$445 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 20, 2011

Sun Palace

This was our second trip to Sun Palace and we had a wonderful time. We did a few things different than last year and had a blast. Last year we didn't eat at the Thai Lounge but I talked my wife into going and she loved it. The breeze from the ocean on the outdoor dining area of the Thai Lounge was wonderful. My wife tried sushi for the first time and she loved it. Also, this year we hung out at the activities pool and beach area. We met a lot of nice couples and had fun hanging out drinking with them all day. The food over at the snack bar was also very good. We also learned that you could order food out on the beach, which we did. My wife loved being able to get grilled fish and vegetables on the beach without having to get up and go inside. We will be back again next year. Oh, we went by the Moon Palace and though it may be a wonderful resort, we thought it was way too crowded and went back to the Sun Palace instead of hanging out at the Moon Palace for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The jungle tour, swimming with dolphins, and zipline are tours we have done and would recommend. Also, the spa is very nice as we have been both times that we've stayed at the Sun Palace. We did the couples' massage both times and loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Jul 18, 2011

Very relaxing resort

Very relaxing trip. Best beach we've seen of 4 cancun resorts. Infiniti pools were great as well. Food was above average for all-inclusive. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 17, 2011

Cancun 2011

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pig Out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fl
Jul 11, 2011

Amazing Service

The hotel was wonderful and overall does not seem like a typical "all-inclusive." We were greeted with a flower and drinks which was nice. The rooms were very clean and kept that way the entire trip. FYI-The pillows are super soft and the bed are firm! We loved the in room Jacuzzi especially because it rained 2 days while we were there. We had a wonderful view of the beach and could hear the waves while in bed. At night, we were even able to watch loggerhead turtles come up on the beach and nest. What a once in a lifetime experience! The service was top notch-some of the best service I've ever received! The only person that didn't acknowledge me was the general manager! I couldn't believe it. I walked by him everyday and even stood across from him at the bar while he smoked a cigarette. He never once smiled or said a word to me. What a great example for your staff. I didn't have high expectations for the food but it was better then expected. We did start to get a little tired of the food by day 5 because it tends to be variations of the same food. We also visited the spa twice and then went above and beyond for service. The treatments were amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenga Champion
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 10, 2011

Great 10th Anniversary!

The Sun Palace is a terrific destination for couples to go and relax and be pampered. The location is only about 15 minutes from the airport which was nice on arrival and departure. The resort features two great infinity pools overlooking the ocean. One pool is quiet with relaxing music playing softly while the other has a lot more going on, including a swim up bar, pool volleyball twice daily, bingo, contemporary music, etc. The resort is pretty compact, meaning, you never had to walk a mile to get from your room to beach (as an example), which I have seen at some other similar resorts. The waitstaff and entertainment staff were extremely helpful and polite, however, there was still an occasional language barrier (which was probably expected). The spa was great as well. There are 4 separate restaurants, but there are also two other dinner options (romantic beach dinner and lobster dinner) with separate menus, so you can get a good variety to eat if you want. The beach was nice and literally right outside the hotel and below the pools. There were a few rocks on the beach, but I was told that was from the recent tropical storm that went nearby.The only things that kept this review from being a perfect 5-star in my book were as follows: The sun palace sells memberships, which is great for some folks, but that is not for us. They were a little pushy on this aspect. Also, I have been to all-inclusive resorts where tips were not only not only unexpected, but were not allowed. This is not the case here, so that was a little uncomfortable at first. Once I figured that out, it was fine, and a little money goes a long way. We paid for the concierge level primarily to get the premium liquor selections (which, in hindsight, was a great idea), however, they ran out of Bacardi Light and Absolute the day before we left, which was a little annoying.Like I said, the staff was great, especially [...]. They also have Jenga and Connect 4 in the Lobby bar, which was actually really cool. We would definitely go back and probably will in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian Resaurant has a great menu (in our opinion the best in the place), and they require the guys to wear pants. So, guys, pack some long pants, because you will probably want to eat there at least once and maybe more than that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
#1Husband!
Business
Fayetteville,AR
Jul 4, 2011

Resort credits ROCK!!!

