$420 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan KM 20, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
561 reviews
dream honeymoon

Just got back from our amazing honeymoon at the sun palace. This all inclusive resort is absolutely... See full review

  • will mojito
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great couples getaway

Service is excellent at this resort. Stayed here for 4 nights for a couples getaway. Rooms are... See full review

  • Chad H
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxe romantic beachfront resort with in-room hot tubs
The Sun Palace in Cancun, Mexico, is a beach-front hotel designed exclusively for couples. The hotel has an indoor pool and three outdoor infinity pools that appear as though they are spilling into the ocean. Friendly customer service and a host of modern amenities are available. The convenient location of the hotel puts it in close proximity to many recreational activities, but guests feel like they have their own private sanctuary when in their rooms. The accommodation includes a Jacuzzi, private balcony, king-sized bed and panoramic views. The five restaurants and three bars ensure you'll never go hungry.

Guests staying at Sun Palace are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace, and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts.
Reasons to stay
  • Couples-only vibe is ideal for romantic getaways
  • Proximity to beach, shops, dining and recreation
  • Breathtaking views from every room
Sun Palace rooms
The modern, contemporary style of the rooms and suites at the Sun Palace are designed to provide tranquility and comfort. Each of the 252 rooms comes with a balcony that provides great views of the Caribbean Sea or Nichupte Lagoon, as well as large glass doors leading to the balcony that also allow generous views while inside. Amenities and services include an LCD TV with satellite, free wireless Internet, plush bathrobes and slippers, nightly turndown service and 24-hour concierge service.
Things to do nearby
  • Downtown Cancun (17 mi /27 km)
  • Puerto Moreles (22 mi/ 35 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (46 mi/74.9 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (82 mi/131 km)
  • Ancient Coba Ruins (99 mi/160 km)

Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Room Level Ocean View
1 King bed. Double Whirlpool Tub. Seating area. Balcony with table & chairs. In-room welcome bottle of wine upon arrival. Private bath w/shower features LOCCITANE bath amenities, Bathrobes/slippers. In-room Liquor dispenser features premium brand names. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices, domestic & imported beers . In-room snacks include chips, chocolates, peanuts & crackers. Special Menu 24-hour room service with select items from our restaurants. Pillow menu. Exclusive Beach bag (one per room/per stay). Digital safe (laptop size) & Individually-controlled A/C. Lavazza Coffee Maker imported from Italy. DVD player & IPod dock. CHI branded hair tools . ironing board/ Wireless Internet & LCD TV w/satellite. Private Check-In / Out . Early Check- in /Late Check Out (upon request & subject to availability)
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Pacakge
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Superior Deluxe Ocean View with balcony & jacuzzi
Superior deluxe lagoon view Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 6 & 7 (non-smoking) and 8 (smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Conciege Level Rooms also feature:
Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay). Exclusive Concierge Service with personalized service (located on the 5th floor). Private check-in & out / Late check-out & Early check-in (upon request and subject to availability). Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/American Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. Non-Smoking rooms only. Ocean View. Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi with Golf Package
Each suite features:
-1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only.
Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka, Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer, LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe (laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker, Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple)
-574 Sq. Ft
-2010 Golf Package includes a round of golf daily (per room), transportation, snacks, beverages and shared cart.
Deluxe - Resort View
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on floors 1 & 2 (non-smoking). Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits. Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital safe (laptop size). Individually-controlled A/C. Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock. Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service. Non-smoking & Smoking rooms. Views of resort or common areas. Max Occupancy: 2 (couple). 435 Sq. Ft.
Jr. Suite with balcony & jacuzzi
Each suite features:
1 King bed, Seating area, Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine and Fruits, Private bath w/ shower only. Balcony with chairs & table, Liquor Dispenser contains whiskey, tequila, rum & vodka. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water, juices & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, Purified Water, Chi Bath Amenities, Bathrobes & Slippers, Digital safe laptop size, Individually-Controlled A/C, Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair Dryer, Iron/ironing board, Wireless Internet, 24-Hour room service & Turndown Service, Non-Smoking & smoking rooms, 2 rooms for the Physically Challenged with double beds, Ocean View, Max occupancy: 2 (couple). 574 Sq. Ft
Concierge Level
Each elegantly appointed guest room features:
1 King bed. Located on the 5th floor(non-smoking). Seating area. Double Jacuzzi, In Room Wine & Fruits. Private bath w/shower only. Balcony with chairs & table. Liquor dispenser with premium, upgraded brands of liquor: Bacardi White Rum, Jose Cuervo Tequila, J&B Whisky and Barton Vodka. LCD TV w/ Satellite. DVD Player, CD Player. Chi Bath Amenities. Two(2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa/Treatment rooms (location varies per resort), Bathrobes & Slippers. Exclusive Beach Bag (1 per room/per stay). Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Waiter Service. Aromatherapy menu. 24-Hr room service with select menu from restaurants to create a "Special Menu".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.0438 -86.7831
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 12 minutes and distance is 12 km (7.5 mi).
Area description
The Sun Palace is only 8 miles from Cancun International airport, 17 miles from downtown Cancun and 10 miles from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.1 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 4.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 7.3 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 7.4 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 7.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 8.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities available with a maximum capacity of 180 (banquet style).

