ever stayed. We were excited to find out when we arrived that there were some excursions that were included in our package that we did not have to pay for! The food was very good and a lot of choices were cook to order right on the buffet. We also liked that we had free calls to the USA and Canada! (I had stressed about a calling card, no need!) We had a very stress free vacation. The beaches were very nice and we had direct access to them. The beach staff were very helpful! The pools were nice and clean. The balcony of our room had an awesome view and was very big. We had a large chase lounge for two, two chairs and a table. The balcony and the shower was our favorite part of the room! We will definitely go back!!! I hope this helps you with your planning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had some rainy, uncharacteristic weather during our stay. There was not a whole lot of indoor activities at the hotel. Make sure you have a plan B! If you have never traveled internationally, be aware of the routine that you have to go through when you go back to the states!!! Make sure you allow yourself plenty of time between flight connections due to immigration, re checking your bags at customs, leaving secured area and having to go back through security, then find your gate! We went through the Houston airport and it took over 1.5 hours to get these done and had only 10 minutes until our flight took off!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aitrius
Detroit MI
Apr 16, 2010

Great vacation at a great location

Just got back from our trip yesterday and we had a great time...with one BIG snag... Overall I would give this all inclusive 4 of 5 stars. However, when my wife and I were able to check in we were given the worst room in the entire hotel! It was on the first floor overlooking the major roads & the hotels utility sheds. Not so bad, but our hot tub was outside on the balcony!!!??? And when you opened the doorwall it was way to loud to be enjoyable. So I complained, a lot, and the only way i could get a better room was to upgrade for $75 a night!!! Which wouldve equaled out to an extra $500. So They changed things around and got us another room on the 1st floor with the balcony inside and a view of one of the restaurants, which was fine with us. Im not sure what they were thinking but it really felt that they were trying to pull one over on me to get to upgrade. Anyway...The room service food and snack bars I would rate at 3 out of 5 stars while the actual A La Carte restaurants I would give 4 out of 5 for taste, but 5 of 5 for appearance. The staff is very friendly and very entertaining. Service was quick which I enjoyed. You will def want to bring some tip $ for them!!! Keep in mind this place is loud. The entire building is made of marble and glass, so sound really carries. The pools and beach were very nice. The beach is very sandy with NO rocks! The night shows were entertaining and fun. The cover band in the lobby bar rocks and are really cool (Michigan loves you guys!) Dont go to Isla Mueres unless you plan to spend some major cash...its just boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dont goto Isa Mueres

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aitrius
Detroit MI
Apr 16, 2010

Great vacation at a great location

Just got back from our trip yesterday and we had a great time...with one BIG snag... Overall I would give this all inclusive 4 of 5 stars. However, when my wife and I were able to check in we were given the worst room in the entire hotel! It was on the first floor overlooking the major roads & the hotels utility sheds. Not so bad, but our hot tub was outside on the balcony!!!??? And when you opened the doorwall it was way to loud to be enjoyable. So I complained, a lot, and the only way i could get a better room was to upgrade for $75 a night!!! Which wouldve equaled out to an extra $500. So They changed things around and got us another room on the 1st floor with the balcony inside and a view of one of the restaurants, which was fine with us. Im not sure what they were thinking but it really felt that they were trying to pull one over on me to get to upgrade. Anyway...The room service food and snack bars I would rate at 3 out of 5 stars while the actual A La Carte restaurants I would give 4 out of 5 for taste, but 5 of 5 for appearance. The staff is very friendly and very entertaining. Service was quick which I enjoyed. You will def want to bring some tip $ for them!!! Keep in mind this place is loud. The entire building is made of marble and glass, so sound really carries. The pools and beach were very nice. The beach is very sandy with NO rocks! The night shows were entertaining and fun. The cover band in the lobby bar rocks and are really cool (Michigan loves you guys!) Dont go to Isla Mueres unless you plan to spend some major cash...its just boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dont goto Isa Mueres

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delaware
Apr 11, 2010

Wonderful!!

Beautiful resort! Staff was very friendly and always went above and beyond. Had a wonderful time and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see ... Coco Bongo!! An amazing show with great music. Doesn't matter what age you are ... we're in our forties and had a blast!!!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delaware
Apr 11, 2010

Wonderful!!

Beautiful resort! Staff was very friendly and always went above and beyond. Had a wonderful time and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see ... Coco Bongo!! An amazing show with great music. Doesn't matter what age you are ... we're in our forties and had a blast!!!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Sun Palace

Amazing. Everyone was helpful and really cared about the our stay. The food was good, the amenities were great, the entertainment was good and the location was more than I could of hoped for. I wish i could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Sun Palace

Amazing. Everyone was helpful and really cared about the our stay. The food was good, the amenities were great, the entertainment was good and the location was more than I could of hoped for. I wish i could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top