$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
628 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexicoAddict
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 23, 2009

Take me back now!

The only reason I took a star off was because there wasn't any palapas on the beach. I LOVE to spend time by the ocean (after all, that's why you go south, right?). The sun is soo hot and I would fry in 20 minutes without some shade, so that really put a damper on things--we had to stay by the pool the entire time (as did everyone else, so chairs were full by 8:30 am). Other than that, the swim up bar was fantastic, we played water volleyball 2x/day (I fried anyway). The restaurants were pretty good-lots of seafood-our favorites were Steakhouse, Fusion, and Tapas. We couldn't get reservations the first and last nights b/c they were full, but its amazing what a few $ will do for you--we got in anyway--just show up on time. Bypass the Japanese restaurant. Don't expect food to taste like home--you are going to a new place to try new things. The buffet is pretty good, but does have the same stuff each day. I liked the cusom made omlette each morning. Never ate dinner, but did get some chocolate fountain one night. When we checked in, I plopped down a $10 bill and said 'don't suppose you have an oceanview room available?'--I got one and got a room right away while others had to wait for their room. It probably didn't hurt that I told them it was our anniversary. Tip: pay for what you want. The rooms are very nice--the halls do smell a bit musty, likely due to carpet/humidity, but its really not that big of deal. The room didn't seem to smell that way, but after we got home, my clothes did. you'll likely get it. Don't take any large bills with you--we didn't take anything larger than a twenty, and we took about 75-80 ones for tips, $50 in fives, etc. Your change will be in pesos, so the smaller the bill you have, the better. Entertainment was pretty good. The staff makes things pretty fun--the shows are ok at night--the American Flavors show is probably the best. We went to Xel-Ha--highly recommended--it was actually our second time. Compared to other trips--we have been to Aventura Spa Palace twice and would say Aventura is eons better in every single aspect, but it is also more expensive. If we go back, we will go back to Aventura.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't spend your $ at the resort shops or book tours at the resort. Go across the street to the Flea Market where you can barter or to the Mall next to the Market (you can't barter here). At the resort, they wanted to charge us $119 to go to Xel-Ha, we paid $88 across the street. Or, you can check the price across the street, then go into the resort and they will ususally come down in price. If not, book across the street (keep in mind you might be on a bus with mostly Mexicans, but you will still have an English translator/guide). Another tip: I can't stress enough that, even though you are going to an 'all inclusive' (tips too) resort, to pay for what you want. You will get much improved service, and all around enjoy your trip much more. Our wait staff remember our drinks we ordered, visited us more often, sat us at better tables, and treated us better than those who didn't tip. $2 left on the pillow for the maid got us turn down service every night. $5 got us into restaurants that we didn't have reservations for. $10 got us checked in and an oceanview upgrade. And wheneve we tipped, those staff remembered us throughout the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pittsburgh Escapee
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 23, 2009

Escape to paradise

My husband and I had our first getaway after the birth of our 8 1/2 month old. The 'room' was a three room suite with a view of the ocean, beautifully appointed. The grounds, lobby, restaurants, theater were beautiful, edgeless pools was awesome and the beach was superb. Free snorkeling equipment, etc. along with the most energetic activities staff allowed you to have some fun OR just lie at the pool/beach and enjoy the sun. We will be bringing our little one next time as it is very family friendly. Enough room for couples, families and young people to all enjoy themselves in separate locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Print off your hotel itinerary with the room type that you have purchased and bring with you. Hotels in Cancun want proof that you have purchased a certain 'type' of room. I had not needed this before, even traveling through Europe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeeChurchAmore11
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jun 22, 2009

Gorgeous getaway for the price!!!!

-Staff are extremely friendly; service everywhere inside the facility is superb e.g. We originally booked a rm viewing the lagoon, after asking for a rm that overlooked the ocean, they placed us on the 8th floor overlooking the ocean. -Houskeeping cleaned the room at least 2x each day e.g. Housekeeping placed tropical flowers and chocolate kisses all around beds, tables, and etc. Refilled lotions, towels, and etc every time! -Buffet food was delicious; Resturant food was too dry and salty e.g. 24 hr buffet with wide variety of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Flea market ~1 mile away; TOO EXPENSIVE!!! Must bargain! Also, same items are found everywhere.. do not be fooled!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myatac428
Business
Hyattsville, MD
Jun 22, 2009

Ayala Awesome Vacation

Service, location and people were wonderful!! Every need was attended to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mercado 28

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis mo
Jun 15, 2009

quite dissappointed!!!

we booked a lagoon view and were given parking lot view, hotel said they dont offer a lagoon view. we were told 3 different stories- we could get a water view room for 175.00 extra per night, no water view rooms available or we could switch rooms for no additional charge on the 4th night of our 5 night stay. 3rd offer made after calling orbitz 2times to get this mess straightend out, am interested to know how much my phone bill for that will be, 1st call 40 minutes long, 2nd call 20 minutes. front desk staff very rude and unaccomadating, orbitz totally misrepresented the room type we were getting, we were under the impression we had ocean view. this was a very frustrating and disappointing experience, we will never book through orbitz again and will never stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the mexican outlet nearby the hotel, prices overinflated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBE
Business
St. Louis
Jun 12, 2009

