$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd Kukulcan Lote 64, Seccion A 2 Etapa 2.H., Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
581 out of 581
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benand Linda
USA, Los Angeles Cal.
Dec 18, 2012

wonderful for family vacation/honneymoon

this is one among the best vacation experience we had, everything was good, the hotel is a niece place to stay, people are friendly especially the staff employees ,laborers and workers in the hotel.they were very friendly , and very nice. I am very proud of them because they are doing their job very well, one way of encouraging patrons to come back for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C.S.Staff
Business
Versailles, Kentucky
Jul 12, 2010

Not worth the money!!

This hotel has not been updated at all. The rooms are very small poorly lit and smell bad. I could look past all of this because I wanted to spend most of my time at the beach. Which I could not do for the first day and a half because of all of the time share sales staff wanting me to see a 90 min presentation. I was told I would receive free tickets to several shows, party boat and other excursions that are not appropriate for my small children. Once I agreed to see the presentation which lasted well over two hours I was shown the room I could be staying in if I was a time share member along with all of the extra perks. When I told the sales lady I could not afford the $24k plus closing cost with only 20% down payment to be a member. And my main reason for this is that I wasn't impressed with the service of the hotel or the member's room. I was then told "Well if you're not a member your service is not going to be as good." This is a true statement. Please do not stay at this resort keep your money and stay home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Seeking Sunshine
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 21, 2011

Shouldn't be called a resort!

Check in and check out were horrible. Our room was disgusting. They pushed two double beds together to make a king size bed. The door to the adjoining room was open and couldn't be locked. The closet door was broken and you had to go ask the front desk for a key to lock the safe. So we paid $30US per day to upgrade to a smaller room w/a king size bed, digital safe and balcony on the first floor. The food in the restaurants, with the exception of Marco Polo, were bland and they had the same exact buffet every day. The snack bar was ok. The liquor was disgusting, nothing was top shelf! This was the absolute worst stay I've ever had in any resort. I'm still wondering why they call it a resort. The best part of our stay was snorkeling and visiting the Mayan ruins. I'll never stay in anything owned by Solaris again. This is more like a 2 star hotel. However, the hospitality of the wait staff in all of the restaurants was impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Once you arrive and are looking for ground transportation to your hotel, pay the time share ppl $50us for two activities, rather than paying the hotel $75-100us pp for each activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corky Brown
Business
Sissonville, West Virginia
Jun 29, 2009

Not what it is cracked up to be!

There were 2 towers at Royal Solaris and the first thing we were told, AFTER WE GOT THERE, was that 1 of the towers was shut down and now instead of 7 restaurants, we had 3 to choose from. Hotel appeared to be a little run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waste your time going to market 28. The venors were very over-bearing and constantly in your face.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Jun 10, 2010

royal solaris

when i was checking in, i didnt like the location of the building that my room is at, so they said they will change it the next day. however, despite that i have to wake up early to check out and swtich rooms, they said that they never made arrangement for me to switch buildings. i ended up staying in the same building with different rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix Arizona
Jan 8, 2010

Horrible place...stay away !

All of the bad reviews you should believe!Everything from the rooms to the food was horrible. So bad that we left the hotel and went to another property! We tried to move to the Grand Solaris, but they said it was full, although, when we walked over to that hotel, they said they had rooms available. Total run around, not to mention the entire hotel smells of fish-gone-bad! Lots of screaming kids everywhere! Good food service workers was the only decent thing at that hotel.The food itself was mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are taking time off work, paying for the flight to get to cancun, do yourself a favor...stay at a nice hotel...they have lots of nice hotels in Cancun, just ot the Royal(not so royal)Solaris.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Jimmy 2
Business
Southern California
Feb 12, 2014

It's was below average!

