$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
343 reviews
great couples getaway

Couldn't have asked for a more luxurious vacation! Beach was beautiful and warm. Room was huge and... See full review

  • Howdy from Hawaii
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fantatic Honeymoon Vacation

This place was amazing! Very romantic and great for couples and honeymooners! The food for dinner... See full review

  • Happy Honeymooner2014
  • Sep 22, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (343)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
343 out of 343
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikesf8
Business
CHicago, Il.
Jan 3, 2014

Sun Palace

Overall, the experience was very, very good. We certainly would consider staying in this, or one of the other Palace Resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ctomsee
Business
Chicago
Jan 17, 2014

Far exceeded expectations

We took a chance based on reviews of the food at Sun Palace and found ourselves in love with all aspects of this property. The friendliness and work ethic of the staff is remarkable. When I said good bye to one of our waitresses on the last day, she actually cried - that's how much they care about the guest experience. Don't hesitate to choose this resort for a memorable all-inclusive trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Actually a "money spender" but if available pay for upgrade to Concierge Level/Services - absolutely worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emdoc1
Business
Chicago
Feb 5, 2014

Great service and food!

Outstanding service throughout, quick response by management to any issues and concerns, great food quality. If it had one negative, it is the lack of poolside loungers and chairs. If you don't participate in the obnoxious ritual of reserving chairs early in the morning, you are out of luck after about 8:00. The pools and pool area are relatively small, so the situation really can't be helped by the resort. However, there are plenty of beach loungers and the beach is great. The lifeguards and beach attendants will get loungers for you and also dig a hole in the sand to place an umbrella by your chairs. Although not required, the staff work very hard. I recommend taking some small bills to tip the wait staff, pool and beach staff for their hard work. The "resort credits" promotion comes with the caveat that you pay 16% sales tax on the services which are included in the credits (and are naturally a bit overpriced), however the spa services and the excursions are still a pretty good deal despite that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KG in DC
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2014

Sun Palace...Must Stay, best for Price

Hotel was immaculate. My girlfriend and I had a great stay. Clean rooms, amazing view of the ocean, perfect beach, nice pool, attentive staff, and the food was as good as I have ever had at an All Inclusive resort. In my opinion, Sun Palace is the best property to stay at in the Palace chain--best beach, it is smaller (less packed than Moon Palace or Beach Palace), and most attentive staff. The only complaints--and they are very minor--were one day our room wasn't cleaned until late in the evening and our A/C had some dripping/condensation issues. But overall, it was well worth the trip and we will be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is probably even nicer than the Italian, reservations only restaurant. But all of the food was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saffrins
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 20, 2014

Amazing honeymoon destination

The resort was beautiful, food was great and service was outstanding! We had the opportunity to travel to other resorts, including Palace reports, during our stay, but none of the beaches topped that of the Sun Palace. It was a great place to relax and still be able to enjoy ourselves and the scenery without annoying disturbances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend checking out the other Palace Resorts - Moon Palace and Beach Palace - during your stay. The all-inclusive applies to these places as well. The opportunity for different activities and food options was great to have!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachblonde
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 21, 2014

Paradise!

The Sun Palace is amazing. I will most definitely go back. The rooms, the beach, the pools, the food, the drinks, and the staff are outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2007

VERY RELAXING

THE SUN PALACE WAS THE BEST THE PEOPLE MADE YOU FEEL LIKE HOME....FROM THE ROOM TO THE POOL,FOOD,BEACH...VERY NICE I WOULD LOVE TO GO AGAIN AND STAY HERE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sherwood, OR
May 8, 2009

Absolutely Wonderful!

The staff went above and beyond. We felt like they would do anything to make our trip great. The beach was perfect. They would bring you lounge chairs and dig in the sand to set up your umbrella. Drinks came every 10 minutes. We took a long walk both up and down the beach. Sun Palace had the best by far. We didn't spend any time at the pool but it looked like everyone was having a great time. The food was good, not super, but good. Room service for breakfast was THE BEST. You can't beat looking out to the ocean while enjoying eggs, bacon and coffee. Overall, I have already recommended this place to everyone I talk to. You really can't go wrong!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Jeff
Business
Hillsborough, NJ
Nov 6, 2009

Great Relaxing Vacation

Brought my wife here for her Birthday, based on reviews. We arrived over three hours prior to check-in. [...] at the Front Desk did everything to expedite getting our room ready early. He even took us to see a few available rooms, so we could chose. We selected Room 632 with a nice large balcony and double cushioned lounge chair facing the ocean. We received $150 credit for Spa treatment, and used it for a great 50 minute Deep tissue massage and a scalp treatment. We also reserved a free trip to Tulum, which I would not recommend. The trip was an hour shorter than Chitzen Itsa (sp?), and the ruins were nice to see, but most of the trip was a tourist trap, with stops at vendors pressuring you buy souveniers. The restaurants were excellent, especially the outdoor grill facing the beach. We loved our Rib Eye Steaks. The entire staff went out of their way to accomodate our needs. The hotel was only 40% capacity, but we made alot of friends during our short three night stay. The beach is beautiful and well-maintained. If you want a quiet, relaxing hotel, with great amenities, then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 29, 2009

Amazing stay at Sun Palace in Cancun

From the moment we checked in to Sun Palace we were in heaven. The hotel staff was wonderful and did everything they could to make us feel welcome in their country and their hotel. Our room was amazing with a huge Jacuzzi and very large balcony (6th floor has some of the largest balconies) overlooking both the pool and the ocean. We could not have asked for a better view. The food in all of the restaurants was fantastic, but we most enjoyed the Italian restaurant (the filet is excellent), the Oriental restaurant (the Banana Roll is amazing) and the breakfast buffet in the Alamo (best Omelettes). The only negative we found is that the desserts are just so-so. The drinks are great throughout the hotel and I most enjoyed the Banana Monkey and Miami Vice (if you like fruity blended drinks). The pools are gorgeous and Sun Palace has one of the best beaches that we saw in Cancun since many hotels lost most of their beaches in recent hurricanes. The entertainment is decent. The entertainment staff is fun and we enjoyed playing different games. The nightly shows are so-so, but the contortionist and the ladies that did acrobatics were worth watching. We took advantage of the free tours and went to Isla Mujeres and also did the Zip Line Tour. Isla Mujeres was nice and the Zip Line was a ton of fun. The weather was mainly in the mid 70's and 80's with only one rainy day. It was very nice. We visited a few other Palace Resorts (Cancun Palace, Beach Palace, Moon Palace) and enjoyed the all inclusive at each resort. Beach Palace was very nice and didn't feel as crowded as Cancun Palace. Moon Palace was great as well, but very big so if you're looking for quiet and have no kids with you we definitely recommend Sun Palace. We plan to stay at Palace Resorts again, but plan to do one major thing differently... we will tip more next time. The resort claims tips are included, but after learning more about what the staff actually makes (if what we read is reliable it varies from $4-$23 per day - not per hour) we will tip for sure. The staff treated us the same with or without tips, but they really do deserve the tips as they made our stay so wonderful. Overall we could not have asked for a better vacation and look forward to going back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus into Cancun instead of a taxi. The cost is about $.75 per person and much cheaper than a cab. The bus stop is just down the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top