Never Book a Trip on Orbitz

The hotel was beautiful. The pool area was nice, but there was not enough umbrella's to share. We had to get up everyday at 7:00 AM to secure adequate seating and shade for 5 people. The food was good, I don't really care for eating buffet for breakfast and lunch everyday. Didn't provide much variety. Dinner reservations were hard to come by. The dinner times were limited to 6:30 pm and 8:45 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Couple: Christina & Alex
Business
Highland, CA
Jun 11, 2009

Beautiful Hotel--Excellent Service

In general the hotel was fabulous, the service was 1st class, the food was outstanding, room service was great, the rooms were very clean & comfortable, the pool, swim up bar, and beach were amazing . We went from 5/31/09 - 6/6/09 and it was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Specific Issues: (1) THE ALCOHOL WAS LOW QUALITY AND SEEMED WATERED DOWN (guess you can't expect more from all-inclusive / all you can drink). I drink Grey Goose Vodka & my husband drinks Corona, there was none to be found at the hotel or most of the clubs. If it's all you can drink expect low quality and watered down. I strongly recommend if you drink a high quality liquor, bring your own bottel and a flask to carry with you when your on the go or not in your hotel. (2)we are late sleepers, we stayed on the 1st floor, rm #133 and you hear alot of hallway noise from 8am-8pm by both Staff and Guests (but it was tolerable). We could also hear some sounds coming from the room next to us and above us. (3)we enjoy staying in our room sometimes, but the TV programs were very limited (actually unsatisfactory), and there were no pay preview movies or adult movies. (4)We are a happy married couple, age 35 (with small kids)and still feel young enough to drink & party. Most of the couples or groups of friends at the hotel were ages 45-65. Many of the clubs we went to had young kids (barely 18) so there didn't seem to be a happy medium for our age group, or at least we didn't find very many people our age in our hotel and the clubs we visited (maybe we were going to the wrong places).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

IMPORTANT: The 1st thing you should do when you get there is make as many dinner reservations as possible for the (5) different Restaurants the hotel has on site. I can't stress enough how important this is. Our favorite was the Krystal Restaurant(steak & shrimp).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faina and Mark
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 3, 2009

Beautiful resort, excellent service

Service: excellent. Best service I have seen at an all inclusive hotel. Glasses would be filled by the time we were putting them down. Food: excellent. We have diet restrictions and there was more food than we could imagine, and it was very well done, excellent selection and variety. The specialty restaurants were good and they all tasted different unlike many other all inclusives. Grounds: immaculate and beautiful. Infinity pool lovely. Beach: small but clean and nice Cons: Older hotel so problems with rooms. Cockroach as soon as we walked in. This was a first floor room. They moved us to 5th floor and no problems. Also had issues with running toilet. They tried to fix it but to no avail. Normally the cons would turn me off so much that I would run quickly away. But here the pros were so strong that it did not ruin our trip. Just get a higer floor and you will be good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JP Cancun 2009
Business
Temecula, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Time at RPLA

The hotel is amazing. The staff is very friendly. The workers are very honest. We accidentally left our key in the safe and when we came back from our day at the beach there was a note on the locked safe saying to come get our key at the front desk. It was down there in a sealed envelope. Not a single thing was missing from the room our entire trip. We went from 5/18 through 5/25. The occupancy was very low when we arrived but picked up as the week went on. The weather was 60% chance of rain on every website: accuweather, theweatherchannel, etc. but it didn't rain during the day at the hotel for more than an hour the entire week. We were dissapointed with the orbitz/grayline/cheaptickets trip excursion staff. For our trip to Chitchen Itza the guy told me to be ready at 7:30am. It was almost 8:00am when they finally showed up and the paper they showed me was for 7:55am with my name next to it. Same thing happened for our transfer back to the airport. Eladio from Grayline told me they pickup 3.5 hours before the flight leaves our flight departed at 4:37pm so he said to be ready at 1:00pm. After waiting for 25 minutes I had the lady at the courtesy desk call and they said my pickup was not until 1:30pm. Grayline likes to waste your time. I should have listened to all the negative reviews on TA. I suggest you guys get rid of the Grayline transportation/excursion options and find a more reliable company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The outlet store across the street on the other side of the mall parking lot has every item you could buy from the locals on the streets except the prices are set and pretty good. It is hard to know when you are getting a decent price from the vendors that approach you on the beach. It is a one-stop shop. They have alcohol, t-shirts, pool inflatables, souvenirs, clothing, everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 26, 2009

Amazingly wonderful

This was my third year in Cancun but my second year staying at the Riu Palace. I have absolutely no complaints about this resort. The pool areas are great. The shows are great. The Hotel is in great walking distance from the night life. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The moment you check in the staff is by your side.They make sure you are completely taken care of. At one point I had to tell the staff I can get my own drinks, towels,etc because I just wanted the staff to take a break :) I went to cancun during the whole Swine Flu scare and i was nervous going but once I made it to the resort I didn't think twice about it. I truly recommend this resort!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch a cab or a bus to the mall area. Its about a $9 cab ride and a $1 bus ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top