We arrived in Cancun Mon night. We paid a fortune for cab service to/from airport. I would highly recommend calling the hotel ahead of time to set something up. They don't provide transportation but can help you get affordable ones not pay $100 roundtrip for 2 people like we did. Check in at the resort was a breeze. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. We were scheduled for a deluxe room but used resort credits to upgrade to a concierge level room. In doing so you get a 25min back massage for you both, dinner on the beach, reserved cushiony lounge chairs on the beach, upgraded alcohols, in room aromatherapy(the one with the euchalyptus is awesome) and better room service menu etc. I felt it was worth the upgrade. We used the rest of the resort credit for a couples massage and swimming with the dolphins. NOTE: we booked our massage just thinking we were booking 2 massages and they put us in the same room and called it a couples massage. I thought that was wonderful until I realized they charge $65 more for you to both be in the same room. We used resort credits and only paid $15 out of pocket but I wouldn't recommend doing them in the same room. You both have your eyes closed the entire time so it really doesn't matter if your in the same room or not. Just book the holistic massage for each of you. The massage was excellent in spite of that. Flortentina was great and it was a nice way to start the vacation. I would totally recommend swimming with the dolphins as well. There is an option to interact with the dolphins without swimming that looked like a lot of fun too, but we really enjoyed riding them. The resort was pristine and very modern chic. The view was spectacular and the ocean gorgeous. Not rocky or full of seaweed like you find at a lot of resorts down there. The infinity pools were the perfect temperature and the poolside beachside service was second to none. We tried all the restaurants and weren't disappointed by any. The Oriental has amazing sushi, the NY strip at the Steak restaurant was delicious, the Filet and garlic mashed potatoes at the Mexican restaurant were gourmet and LaTratto has huge shrimp, let's just call them prawns bc they were that big and good. All of the people working at the resort were very friendly and truly tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Beware of them trying to get you to take a tour and become a vacation club member. They were very persistent calling us each morning to invite us to take the tour. We just kept saying we weren't interested and moved on. They didn't hassle us too much, but I wouldn't get hooked into that bc I've been through those things before and they don't like taking NO for an answer and it wastes a lot of time out of your day on your vacation. The nightly shows are very entertaining. We really liked the Fire show. I would definitely go back to this resort. I love the couples only aspect and how small the hotel was 252 rooms compared to 2500+ at other resorts. It really allowed for a relaxing, welcoming vacation. I think I might try some of the tours next time and have some pictures done. That is an option I didn't know they had that you can use your resort points on. The pictures were really nice, I saw several couples. I also heard the Isla Mujeres tour was phenomenal. Things to look forward to in planning another trip. Happy vacationing everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brocker
Business
Ames, Iowa
Jun 27, 2011

Awesome Resort!

We came to the Sun Palace for our honeymoon and had a great experience 100%. From check-in to check-out we never had a complaint worth wasting our breath on. People who complain about anything on here are just to hard to please. The food is great quality and the options are plentiful. The staff is amazing and goes out of their way to take care of you. Service is fast and just as you ask. The daily/nightly entertainment is very cool. They had free shows each night varying from interactive activities like casino night(fake money) to dancing performances and fire jugglers. Used our 1500 resort credits for massages, dolphin swim, $300 credit at the Matis jewelry store at Cancun Palace(10 min bus ride north), romantic dinner on the beach, and a limo ride to the airport. Of course everything was overpriced and 1500 doesn't go as far as you'd think, but it was still an awesome promotion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oriental Lounge is awesome! I recommend the Yaki Udon entree. Also their spring rolls and California rolls are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeachBum30
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 23, 2011

Great Service, Great Stay!!!

Even though there was plenty to do, we relaxed the entire time. It rained and there was a lot of overcast but we made the best of it and the staff made us feel so welcome and made sure we were always having a good time. This trip was next to perfect and even though the sun was missing in action nothing else was. The food was excellent, the accommodations were clean and modern and the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. The pools were crystal clear but the beach area was so inviting that we were there every chance we got. Our drinking glasses were never empty and neither were our stomachs, best vacation yet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily couple
Business
Cancun
Jun 20, 2011

Great experience

Staying at the sun palace was different from the others I've stayed at. At first I was slightly disappointed because there was hardly anything to do at the hotel but, thankfully they had the 1500 resort credit that ultimately made it my favorite Mexican excperience. We got to try so many different things. I will definitely go back! The rooms were amazing and the food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Isla mujeres

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey27
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 11, 2011

Wonderful place for couples

My fiance and I went to Cancun for the first time and spent a week at the Sun Palace. We enjoyed our stay, as everyone at the resort was friendly, hospitable and ready to help you make your trip enjoyable. Would have wanted more activities, but expected this from previous reviews by others. Overall, we were glad to be there and would come back in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top