$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
621 reviews
Just what the doctor ordered

Everything was amazing. I went with a group of 8 people, every restaurant was able to accommodate... See full review

  • Christr15
  • Oct 10, 2014
Awesome couple getaway

Great hotel. I enjoyed the food and hanging out in the pool all day while enjoying cocktails. The... See full review

  • Rosemary Ann
  • Sep 20, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (621)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JP Cancun 2009
Business
Temecula, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Time at RPLA

The hotel is amazing. The staff is very friendly. The workers are very honest. We accidentally left our key in the safe and when we came back from our day at the beach there was a note on the locked safe saying to come get our key at the front desk. It was down there in a sealed envelope. Not a single thing was missing from the room our entire trip. We went from 5/18 through 5/25. The occupancy was very low when we arrived but picked up as the week went on. The weather was 60% chance of rain on every website: accuweather, theweatherchannel, etc. but it didn't rain during the day at the hotel for more than an hour the entire week. We were dissapointed with the orbitz/grayline/cheaptickets trip excursion staff. For our trip to Chitchen Itza the guy told me to be ready at 7:30am. It was almost 8:00am when they finally showed up and the paper they showed me was for 7:55am with my name next to it. Same thing happened for our transfer back to the airport. Eladio from Grayline told me they pickup 3.5 hours before the flight leaves our flight departed at 4:37pm so he said to be ready at 1:00pm. After waiting for 25 minutes I had the lady at the courtesy desk call and they said my pickup was not until 1:30pm. Grayline likes to waste your time. I should have listened to all the negative reviews on TA. I suggest you guys get rid of the Grayline transportation/excursion options and find a more reliable company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The outlet store across the street on the other side of the mall parking lot has every item you could buy from the locals on the streets except the prices are set and pretty good. It is hard to know when you are getting a decent price from the vendors that approach you on the beach. It is a one-stop shop. They have alcohol, t-shirts, pool inflatables, souvenirs, clothing, everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R.A.W.
Business
North Carolina
May 26, 2009

Wonderful Vacation Destination

The hotel staff was excellent. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The pool and entertainment staff worked to make sure everyone was having a good time, even though there weren't very many participants in many of the activities. The hotel occupancy rate was extremely low due to the H1N1 (Swine) flu scare. Everyone at the hotel was very appreciative to the visitors who did make the trip to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 26, 2009

Amazingly wonderful

This was my third year in Cancun but my second year staying at the Riu Palace. I have absolutely no complaints about this resort. The pool areas are great. The shows are great. The Hotel is in great walking distance from the night life. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The moment you check in the staff is by your side.They make sure you are completely taken care of. At one point I had to tell the staff I can get my own drinks, towels,etc because I just wanted the staff to take a break :) I went to cancun during the whole Swine Flu scare and i was nervous going but once I made it to the resort I didn't think twice about it. I truly recommend this resort!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch a cab or a bus to the mall area. Its about a $9 cab ride and a $1 bus ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AYC
Business
Memphis, TN
May 26, 2009

Nice Hotel to stay in

Hotel itself is very nice and beautiful. Luxurious lobby and nice view pool. Strongly recommend to buy an all-inclusive package. You can enjoy drinks (alcohol included) and food (limited ones based one time) almost whenever you want. Room service is also included in the package. You don't have to worry about anything so it's really worth it. Disadvantage: They have quite a few good restaurants but you have to make reservation at least 1 day ahead. So the first night is basically wasted for sure. And it's not guaranteed you can get in the list even you reserve 1 day ahead, based on your luck. The seats are limited. However, they have a buffet restaurant which is very good and it's open everyday. It's a popular location and it's easy to get to clubbing area. Of course, that makes the hotel kinda crowded. If wanna totally relax yourself without being bothered, this may not be your top choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CocoBunco and other night clubs are all within 7 mins walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dpete
Business
Broomfield, CO
May 16, 2009

I can't imagine staying anywhere else...

