$420 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
561 reviews
dream honeymoon

Just got back from our amazing honeymoon at the sun palace. This all inclusive resort is absolutely... See full review

  • will mojito
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great couples getaway

Service is excellent at this resort. Stayed here for 4 nights for a couples getaway. Rooms are... See full review

  • Chad H
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Pacakge
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi
Superior deluxe lagoon view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Package
Each suite features:
-1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only.
Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka, Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer, LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe (laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker, Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple)
-574 Sq. Ft
-2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on the 5th floor(non-smoking). Seating area. Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine & Fruits. Private bath w/shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor dispenser with premium, upgraded brands of liquor: Bacardi White Rum, Jose Cuervo Tequila, J&B Whisky and Barton Vodka. LCD TV w/ Satellite. DVD Player, CD Player. Chi Bath Amenities. Two(2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms (location varies per resort), Bathrobes & Slippers. Exclusive Beach Bag (1 per room/per stay). Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Waiter Service. Aromatherapy menu. 24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurants to create a "Special Menu".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (561)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
561 out of 561
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry W
Hawthorne, NJ, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great Romantic Vacation

This was a geat trip for myself and my fiance. We had a great time and there was no need to leave the resort, everything you want is right there. The staff was fantastic and always helpfull. I highly reccomend this as a vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The swim with the dolphins attraction was great and a good price when used with the resort credit. HOWEVER the pictures they sell there are way overpriced. A 3 picture package on CD, not even prints, is $69.00 USD. Not a great value on memories.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry W
Hawthorne, NJ, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great Romantic Vacation

This was a geat trip for myself and my fiance. We had a great time and there was no need to leave the resort, everything you want is right there. The staff was fantastic and always helpfull. I highly reccomend this as a vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The swim with the dolphins attraction was great and a good price when used with the resort credit. HOWEVER the pictures they sell there are way overpriced. A 3 picture package on CD, not even prints, is $69.00 USD. Not a great value on memories.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cool cat
KY
Aug 15, 2011

Wonderful Resort

Very relaxing resort. NO KIDS!!!! Smaller resort makes it relaxing but enough people there to have a good time with others or relax on your own. Everyone is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Junlge Tour is wonderful.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cool cat
KY
Aug 15, 2011

Wonderful Resort

Very relaxing resort. NO KIDS!!!! Smaller resort makes it relaxing but enough people there to have a good time with others or relax on your own. Everyone is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Junlge Tour is wonderful.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerG
California, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Mexican Vacation

We had a great time at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helped you out in any way you needed. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Food was good, after about a week you are ready for something different then what they have to offer but overall good stuff. Had a great time and hope to one day make it back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go shopping try taking the city "blue" bus only 8.5 pesos (about .75 US) clean, nice bus that you can get around Cancun in. If you take a taxi it about 100-200 pesos to go anywhere so the bus was a great deal.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerG
California, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Mexican Vacation

We had a great time at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helped you out in any way you needed. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Food was good, after about a week you are ready for something different then what they have to offer but overall good stuff. Had a great time and hope to one day make it back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go shopping try taking the city "blue" bus only 8.5 pesos (about .75 US) clean, nice bus that you can get around Cancun in. If you take a taxi it about 100-200 pesos to go anywhere so the bus was a great deal.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickla
Chicago
Aug 2, 2011

Sun Palace Resort

The hotel was not what we expected. The pictures made it look better then it really was. The food was ok. The pool space was small...very crowded. It was much further away from the downtown area then we were told when we booked it. We did take advantage of the $1500 resort credits by doing a zipline tour which was fun. Alot of the other stuff we wanted to do was completely booked by the time we even got their which was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nickla
Chicago
Aug 2, 2011

Sun Palace Resort

The hotel was not what we expected. The pictures made it look better then it really was. The food was ok. The pool space was small...very crowded. It was much further away from the downtown area then we were told when we booked it. We did take advantage of the $1500 resort credits by doing a zipline tour which was fun. Alot of the other stuff we wanted to do was completely booked by the time we even got their which was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well rested travelor
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 1, 2011

Super Relaxing!

We spent most of our time by the pool and in the ocean. The ocean water is blue, warm and clear and the beaches are well kept. Being it is a couples only resort, there were no children running around and screaming which added to the relaxation factor. (We did visit the Moon Palace and even though it is much larger, with more restaurant choices, it wasn't as a relaxing evironment).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did the 2.5 hour trip from our resort to Chichen Itza. We would likely not go again if we traveled back to Cancun. However, considering it's in the "wonder of the world category" we are glad we went. It's an one time must see if your in the area. Also, I think the silver prices at the town we stopped to eat lunch at were a little steep in comparison to prices in Northern Mexico.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well rested travelor
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 1, 2011

Super Relaxing!

We spent most of our time by the pool and in the ocean. The ocean water is blue, warm and clear and the beaches are well kept. Being it is a couples only resort, there were no children running around and screaming which added to the relaxation factor. (We did visit the Moon Palace and even though it is much larger, with more restaurant choices, it wasn't as a relaxing evironment).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did the 2.5 hour trip from our resort to Chichen Itza. We would likely not go again if we traveled back to Cancun. However, considering it's in the "wonder of the world category" we are glad we went. It's an one time must see if your in the area. Also, I think the silver prices at the town we stopped to eat lunch at were a little steep in comparison to prices in Northern Mexico.

Back to menu Return to top