- It's not "No smoking rooms/facilities". Floor we were on people smoked often. - Facility is somewhat old. We had to call maintenance to fix noise coming from air conditioning unit. - They don't have Room Service either as advertised. - If you have kids, I wouldn't recommend staying on first floor as noise from music is very loud and could be bothersome to kids. Music goes on until 12AM. In our case they weren't accommodative to change the room. - I would recommend looking at room before you check-in. Some rooms are nicer than others and has better views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sprinkler Man
Business
Plymouth MI
Feb 28, 2014

Never Again

My wife and I arrived at the hotel for a eight day vacation. There were no bell boys there to assist with our luggage at the front entrance. Concierge was very rude and gave us our room key. We went to the room and noticed it smelled like smoke. We asked for a different room and were directed toward a different room. That room was filthy and the window was broke, so it was not shut all the way and was making a horrible sound due to the high winds. We went back to speak with the concierge and were told to go to a different hotel. I told them that was not acceptable and I did not want to mess around trying to get my money back from the online travel agency. So they gave us a room in their sister hotel next door. This room was nicer inside, but there was a tennis court directly outside out window and we were never able to open the windows. Three nights we complained about lights shining in the windows from the tennis court, but they told us to leave the hotel if we are not happy. The food was mediocre, we really expected more. The pools were nice, but the attitude we dealt with from the staff was unacceptable. I would not recommend going to this hotel for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJ2733
Business
Texas City, TX
Mar 27, 2014

Mildew smell brings down this lovesly resort

This could be a gem with the beautiful setting and beach. The outdoor amenities and the pools are great. The bones of the hotel are really nice. Rooms were large and the staff was amazingly wonderful. However, the musty smell in the corridors and the rooms spoils the stay since you have to smell it while trying to sleep. Also, the food is not 3 star, but maybe 2 star. Plenty of it but they need a managing chef who knows how to cook good food. The staff and the beach and the beautiful water was the best but can't give any hotel over 2 stars with those smells and that food. Sorry :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down town to book your excursions. You can take the bus for a few pesos and the prices is almost half of what it is through the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy buyer
Business
Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Not so great during swine flu

The hotel was half closed because they didn't have enough rooms occupied. So we only got access to 1/2 the resturants and entertainment. The "hot tubs" were cold because they were located on the closed portion and they didn't want to waste the electricity. The food was absolutely horrible. It's Mexico and even the Mexican cuisine was bad. I would have taken Taco Bell over the food they served. Also, the "all inclusive" is great if you don't plan to relax. The cups were no bigger than dixie cups so you were constantly getting up every two minutes to refill. The website said water bottles avaiable... sure if you want to pay $4.00 for them. You can also in your all inclusive package get water if you want it filled up in a dixie cup as well. Bring a lot of small bills too. The "money exchange" at the hotel was only benficial if you wanted to change US dollars into Pesos. They never had any money to convert it back. We didn't even make it inside our room for the first 30 minutes of our arrival. The hotel staff spent that time trying to get us to go to the GR Solaris to upgrade to a better hotel and sit through a 90 minutes "breakfast" speech about how great that hotel was. Ummm wouldn't they want to talk up the hotel you already paid for????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Defintely take the bus. It's only 7.50 pesos a person and they pick up constantly throughout the city. Go all the way to the markets for the best deals and everyone is very friendly there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun Resort, Marina & Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sekemper
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 13, 2009

Less than satisfied

We had an issue with the shuttle. No one at the airport could understand our voucher. 45 minutes later we were picked up and taken to the very pushy hotel staff that was interested in selling time share offers. We were then informed 3 of the resterants and a snack bar were closed. The first night on was so loud because we were one floor above the lounge and you could hear everything in the hall. The private jacuzzi was not private. Rooms next to us and rooms above could look in. The quality of food was less than satisfying and the options were disappointing. We chose this resort based on the information provided, but come to find out it was not as advertised. The beach was rough and not easy to walk on. We went to celebrate our anniversary and were quite diappointed. They did bring us a warm bottle of champagne so that was a bright spot. Too bad there was no ice on our floor to chill it, unless we called down to room service and paid $5 for the service fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to the mall areas for good variety of foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top