Dining

Lobby Bar
Bar service from 9:00 am - 1:00 am, Tea time- 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Beach Bar
From 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Pool Bar
From: 11:00am - 5:00pm
El Alamo
Mexican cuisine. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and Mexican cuisine a la carte for dinner.
La Tratto
-Cuisine: Italian
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual elegance. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
The Steak
-Cuisine: Fine cuts, seafood and fish
-Dinner a la carte: From 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
-Dress code: Casual. Wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Oriental Lounge
Thai/Oriental Cuisine a la carte for Dinner.
Pool Snack Bar
Snacks a la carte From 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (561)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
561 out of 561
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
charleshomerbill
Nebraska
Jan 14, 2013

Awesome Stay

The wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff is responsive and friendly, almost meditative. A few points. The surf is wade-able, almost a battle. Swim-able waves are a fifteen minute walk south. Understand the resort credit or you may end up with unexpected room charges. And lastly, enjoy the all inclusive food and drinks, both in supply and quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Be aware of resort credits and how they work with room charges at in hotel shopping.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. SO
Irvine, CA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

The best

The service is excellent. All the staff are great. Will share this experience with friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulB61
Rhode Island
Nov 20, 2011

Sun Palace Cancun

Service was impeccable. Food was very good. Rooms very nice. Watersports not located on property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to Cancun Tulum Ave for shopping. If traveling with American Express Traveler's Checks, be sure to bring your passport with you to be able to convert to Pesos.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wingz
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Sun Palace Perfect

Sun Palace is a perfect hotel for couples.It is quiet, right on the beach, beautiful and no children. We upgraded to concierge level with Palace Resort credits at 135 credits per night. We bought the least expensive room and airfare package on this site, which by the way was $150-500 cheaper than any other site, The upgrade was worth it. 6th floor, HUGE balcony and a million dollar veiw of the beach. In my opinion, it's the best view of beach for the money in Cancun. Food is good to excellent. Only 4 places to eat so take the $1 public bus to Beach or Cancun Palace to add variety. Only 10 minutes. Drinks. Fantastic. Palace has so many Top-Shelf. Just ask. All the staff is so nice and helpful so please tip when you recieve good service. Best vacation ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the public bus, not Taxis, to Cancun and Beach Palace to add dinner options.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dream Catcher
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Fantastic Getaway for Couples

Wonderful...relaxing...beautiful. As parents, we both love children. However, when it's time for you and your Babe to have some 'alone' time I would recommend Sun Palace. You can chill out or stay as busy as you like. The Staff are excellent, funny, attentitive, very interactive, they really added to the experience. Our first night we were suprised to see towel swans and rose peddals on the bed...sweet :-). We also celebrated a birthday and came home from an awesome dining experience from Harry's to a birthday cake and champagne...again...sweet. To enhance your experiences I suggest you bring sufficient cash, we took taxis most of the time, not cheap, and there's a lot of tipping. My only complaint was the vendors in the lobby, you are bombarded and have no choice but to sit with one of the Rep's to receive your vouchers for activities...that part was pretty gruelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harry's. One of the best dining experiences you will ever have. Top notch service, excellent food...a shout out to Aldo and David!

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lil baby Jesus
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Excellent Getaway with my wife.

Went to the adults only resort with my wife for our anniversary. It was our first time in Cancun and our first all inclusive resort. We have now learned that all inclusive is the way to go. The Sun Palace is on the lower portion of the Hotel Zone. It's away from the hustle and bustle of the other hotels and makes for a great getaway. Hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly. The food was great. We ate at all the different restaurants. We definately took advantage of the $1,500 resort credit. We were upgraded to the 8th floor with a private balcony and ocean view. Don't waste your money booking a more expensive room...use your resort points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the atm in the hotel for a small fee of $2 or bring pesos. The resort was exchanging U.S. currency at a rate of 11 pesos per dollar, when the exchange rate was 13.70. bus downtown is only 17 pesos per couple or $2...you do the math.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honeymooner15
Brownsburg, IN, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great Trip

The hotel was Great, staff was friendly, this was a great vactation. Food is average but they are willing to make anything you want so there is bound to be somethign available you would like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second Honeymoon
New Jersey
Nov 14, 2011

