$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
341 reviews
Romantic Getaway

Hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. Romantic setting, great amenities, and food. Would... See full review

  • Chadski
  • Aug 6, 2014
dream honeymoon

Just got back from our amazing honeymoon at the sun palace. This all inclusive resort is absolutely... See full review

  • will mojito
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Collierville, Tn
Jul 25, 2011

Excellent Resort

Excellent Couples Only Resort, We will go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All Inclusive

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luxury Retreat Seeking Couple
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2011

Perfect Couples Escape

The Sun Palace was the perfect place to get away from everything and just spend time together. We loved the fact that the beach, pools, and hotel were not over-crowded with families, and that we could enjoy the spectacular views and luxurious hotel amenities without the frenetic sense of children running around. Our suite was modern and sleek, with many elegant touches and tasteful decor. We used our jacuzzi, the pools, and the beach without worry, always were able to obtain ample towels, drinks, and beach chairs, and had the ability to go between every facility and our suite conveniently. The hotel credits and honeymoon package allowed for us to go on many excursions (zip line, swim with the dolphins), and purchase many great gifts. We also took advantage of the spa and enjoyed a week of absolute pampering. The staff was courteous and responded promptly to all of our requests. It was wonderful to be able to eat and drink as much as we wanted, whenever we wanted. The only aspects that might be considered negative are that the food catered to the masses and we had to make special requests to the chefs to add more spice and flavor to our dishes, and the restaurant desserts were not really to our liking (though the room service cheesecake and chocolate cake were wonderful!). We ordered room service daily and visited all of the restaurants. We had plenty of time to do everything we wanted, including relaxing at the resort and tour and shop downtown (the bus stop was right outside the hotel). Although it was an escape, we still were able to call the U.S. (for free) and use the internet to check in with work as needed. This was by far our best vacation yet and we are already looking forward to visiting again, along with our friends. The Sun Palace was a safe, luxurious, perfect-sized resort that allowed for a completely worry-free and truly relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the bus over taxis; book all of your excursions right away and try to use the same company so as to get more deals; plan your outings so that you can eat free meals at all of the Palace resorts througout Cancun, Isla Mujeres,etc. and not worry about spending money on food if you leave the resort; and pack free drinks (water bottles)and/or boxed meals from the Palace for your excursions.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Jul 21, 2011

Amazing!!! We felt like Royalty!

Everything was perfect...from the Spa to the beach; the food and entertainment. We are hard-working middle class and find it hard to spend the kind of money we did for this resort; and we have never taken time to go on a vacation like this - we paid more than we had planned on because of a recommendation from our sister-in-law's sister, but when it was all said and done, my wife and I agreed that we would have paid more and still felt justified. While there we visited four other Place Resorts (and used their facilities because of our Sun Palace affiliation - Sun Palace is by far our favorite! We will likely never go on another vacation again if it's not 'All-inclusive!" (Because I'm a penny-pincher and with the All-inclusive I didn't have to count cost - even if I had Filet Migon and shrimp every night. We LOVED it and would recommend this Resort to ANYONE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 20, 2011

Sun Palace

This was our second trip to Sun Palace and we had a wonderful time. We did a few things different than last year and had a blast. Last year we didn't eat at the Thai Lounge but I talked my wife into going and she loved it. The breeze from the ocean on the outdoor dining area of the Thai Lounge was wonderful. My wife tried sushi for the first time and she loved it. Also, this year we hung out at the activities pool and beach area. We met a lot of nice couples and had fun hanging out drinking with them all day. The food over at the snack bar was also very good. We also learned that you could order food out on the beach, which we did. My wife loved being able to get grilled fish and vegetables on the beach without having to get up and go inside. We will be back again next year. Oh, we went by the Moon Palace and though it may be a wonderful resort, we thought it was way too crowded and went back to the Sun Palace instead of hanging out at the Moon Palace for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The jungle tour, swimming with dolphins, and zipline are tours we have done and would recommend. Also, the spa is very nice as we have been both times that we've stayed at the Sun Palace. We did the couples' massage both times and loved it.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Jul 18, 2011

Very relaxing resort

Very relaxing trip. Best beach we've seen of 4 cancun resorts. Infiniti pools were great as well. Food was above average for all-inclusive. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 17, 2011

Cancun 2011

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pig Out

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, Fl
Jul 11, 2011

Amazing Service

The hotel was wonderful and overall does not seem like a typical "all-inclusive." We were greeted with a flower and drinks which was nice. The rooms were very clean and kept that way the entire trip. FYI-The pillows are super soft and the bed are firm! We loved the in room Jacuzzi especially because it rained 2 days while we were there. We had a wonderful view of the beach and could hear the waves while in bed. At night, we were even able to watch loggerhead turtles come up on the beach and nest. What a once in a lifetime experience! The service was top notch-some of the best service I've ever received! The only person that didn't acknowledge me was the general manager! I couldn't believe it. I walked by him everyday and even stood across from him at the bar while he smoked a cigarette. He never once smiled or said a word to me. What a great example for your staff. I didn't have high expectations for the food but it was better then expected. We did start to get a little tired of the food by day 5 because it tends to be variations of the same food. We also visited the spa twice and then went above and beyond for service. The treatments were amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenga Champion
Orlando, FL
Jul 10, 2011

Great 10th Anniversary!

