$423 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
347 reviews
Anniversary trip

Had a great stay! First time Cancun trip and this was a perfect couples retreat!!! See full review

  • Shannon M.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great trip!!

Excellent hotel!! We had a great stay. Great service, great location. We would definitely stay... See full review

  • JUAN CARLOS S.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & Whirlpool
Superior deluxe Ocean view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Deluxe - Resort View with Whirlpool
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & Whirlpool
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Whirlpool, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 23, 2011

Romantic Couples Getaway

The most appealing comment i would like to make, is that there are absolutely no children at this resort. It caters to couples, and exceeds all of my expectations, from my arrival, till the part i hated the most the very end. The Staff are the friendliest, most helpful, courteous, people. For 8 days and seven nights, i cannot even think of one bad thing to say. They were absolutely the best with me and my girlfriend. Anything we asked for, we got it with a smile and right away. The service as far as, room service, beach service, lobby bar service, front desk service, tours service, transportation, waiters, cleaning of our room, was phenomenol !! We had 1500 resort credits, so we decided to upgrade our room to a presidential suite on the 8th floor. The view was amazing, we saw the beautiful blue ocean and beach on oneside, and we can also see the front of the hotel, roadside and a lagoon on that side. The room was fabulous, and always kept so clean. We used the jacuzzi every single nite after being out all day, it was so soothing and comforting. If you decide to upgrade, you wont be dissapointed. Comfort was the best !! At night there were either shows going on in the theatre, or after 9pm some fun get togethers with all other couples in hotel at the hotel lobbybar. Kareoke, Spanish rock band playing live, and they played classic english rock too. And couples events. Ofcourse the drinks kept on comin , all the while through. The Tours were all fantastic. one tour in particular was Xplor. From ziplining, to driving a 4x4 vehicle, to swimming in an undergound river, and rafting as well. It was a truly amazing experience, i loved very much. Chichen-itza was about the Mayan cicvilization history, and tours of ruins, with a wonderful luch as well. Very informative and beautiful. Our tour giude was Erak Martinez, he was the best. Xcaret was awesome too! we did Snuba and snorkeling, and took sun on their beautiful beaches. Enjoyed the aquarium, and Tucan birds, and a wonderful nite show. Isla mujeres was a nice place to relax at. They took us vis boat to this beatiful island, where activities such as snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, drinks and food was great. Swimming pools, wwere all great! I am 45 years old and my girlfriend is 42 years old. We made the best of our getaway at the Sun Palace, and it is highly recommended. The value is amazing and i felt i really got alot more for my money on this trip. The restaurants were gourmet food everynite, we dressed verynice for dinner every nite, it was so romantic. Me and my girlfriend really needed this getaway from the everyday stress in New York City. We had the best stay here at Sun Palace, for us they got it 100 % right. We will be back sometime in the future, and we will be using anyone of the Palace Resorts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring alot of one dollar bills, before you get here. I tipped from the time i got here till the time i left. I appreciated everyone and anyone who took care of us. And when we tipped the service got even better. So, dont be cheap and take care of all who service you in this resort. They deserve it !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peajay84
Business
Central, NE, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Hotel - Disappointing Weather

This was our first time to Cancun and our first stay with Palace Resorts. I wish there would have been some sun outside Sun Palace. Even with the poor weather our stay at the hotel exceeded our expectations. Almost every staff member we encountered seemed genuinely friendly and cared about providing a positive experience for the guests. We didn't like the first room assigned to us ( a deluxe oceanview on the 7th floor with a VERY tiny balcony) so we asked to see another one with a larger balcony. Using the promotional resort credits we were able to upgrade to a Junior Suite on the the 1st floor located above the activity pool. It not only had a larger balcony, but the room itself had more space to move around. Our room was cleaned and straightened every day and every evening but one we received turn down service with a different cute towel animal waiting for us on the jacuzzi tub. The food was good at every restaurant we ate at (all but the Steak). The service at each was very attentive and the menu selections were more than adequate. The drinks were always made to your request and were usually refilled without the last drink being finished. Our favorites were the Mojito's and 1800 Margarita's. Other things we used the promotional resort credits for were the Romantic dinner which was excellent, couple's massage which my husband thought was divine (his first massage ever), tequila giftsets (which will probably be given as Christmas gifts since I doubt I can match the margarita's from the resort), a beach photo session package, and wines from the upgraded wine list at one meal (once I discovered they had a house Pinot Noir that was good I didn't need to upgrade again). One drawback I can see is the noise carry through from the above rooms. Due to the bare slate floors every chair drag and footstep can be heard which is annoying when the guests above you are either night owls or early risers. I'm a light sleeper so always travel with my white noise player and ear buds so this didn't bother me as much as it might others. The only other drawback may only have been due to the bad weather there was for most all our trip. Because we basically had to stay indoors the whole time it got kind of boring. There were a few evenings of activity in the lobby bar that broke the monotany but during the day the only thing to due was sip drinks and stare at the rain out the windows. Thank goodness for my Kindle but that didn't help my hubby much. All in all it was a great trip and if we ever return to Cancun to give the weather a second chance we will certainly keep Sun Palace in mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Sun Palace is one of the closest resorts to the airport which is much appreciated when you've been traveling since before dawn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigR
Business
Greeley, CO, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Honey Moon to the nines