Pleasant but underwhelming

We had a very pleasant experience at the Sun Palace hotel. We have done many all-inclusive vacations and found that this hotel chain ranked at the top of our list compared to the other resorts that we have visited, Iberostar and Melia. What the Palace does well. • The room was impeccable. Very clean and well designed and comfortable. We were upgraded to a Presidential suite, which was a nice touch. We used $750 of the $1500 credit that the hotel offered as a promotion. The room only had a partial beach view. Try to get the full beach view the view is spectacular. • The food was surprisingly well prepared and the best that I have seen at an all-inclusive. Don’t get your hopes up its still an all-inclusive not Del Friscos. • The hotel is cozy so it gives you more of an exclusive feel. • Love the wine bottles offered at dinner and in your room. This is a nice touch. The brand is a house brand but it was not a bad wine. • Love the idea that you could have meals at any of the Palace hotels. All of the restaurants have a different feel and way of preparing the food. Nice touch although you are on your own to get to the other hotels. • The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They really seemed to want to help. From the bellhop to the maid they all really seem dedicated and responsive. What the Sun Palace could do better • Transportation to the Moon Palace was not easy as it’s very out of the way. You needed to go via taxi and that was about $17 each way. The other hotels were easy to get to if you did not mind riding the bus for $1 each way. • Pools are small, though there are several, only one is actually large enough to enjoy. But, if you like to be alone with your spouse this is a plus. I am not sure how they could improve on this but felt that I should mention it. • The beach and pool lounge chair cushions need a good cleaning. • Don’t have the pizza in the Italian restaurants trust me. • The drinks are mediocre at best. But, I have not found an all-inclusive that did not break the bank that excels in this department. • A bit elitist with the concierge level. If you could get upgraded do so as you will get the nice comfy chairs at the beach. I did not like the signs on the beach separating the concierge guests from the other guests. Especially when it seemed that most people were at the concierge level. • Don’t get sucked into the 90-minute presentation. The one that’s not supposed to be a time-share presentation. There is a new name for an old sales pitch and it’s called a vacation club. Not worth the $200 spa credit. • The spa is not well designed. To get to some of the massage rooms you have to walk out of the spa. You literally need to walk into the main pool and then walk up a flight of stairs to get to the rooms. • Having the steak house outside by the pool deck probably is not the best location. The hotel already lacks pool and deck space and at 3pm they close one of the pools to bring in tables for the steak house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No shoes no shirt no prob
Michigan, USA
Nov 12, 2011

We will be returning next year!

Great staff, great food, not the "party in the pool" all night hotel. I really have no complaints about the hotel or the staff. The staff always has smile and a warm greeting, and are willing to provide you with anything you need. Great "can do" attitude. I will list some other information. The room was very clean and the mini fridge was always restocked at your request. A new bottle of wine in the room every night was a nice touch. I recommend the junior suite with ocean view. Setting on the balcony in the morning as the sun came up was great. Also having the door open while setting in the hot tub allowed us to listen to the waves. Very relaxing! The work out area is quite large for those of you who feel the need get in shape while your there. The beach area - It's close to the resort and looses sun early in the day. Also, make sure that you reserve a chair for the morning or you will be stuck with the non-padded chair. Room location - check out the location of the room to the angle of the sun. Our room was over the main pool which gave us sun until late in the afternoon. Travel to and from the airport - If this is your first time traveling to Canucn it's probably the way to go. When you arrive there will be lots of cab's available if you choose not to. Airport - don't get caught up by one of the tourist guys as you walk out of the terminal. They are just tring to sell you tours and packages. Just say no thanks and continue out. I hope your trip goes as well as ours did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Exchanging travelers checks in the hotel is more expensive, and the ATM will charge you $5 + a 27% tax.

Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Tricia
Houston, TX
Nov 1, 2011

Couples Getaway

This hotel was just as pretty as the pictures that we observed on the internet. The staff was extremely helpful at all times. We just did not like the pressure we received to attend the timeshare presentation which we did not do. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sun Palace Couples Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frozeninvt
Burlington, VT, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Our Stay at the Sun Palace

First, I absolutely loved the Sun Palace. I loved the scale of the hotel, the beach, and our room. Our room was absolutely lovely. We have to especially thank Jaime for taking the time to show us a few available rooms till we found one we liked. Thank you! This was our first experience with an all-inclusive hotel, and it exceeded our expectations. Really loved the calm atmosphere, the helpful staff, and the food. Some very minor stuff--the concierge staff on the third floor didn't seem too interested in being helpful after we upgraded and there could be wine openers in the room. Otherwise, perfect! I miss the turquoise ocean and warm sun! Thank you for a lovely, lovely vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

skip any presentations and enjoy the beach instead!

Back to menu Return to top