The Sun Palace is a terrific destination for couples to go and relax and be pampered. The location is only about 15 minutes from the airport which was nice on arrival and departure. The resort features two great infinity pools overlooking the ocean. One pool is quiet with relaxing music playing softly while the other has a lot more going on, including a swim up bar, pool volleyball twice daily, bingo, contemporary music, etc. The resort is pretty compact, meaning, you never had to walk a mile to get from your room to beach (as an example), which I have seen at some other similar resorts. The waitstaff and entertainment staff were extremely helpful and polite, however, there was still an occasional language barrier (which was probably expected). The spa was great as well. There are 4 separate restaurants, but there are also two other dinner options (romantic beach dinner and lobster dinner) with separate menus, so you can get a good variety to eat if you want. The beach was nice and literally right outside the hotel and below the pools. There were a few rocks on the beach, but I was told that was from the recent tropical storm that went nearby.The only things that kept this review from being a perfect 5-star in my book were as follows: The sun palace sells memberships, which is great for some folks, but that is not for us. They were a little pushy on this aspect. Also, I have been to all-inclusive resorts where tips were not only not only unexpected, but were not allowed. This is not the case here, so that was a little uncomfortable at first. Once I figured that out, it was fine, and a little money goes a long way. We paid for the concierge level primarily to get the premium liquor selections (which, in hindsight, was a great idea), however, they ran out of Bacardi Light and Absolute the day before we left, which was a little annoying.Like I said, the staff was great, especially [...]. They also have Jenga and Connect 4 in the Lobby bar, which was actually really cool. We would definitely go back and probably will in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian Resaurant has a great menu (in our opinion the best in the place), and they require the guys to wear pants. So, guys, pack some long pants, because you will probably want to eat there at least once and maybe more than that.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
#1Husband!
Fayetteville,AR
Jul 4, 2011

Resort credits ROCK!!!

We arrived in Cancun Mon night. We paid a fortune for cab service to/from airport. I would highly recommend calling the hotel ahead of time to set something up. They don't provide transportation but can help you get affordable ones not pay $100 roundtrip for 2 people like we did. Check in at the resort was a breeze. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. We were scheduled for a deluxe room but used resort credits to upgrade to a concierge level room. In doing so you get a 25min back massage for you both, dinner on the beach, reserved cushiony lounge chairs on the beach, upgraded alcohols, in room aromatherapy(the one with the euchalyptus is awesome) and better room service menu etc. I felt it was worth the upgrade. We used the rest of the resort credit for a couples massage and swimming with the dolphins. NOTE: we booked our massage just thinking we were booking 2 massages and they put us in the same room and called it a couples massage. I thought that was wonderful until I realized they charge $65 more for you to both be in the same room. We used resort credits and only paid $15 out of pocket but I wouldn't recommend doing them in the same room. You both have your eyes closed the entire time so it really doesn't matter if your in the same room or not. Just book the holistic massage for each of you. The massage was excellent in spite of that. Flortentina was great and it was a nice way to start the vacation. I would totally recommend swimming with the dolphins as well. There is an option to interact with the dolphins without swimming that looked like a lot of fun too, but we really enjoyed riding them. The resort was pristine and very modern chic. The view was spectacular and the ocean gorgeous. Not rocky or full of seaweed like you find at a lot of resorts down there. The infinity pools were the perfect temperature and the poolside beachside service was second to none. We tried all the restaurants and weren't disappointed by any. The Oriental has amazing sushi, the NY strip at the Steak restaurant was delicious, the Filet and garlic mashed potatoes at the Mexican restaurant were gourmet and LaTratto has huge shrimp, let's just call them prawns bc they were that big and good. All of the people working at the resort were very friendly and truly tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Beware of them trying to get you to take a tour and become a vacation club member. They were very persistent calling us each morning to invite us to take the tour. We just kept saying we weren't interested and moved on. They didn't hassle us too much, but I wouldn't get hooked into that bc I've been through those things before and they don't like taking NO for an answer and it wastes a lot of time out of your day on your vacation. The nightly shows are very entertaining. We really liked the Fire show. I would definitely go back to this resort. I love the couples only aspect and how small the hotel was 252 rooms compared to 2500+ at other resorts. It really allowed for a relaxing, welcoming vacation. I think I might try some of the tours next time and have some pictures done. That is an option I didn't know they had that you can use your resort points on. The pictures were really nice, I saw several couples. I also heard the Isla Mujeres tour was phenomenal. Things to look forward to in planning another trip. Happy vacationing everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brocker
Ames, Iowa
Jun 27, 2011

Awesome Resort!

We came to the Sun Palace for our honeymoon and had a great experience 100%. From check-in to check-out we never had a complaint worth wasting our breath on. People who complain about anything on here are just to hard to please. The food is great quality and the options are plentiful. The staff is amazing and goes out of their way to take care of you. Service is fast and just as you ask. The daily/nightly entertainment is very cool. They had free shows each night varying from interactive activities like casino night(fake money) to dancing performances and fire jugglers. Used our 1500 resort credits for massages, dolphin swim, $300 credit at the Matis jewelry store at Cancun Palace(10 min bus ride north), romantic dinner on the beach, and a limo ride to the airport. Of course everything was overpriced and 1500 doesn't go as far as you'd think, but it was still an awesome promotion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Oriental Lounge is awesome! I recommend the Yaki Udon entree. Also their spring rolls and California rolls are great.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search