Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierc232
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 21, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas Review

We had a great time at Riu Palace Las Americas! The food was great and the staff were all so friendly. We enjoyed the restaurants - the French restaurant is amazing - and there was plenty of food and drinks to choose from. My one complaint would be that the room wasn't as clean as I'd like. The bathroom had a somewhat slimy film on the floor and smelled a bit moldy, and we saw a HUGE cockroach on the last day. I'm sure this is typical of a tropical environment and everything else in the room was great, but I just wanted to mention. Also if you want to lay out in the sun, you'll need to get up early to reserve your space as much of the pool and beach areas are shaded. We don't have kids but I'd say this hotel was kid friendly, lots of families. Overall, this is a great hotel and I'd come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Krystal (the French restaurant) has THE BEST steak at the hotel. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GLSW
Business
Helena,, MT
Jan 19, 2014

Relaxing week with friends

Our room was exceptionally clean. We were given a room with 2 queens when we first checked in, but were switched to a king the next day upon our request. The food was very good overall, but some of the hot items were cool or cold. The wait staff really hustled to make sure that we had all we needed. We had a great meal in the Krystal restaurant. Great ocean view. The massages were okay - more attention could have been paid to some special touches for the price that we paid. The hotel lobby, restaurants, common areas were attractive and clean. This was our second time at this hotel and we would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We liked the Krystal restaurant the best. Great service. Presentation of food was excellent. Get your reservations in early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MC traveler
Business
Miles City, MT
Jan 19, 2014

Perfect except for...

Paid for 2 hot rock messages which were great except 1/2 way through the calming music played was accompanied by sounds from the restaurant above...it sounded like someone was drilling underground...spoiled the ambiance of the soothing massage!.We paid a lot for the messages but did not get the value due to the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick from KC
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Jan 16, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, Five star service

Our experience at the Riu Palace Las Americas couldn't have been better, from the Specialty restaurants to the bar servers in the Bar and around the pool it was all top notch. A special shoot out to Juan ( bar server at the pool ) Abraham ( Mexican restaurant ) and Viviana in the (Japanese restaurant) they made our stay very special. We had read some past reviews about the Room smelling musty and the beds being hard. We found our room to be fresh ( my wife brought a scented candle just in case) and the beds which were pillow top felt wonderful. All in all we loved every minute of our stay and plan a trip back again next winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in a great location with just a walk across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary Denver
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 12, 2014

Riu Palace keep their standards!!!

Very good experience with Riu Palace Las Americas. Friendly stuff, good service! Clean rooms and great food variety!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaping Shen
Business
Shanghai China
Jan 5, 2014

A Great Vacation

We had a wonderful. The food was great and hotel was ver nice. We'll come back again. The only thing is that the hotel has no evening entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the Peace Bringer
Business
Culver City, CA
Jan 3, 2014

It's more like 3.5 stars at most...

Nice hotel in a good location, friendly staff and there was some variety in food. However be prepared for the 'upgrade' extortion, where they show you a couple of rooms, the one you paid for obviously is the worst room in the hotel and you would have to pay only in cash, no receipts. The food was worse than expected (mash potatoes made of flakes rather than fresh potatoes; not so many veggie options). Don't even bother with the Japanese restaurant, it was the worst. There's a mold/mildew smell across the hotel and there were signs of mold/mildew in the shower ceiling - they have no fans in the bath rooms, only vents. The water dropped on the floor, even a tiny bit, would stay there for days without drying. The beach was very nice, with a few rocks on the side where we could watch different types of fish using the snorkeling equipment provided by the hotel. Watch out for the sea urchins that hide under the rocks. Overall it is a good place to bring kinds and spend the time within the hotel.There were many fun activities organized by the hotel. It's not worth to book an all-inclusive though if you plan to have 2 or more day trips to the surrounding sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neuraminidase
Business
Columbia, MO
Dec 29, 2013

Paradise

Very briefly (you're busy): Lots of stuff to do on site (we left resort only 3 times the whole trip). Food was alright but a little bland after a couple days. Staff was impeccable, super friendly, went extra mile, prompt, and ALWAYS trying to push off tequila on you (very charmingly!). The room smelled a tad of alcohol due to drink dispenser and unfamiliar developing world smells. Overall, I would stay here or Palace Penninsula next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't spend too much elsewhere. The resort has so much to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saozita
Business
cancun, mexico
Dec 27, 2013

Great experience, beautiful location.

Staff was excellent. Highly recommend Krystal restaurant although difficult to make reservations and yet they appear to only be 2/3 full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

book as soon as you check in

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura S Mom
Business
Cancun, Mexico
Dec 24, 2013

Good food and friendly staff

Food is excellent - many delicious choices. Staff are very efficient and professional. We had a very pleasant stay. I left my purse at the restaurant. It was returned to front desk right away by someone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve a la cart restaurant one day earlier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top