despite the flu outbreak we decided to take the chance... like everyone else at the hotel we met... we are very glad we did... a great trip... with the minimal crowd the service was excellent... the hotel was very clean and the food the best of our 3 other trips to Riu Palace las Americas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Doula
Business
Baltimore, Md
May 11, 2009

Riu Palace - April 23 2009

This was our 2nd stay at Las Americas. It was, as before lovely, clean and relaxing. We did find that our room had a musty smell and all our clothes smelled when we arrived home.We didn't ask to move upon arrival as the hotel seemed to be very full.However, the whole Swine Flu scare hit and things seemed to go down hill. The lunch and dinner buffets got smaller and smaller and very repetitive. This was disappointing, but so many people left the resort that I suppose they couldn't make lots of food for the very few of us who remained. Breakfast was good though. We also found that our favorite restaurant last year, the Crystal was not up to par. We did go next door to the Riu and their buffet was great! Much larger with many more choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I just don't get the flee market which is about a 10 minute walk. So much junk and lots of soliciting. Will never go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Riu
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
May 6, 2009

Great Vacation Getaway Resort

The entire experience was top notch. We stayed right within The RIU resorts. We enjoyed the swimming activities, dining and nightly entertainment. The Hotel Managers go out of their way to assure that your accomodations meet your needs. The Customer service from every staff member of the hotel was excellent. We're already looking forward to our return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For your convenience there are 2 small shops within the hotel. There is a small shopping mall across the street. If you're looking brand name stores, they a a short bus trip away and the round trip fare was very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 3, 2009

All I can say is AMAZING!!!

From the moment we arrived the amazing staff at the Riu Palace Las Americas went out of their way to take care of us. We were offered two rooms to look at- to choose our favorite (AMAZING view). We easily signed up for the Ala Carte dinners, the food was amazing! Don't put off trying the Italian Ala Carte Lunch place-WORLD CLASS steak and the Sea Bass was just delicious!In the lounge we were waited on every day by [...] (the Protector) and our beloved [...]! Say hi to them and TAKE CARE of them! [...] on the beach never lets your glass go empty and [...] in the breakfast patio area was our guy. The wait staff here is so friendly and personable, we hated to leave them-we felt like we were leaving our friends!If you want a relaxing, romantic vacation-where you will be waited on hand and foot, this is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Learn about the bus and take one to the ferry-go to Isla Mujeras! What a fun day, and the shopping is more laid back, with the same good deals that you find in the Cancun Flea Markets without all the hassel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crzydoglady180[@]
Business
Canton OH
May 2, 2009

Wonderful Anniversary vacation!

I had a wonderful brief 3 night stay at RPLA. The staff was immediately welcoming, during check in they were serving us drinks with a smile. Since we arrived early due to our flight our room wasn't quite ready so they showed us to one of their 5 restaurants for a wonderful lunch. When we got into our room it was immaculate and the view was incredible! We had a nice balcony with a couple of chairs to relax and view that magnificent turquoise water! Anything we needed or asked for was very quickly accuired! Food was great! We loved the buffets, and although some people on here complained we thought they were always fresh, yummy and eye catching. We never bothered to make reservations at the specialty restaurants, we enjoyed the different theme each night at the buffet. Anyone that complains about a "moldy"smell is crazy..you do have to know that Cancun averages 70%+ humidity and they are on the ocean front. It is not moldy, and they are very clean! I would say the only two things that made it not perfect was the room service, basically you are limited to 4 sandwiches and a couple of salads and their "king" sized bed. It really is two doubles pushed together, makes for an awkward sleeping arrangement for a couple. Other than that I highly reccomend this resort. Totally beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northeasterner
Business
albany,ny
May 2, 2009

good value

good value. lack of beach disappointg. food could have been better and more variety. french restaurant has microscopic portions. steak house disappointing. japanese restaurant only one worthwhile. however, wait staff very accomodating and attentive. getting reservations to these restaurants is a hassle. long lines at concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top