$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd Kukulcan Lote 64, Seccion A 2 Etapa 2.H., Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
481 out of 481
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Seeking Sunshine
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 21, 2011

Shouldn't be called a resort!

Check in and check out were horrible. Our room was disgusting. They pushed two double beds together to make a king size bed. The door to the adjoining room was open and couldn't be locked. The closet door was broken and you had to go ask the front desk for a key to lock the safe. So we paid $30US per day to upgrade to a smaller room w/a king size bed, digital safe and balcony on the first floor. The food in the restaurants, with the exception of Marco Polo, were bland and they had the same exact buffet every day. The snack bar was ok. The liquor was disgusting, nothing was top shelf! This was the absolute worst stay I've ever had in any resort. I'm still wondering why they call it a resort. The best part of our stay was snorkeling and visiting the Mayan ruins. I'll never stay in anything owned by Solaris again. This is more like a 2 star hotel. However, the hospitality of the wait staff in all of the restaurants was impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Once you arrive and are looking for ground transportation to your hotel, pay the time share ppl $50us for two activities, rather than paying the hotel $75-100us pp for each activity.

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corky Brown
Business
Sissonville, West Virginia
Jun 29, 2009

Not what it is cracked up to be!

There were 2 towers at Royal Solaris and the first thing we were told, AFTER WE GOT THERE, was that 1 of the towers was shut down and now instead of 7 restaurants, we had 3 to choose from. Hotel appeared to be a little run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waste your time going to market 28. The venors were very over-bearing and constantly in your face.

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Jun 10, 2010

royal solaris

when i was checking in, i didnt like the location of the building that my room is at, so they said they will change it the next day. however, despite that i have to wake up early to check out and swtich rooms, they said that they never made arrangement for me to switch buildings. i ended up staying in the same building with different rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Jimmy 2
Business
Southern California
Feb 12, 2014

It's was below average!

- It's not "No smoking rooms/facilities". Floor we were on people smoked often. - Facility is somewhat old. We had to call maintenance to fix noise coming from air conditioning unit. - They don't have Room Service either as advertised. - If you have kids, I wouldn't recommend staying on first floor as noise from music is very loud and could be bothersome to kids. Music goes on until 12AM. In our case they weren't accommodative to change the room. - I would recommend looking at room before you check-in. Some rooms are nicer than others and has better views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sprinkler Man
Business
Plymouth MI
Feb 28, 2014

Never Again

My wife and I arrived at the hotel for a eight day vacation. There were no bell boys there to assist with our luggage at the front entrance. Concierge was very rude and gave us our room key. We went to the room and noticed it smelled like smoke. We asked for a different room and were directed toward a different room. That room was filthy and the window was broke, so it was not shut all the way and was making a horrible sound due to the high winds. We went back to speak with the concierge and were told to go to a different hotel. I told them that was not acceptable and I did not want to mess around trying to get my money back from the online travel agency. So they gave us a room in their sister hotel next door. This room was nicer inside, but there was a tennis court directly outside out window and we were never able to open the windows. Three nights we complained about lights shining in the windows from the tennis court, but they told us to leave the hotel if we are not happy. The food was mediocre, we really expected more. The pools were nice, but the attitude we dealt with from the staff was unacceptable. I would not recommend going to this hotel for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJ2733
Business
Texas City, TX
Mar 27, 2014

Mildew smell brings down this lovesly resort

This could be a gem with the beautiful setting and beach. The outdoor amenities and the pools are great. The bones of the hotel are really nice. Rooms were large and the staff was amazingly wonderful. However, the musty smell in the corridors and the rooms spoils the stay since you have to smell it while trying to sleep. Also, the food is not 3 star, but maybe 2 star. Plenty of it but they need a managing chef who knows how to cook good food. The staff and the beach and the beautiful water was the best but can't give any hotel over 2 stars with those smells and that food. Sorry :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down town to book your excursions. You can take the bus for a few pesos and the prices is almost half of what it is through the hotel.

