$390 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
327 reviews
Paradise!

The Sun Palace is amazing. I will most definitely go back. The rooms, the beach, the pools, the... See full review

  • beachblonde
  • Mar 21, 2014
Amazing honeymoon destination

The resort was beautiful, food was great and service was outstanding! We had the opportunity to... See full review

  • Saffrins
  • Feb 20, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Pacakge
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi
Superior deluxe lagoon view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Package
Each suite features:
-1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only.
Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka, Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer, LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe (laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker, Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple)
-574 Sq. Ft
-2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on the 5th floor(non-smoking). Seating area. Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine & Fruits. Private bath w/shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor dispenser with premium, upgraded brands of liquor: Bacardi White Rum, Jose Cuervo Tequila, J&B Whisky and Barton Vodka. LCD TV w/ Satellite. DVD Player, CD Player. Chi Bath Amenities. Two(2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms (location varies per resort), Bathrobes & Slippers. Exclusive Beach Bag (1 per room/per stay). Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Waiter Service. Aromatherapy menu. 24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurants to create a "Special Menu".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Mark N.
Utah
Feb 11, 2014

Great time in Cancun!

The Sun Palace is a great couples only resort. Pros are the amazing beach and water right in front of the resort, adults only, the padded lounge chairs for two on the beach, great beach service, great service in the restaurants, good food, nice rooms with double jacuzzi, and only 15 minutes from the airport. We also enjoyed our $1500 resort credit (used only half) on a couples citrus massage, Tulum excursion, and a swim with the dolphins (you will pay an additional 16% tax/fee -- which totaled $120 for all three). Cons would be no beautiful grounds with palm trees (although you're right on the beach so we did not miss that much) and there are limited restaurant choices at the Sun Palace (there are 4, but other resorts offer more -- although you can go to the other Palace resorts and eat at their restaurants). There are also only three real shows for the nightly entertainment (instead of one every night). We've been to Cancun almost every year for the past 15 years. This is our second time to the Sun Palace. We have also stayed at the Excellence in Playa Majures, Royal Hideaway, Valentin, Beach Place, and Crown Paradise with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Ordinary vaca
Ny, ny
Feb 11, 2014

Nice getaway

Amazing service by the waiters/waitresses but the check in staff is terrible. The rooms are not what i expected for $2400 for 3nightd. They were small and "humble". Not a party resort-nice for relaxation. 95% of guests were seniors (not complaining as it made for great relaxing getaway). Ovetall, nice, quiet, relaxing getaway but not worth the price. Food was also good. Hotel credit is deceiving: you cannot use the credit on 1 thing. There is a limit in each category you can spend. Bottom line:you will be paying out of pocket for any category you choose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the italian/oriental restaurant as the wait was 1 hour each for dinner.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
maccmann
Oshawa, ontario, Canada
Feb 7, 2014

Sun Palace Relaxation

PROS The staff was great, although I did tip fairly ocassionaly, you never felt like they were looking for it, but did feel like they appreciated it. The food was great even the food around the pool, and a great choice too. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily, with a nightly turn down. Room service was excellent and hot. Buffet and restaurants were great, with no reservations, first come first served, and we never had a problem getting in at all. I have never cared for the reservation system, so this was great for us. CONS They do try to get you to sign up for concierge service for $38 per day, but unless you are require it because of mobility or such, avoid it. The bonus resort credit was not a scam, but also not near as great as they make it out to be. Overall a fantastic holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat anywhere in hotel and it is all good.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
KG in DC
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2014

Sun Palace...Must Stay, best for Price

Hotel was immaculate. My girlfriend and I had a great stay. Clean rooms, amazing view of the ocean, perfect beach, nice pool, attentive staff, and the food was as good as I have ever had at an All Inclusive resort. In my opinion, Sun Palace is the best property to stay at in the Palace chain--best beach, it is smaller (less packed than Moon Palace or Beach Palace), and most attentive staff. The only complaints--and they are very minor--were one day our room wasn't cleaned until late in the evening and our A/C had some dripping/condensation issues. But overall, it was well worth the trip and we will be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is probably even nicer than the Italian, reservations only restaurant. But all of the food was great!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Emdoc1
Chicago
Feb 5, 2014

Great service and food!

Outstanding service throughout, quick response by management to any issues and concerns, great food quality. If it had one negative, it is the lack of poolside loungers and chairs. If you don't participate in the obnoxious ritual of reserving chairs early in the morning, you are out of luck after about 8:00. The pools and pool area are relatively small, so the situation really can't be helped by the resort. However, there are plenty of beach loungers and the beach is great. The lifeguards and beach attendants will get loungers for you and also dig a hole in the sand to place an umbrella by your chairs. Although not required, the staff work very hard. I recommend taking some small bills to tip the wait staff, pool and beach staff for their hard work. The "resort credits" promotion comes with the caveat that you pay 16% sales tax on the services which are included in the credits (and are naturally a bit overpriced), however the spa services and the excursions are still a pretty good deal despite that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
DMagg
Pennsylvania, USA
Jan 27, 2014

Enjoyed the Sun Palace

The Sun Palace is a smaller couples resorts and we really enjoyed our stay. The food was very good and the staff was excellent. The drinks were made with premium alcohol and were served perfectly. The entertainment was good and especially enjoyed the circus and other shows brought into the resort. My only complaint was there were never enough seating at the pools and beach and that was annoying every day. Guest would leave towels and seldom come back. Would come back first chance I get!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
ctomsee
Chicago
Jan 17, 2014

Far exceeded expectations

We took a chance based on reviews of the food at Sun Palace and found ourselves in love with all aspects of this property. The friendliness and work ethic of the staff is remarkable. When I said good bye to one of our waitresses on the last day, she actually cried - that's how much they care about the guest experience. Don't hesitate to choose this resort for a memorable all-inclusive trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Actually a "money spender" but if available pay for upgrade to Concierge Level/Services - absolutely worth every penny.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
mikesf8
CHicago, Il.
Jan 3, 2014

Sun Palace

Overall, the experience was very, very good. We certainly would consider staying in this, or one of the other Palace Resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
abreucantina
Wichita, KS
Oct 7, 2013

Great, but didn't blow us away either

We chose the Sun Palace because of a few criteria: 1. We stayed at a Palace chain resort on our honeymoon 5 years ago and LOVED it. 2. Sun Palace is adults-only. 3. Resort credits 4. Concierge level amenities sounded like a nice "treat." We enjoyed our stay. The beach was fantastic. All-inclusive included room service and the lobby bar and mini-bar, which is nice. For the most part the staff was helpful. But...they staff doesn't enforce the "concierge level" portion of the beach, so you cannot count on easily finding a lounge chair and umbrella.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We liked the Italian restaurant the least. It is the only one with a "causal formal" dresscode (which we met), but the staff immediately made us feel uncomfortable and the food was not anything special. We had much better experiences at the other restaurants in the hotel.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
The Clan C
Midwest, USA
Oct 1, 2013

A let down

My wife and I were hopeful based on previous reviews but were let down at the actual experience. The staff was helpful, but had actually little response to our concerns. Glass shards were in the room and on our balcony. The staff constantly apologized but the actual shards were cleaned by my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top