Had a great time, great time and good service. The resort is beautiful and it was awesome to be able to go to other palace resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TaEkWoNV
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

My All-inclusive Cancun Vacation

The hotel was clean & beautiful. A variety of available food & drinks were great. Courteous hotel staff to top off everything. I will definitely go back to Sun Palace in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rsonner
Business
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Couples vacation

Can't imagine a better couples-only resort in Cancun. Or anywhere else. The staff will bend over backward to do anything you need. The food and drinks are excellent. Pools are amazing. Rooms, with jacuzzi, are always clean. Spa is unbelievable. Can't say enough good things about this place. This was our second time there, and we're definitely going back. Soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Alamo restaurant in the hotel serves amazing Mexican food at night. During the day, it's a great spot for breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BooBoo1260
Business
Massillon, OH, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great adult vacation spot

This is a great adults only resort. Great variety of foods and drinks to choose from. They have many activities and tours to choose from or you can just lay on the beach all day and be pampered. The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist you. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The only thing missing in the room is more privacy in the bathroom area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside the hotel is a bus stop that costs about 90 cents to board and it will take you to the shopping areas. The route is very easy to follow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erie
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Wonderful weekend getaway!

Sun Palace was amazing!!! We had stayed at another palace resort before that we loved but this was our first experience at Sun Palace. We used our palace points to upgrade our room which was a good idea. We had a wonderful view! The beach was gorgeous and we enjoyed the quiet pool :) The workers were so friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing as well!!! We just loved the atmosphere and honestly never left Sun Palace the 3 days we were there. We will definitely be back to Sun Palace!!! We had the most relaxing weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hhelper
Business
Renton, WA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Great Quiet Vacation with bonuses

Awesome vacation and great value. This was our first all-inclusive vacation and our first Mexico vacation. I think it would still be great without the bonus 2000 points promotion they had for us. Rooms are great, the hot tub in the room is nice. You get the basic vodka, rum, whiskey and tequilla in your minibar along with beer and soft drinks and water. Note that the water in the resort is filtered, so no chance of getting sick apparently. Room service is super quick and everyone is super friendly. Overall great experience. We went to 3 other palaces resort on this trip and ate at all of them. This is really a plus with the palace resorts where you can hop between palaces to try different things. The beach at Sun is still the best. Quiet, clean, white sand, etc. The food is mostly great. Some pieces of meat could be better. Dinner on the beach uses a lot of points but will get you the best food possible. Do the 8 pm one to not feel rushed by the 2nd service having to start. The spa was great, we used quite a few points there getting a facial, manicure, pedicure and a couples massage. Drink service is fast and plentiful. Margaritas were a bit on the sweet side and vodka martinis are mostly bad. However if you find the right drink or the bartender that will serve you the fancy alcohol, stay there and tip him or her. Great and quiet location. A bit far from downtown but the bus runs every minute it seems. Excursions to Chichen Itza and Isla murejes are just that, excursions. I'd recommend to do them and be prepared for a long day. Overall, to do again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring lots of 1$ to tip, we ran out and getting change is a lot of hassle. Coco bongo is a must. Market 28, not so much.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBSJAS
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great relaxing vacation

We had 5 wonderful nights at the Sun Palace! Food and drinks were good, 1500 promotion was useful, staff were perfect. This was our 4th time in Cancun and can definitely say that this is one of the top hotels in Cancun and an all-inclusive that operates better than most others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want something, ask. This hotel is more than willing to go beyond their menu to make your trip wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlala
Business
High Point, NC, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Palace resorts do it right!!

Beautiful property with exceptional staff. Everything was just as described. Love the Concierge floor. Will definately return to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to use your credit on a massage. Total Relaxation....Enjoy. This is paradise....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top