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Migzzz
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Rooms need upgrades but staff was excellent! Frm NY

The beach was perfect but the waves in november are a bit rough, drinks were flowing but light unless u requested heavy ones. The Pros goes to friendly staff, Beach, , lunch, dinner, better selections especially Marco Polo restaurant option near lobby. Cons go to breakfast --coffee is so weak an food repetitive and rooms had very stiff beds they feel like ur in a motel not hotel and online piks of the golden rooms belong to Grand solaris not royal a bit deceptive.....also the selection of tv cabling bad but the biggest con has got to go to Timeshare Pushers who offer you Excursions in return for ur time usually 3 hours. BUY ur own excursions and forgo the sales pitches especially after just checking in they direct you to their sales clerk who comes off as a host but he's a timeshare seller Beware Also this place is more family oriented who are on a budget an more for kids an not for the romantically inclined or anniversary type couple.. After much talk an investigation RIU Palace an Dreams Hotel close to the shopping mall are far better scenarios for couples an singles looking to make it happen...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Polite hustlers are everywhere geeez!! Biggest TIP as soon as u get out of the plane and grab ur luggage you will be swamped at the airport on ur way out by TIME share Smooth talking sales rep offering all kinds of deals in excahange for ur time..BE RUDE and move on....... The real action is going Downtown on a BUS no taxis plz and shopping..Believe me ZERO Crime no worries taking da bus... GET urself a good map or staff advice and go buy them Mayan Calendar Aztec designs and discounted Tequila for friends back home.. Excursions just grab the telephone directory or the million brochures around the lobby--dont buy online just kill all these middle men..... Finally when booking an international flight YOU MUST BE at AIrPORT 3 HOURS!!!!!!! before Otherwise YOU Cannot board plane!!!!! LISTEN to me be at airport 3 hours+ not as a courtesy as a RULE!!!!! We missed a day an had to pay a penalty at TACA airlines. I will never book wit them again!!!!!!!

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TATATrixx
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Really?

This was not a place that I will go again. The rooms were terrible. When we checked in, the first room we got did not have a lock on the safe. Additionally, my husband and I were only traveling together, and we got a room with two twin beds. I asked for a room with a King and they told me none were available. When I asked for one at the front desk for a lock for the safe, I was told they don't have locks for every safe. Um... then why is it called a safe? I told them I couldnt stay there without a safe, and the manager upgraded us to a room with an electronic safe. This room did have a king size bed, even though we were told none were available. When we tried to shower.... the plug came out and sprayed everywhere. it got to the point where I didnt even shower becuase it was such a hassle to get it going!! Not my idea of a vacation. We did use the marina to ride a Hobie Cat... it was only free for 30 minutes though and it was in the lagoon and not theocean. Still, that was fun. The food was just ok. The problem was, there was not a lot of variety from night to night. The fancy restaurant, Marco Polo, was decent, but again there was not much to choose from. The pool area was nice enough, but it was arranged so weird. The chairs were not really in the sun, and the sun went behind the building by 330 pm. The drinks were weak, but they were free and for the most part made quickly. There were lots of families, and it isnt the type of place I would recommend at all for anyone just looking for a good time. The bellboys were great, as was Andres. Other than that, I would definitely skip this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out Marco Polo first, bring pants and shoes guys because it's "fancy dress".

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SandraLV
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 2, 2012

The beach is the only thing worth paying for!!!

I just visited the royal Solaris with my husband and two friends. The hotel it's self is nothing special, I do have to say they do keep it very clean. The building is over dated and needs remodeling asap! Grounds are beautiful as well but this hotel was HOT 30 years ago! The food is terrible!!! All of us were literally sick and it's in the bathroom the whole trip! Do not eat the food from the snack bar, it's greasy and they never change the oil. There is really no selection for the alcohol as well. They had no corona or any other drinks that are served else where. I do have to say the staff is amazing!! They are awesome. Alejandro, Ignacio, Miguel and Rosa just to name a few were just amazing! Their beach is definitely the best. It's worth a million bucks. I couldn't get enough of it. Marco Polo restaurant looks all high class and all but the food isn't all that! I would recommend this hotel to someone that really doesn't care about the food or the room. I personally would never go back there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Extreme Mexicano, across from coco bongo

Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chicago stylist
Business
illinois
Dec 18, 2012

would not stay again

toilet leaked. no balacony. no mini bar & no room service except breakfast which included both on web site. should have stayed at the gr solaris had pleasant time there in feb and sept 2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top